DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 20180270884 A1) in view of Dailey (US 20100178911 A1).
For claim 1. Fraser discloses ([0042], [0068], [0082]) A communication system comprising: a plurality of groups of wireless units, each group comprising a plurality of wireless units, wherein each wireless unit of each group comprises a processor and is in full-duplex ([0027]-[0029], [0175]) communication with each of the other wireless units of the corresponding group, wherein each wireless unit of each group is configured as one of a master unit and a slave unit of the corresponding group, such that only one wireless unit of each group is configured as the master unit of the corresponding group ([0042], [0068], [0082]), and wherein each slave unit of each group is restricted to direct wireless communication with only the other wireless units of the corresponding group ([0042], [0095], [0207]); wherein the processor of the master unit of a first group from the plurality of groups forms a first intergroup communication channel with the master unit of at least a second group from the plurality of groups ([0068], [0092], [0183], [0195]) in response to at least a first user input (figure 14, step 1402) to communicably couple the first group to the second group, and wherein, upon formation of the first intergroup communication channel, each slave unit of the first group is in full-duplex communication with an unit of the second group via the master unit of the first group and the master unit of the second group ([0068], [0092], [0183], [0195]).
Fraser fails to mention each slave unit of the first group is in communication with each slave unit of the second group via the master unit of the first group and the master unit of the second group.
This teaching is disclosed by Dailey (figure 3-7, [0026], [0027], [0032], [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Dailey into the art of Fraser as to use the master unit as a relay for calls between the slave units of the two groups for simplified and organized communication management.
For claim 2. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein the wireless units of each group are disposed in full-duplex communication with each other via a first communication protocol, and wherein the first intergroup communication channel between the master unit of the first group and the master unit of the second group is formed using a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol ([0082], [0175], [0180], [0185], [0195], [0215]).
For claim 3. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 2, but fails to mention wherein the first communication protocol is digital enhanced cordless telecommunications (DECT) protocol.
Official notice is taken that DECT protocol is well known in the art for wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques into the art of Fraser as modified by Dailey to use DECT for the benefit of DECT or an alternative embodiment.
For claim 4. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 2, Fraser discloses wherein the second communication protocol is or supports at least one of a cellular communication, a Bluetooth protocol, and a Wi-Fi protocol ([0082], [0175], [0180], [0185], [0195], [0215]).
For claim 5. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein the master unit of each group comprises a user interface communicably coupled to the processor of the master unit, and wherein the user interface of the master unit of the first group is configured to receive the first user input from a user of the master unit of the first group indicative of a request to communicably couple the first group to the second group (figures 13B, 13C, 14, 18-20, [0179], [0205]-[0208]).
For claim 6. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein the first user input comprises at least one of a voice input, a touch-based input, a gesture-based input, and a button press (figures 13B, 13C, 14, 18-20, [0179], [0205]-[0208]).
For claim 7. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein the processor of the master unit of the first group terminates the first intergroup communication channel with the master unit of the second group from the plurality of groups in response to at least a second user input to terminate communication between the first group and the second group, and wherein, upon termination of the first intergroup communication channel, each slave unit of the first group is restricted to direct wireless communication with only the other wireless units of the first group ([0042], [0054], [0067], [0205], [0224], user controls a link between two groups).
For claim 8. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein the processor of the master unit of the first group forms a second intergroup communication channel with the master unit of a third group from the plurality of groups in response to at least a third user input to communicably couple the first group to the third group, and wherein, upon formation of the second intergroup communication channel, each slave unit of the third group is in full-duplex communication with each slave unit of the second group via the master unit of the third group, the master unit of the first group, and the master unit of the second group ([0067], [0205]-[0209]).
For claim 9. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 8, Fraser discloses wherein, upon termination of the first intergroup communication channel, the processor of the master unit of the third group automatically forms a third intergroup communication channel with the master unit of the second group, and wherein, upon formation of the third intergroup communication channel, each slave unit of the third group is in full-duplex communication with each slave unit of the second group via the master unit of the third group and the master unit of the second group ([0067], [0205]-[0209]).
For claim 10. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein the wireless units of each group are in full-duplex communication with each other if a total number of wireless units of the corresponding group is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold number, wherein, if the total number of wireless units of one group from the plurality of groups is equal to the predetermined threshold number, an additional wireless unit is in a listen only mode with each wireless unit of the one group, and wherein, in the listen only mode, the additional wireless unit is configured to only receive signals from each wireless unit of the one group and is prevented from transmitting signals to the plurality of wireless units of the one group ([0054], [0066], [0097]).
