DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are currently being examined.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
s
Claims 5, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor or the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 contains a limitation with the phrase “is capable of rotational movement”. That particular phrase implies the operation may or may not actually be performed as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is unclear whether the language following the phrase is intended to be regarded as part of the invention or not. As a result, Claim 5 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter being regarded as the invention.
Claim 6 contains a limitation with the phrase “is capable of straight movement”. That particular phrase implies the operation may or may not actually be performed as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is unclear whether the language following the phrase is intended to be regarded as part of the invention or not. As a result, Claim 6 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter being regarded as the invention.
Claim 12 contains a limitation with the phrase “is capable of accommodating an accommodation portion”. That particular phrase implies the operation may or may not actually be performed as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is unclear whether the language following the phrase is intended to be regarded as part of the invention or not. As a result, Claim 12 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter being regarded as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-10, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta et al (US Published Application No. 2018/0329426).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Gupta et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
A control system comprising:
a storage device that stores storage information including information regarding an article stored in a movable shelf for storing articles and a storage position of the article; and (See Pars. 0065, 0096-0098, 0135, 0137, 0139, 0147; Figs. 4, 8, 16; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 42(articles), 82(storage device)
an arithmetic device that controls traveling of a conveyance device that loads and conveys the movable shelf, (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
wherein the arithmetic device
calculates a characteristic regarding a weight distribution of the movable shelf on a basis of the storage information, and (See Pars. 0025, 0037, 0078, 0130-0132; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
determines a traveling condition including information on at least one of speed and acceleration of the conveyance device on a basis of the characteristic regarding the weight distribution. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132,0172, 0221,0222; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from independent Claim 1, Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 2, Gupta et al discloses as follows:
The control system according to claim 1, wherein the conveyance device is capable of straight movement, and (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
the arithmetic device determines acceleration at time of accelerating and acceleration at time of decelerating in a straight movement direction, on a basis of a deviation amount of a weight center of the article accommodated in the movable shelf from a weight center in an empty load state in a traveling direction of the straight movement. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
With respect to Claim 6, which depends from independent Claim 1, Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 6, Gupta et al discloses as follows:
The control system according to claim 1, wherein the conveyance device is capable of straight movement, the storage device stores information regarding an upper limit value of a steering angle which is an angle formed by a traveling direction before correction and (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
a traveling direction after correction in a case where the conveyance device corrects the traveling direction in the straight movement, and (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
in a case where the weight center of the article accommodated in the movable shelf is positioned away from the weight center in an empty load state by a predetermined distance or more in a direction orthogonal to the traveling direction, the arithmetic device determines the upper limit value of the steering angle to be smaller than that in the empty load state. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
With respect to Claim 8, which depends from independent Claim 1, Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Gupta et al discloses as follows:
The control system according to claim 1, wherein the arithmetic device determines the traveling condition including information on at least one of the speed and the acceleration on a basis of a height of a weight center of the movable shelf. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
With respect to Claim 9, which depends from independent Claim 1, Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Gupta et al discloses as follows:
The control system according to claim 1, wherein the arithmetic device determines the traveling condition including information on at least one of the speed and the acceleration on a basis of a total weight of the articles accommodated in the movable shelf and a characteristic regarding the weight distribution. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
With respect to Claim 10, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 9 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Gupta et al discloses as follows:
The control system according to claim 9, wherein the arithmetic device determines an upper limit value of the speed on a basis of a weight of the article accommodated in the movable shelf. (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent Claim 1, Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Gupta et al discloses as follows:
The control system according to claim 1, wherein the movable shelf has a plurality of compartments, and (See Par. 0078; Figs. 4, 5; Ref. Numeral 12(movable shelf)
each of the compartments is capable of accommodating an accommodation portion, and (See Par. 0078; Figs. 4, 5; Ref. Numeral 12(movable shelf)
the storage information is information on a position of the accommodation portion and an article accommodated in the accommodation portion. (See Par. 0078; Figs. 4, 5; Ref. Numeral 12(movable shelf)
With respect to independent Claim 14, Gupta et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 14 as follows:
A conveyance system comprising:
a movable shelf that stores an article and is installed to be movable; (See Pars. 0065, 0096-0098, 0135, 0137, 0139, 0147; Figs. 4, 8, 16; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 42(articles), 82(storage device)
a conveyance device that conveys the movable shelf; and (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
a control device that controls traveling of the conveyance device, (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
wherein the control device includes
a storage unit that stores storage information including information regarding an article stored in the movable shelf and a storage position of the article, and (See Pars. 0065, 0096-0098, 0135, 0137, 0139, 0147; Figs. 4, 8, 16; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 42(articles), 82(storage device)
an arithmetic unit that executes a predetermined arithmetic process, and (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
the arithmetic unit calculates a characteristic regarding a weight distribution of the movable shelf on a basis of the storage information, and (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
transmits, to the conveyance device, a conveyance instruction of the movable shelf including a traveling condition including information on at least one of speed and acceleration of the conveyance device, on a basis of the characteristic regarding the weight distribution. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132, 0162-0164; Figs. 8, 9, 14; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
With respect to independent Claim 14, Gupta et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 14 as follows:
A control method in which a control device controls movement of a conveyance device that conveys a movable shelf that accommodates an article, (See Pars. 0096-0098; Fig. 8; Ref. Numeral 81(control system)
wherein the control device includes a storage unit that stores storage information including information regarding an article accommodated in the movable shelf and a storage position of the article, and (See Pars. 0065, 0096-0098, 0135, 0137, 0139, 0147; Figs. 4, 8, 16; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 42(articles), 82(storage device)
an arithmetic unit that executes a predetermined arithmetic process, and (See Pars. 0108-0110, 0112, 0125, 0126; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 100(arithmetic device), 16(conveyance device)
the control method includes a step of
calculating a characteristic regarding a weight distribution of the movable shelf on a basis of the storage information, and (See Pars. 0025, 0037, 0078, 0130-0132; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
determining a traveling condition including information on at least one of speed and acceleration of the conveyance device on a basis of the characteristic regarding the weight distribution. (See Pars. 0025, 0036-0039, 0078, 0130-0132,0172, 0221,0222; Figs. 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 12(movable shelf), 16(conveyance device), 42(articles), 138(weigher)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In the alternative, one or more of these claims may be incorporated as further limitations into the rejected independent base claim from which they depend. These allowable claims would make the rejected independent base claim allowable because the rejected base claim would then contain subject matter that was neither disclosed nor taught or fairly suggested in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations. Any other hypothetical prior art rejection based on these references would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 July 15, 2026