DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20190141475 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by Song Ki Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong) in view of US 20160094753 by Masafumi Miyazawa et al. (hereinafter Miyazawa).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches: (original): An electronic device (digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) mediating between (wireless environment between the transmitter and receiver ¶ 0047) a wireless scanner (oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) and a data processing device (high-speed receiver (210) ¶ 0013-0014 and 0043, fig. 4-5 and 7) processing scan data (the high-speed receiver (210) includes a digital receiver (213) that converts received frequency signals into digital signals ¶ 0014, fig. 4-5) obtained by the wireless scanner (oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2), the electronic device (digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) comprising:
a wireless communication module (wireless communication module ¶ 0031);
a memory (storage medium (220) ¶ 0013 and 0044, fig. 4); and
a processor (the high-speed receiver (210) includes a digital receiver (213) that converts the received frequency signals into digital signals and processes them into digital signals ¶ 0014, fig. 4-5) the wireless communication module (wireless communication module ¶ 0031) to receive the scan data transmitted (the oral camera (100) includes a high-speed transmitter (130); the high-speed transmitter (130) transmits the camera (100) image to a digital medium (200) using a wireless communication module ¶ 0011 and 0036, fig. 2-3) from the wireless scanner (oral camera (100) ¶ 0011 and 0013, fig. 1-2), and the received scan data (captured image ¶ 0011) transmitted (the oral camera (100) includes a camera (120) that captures an image and a high-speed transmitter (130) that wirelessly transmits the captured image at high speed ¶ 0011, fig. 1-2) to the data processing device (high-speed receiver (210) ¶ 0013-0014, fig. 4-5 and 7),
wherein the wireless communication module (The high-speed receiver (210) is equipped with a wireless communication module ¶ 0031 and 0043, fig. 4-5) comprises an antenna (the high-speed receiver (210) includes a plurality of 2D-arranged antennas (211) 0046, fig. 5) for receiving the scan data (The beam forming device arranges a plurality of antennas (211) in a 2D manner and receives frequency signals at the antennas ¶ 0047) transmitted (transmits ¶ 0011) from the wireless scanner transmitted (the oral camera (100) includes a camera (120) that captures an image and a high-speed transmitter (130) that wirelessly transmits the captured image at high speed ¶ 0011, fig. 1-2; the digital medium (200) includes a high-speed receiver (210) that wirelessly receives images from an oral camera (100) at high speed ¶ 0013, fig, 1 and 4-5), and
the antenna (see fig. 5 [211]) is disposed (arranges ¶ 0047) to have at least one of a location (environment ¶ 0047) suitable for receiving (receives ¶ 0047) the scan data (captured image ¶ 0011; The high-speed receiver (210) can be equipped with a beam forming device. The beam forming device arranges a plurality of antennas (211) in a 2D manner and receives frequency signals at the antennas so that the antennas adapt to the wireless environment ¶ 0047, fig. 5).
Dong further teaches the oral camera (100) and digital media (200) are equipped with a wireless communication module, the wireless communication module follows IEEE 802.15.3e High-Rate Close Proximity Point to Point Communication (hereinafter HRCP). The wireless communication module can also use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands. The wireless communication module may use a 60 GHz frequency. In these cases, the wireless communication module has a transmission speed of up to 7 Gbps or 14 Gbps (¶ 0031).
A high-speed receiver (210) wirelessly receives images from an oral camera (100) at high speed. The high-speed receiver (210) is equipped with a wireless communication module, the wireless communication module follows IEEE 802.15.3e HRCP. The wireless communication module can also use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands. The wireless communication module may use a 60 GHz frequency. In this case, the wireless communication module has a reception speed of up to 7 Gbps or 14 Gbps (¶ 0043).
The operation mode of an oral camera (100) (¶ 0049, fig. 6).
The oral camera (100) operates in a normal mode for wirelessly transmitting high-speed images taken during normal times, stores the captured images in a memory card when in storage mode, and operates in a transmission mode for transmitting the stored images to a digital medium (200) when connected to a station (¶ 0050, fig. 6).
Dong does not explicitly teach a memory comprising one or more instructions; and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to control the wireless communication module to receive the scan data transmitted from the wireless scanner, and control the received scan data to be processed and transmitted to the data processing device.
