DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without the written authorization in place, USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP 502.03.
Claim Objections
Dependent claims with abbreviations not spelled out in depending claims are objected. For instance, claim 4 recites DCI that is used without being spelled out in its direct and indirect depending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, 19 and 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Wu comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a method for monitoring a downlink channel, performed by a user device, the method comprising:
receiving a wake-up signal (WUS) (See Fig. 15 for WUS signal.); and
monitoring a downlink channel (See Fig. 15 for duration 7 and “indicating, by WUS, to UE to activate PDCCH monitoring on consecutive slots for a duration”) after a set moment (See Fig. 15 the duration for WUS and the duration 7 are separated durations.),
wherein the set moment is a moment after a first moment (This will be discussed in view of Shrestha.), and
wherein the first moment is a moment when the wake-up signal is received (See Fig. 15.).
It is noted that while disclosing a WUS and monitoring PDCCH, Wu does not specifically teach about a duration between receiving a WUS and monitoring a downlink signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Shrestha as follows;
the set moment is a moment after a first moment ([Shrestha, 0105] “UE 215 may wake up from the idle state. In some cases (e.g., after, or directly after the configured maximum WUS duration), the UE 215 may wait for a gap time duration before monitoring for paging messages”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Wu by using the features of Shrestha in order to be able to receive a WUS when changing cells such that “The described techniques may enable a user equipment (UE) to monitor and receive wake up signals (WUSs) from a satellite based on a geographic area of the UE” [Shrestha, 0005].
Regarding claim 19, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program” (See Fig. 3A for 340 Processor and 360 Memory.), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, it is a CRM claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” ([0110] “a computer program is stored, characterized in that the computer program when executed by the processor implements the steps of the method for monitoring PDCCH”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2 and 21, the method according to claim 1 and the communication apparatus according to claim 19, respectively, wherein the set moment is a second moment corresponding to a radio resource control (RRC) idle state of the user device ([Shrestha, 0106] “a cell (e.g., corresponding to a base station) may use paging with a group WUS (GWUS) if UE 215-b recently entered an idle mode (e.g., RRC_IDLE) in the cell”).
Regarding claim 10, the method according to claim 1, wherein the set moment is a fourth moment corresponding to an RRC connected state of the user device ([Shrestha, 0111] “UE 215-b may use (e.g., monitor, receive) WUSs if UE 215-b is within a geographic area as a cell changes (e.g., satellites 205 keep moving). … UE 215-b may report a location of UE 215-b while in an RRC connected mode”).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”) and further in view of Ozturk et al. (US 2026/0075581, “Ozturk”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that while disclosing a WUS and monitoring PDCCH, Wu does not specifically teach about stopping monitoring a WUS in a following PO. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Ozturk as follows;
the method according to claim 2,
wherein the monitoring the downlink channel after the set moment comprises:
monitoring a paging occasion within a set range,
wherein the paging occasion within the set range comprises latest N paging occasions after the second moment, where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 ([Shrestha, 0105] “monitoring for paging messages (e.g., during a paging occasion (PO) (e.g., after or directly after the gap time duration)).”); and
in response to that a paging occasion with a paging downlink control information (DCI) occurring within the set range is monitored, determining not to monitor a subsequent paging occasion ([Ozturk, 0117] “if the downlink message is a DCI, then UE 115-b may stop monitoring for paging information in a next PO or next PMO after receiving the DCI.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Wu by using the features of Ozturk in order to effectively monitor paging signals in multiple-access and multiple network access nodes such that “devices, and apparatuses that support paging with multiple monitoring occasions.” [Ozturk, 0005].
Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 2, wherein the monitoring the downlink channel after the set moment comprises:
monitoring a paging occasion within a set range, wherein the paging occasion within the set range comprises latest N paging occasions after the second moment, where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (See aforesaid [Shrestha, 0105].); and
in response to that a paging occasion with a paging DCI occurring within the set range is monitored and the paging DCI schedules a paging message comprising an identifier of the user device, determining not to monitor a subsequent paging occasion ([Ozturk, 0103] “base station 105 may send a downlink message 325 including an explicit indication (e.g., a paging termination message) to UE 115, indicating a PMO 315 or PO 310 that marks the end of paging for a PO 310 or set of POs 310. The indication may be included in a DCI or a paging message. In some examples, the DCI may include a P-RNTI. The indication may be addressed to the receiving UE 115”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Ozturk are the same as for claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 2, wherein the monitoring the downlink channel after the set moment comprises: monitoring one latest paging occasion after the second moment ([Ozturk, 0098 and Fig. 3] “UE 115 may also monitor for paging information during PMO 315-e, PMO 315-f, PMO 315-g, and PMO 315-h of PO 310-b and during PMO 315-i, PMO 315-j, PMO 315-k, and PMO 315-l of PO 310-c.”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Ozturk are the same as for claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the method according to claim 3, wherein the N is specified by a protocol or configured by a network device ([Ozturk, 0103 and Fig. 3] “base station 105 may send a downlink message 325 including an explicit indication (e.g., a paging termination message) to UE 115, indicating a PMO 315 or PO 310 that marks the end of paging for a PO 310 or set of POs 310.”).