For claim 11. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses further comprising a plurality of personal protective equipment (PPE) articles, wherein each wireless unit of each group is associated with a corresponding PPE article from the plurality of PPE articles ([0052], [0088]).
For claim 12. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein at least one wireless unit of at least one group from the plurality of groups comprises a location sensor, wherein the location sensor is configured to generate a location signal indicative of a location of the at least one wireless unit, and wherein each of the other wireless units of the at least one group is configured to receive the location signal from the at least one wireless unit of the at least one group ([0041], [0118]).
For claim 13. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein at least one wireless unit of at least one group comprises an environmental sensor configured to generate a detection signal based on a detection of at least one environmental condition, and wherein each of the other wireless units of the at least one group is configured to receive the detection signal from the at least one wireless unit of the at least one group ([0136], [0137], [0170]-[0172]).
For claim 16. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, Fraser discloses wherein each wireless unit of each group comprises a wireless unit identification associated with the corresponding wireless unit, and wherein the processor of the master unit of each group is further configured to add or remove one or more slave units from the corresponding group based on the wireless unit identification of the one or more slave units ([0046], [0054], [0147], [0209]).
For claim 17. Fraser discloses ([0042], [0068], [0082]) A method of communication comprising: forming a plurality of groups of wireless units, each group comprising a plurality of wireless units, wherein each wireless unit of each group comprises a processor and is in full-duplex communication with each of the other wireless units of the corresponding group ([0027]-[0029], [0175], figure 13B); configuring each wireless unit of each group as one of a master unit and a slave unit of the corresponding group, such that only one wireless unit of each group is configured as the master unit of the corresponding group ([0042], [0068], [0082]); restricting each slave unit of each group to direct wireless communication with only the other wireless units of the corresponding group ([0042], [0095], [0207]); forming, via the processor of the master unit of a first group from the plurality of groups, a first intergroup communication channel with the master unit of at least a second group ([0068], [0092], [0183], [0195]) in response to at least a first user input (figure 14, step 1402) to communicably couple the first group to the second group; and allowing, via the master unit of the first group and the master unit of the second group, full-duplex communication between each slave unit of the first group and an unit of the second group upon formation of the first intergroup communication channel ([0068], [0092], [0183], [0195]).
Fraser fails to mention allowing, via the master unit of the first group and the master unit of the second group, communication between each slave unit of the first group and each slave unit of the second group.
This teaching is disclosed by Dailey (figure 3-7, [0026], [0027], [0032], [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Dailey into the art of Fraser as to use the master unit as a relay for calls between the slave units of the two groups for simplified and organized communication management.
For claim 18. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the method of claim 17, Fraser discloses further comprising receiving, via a user interface, the first user input from a user of the master unit of the first group indicative of a request to communicably couple the first group to the second group (figures 13B, 13C, 14, 18-20, [0179], [0205]-[0208]).
For claim 19. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the method of claim 18, Fraser discloses wherein the first user input comprises at least one of a voice input, a touch-based input, a gesture-based input and a button press (figures 13B, 13C, 14, 18-20, [0179], [0205]-[0208]).
For claim 20. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the method of claim 17, Fraser discloses further comprising: terminating, via the processor of the master unit of the first group, the first intergroup communication channel with the master unit of the second group from the plurality of groups in response to at least a second user input to terminate communication between the first group and the second group; and restricting each slave unit of the first group to direct wireless communication with only the other wireless units of the first group upon termination of the first intergroup communication channel ([0067], [0205]-[0209]).
6. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 20180270884 A1) as modified by Dailey (US 20100178911 A1), in view of MOROZUMI (US 20240381060 A1).
For claim 14. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein the environmental sensor is at least one of a gas sensor, a temperature sensor, a wind speed sensor, a wind direction sensor, and a pressure sensor.
This teaching is disclosed by MOROZUMI ([0044], [0050], [0062], [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by MOROZUMI into the art of Fraser as modified by Dailey as to extend applications for better user experience.
7. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 20180270884 A1) as modified by Dailey (US 20100178911 A1), in view of Jalisatgi (US 20210240464 A1).
For claim 15. Fraser in combination with Dailey substantially teaches the communication system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the processor of the master unit of at least one group from the plurality of groups is configured to receive firmware updates from an external device and transmit the firmware updates to each slave unit of the at least one group.
This teaching is disclosed by Jalisatgi ([0012], [0031], [0038], [0046]-[0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jalisatgi into the art of Fraser as modified by Dailey as to update firmware easily.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
August 14, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643