However, Miyazawa teaches an image processing system including: a terminal device; and a control device that is configured separately from the terminal device, wherein the terminal device includes: a first processor; and first memory storing computer readable instructions that, when executed by the first processor, causing the terminal device to perform: accessing processing of accessing a target file stored in the file storage server through the first communication interface with a predetermined user information; and wherein the control device includes: a second processor; and second memory storing computer readable instructions that, when executed by the second processor, causing the control device to perform: scanning control processing of controlling a scanner to scan a document to generate target scanned data (¶ 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Miyazawa to include the computer readable instructions with the storage medium and the digital receiver of the art of Dong with the benefit of providing a configuration enabling a user to easily perform insertion of scanned data in a file (Miyazawa, ¶ 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong and Miyazawa to obtain the invention:
a memory (Miyazawa: first memory ¶ 0008) comprising one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008); and a processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to control (Miyazawa: to perform ¶ 0008) the wireless communication module (Dong: wireless communication module ¶ 0031) to receive the scan data transmitted (Dong: the oral camera (100) includes a high-speed transmitter (130); the high-speed transmitter (130) transmits the camera (100) image to a digital medium (200) using a wireless communication module ¶ 0011 and 0036, fig. 2-3) from the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0011 and 0013, fig. 1-2), and control (Miyazawa: controlling ¶ 0008) the received scan data (Dong: captured image ¶ 0011) to be processed (Miyazawa: scanning control processing ¶ 0008) and transmitted (Dong: the oral camera (100) includes a camera (120) that captures an image and a high-speed transmitter (130) that wirelessly transmits the captured image at high speed ¶ 0011, fig. 1-2) to the data processing device (Dong: high-speed receiver (210) ¶ 0013-0014, fig. 4-5 and 7).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa and in further view of US 6067054 by Johannisson Bjorn et al. (hereinafter Bjorn).
Regarding claim 2, Dong and Miyazawa make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 1, the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) the antenna (Dong: 2D-arranged antennas (211); 0046, fig. 5).
Dong and Miyazawa do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein a housing of the electronic device includes a hinge for controlling an inclination of the antenna.
However, Bjorn teaches the antenna comprises a casing 17, housing a substantially parallel distribution network 18 and antenna dipole elements 19. The antenna 11 is attached to the mast 16 and down-tilted, for example by means of a bar 21. An additional hinge 22 may be arranged as an extra support (p. 10, col. 4, ll. 41-48, fig. 2).
The arrangement includes at least one device to mechanically tilt the radiating device in a first direction substantially diverging from the predefined direction, and a device to tilt the beam in a second substantially opposite direction electrically (p. 1, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bjorn to include the hinge and the inclination with the device of the combined art of Dong and Miyazawa with the benefit of inclining the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa and Bjorn to obtain the invention:
wherein a housing (Bjorn: casing 17, p. 10, col. 4, ll. 41-48, fig. 2) of the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) includes a hinge (Bjorn: bar 21/hinge 22, p. 10, col. 4, ll. 41-48, fig. 2) for controlling (Dong: adapt ¶ 0046-0047, fig. 5) an inclination (Bjorn: tilt, p. 1, Abstract) of the antenna (Dong: 2D-arranged antennas (211); so that the antennas adapt to the wireless environment ¶ 0046-0047, fig. 5).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa and in further view of “TP-Link’s new WiFi 6E router has motorized antennas that follow your devices”, 2022 January 4, by Kris Holt et al. (hereinafter Holt), in Engadget, https://www.engadget.com/tp-link-router-antennas-automatically-move-wifi-6e-151032290.html%20.
Regarding claim 3, Dong and Miyazawa make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 1, the antenna (Dong: 2D-arranged antennas (211) 0046, fig. 5), and the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4).
Dong and Miyazawa do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the antenna is disposed to have an inclination on a side of a housing of the electronic device, and the side of the housing of the electronic device is installed to have an inclination corresponding to the inclination of the antenna.
However, Holt teaches multiple antennas with a corresponding inclination at their points of attachment, positioned on various sides of a device (see fig. 1).
Holt – Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Holt to include the position where the antennas are located and the pivoting attachment points for the antennas with the device of the combined art of Dong and Miyazawa with the benefit of optimizing the signal (Holt, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa and Holt to obtain the invention:
Holt teaches wherein the antenna (fig. 1 [Antennas]) is disposed to have an inclination (see fig. 1) on a side of a housing (see fig. 1) of the electronic device (fig. 1 [Device]), and the side of the housing (fig. 1 [Housing]) of the electronic device (fig. 1 [Device]) is installed to have an inclination (see fig. 1) corresponding to the inclination (see fig. 1) of the antenna (fig. 1 [Antennas]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa in view of US 20100208297 by Hiroyoshi Takamiya et al. (hereinafter Takamiya) and in further view of Holt.
Regarding claim 4, Dong and Miyazawa make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 1, the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2), the antenna (Dong: 2D-arranged antennas (211) 0046, fig. 5), the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4).
Dong and Miyazawa do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to detect a communication state with the wireless scanner, and mechanically control at least one of an inclination direction of the antenna, an inclination direction of a housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed, or a location of the electronic device according to the detected communication state.
However, Takamiya teaches an image processing apparatus wherein further comprises a monitoring unit configured to monitor communication between the image processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus for determining a state of communication between the image processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus relating to scanning execution (Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Takamiya to include the monitoring system with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong and Miyazawa with the benefit of determining the communication status of the devices connected to the same network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa and Takamiya to obtain the invention:
wherein the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to detect a communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) with the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Dong, Miyazawa and Takamiya do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and mechanically control at least one of an inclination direction of the antenna, an inclination direction of a housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed, or a location of the electronic device according to the detected communication state.
However, Holt teaches multiple antennas with a corresponding inclination at their points of attachment, positioned on various sides of a device (see fig. 1).
