DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the communication received on 08/22/2024. The claims 6- 20 were cancelled by applicant’s during the preliminary amendment filed on 08/22/2026. Accordingly, the claims 1-5 are pending, of which the claim(s) 1 is/are in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason et al. (US 20170007386 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mason teaches a computer-implemented method for producing a series (30) of different dental appliances (1) [“the dental appliances 100 are orthodontic appliances, such as aligners, in a series of appliances”], the method comprising the steps of: ([046, ]);
specifying a number of m different numerical values [specifying sizes (larger, smaller) and “diameter of the pores…order to facilitate a desired rate of delivery and/or desired rate of diffusion of the agent” for each reservoir of each appliance when “appliance can be designed and/or provided”. The selected “pore sizes”/diameters for each reservoir is mapped as example numerical values] for at least one agent [“plurality of agents”] release parameter [e.g., “desired rate of delivery and/or desired rate of diffusion”, see applicant’s dependent claim 4 that states] for a particular releasable agent (7) in a digital data set ([035, 040, 060, 074-076]),
calculating a set of m different design parameters [“integrally formed reservoir geometries may be selected in accordance with the patient treatment plan” “in any position within the shell of the appliance”] for defining a set of m different 1micro-reservoir-arrangements (29) [Fig. 3C, shows reservoir 125 arrangements/positioning for each appliance, “The reservoir may be integrally formed in any position within the shell of the appliance such that release of an agent from the reservoir is performed in accordance with the patient's treatment plan”. The placement of the reservoir accordance to “treatment plan” can different create arrangement since the treatment plan for different patient at different time (initial stage, intermediary stage) is different] ([060-064, 0135]);
producing [“each of the appliances can be generated by thermoforming a polymeric material”] a series (30) of m different dental appliances (1), wherein each of the m dental appliances (1) [“first appliance 112 corresponding to an initial tooth arrangement with a reservoir… intermediate appliances 121…a final appliance 122”] includes an arrangement (29) of micro-reservoirs (3) according to one of the m different design parameters ([061, 0105]).
One may challenge that the “the patient treatment plan” used to include “any of the geometries” may or may not have “m different design parameters” since they may not be different ypes. However, the placement of the agent and providing of the agent with different sized pores such as 25 μm or 50 μm (para. 035) has to be or well-known to be in specific region, the treatment plan also needs to include or is obvious to include “m different design parameters” to properly provide treatment and to fabricate the appliance that meets patient’s needs. Therefore, the invention of the claim 1 would have been obvious over Mason before the filing of the application.
Regarding claim 2, Mason teaches/suggests the computer implemented method according to claim 1, T wherein the digital data set specifying the m different numerical values for the at least one agent release parameter comprises at least one of:
a set of patient-specific values, each patient-specific value being based on a specific medical need of a single patient, or a subset of N treatment-specific-values, each treatment-specific-value being based on a specified dosage of the at least one agent to be delivered to a particular patient [“the patient's treatment plan”] within a specified time interval as laid out in a treatment plan for that patient ([060-061]).
Regarding claim 3, Mason teaches/suggests the computer implemented method according to The computer implemented method according to wherein said series (30) of m different dental appliances (1) is produced using manufacturing arrangement (32), and said manufacturing arrangement (32) comprise at least one of a thermoplastic, ablative or additive manufacturing device [“for fabricating the appliance with the shell and integrally formed reservoir using a direct fabrication technique”] for the micro-reservoirs (3) ([0116, 0136]).
Regarding claim 5, Mason teaches/suggests the computer implemented method according to clam 1,further comprising forming a solid core (4) for each of the dental appliances (1),including first forming [“of thermoplastic polymer in a layer-by-layer manner”] the respective core (4) of the respective dental appliance (1) as a core foil (14) and defining a multitude of micro-reservoirs (3) in an outer surface (8) of the respective core (4) using one of a) an ablative process which removes material of the core (4) at a location of each micro-reservoir (3),b) a forming process, or c) an additive process of an additional outer layer (4b) on the core (4) ([0108, 0120, 0136]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason in view of Keefe et al. (US 20140282197 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Mason teaches/suggests the computer implemented method according to claim 1 including T the digital data set comprises at least one of a maximum initial release rate [“facilitate a desired rate of delivery and”] in mg/hour, a total maximum release amount in mg over a time period of 6 hours, or a maximum areal release rate in (mg/cm2)/hour accordance to prescription/treatment plan ([0035, 060]).
However, Mason does not teach its desired rate of delivery to be measured/specified in mg/hour in the “the patient treatment plan” as part of the delivery of the treating agent to the patient. PHOSITA knows that measuring the delivery rate in mg/hour is well-known in the art.
For example, Keefe relates to method and apparatus for preparing a drug or medicinal substance accordance to patient’s treatment plan/prescription ([003, 006]). Specifically, Keefe teaches A computer-implemented method comprising:
specifying a number of m different numerical values for at least one agent release parameter for a particular releasable agent (7) in a digital data set wherein the digital data set comprises at least one of a maximum initial release rate in mg/hour [“Any special delivery instructions such as "IV", "Syringe Pump" and the delivery rate of "10 mg/hour" can also optionally be specified in the prescription 80”],
a total maximum release amount in mg over a time period of 6 hours, or a maximum areal release rate in (mg/cm2)/hour ([084]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Keefe and Mason because they both related to specifying drug delivery release rate accordance to patient’s treatment plan/prescription and (2) modify the desired rate of delivery of Mason to be specified in mg/hour unit as in Keefe. Keefe teaches missing details for Mason about what can be the measuring unit for the rate of delivery of the agent provided accordance to patient’s treatment plan so that users will have idea about how to interpret and compare the desired rate of delivery from the integrally formed reservoir (Mason, [035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Zegarelli (US 20140011162 A1) teaches oral appliance that contains an interior surface having a medicament disposed in or on at least a portion of and/or the entire interior surface of the or appliance (Abstract).
2) Cima et al. (US 20060093646 A1) teaches implantable device 80 for dental implant includes a catheter or tube 82 which has a plurality of drug-containing reservoirs 84 fabricated at the tip portion 83 of the tube ([032, 066]).
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 See para. [029] for definition of “reservoir” for agent that “can be any of the agents”. The para. 064 states “reservoir may comprise a plurality of volumes…nanometers, micrometers, millimeters, centimeters or the like”.