DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 08/15/2024. Claims 1-10, 12-13 and 16-23 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign application number EP 22305169.9 filed on 02/16/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13 and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan (US 2020/0204828).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a method for encoding a video picture into a bitstream of encoded video picture data (Yuan, paragraph 19 discloses the first image frame is intra encoded by the encoder, wherein the one or more image frames comprises a second frame being a subsequent to the first image frame, the second image frame being inter frame encoded and referencing the first image frame),
the video picture comprising at least one component of samples representative of pixel values of a screen, wherein the method comprises: [[-]] obtaining [[(320)]], from a transparency map, a modified video picture by assigning specific values (SV) to samples of one component (C) associated with transparent pixels, [[said]] wherein the specific values (SV) are different of sample values of [[said]] the component (C) associated with non-transparent pixels; and [[-]] encoding [[(330)]] the modified video picture (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan discloses a method for decoding a video picture from a bitstream of encoded video picture data (Yuan, paragraph 19 discloses the first image frame is intra encoded by the encoder, wherein the one or more image frames comprises a second frame being a subsequent to the first image frame, the second image frame being inter frame encoded and referencing the first image frame),
the video picture comprising at least one component of samples representative of pixel values of a screen, wherein the method comprises: [[-]] obtaining [[(410)]] decoded video picture data representative of samples associated with pixels by decoding the bitstream of encoded video picture data; and [[-]] when a sample of one component associated with a pixel equals to a specific value (SV), adjusting [[(420)]] each sample of each component associated with [[said]] the pixel based on transparency information data.3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1 [[or 2]], wherein when the video picture is represented in a limited range of values specific values (SV) are outside [[said] limited range of values (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the video picture is represented in a limited range of values, the specific values (SV) are outside the limited range of values.
Regarding claim 4, Yuan discloses the method of claim 3, wherein at least one of a foot- room and/or or a headroom of the limited range of values is used to indicate indicates at least one of the following information: a transparency pixel presence data; a transparency value upper bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; a transparency value lower bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; at least one sub-interval of samples values used to signal information relative to transparent pixels; intervals of values used to indicate entries of a transparency look-up table; or a transparency level (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a specific sample value (SV) is obtained by modifying at least one last significant bit (LSB) of a value of a sample associated with a transparent pixel (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a specific value (SV) assigned to a sample associated with a transparent pixel has a given parity, [[said]] the specific value being obtained from [[the]] a value of [[said] sample (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises signaling into the bitstream transparency information data indicating a meaning of the specific values (SV) assigned to samples of one component of either the modified video picture or the decoded video picture (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the transparency information data indicates at least one of the following information: a presence of at least one transparent pixel in a video picture or in a video; a transparency value upper bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; a transparency value lower bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; at least one sub-interval of samples values used to signal information relative to transparent pixels; intervals of values used to indicate entries of a transparency look-up table; or a transparency level (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the video picture is partitioned to maximize a number of blocks of samples associated with only either transparent pixels or only non-transparent pixels (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a same specific value (SV) is assigned to all samples of all blocks of samples associated with transparent pixels (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan discloses an apparatus for encoding a video picture into a bitstream of encoded video picture data (Yuan, paragraph 19 discloses the first image frame is intra encoded by the encoder, wherein the one or more image frames comprises a second frame being a subsequent to the first image frame, the second image frame being inter frame encoded and referencing the first image frame),
the video picture comprising at least one component of samples representative of pixel values of a screen, the apparatus comprising a processor configured to: obtain, from a transparency map, a modified video picture by assigning specific values (SV) to samples of one component (C) associated with transparent pixels, wherein the specific values (SV) are different of sample values of the component (C) associated with non-transparent pixels; and encode the modified video picture (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan discloses an apparatus for video decoding a video picture from a bitstream of encoded video picture data, the apparatus comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 2 (Yuan, paragraph 106 discloses the processors performing the recited steps).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein when the video picture is represented in a limited range of values, the specific values (SV) are outside the limited range of values (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan discloses the method of claim 16, wherein at least one of a foot-room or a headroom of the limited range of values indicates at least one of: a transparency pixel presence data; a transparency value upper bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; a transparency value lower bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; at least one sub-interval of samples values used to signal information relative to transparent pixels; intervals of values used to indicate entries of a transparency look-up table; or a transparency level (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a specific value (SV) is obtained by modifying at least one last significant bit (LSB) of a value of a sample associated with a transparent pixel (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a specific value (SV) assigned to a sample associated with a transparent pixel has a given parity, the specific value being obtained from a value of the sample (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises signaling into the bitstream transparency information data indicating a meaning of the specific values (SV) assigned to samples of one component of either the modified video picture or the decoded video picture (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 21, Yuan discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the transparency information data indicates at least one of: a presence of at least one transparent pixel in a video picture or in a video; a transparency value upper bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; a transparency value lower bound of a sub-interval of sample values associated with transparent pixels; at least one sub-interval of samples values used to signal information relative to transparent pixels; intervals of values used to indicate entries of a transparency look-up table; or a transparency level (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 22, Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the video picture is partitioned to maximize a number of blocks of samples associated with only either transparent pixels or only non-transparent pixels (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Regarding claim 23, Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a same specific value (SV) is assigned to all samples of all blocks of samples associated with transparent pixels (Yuan, paragraph 95 discloses bitmap corresponds to an image or array with values for each pixel in the image or cell in the array. For example, the values may be 0 or 1, describing white or black pixels, or transparent and not transparent pixels. In other embodiments, the values may for example range between 0-15, or 0-255 or any other suitable range of values, each value corresponding to a specific colour. Such a bitmap is often referred to as a pixmap).
Conclusion
/JERRY T JEAN BAPTISTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481