TP-Link's new WiFi GE router has motorized antennas that follow your devices (Title).
The idea is that, to optimize the signal, the router will adjust the antenna placement based on the location and usage of WiFi devices (p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Holt to include the automatic adjustment with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa and Takamiya with the benefit of optimizing the signal (Holt, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Holt to obtain the invention:
and mechanically control (Holt: adjust, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5) at least one of an inclination direction (Holt: placement, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1), according to the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa in view of Takamiya in view of Holt in view of US 20180288274 by Takashi K. Sakayama et al. (hereinafter Sakayama) and in further view of US 20150334527 by Huan-Chia Chang et al. (hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 5, Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Holt make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 4, the wireless communication module (Dong: wireless communication module ¶ 0031) a 60 GHz (Dong: 60 GHz ¶ 0031) signal transmission/reception (Dong: transmission/reception ¶ 0031 and 0043) band (Dong: use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands ¶ 0031), and the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4), and mechanically control (Holt: adjust, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5) at least one of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]).
Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Holt do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the wireless communication module includes a second communication module operating in a 60 GHz signal transmission/reception band, and the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain at least one of the inclination direction of the antenna or the inclination direction of the housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed for which a strength of signal received from the second communication module exceeds a threshold, and mechanically control at least one of the antenna or the housing of the electronic device according to at least one of the obtained inclination direction of the antenna or the obtained inclination direction of the housing.
However, Sakayama teaches an information processing apparatus 100 conducts a wireless communication with a communication device 180. The information processing apparatus 100 includes a communication control module 110, a wireless communication A module 135A, and a wireless communication B module 135B. The number of the wireless communication modules 135 may be three or more (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The combination of the communication devices (communication chips) 310 and the antenna 320 is an example implementing the wireless communication modules 135 illustrated in the example of FIG. 1. 11b:310a to 11g:310h comply with the "IEEE 802.11 standard" which is the international standard of the wireless communication standard and includes "a," "a/b," "b/g," "a/b/g/n," and the like. Of course, Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) which is a product complying with the above-described standard may be used. Especially, IEEE802.11ad which is a wireless communication standard of the 60 GHz band may be adopted. That is, WiGig (Wireless Gigabit) which is a product complying with IEEE802.11ad may be used (¶ 0062, fig. 3).
In IEEE802.11ad using the 60 GHz band, the frequency band is divided into four channels of 1 ch to 4 ch each having the channel width of 9 GHz (¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sakayama to include the plurality of communication modules with the wireless communication module of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Holt with the benefit of starting the communication using the communication unit determined by the determination unit (Sakayama, ¶ 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Holt and Sakayama to obtain the invention:
wherein the wireless communication module (Dong: wireless communication module ¶ 0031) includes a second communication module (Sakayama: The number of the wireless communication modules 135 may be three or more ¶ 0027, fig. 1) operating in a 60 GHz (Sakayama: 60 GHz ¶ 0062, fig. 3) signal transmission/reception (Dong: transmission/reception ¶ 0031 and 0043) band (Dong: use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands ¶ 0031).
Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Holt and Sakayama do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain at least one of the inclination direction of the antenna or the inclination direction of the housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed for which a strength of signal received from the second communication module exceeds a threshold, and mechanically control at least one of the antenna or the housing of the electronic device according to at least one of the obtained inclination direction of the antenna or the obtained inclination direction of the housing.
However, Chang teaches an electronic device. The electronic device comprises an antenna module, a direction detecting module and a signal processing module. The antenna module is provided for communicating with a wireless communication device. The direction detecting module is provided for detecting strength of N wireless signals that the antenna module received from a first offset angle to N-th offset angle with respect to the wireless communication device to determine a directivity of the wireless communication device, in which N is a positive integer larger than 1. The signal processing module is provided for comparing the offset angles corresponding to the strength of the N wireless signals at the directivity of the wireless communication device with a look up table for obtaining an angle of the wireless communication device with respect to the electronic device (Abstract, Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chang to include the direction detecting module with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Holt and Sakayama with the benefit of detecting the strength of wireless signals (Chang, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Holt, Sakayama and Chang to obtain the invention:
and the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to obtain at least one of the inclination direction (Chang: offset angles, Abstract, Table 1) of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) where the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) is installed (see Holt fig. 1) for which a strength of signal (Chang: strength of the N wireless signals, Abstract, Table 1) received from the second communication module (Sakayama: The number of the wireless communication modules 135 may be three or more ¶ 0027, fig. 1) exceeds a threshold (see Chang Table 1), and mechanically control (Holt: adjust, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5) at least one of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) according to at least one of the obtained inclination direction (Chang: offset angles, Abstract, Table 1) of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa in view of Takamiya and in further view of US 20140349715 by Makoto Sasaki et al. (hereinafter Sasaki).
Regarding claim 6, Dong and Miyazawa make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 1, the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2); and the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Dong and Miyazawa do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to detect a communication state with the wireless scanner; and provide user feedback guiding to adjust a location or a direction of at least one of the wireless scanner or the electronic device in response to the detected communication state.
