DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tetsuya et al. (Japanese Pat. No. JP 2012-138247 A, hereinafter “Tetsuya”; an English specification machine translation attached hereto).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Ukon discloses an electric circuit breaker device comprising: an igniter (35; FIG. 2) provided in a housing (11; FIG. 1), a projectile (30; FIG. 2) formed in the housing (11) and disposed in an accommodating space (17) extending in one direction (FIG. 2), the projectile (30) configured to be projected along the accommodating space (17) by energy received from the igniter (35; FIG. 2), a conductor piece (12; FIG. 3) provided in the housing (11) and forming a part of an electric circuit, the conductor piece (12) having, as a part of the conductor piece (12), a cutoff portion (12a; FIG. 3) configured to be cut off by the projectile (30) moving due to energy received from the igniter (35; FIGS. 2 and 3), the cutoff portion (12a) being disposed crossing the accommodating space (17; FIG. 3), and an impact absorbing member (23; FIG. 2) disposed in an arc-extinguishing region of the accommodating space (17; FIG. 2), the arc-extinguishing region being located on a side opposite to the projectile (30) across the cutoff portion (12a) prior to actuation of the igniter (35) and being configured to receive the cutoff portion (12a) cut off by the projectile (30; FIG. 2), the impact absorbing member (23) being formed from a resin material (¶ [0027]) that is modified by heat accompanying actuation of the igniter (35), the impact absorbing member (23) having flexibility, and being configured to absorb impact in a case where the cutoff portion (12a) having been cut off collides (¶ [0028]).
Regarding Claims 5, Ukon discloses that the impact absorbing member (23) is disposed in a ring shape or an arc shape along an inner wall surface of the housing (11; FIGS. 2, 3, and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 7, and 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukon in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/257172 A1, hereinafter “Sakai”).
Ukon discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention and further discloses that the impact absorbing member (23) is disposed between the housing (20) defining the arc-extinguishing region (¶¶ [0049]-0053]; FIG. 2) and the coolant material, as recited in Claim 4, but does not disclose the claimed material, as recited in Claim 2.
However, Sakai discloses a coolant material (14) disposed in the accommodating space (FIG. 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ukon with those of Sakai and dispose the impact absorbing member between the housing defining the arc-extinguishing region and the coolant material to remove thermal energy of a generated arc.
Regarding Claims 7 and 9, Ukon discloses that the impact absorbing member (23) is disposed in a ring shape or an arc shape along an inner wall surface of the housing (11; FIGS. 2, 3, and 10).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukon.
Ukon discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such a material for ease of installation and device reliability since it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 U.S.P.Q. 416.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukon in view of Sakai.
Ukon discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such a material for ease of installation and device reliability since it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 U.S.P.Q. 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, and 11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831