Claim(s) 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”) and further in view of Al et al. (US 2025/0294522, “Al”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 6, it is noted that while disclosing a WUS and monitoring PDCCH, Wu does not specifically teach about skipping a PO. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Al as follows;
the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining not to monitor a paging occasion after a third moment, wherein the third moment is a moment after the second moment ([Al, Fig. 3C, Fig. 3D and 0089] “If the indicator indicates that the UE is not required to monitor following N paging occasions, the UE can skip monitoring following N paging occasions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Wu by using the features of Al in order to support lower entry devices such that “a first wireless communication device having a first device type, a first configuration associated with the first device type for the first wireless communication device to perform paging occasion monitoring … and transmitting, to a second wireless communication device having a second device type, a second configuration associated with the second device type for the second wireless communication device to perform paging occasion monitoring” [Ozturk, 0005].
Claim(s) 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”) and Al et al. (US 2025/0294522, “Al”), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0295400, “Hwang”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that while disclosing a WUS and monitoring PDCCH, Wu does not specifically teach about an interval between the WUS and a second moment. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Hwang as follows;
the method according to claim 6, wherein an interval between the first moment and the third moment (See [Hwang, Fig. 12]) or an interval between the second moment and the third moment (This alternative is not examined.) is specified by a protocol or configured by a network device (See [Hwang, 0133-0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Wu by using the features of Hwang in order to support communications with multiple users by sharing system resources such that “to provide a method and apparatus for efficiently performing a wireless signal transmission/reception process” [Hwang, 0004].
Claim(s) 8 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”) and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0295400, “Hwang”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that while disclosing a WUS and monitoring PDCCH, Wu does not specifically teach about an interval between the WUS and a second moment. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Hwang as follows;
the method according to claim 2, wherein an interval between the first moment and the second moment is specified by a protocol or configured by a network device (See [Hwang, Fig. 12] that depicts a WUS signal in configured maximum WUS duration, gap and PO durations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Wu by using the features of Hwang in order to support communications with multiple users by sharing system resources such that “to provide a method and apparatus for efficiently performing a wireless signal transmission/reception process” [Hwang, 0004].
Regarding claim 14, the method according to claim 10, wherein an interval between the first moment and the fourth moment is specified by a protocol or configured by a network device ([Hwang, Fig. 12 and 0133-0139]).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Hwang are the same as for claim 8.
Claim(s) 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”) and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2025/0193798, “Seo”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 11, it is noted that while disclosing a WUS and monitoring PDCCH, Wu does not specifically teach about monitoring a next downlink with a WUS. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Seo as follows;
the method according to claim 10, further comprising: in response to not monitoring the downlink channel before a fifth moment, determining not to monitor the downlink channel until the wake-up signal is received again, wherein the fifth moment is a moment after the fourth moment ([Seo, 0271] “receiving configuration message informing of a monitoring occasion for detecting a wake up signal (WUS) and performing a second PDCCH monitoring in a next discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration based on that a first PDCCH monitoring for detecting the WUS is not required in the monitoring occasion.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Wu by using the features of Seo in order to support higher capacity while saving battery power such that “to provide a method and an apparatus for monitoring a physical downlink control channel in wireless communication system.” [Seo, 0008].
Regarding claim 12, the method according to claim 11, wherein the downlink channel comprises DCI ([Seo, 0177] “if the WUS instructs the UE to wake up, PDCCH monitoring for detecting a general DCI format”),or a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled using DCI (This alternative is not examined.).
Regarding claim 13, the method according to claim 11, wherein the downlink channel comprises at least one of following: DCI (See aforesaid [Seo, 0177]), a PDSCH scheduled using DCI, or a PDSCH scheduled not using DCI (These alternatives are not examined.).
Claim(s) 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0071769, “Wu”) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2024/0373361, “Shrestha”) and Seo et al. (US 2025/0193798, “Seo”), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0295400, “Hwang”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Wu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 16, the method according to claim 11, wherein an interval between the fifth moment and the fourth moment or an interval between the fifth moment and the first moment is specified by a protocol or configured by a network device (See [Hwang, Fig.12 and 0133-0139].
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Hwang are the same as for claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims contain the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
15. The method according to claim 10, further comprising:
reporting, to a network device, an interval between the fourth moment and the first moment; or
reporting, to a network device, a downlink channel monitoring capability parameter supported by the user device in a case that the user device uses the WUS, wherein the downlink channel monitoring capability parameter comprises an interval between the fourth moment and the first moment.
17. The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
reporting, to a network device, an interval between the fifth moment and the fourth moment or an interval between the fifth moment and the first moment; or
reporting, to a network device, a downlink channel monitoring capability parameter supported by the user device in a case that the user device uses the WUS, wherein the downlink channel monitoring capability parameter comprises an interval between the fifth moment and the fourth moment or an interval between the fifth moment and the first moment.
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411