However, Takamiya teaches an image processing apparatus wherein further comprises a monitoring unit configured to monitor communication between the image processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus for determining a state of communication between the image processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus relating to scanning execution (Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Takamiya to include the monitoring system with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong and Miyazawa with the benefit of determining the communication status of the devices connected to the same network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa and Takamiya to obtain the invention:
wherein the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to detect a communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) with the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Dong, Miyazawa and Takamiya do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and provide user feedback guiding to adjust a location or a direction of at least one of the wireless scanner or the electronic device in response to the detected communication state.
However, Sasaki teaches in step S520, the instruction unit 334 instructs the user to change the direction of the mobile communication terminal 100 so that the best azimuth direction points to the broadcasting station 101. In this case, a voice message to instruct the changing of the direction may be outputted through a speaker, or a text message may be displayed on the screen. The message may be a specific message instructing the user to change the direction to which direction and to what extent, or it may be a message simply prompting the user to change the direction so that the arrow in the "best azimuth direction" display area becomes pointing to the broadcasting station 101 (¶ 0075, fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki to include the instruction system with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa and Takamiya with the benefit of instructing the user to adjust a location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki to obtain the invention:
and provide user feedback (Sasaki: message ¶ 0075, fig. 5) guiding (Sasaki: instruct ¶ 0075, fig. 5) to adjust a direction (Sasaki: change the direction ¶ 0075, fig. 5) of at least one of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) in response to the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa in view of Takamiya in view of Sasaki and in further view of JP 2017139784 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by Urabe Yoshio et al. (hereinafter Yoshio).
Regarding claim 7, Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 6, the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to provide the user feedback (Sasaki: message ¶ 0075, fig. 5) guiding (Sasaki: instruct ¶ 0075, fig. 5) to adjust the direction (Sasaki: change the direction ¶ 0075, fig. 5) of at least one of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) when the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) a 60 GHz (Dong: 60 GHz ¶ 0031) range.
Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to provide the user feedback guiding to adjust the location or the direction of at least one of the wireless scanner or the electronic device when the detected communication state indicates that communication is possible in a 2.4 GHz range and that communication is impossible in a 60 GHz range.
However, Yoshio teaches the wireless communication device has a 60 GHz band wireless communication unit 11 and a 2.4 GHz band wireless communication unit 12, and is capable of wireless communication by switching between the respective frequency bands. Each of the wireless communication units 11 and 12 can be independently put into a sleep state with low power consumption (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The wireless communication device also includes a communication status management unit 13 , a switching control unit 14 , and a transmission data management unit 15. The communication status management unit 13 determines the communication status by referring to the communication path status information CS1 output from the 60 GHz band wireless communication unit 11, the communication path status information CS2 output from the 2.4 GHz band wireless communication unit 12, and the transmission data status information DS output from the transmission data management unit 15. When the communication status management unit 13 determines that a change in the communication status has occurred, it generates event information EV indicating the change in the communication status and outputs it to the switching control unit 14 (¶ 0028, fig. 1).
The switching control unit 14 determines the link loss timeout period LLT, which is a parameter for setting frequency band switching, based on the event information EV. In addition, the switching control unit 14 manages the frequency band switching setting state and issues a switching setting sequence, and based on the switching state, distributes the transmission data to either the 60 GHz band wireless communication unit 11 or the 2.4 GHz band wireless communication unit 12 (¶ 0029, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yoshio to include the switching control unit with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki with the benefit of switching frequency bands (Yoshio, ¶ 0001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki and Yoshio to obtain the invention:
wherein the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to provide the user feedback (Sasaki: message ¶ 0075, fig. 5) guiding (Sasaki: instruct ¶ 0075, fig. 5) to adjust the direction (Sasaki: change the direction ¶ 0075, fig. 5) of at least one of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) when the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) indicates that communication is possible (Yoshio: switching state ¶ 0029, fig. 1) in a 2.4 GHz (Yoshio: 2.4 GHz ¶ 0029, fig. 1) range and that communication is impossible (Yoshio: switching state ¶ 0029, fig. 1) in a 60 GHz (Dong: 60 GHz ¶ 0031) range.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa in view of Takamiya in view of Sasaki in view of Yoshio and in further view of US 20180217644 by Bo Dan et al. (hereinafter Dan).
Regarding claim 8, Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki and Yoshio make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 7, the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2), and the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4).
Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki and Yoshio do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to detect an operating state of the wireless scanner, and control cooling means of the electronic device according to the detected operating state of the wireless scanner.
However, Dan teaches a computing device 100 including an example of a thermal management system 102. The computing device 100 may be any number of computing devices including, for example, a personal computer, a server computer, a tablet or other handheld computing device, a laptop or mobile computer, a communications device such as a mobile phone, a multiprocessor system, a microprocessor-based system, a set top box, a programmable consumer electronic device, a network PC, a mini computer, a mainframe computer, or an audio and/or video media player (¶ 0023, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 includes one or more fans 110 to actively cool the one or more heat generating components 106, respectively, moving heat out of the computing device 100 via inlet/outlets 112 of the one or more fans 110, vent 114 in the housing 104, vent 116 in the housing 104, or any combination thereof (¶ 0026, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 may include additional components (e.g., heat sinks and/or phase change devices) to aid in the removal of heat from the computing device 100 (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 also includes one or more sensors 118 that monitor operating conditions or parameters (e.g., an operating condition) on or in the computing
device 100 (¶ 0028, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 includes a processor. The processor 106a, for example, receives the live temperatures from the sensors 118a and 118b and controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 and 116 to increase airflow through the computing device and/or decrease system noise (¶ 0030, fig. 1).
