DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Response to Restriction filed 11/06/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 5-8, 10 and 11 have been withdrawn;
Claims 1-4 and 9 are pending and have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8, 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/06/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Limitations being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) include:
Handling members (?)
Flexible Members (101L, 101R, 102L, 102R, 103L, 103R): Belts or Chains
Two Appendices (113): ?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
On page 19 line 25 or anywhere in the specification the claimed “handling members” are not properly described in the application as filed. Further the term appendices appears to refer to several different structures of which the appendices that appear to be associated with the paddle conveyor listed on page have not been properly described in the description on page 16 line 26 or elsewhere in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the exit section" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " said belts" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said device" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim limitations “handling members” and “two appendices” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langen et al. (US 20120011808; Langen) in view of Papsdorf et al. (US 20160362208; Papsdorf).
Regarding Claim 1 Langen discloses Cartoning machine comprising:
- a store unit (50) configured for storing a stack (Fig. 1) of cartons (53) or blanks (52);
- a station (54) for feeding the individual blanks, arranged downstream of the store unit (50);
- an unfolding station (par 28), in which the blanks (52) are shaped, assuming the configuration of a substantially parallelepiped open box defined by an upper base, a lower base, two lateral bases, a front base and a rear base, wherein the front base and the rear base are open but intended to be closed by flaps made up of appendices of the upper and lower bases and appendages of the lateral bases: said lateral, upper and lower bases being defined by respective portions of the blanks (52); (Fig. 4, par 28)
- a product feeding station (par 5, 30), into which the products destined to be packaged in the boxes (53) obtained from the blanks (52) are fed;
- an insertion station (61 or 64), in which the products are inserted into the open boxes (53) by means of a pusher (par 5) that pushes the products through said front base; (par 5)
- an exit station (400) for the completed packages;
wherein between the insertion station (61 or 64) and the exit section (400) a paddle conveyor (12) is arranged and acting which moves downstream the filled box (53);
wherein said paddle conveyor (12) is provided with a plurality of paddles (42) connected to handling members (40) controlled independently of each other and in that the paddles (42) are mounted on flexible members (16 and 18) motorized independently of each other. (par 27, 35)
Langen does not expressly teach paddles are mounted on three flexible members.
Papsdorf discloses a cartoning machine including a paddle conveyor provided with a plurality of paddles controlled independently of each other and in that the paddles are mounted on three flexible members motorized independently of each other providing multiple speed flexible members for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 85, 139, 144-147)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the paddle conveyor of Langen to include three flexible members as taught by Papsdorf, since par 85, 139, 144-147 of Papsdorf suggests that such a modification provides multiple speed flexible members for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2 Langen in view of Papsdorf teaches the invention as described above. Langen further discloses said paddles (42) are pairs of paddles (42). (Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 3 Langen in view of Papsdorf teaches the invention as described above. Langen further discloses said flexible members (16 and 18) are chains motorized independently of each other. (par 27, 35)
Papsdorf further discloses flexible members are chains motorized independently of each other providing multiple speed flexible members for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 85, 139, 144-147)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the paddle conveyor of Langen to include three flexible members as taught by Papsdorf, since par 85, 139, 144-147 of Papsdorf suggests that such a modification provides multiple speed flexible members for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus
Regarding Claim 4 Langen in view of Papsdorf teaches the invention as described above. Langen further discloses each paddle (42) is formed by a support base, which can be fixed to one of said belts (16 and 18) and by at least one contact portion (annotated Fig. 2) intended to interact with the boxes (53), the support base (annotated Fig. 2) being provided with two appendices equipped with idle pins sliding in corresponding grooved guides provided by respective sides of said device (12). (par 36-37, 53; Figs. 5-8)
Papsdorf further discloses flexible members are chains motorized independently of each other providing multiple speed flexible members for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 85, 139, 144-147)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the paddle conveyor of Langen to include three flexible members as taught by Papsdorf, since par 85, 139, 144-147 of Papsdorf suggests that such a modification provides multiple speed flexible members for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus
Regarding Claim 9 Langen in view of Papsdorf teaches the invention as described above. Langen further discloses each pair of flexible members (16 and 18) supports two sets of paddles. (Fig. 6)
Conclusion
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731