Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticiapted by Jang et al (US 2023/0221428). Hereinafter referred to as Jang.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17-18. Jang discloses a communication method, applied to a sensing initiator, the method comprising determining a wireless frame, wherein the wireless frame comprises first indication, and the first indication indicates a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement process corresponding to the wireless frame (see at least paragraphs [0004]-[0005]); and sending the wireless frame to a sensing responder to indicate the sensing responder to receive a null data packet (NDP) (see at least abstract and [0109]-[0126]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Lim et al (US 2024/0022934). Hereinafter referred to as lim.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Jang discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the first indication comprises at least one of a sensing measurement setup identifier included in the WLAN sensing measurement process, or a sensing measurement instance identifier corresponding to the sensing measurement setup identifier. However, Lim, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first indication comprises at least one of a sensing measurement setup identifier included in the WLAN sensing measurement process, or a sensing measurement instance identifier corresponding to the sensing measurement setup identifier (see at least paragraphs [0267]-[0268]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Lim, as indicated into the communication method of Jang for the purpose of using sensing measurement identification technique.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Jang discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the wireless frame comprises a sounding dialog token field, and the first indication is carried in the sounding dialog token field. However, Lim, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the wireless frame comprises a sounding dialog token field, and the first indication is carried in the sounding dialog token field (see at least paragraphs [0267]-[0268]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Lim, as indicated into the communication method of Jang for the purpose of using sensing measurement identification/allocation technique.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Jang teaches STA information and AID fields (see at least paragraphs [0110]-[0121]) and discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the AID identification field or the USID identification field indicates a responder participating in the WLAN sensing measurement process. However, Lim, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the AID identification field or the USID identification field indicates a responder participating in the WLAN sensing measurement process (see at least paragraphs [0119]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Lim, as indicated into the communication method of Jang for the purpose of using sensing measurement identification/allocation technique.
Regarding claims 5 and 13. Jang in view of Lim discloses a communication method wherein the STA info field further comprises sensing measurement parameter information corresponding to the AID identification field or the USID identification field (see at least paragraph [0168]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14. Jang in view of Lim discloses a communication method wherein the STA info field further comprises parameter information corresponding to transmission of a NDP by the responder (see at least paragraphs [0101]-[0106]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Jang discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the wireless frame further comprises second indication, and the second indication indicates that a type of the wireless frame is a wireless local area network sensing null data packet advertisement (WLAN Sensing NDPA) frame.. However, Lim, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the wireless frame further comprises second indication, and the second indication indicates that a type of the wireless frame is a wireless local area network sensing null data packet advertisement (WLAN Sensing NDPA) frame. (see at least paragraphs [0110]-[0112]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Lim, as indicated into the communication method of Jang for the purpose of sensing based on measurement results of various types of frames/packets designed for WLAN sensing.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Jang in view of Lim discloses a communication method, wherein the second indication is carried in a control field of the wireless frame, a subtype subfield of the control field, or a sounding dialog token field (see at least paragraphs [0025]-[0027] and [0124]-[0126]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476