The processor of the thermal management system 102 is configured to open and close the vents 114 and 116 based on the operating condition monitored by the one or more sensors 118 (¶ 0031, fig. 1).
The operating condition monitored by the one or more sensors 118 may be related to usage of the computing device 100 (¶ 0032, fig. 1).
Dan further teaches the improved heat dissipation from an electronic device may be implemented by a method for cooling the electronic device, which includes a housing and a vent in the housing. The method includes monitoring, by a sensor, an operating condition of the electronic device, and opening or closing, by a processor, the vent based on the monitored condition of the electronic device (¶ 0020).
Dan – Figure 7: Method 700 for cooling an electronic device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Dan to include the thermal management system and the cooling methods with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki and Yoshio with the benefit of maintaining the temperature of a device within a moderate range (Dan, ¶ 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki, Yoshio and Dan to obtain the invention:
wherein the processor (Dan: processor ¶ 0030-0031, fig. 1) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to detect (Dan: monitor ¶ 0028, fig. 7) an operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2), and control cooling means (Dan: controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) of the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) according to the detected (Dan: monitor ¶ 0028, fig. 7) operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki, Yoshio and Dan make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 8, wherein the processor (Miyazawa: second processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to detect the operating state (Dong: operation mode ¶ 0049, fig. 6) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) by receiving information (Dong: normal mode/transmission mode ¶ 0050, fig. 6) about the operating state (Dong: operation mode ¶ 0049, fig. 6) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) from the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, (canceled).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Miyazawa in view of Takamiya in view of Sasaki and in further view of Dan.
Regarding claim 9, Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki make obvious (original): The electronic device of claim 6, the processor (Miyazawa: first processor ¶ 0008) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) indicates that the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions to control cooling means of the electronic device to operate when an operating state of the wireless scanner indicates that the wireless scanner is operating, and control the cooling means of the electronic device not to operate when the operating state of the wireless scanner indicates that the wireless scanner is waiting to operate.
However, Dan teaches a computing device 100 including an example of a thermal management system 102. The computing device 100 may be any number of computing devices including, for example, a personal computer, a server computer, a tablet or other handheld computing device, a laptop or mobile computer, a communications device such as a mobile phone, a multiprocessor system, a microprocessor-based system, a set top box, a programmable consumer electronic device, a network PC, a mini computer, a mainframe computer, or an audio and/or video media player (¶ 0023, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 includes one or more fans 110 to actively cool the one or more heat generating components 106, respectively, moving heat out of the computing device 100 via inlet/outlets 112 of the one or more fans 110, vent 114 in the housing 104, vent 116 in the housing 104, or any combination thereof (¶ 0026, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 may include additional components (e.g., heat sinks and/or phase change devices) to aid in the removal of heat from the computing device 100 (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 also includes one or more sensors 118 that monitor operating conditions or parameters (e.g., an operating condition) on or in the computing
device 100 (¶ 0028, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 includes a processor. The processor 106a, for example, receives the live temperatures from the sensors 118a and 118b and controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 and 116 to increase airflow through the computing device and/or decrease system noise (¶ 0030, fig. 1).
The processor of the thermal management system 102 is configured to open and close the vents 114 and 116 based on the operating condition monitored by the one or more sensors 118 (¶ 0031, fig. 1).
The operating condition monitored by the one or more sensors 118 may be related to usage of the computing device 100 (¶ 0032, fig. 1).
Dan further teaches the improved heat dissipation from an electronic device may be implemented by a method for cooling the electronic device, which includes a housing and a vent in the housing. The method includes monitoring, by a sensor, an operating condition of the electronic device, and opening or closing, by a processor, the vent based on the monitored condition of the electronic device (¶ 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Dan to include the thermal management system and the cooling methods with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya and Sasaki with the benefit of maintaining the temperature of a device within a moderate range (Dan, ¶ 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Miyazawa, Takamiya, Sasaki and Dan to obtain the invention:
wherein the processor (Dan: processor ¶ 0030-0031, fig. 1) is configured to execute (Miyazawa: executed ¶ 0008) the one or more instructions (Miyazawa: computer readable instructions ¶ 0008) to control cooling means (Dan: controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) of the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) to operate (see Dan fig. 7) when an operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) indicates that the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) is operating (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7), and control the cooling means (Dan: controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) of the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) not to operate (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) when the operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) indicates that the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) is waiting to operate (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Takamiya and in further view of Holt.
Regarding claim 12, Dong teaches: (original): An operation method of an electronic device (digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4) mediating between (see fig. 1) a wireless scanner (oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) and a data processing device (high-speed receiver (210) ¶ 0013-0014 and 0043, fig. 4-5 and 7) processing scan data (the high-speed receiver (210) includes a digital receiver (213) that converts received frequency signals into digital signals ¶ 0014, fig. 4-5) obtained by the wireless scanner (oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2), the operation method comprising: the wireless scanner (oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) through a wireless communication module (wireless communication module ¶ 0031) of the electronic device (digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4), and an antenna (the high-speed receiver (210) includes a plurality of 2D-arranged antennas (211) 0046, fig. 5).
Dong further teaches the oral camera (100) and digital media (200) are equipped with a wireless communication module, the wireless communication module follows IEEE 802.15.3e High-Rate Close Proximity Point to Point Communication (hereinafter HRCP). The wireless communication module can also use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands. The wireless communication module may use a 60 GHz frequency. In these cases, the wireless communication module has a transmission speed of up to 7 Gbps or 14 Gbps (¶ 0031).
A high-speed receiver (210) wirelessly receives images from an oral camera (100) at high speed. The high-speed receiver (210) is equipped with a wireless communication module, the wireless communication module follows IEEE 802.15.3e HRCP. The wireless communication module can also use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands. The wireless communication module may use a 60 GHz frequency. In this case, the wireless communication module has a reception speed of up to 7 Gbps or 14 Gbps (¶ 0043).
The operation mode of an oral camera (100) (¶ 0049, fig. 6).
The oral camera (100) operates in a normal mode for wirelessly transmitting high-speed images taken during normal times, stores the captured images in a memory card when in storage mode, and operates in a transmission mode for transmitting the stored images to a digital medium (200) when connected to a station (¶ 0050, fig. 6).
Dong does not explicitly teach the operation method comprising: detecting a communication state with the wireless scanner through a wireless communication module of the electronic device, and mechanically controlling at least one of an inclination direction of an antenna, an inclination direction of a housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed, or a location of the electronic device according to the detected communication state.
However, Takamiya teaches an image processing apparatus wherein further comprises a monitoring unit configured to monitor communication between the image processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus for determining a state of communication between the image processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus relating to scanning execution (Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Takamiya to include the monitoring system with the electronic device of the art of Dong with the benefit of determining the communication status of the devices connected to the same network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong and Takamiya to obtain the invention:
the operation method comprising: detecting a communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) with the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) through a wireless communication module (Dong: wireless communication module ¶ 0031) of the electronic device (Dong: digital medium (200) ¶ 0013, fig. 1 and 4).
Dong and Takamiya do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and mechanically controlling at least one of an inclination direction of an antenna, an inclination direction of a housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed, or a location of the electronic device according to the detected communication state.
However, Holt teaches multiple antennas with a corresponding inclination at their points of attachment, positioned on various sides of a device (see fig. 1).
TP-Link's new WiFi GE router has motorized antennas that follow your devices (Title).
The idea is that, to optimize the signal, the router will adjust the antenna placement based on the location and usage of WiFi devices (p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Holt to include the automatic adjustment with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong and Takamiya with the benefit of optimizing the signal (Holt, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Takamiya and Holt to obtain the invention:
and mechanically controlling (Holt: adjust, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5) at least one of an inclination direction (Holt: placement, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of an antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1), according to the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Takamiya in view of Holt in view of Sakayama and in further view of Chang.
Regarding claim 13, Dong, Takamiya and Holt make obvious (original): The operation method of claim 12, the wireless communication module (Dong: wireless communication module ¶ 0031) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]).
Dong, Takamiya and Holt do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the wireless communication module of the electronic device includes a second communication module operating in a 60 GHz signal transmission/reception band, the operation method further comprising: obtaining at least one of the inclination direction of the antenna or the inclination direction of the housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed for which a strength of signal received from the second communication module exceeds a threshold, and mechanically controlling at least one of the antenna or the housing of the electronic device according to at least one of the obtained inclination direction of the antenna or the obtained inclination direction of the housing.
However, Sakayama teaches an information processing apparatus 100 conducts a wireless communication with a communication device 180. The information processing apparatus 100 includes a communication control module 110, a wireless communication A module 135A, and a wireless communication B module 135B. The number of the wireless communication modules 135 may be three or more (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The combination of the communication devices (communication chips) 310 and the antenna 320 is an example implementing the wireless communication modules 135 illustrated in the example of FIG. 1. 11b:310a to 11g:310h comply with the "IEEE 802.11 standard" which is the international standard of the wireless communication standard and includes "a," "a/b," "b/g," "a/b/g/n," and the like. Of course, Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) which is a product complying with the above-described standard may be used. Especially, IEEE802.11ad which is a wireless communication standard of the 60 GHz band may be adopted. That is, WiGig (Wireless Gigabit) which is a product complying with IEEE802.11ad may be used (¶ 0062, fig. 3).
In IEEE802.11ad using the 60 GHz band, the frequency band is divided into four channels of 1 ch to 4 ch each having the channel width of 9 GHz (¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sakayama to include the plurality of communication modules with the wireless communication module of the combined art of Dong, Takamiya and Holt with the benefit of starting the communication using the communication unit determined by the determination unit (Sakayama, ¶ 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sakayama to obtain the invention:
wherein the wireless communication module (Dong: wireless communication module ¶ 0031) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) includes a second communication module (Sakayama: The number of the wireless communication modules 135 may be three or more ¶ 0027, fig. 1) operating in a 60 GHz (Sakayama: 60 GHz ¶ 0062, fig. 3) signal transmission/reception (Dong: transmission/reception ¶ 0031 and 0043) band (Dong: use millimeter wave bands in the 60 GHz, 70 GHz, and 80 GHz bands ¶ 0031).
Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sakayama do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, the operation method further comprising: obtaining at least one of the inclination direction of the antenna or the inclination direction of the housing of the electronic device where the antenna is installed for which a strength of signal received from the second communication module exceeds a threshold, and mechanically controlling at least one of the antenna or the housing of the electronic device according to at least one of the obtained inclination direction of the antenna or the obtained inclination direction of the housing.
However, Chang teaches an electronic device. The electronic device comprises an antenna module, a direction detecting module and a signal processing module. The antenna module is provided for communicating with a wireless communication device. The direction detecting module is provided for detecting strength of N wireless signals that the antenna module received from a first offset angle to N-th offset angle with respect to the wireless communication device to determine a directivity of the wireless communication device, in which N is a positive integer larger than 1. The signal processing module is provided for comparing the offset angles corresponding to the strength of the N wireless signals at the directivity of the wireless communication device with a look up table for obtaining an angle of the wireless communication device with respect to the electronic device (Abstract, Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chang to include the direction detecting module with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sakayama with the benefit of detecting the strength of wireless signals (Chang, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sakayama and Chang to obtain the invention:
the operation method further comprising: obtaining at least one of the inclination direction (Chang: offset angles, Abstract, Table 1) of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) where the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) is installed (see Holt fig. 1) for which a strength of signal (Chang: strength of the N wireless signals, Abstract, Table 1) received from the second communication module (Sakayama: The number of the wireless communication modules 135 may be three or more ¶ 0027, fig. 1) exceeds a threshold (see Chang Table 1), and mechanically controlling (Holt: adjust, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5) at least one of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) according to at least one of the obtained inclination direction (Chang: offset angles, Abstract, Table 1) of the antenna (Holt: antenna, p. 1, para. 1, ll. 4-5, fig. 1).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Takamiya in view of Holt and in further view of Sasaki.
Regarding claim 14, Dong, Takamiya and Holt make obvious (original): The operation method of claim 12, further comprising:
detecting a communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) with the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Dong, Takamiya and Holt do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and providing user feedback guiding to adjust a location or a direction of at least one of the wireless scanner or the electronic device in response to the detected communication state.
However, Sasaki teaches in step S520, the instruction unit 334 instructs the user to change the direction of the mobile communication terminal 100 so that the best azimuth direction points to the broadcasting station 101. In this case, a voice message to instruct the changing of the direction may be outputted through a speaker, or a text message may be displayed on the screen. The message may be a specific message instructing the user to change the direction to which direction and to what extent, or it may be a message simply prompting the user to change the direction so that the arrow in the "best azimuth direction" display area becomes pointing to the broadcasting station 101 (¶ 0075, fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki to include the instruction system with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Takamiya and Holt with the benefit of instructing the user to adjust a location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sasaki to obtain the invention:
and providing user feedback (Sasaki: message ¶ 0075, fig. 5) guiding (Sasaki: instruct ¶ 0075, fig. 5) to adjust a direction (Sasaki: change the direction ¶ 0075, fig. 5) of at least one of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) in response to the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Takamiya in view of Holt in view of Sasaki and in further view of Yoshio.
Regarding claim 15, Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sasaki make obvious (original): The operation method of claim 14, further comprising: providing the user feedback (Sasaki: message ¶ 0075, fig. 5) guiding (Sasaki: instruct ¶ 0075, fig. 5) to adjust the direction (Sasaki: change the direction ¶ 0075, fig. 5) of at least one of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5).
Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sasaki do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, providing the user feedback guiding to adjust the location or the direction of at least one of the wireless scanner or the electronic device when the detected communication state indicates that communication is possible in a 2.4 GHz range and that communication is impossible in a 60 GHz range.
However, Yoshio teaches the wireless communication device has a 60 GHz band wireless communication unit 11 and a 2.4 GHz band wireless communication unit 12, and is capable of wireless communication by switching between the respective frequency bands. Each of the wireless communication units 11 and 12 can be independently put into a sleep state with low power consumption (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The wireless communication device also includes a communication status management unit 13 , a switching control unit 14 , and a transmission data management unit 15. The communication status management unit 13 determines the communication status by referring to the communication path status information CS1 output from the 60 GHz band wireless communication unit 11, the communication path status information CS2 output from the 2.4 GHz band wireless communication unit 12, and the transmission data status information DS output from the transmission data management unit 15. When the communication status management unit 13 determines that a change in the communication status has occurred, it generates event information EV indicating the change in the communication status and outputs it to the switching control unit 14 (¶ 0028, fig. 1).
The switching control unit 14 determines the link loss timeout period LLT, which is a parameter for setting frequency band switching, based on the event information EV. In addition, the switching control unit 14 manages the frequency band switching setting state and issues a switching setting sequence, and based on the switching state, distributes the transmission data to either the 60 GHz band wireless communication unit 11 or the 2.4 GHz band wireless communication unit 12 (¶ 0029, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yoshio to include the switching control unit with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Takamiya, Holt and Sasaki with the benefit of switching frequency bands (Yoshio, ¶ 0001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki and Yoshio to obtain the invention:
providing the user feedback (Sasaki: message ¶ 0075, fig. 5) guiding (Sasaki: instruct ¶ 0075, fig. 5) to adjust the direction (Sasaki: change the direction ¶ 0075, fig. 5) of at least one of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) when the detected communication state (Takamiya: determining a state of communication, see Claim 5) indicates that communication is possible (Yoshio: switching state ¶ 0029, fig. 1) in a 2.4 GHz (Yoshio: 2.4 GHz ¶ 0029, fig. 1) range and that communication is impossible (Yoshio: switching state ¶ 0029, fig. 1) in a 60 GHz (Dong: 60 GHz ¶ 0031) range.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Takamiya in view of Holt in view of Sasaki in view of Yoshio and in further view of Dan.
Regarding claim 16, Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki and Yoshio make obvious (original): The operation method of claim 15, the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki and Yoshio do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the electronic device further includes cooling means to eliminate heat generation of the electronic device, the operation method further comprising: detecting an operating state of the wireless scanner, and controlling the cooling means of the electronic device according to the detected operating state of the wireless scanner.
However, Dan teaches a computing device 100 including an example of a thermal management system 102. The computing device 100 may be any number of computing devices including, for example, a personal computer, a server computer, a tablet or other handheld computing device, a laptop or mobile computer, a communications device such as a mobile phone, a multiprocessor system, a microprocessor-based system, a set top box, a programmable consumer electronic device, a network PC, a mini computer, a mainframe computer, or an audio and/or video media player (¶ 0023, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 includes one or more fans 110 to actively cool the one or more heat generating components 106, respectively, moving heat out of the computing device 100 via inlet/outlets 112 of the one or more fans 110, vent 114 in the housing 104, vent 116 in the housing 104, or any combination thereof (¶ 0026, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 may include additional components (e.g., heat sinks and/or phase change devices) to aid in the removal of heat from the computing device 100 (¶ 0027, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 also includes one or more sensors 118 that monitor operating conditions or parameters (e.g., an operating condition) on or in the computing
device 100 (¶ 0028, fig. 1).
The thermal management system 102 includes a processor. The processor 106a, for example, receives the live temperatures from the sensors 118a and 118b and controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 and 116 to increase airflow through the computing device and/or decrease system noise (¶ 0030, fig. 1).
The processor of the thermal management system 102 is configured to open and close the vents 114 and 116 based on the operating condition monitored by the one or more sensors 118 (¶ 0031, fig. 1).
The operating condition monitored by the one or more sensors 118 may be related to usage of the computing device 100 (¶ 0032, fig. 1).
Dan further teaches the improved heat dissipation from an electronic device may be implemented by a method for cooling the electronic device, which includes a housing and a vent in the housing. The method includes monitoring, by a sensor, an operating condition of the electronic device, and opening or closing, by a processor, the vent based on the monitored condition of the electronic device (¶ 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Dan to include the thermal management system and the cooling methods with the electronic device of the combined art of Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki and Yoshio with the benefit of maintaining the temperature of a device within a moderate range (Dan, ¶ 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki, Yoshio and Dan to obtain the invention:
wherein the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) further includes cooling means (Dan: fan 110 and/or vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) to eliminate heat (Dan: heat dissipation ¶ 0020) generation of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]), the operation method further comprising: detecting an operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2), and controlling the cooling means (Dan: controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) according to the detected operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki, Yoshio and Dan make obvious (original): The operation method of claim 16, further comprising:
controlling the cooling means (Dan: controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) to operate (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) when the operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) indicates that the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) is operating (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7), and
controlling the cooling means (Dan: controls the fan 110 and/or the vents 114 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 7) of the electronic device (see Holt fig. 1 [Device]) not to operate (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) when the operating state (Dan: operating condition ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) indicates that the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) is waiting to operate (Dan: operating conditions ¶ 0028, fig. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 18, Dong, Takamiya, Holt, Sasaki, Yoshio and Dan make obvious (original): The operation method of claim 16, further comprising: detecting (Dan: monitor ¶ 0028, fig. 7) the operating state (Dong: operation mode ¶ 0049, fig. 6) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) by receiving information (Dong: normal mode/transmission mode ¶ 0050, fig. 6) about the operating state (Dong: operation mode ¶ 0049, fig. 6) of the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2) from the wireless scanner (Dong: oral camera (100) ¶ 0013, fig. 1-2).
Conclusion
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2844