DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of claims 2-6 should change “a glass sheet” to “the glass sheet”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 requires antecedent basis that “the present formation part has penetrated”. It is not clear what this penetration entails. Parent claim 1 only requires irradiation with laser light. Is the penetration with regards to the irradiation?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al (CN-113045209-A, English translation provided by Espacenet) and further in view of Upton (US-3982917-A).
Regarding claim 1, Cui teaches a method of manufacturing a glass sheet having a first main surface, a second main surface, and a through hole (Line 130, flat glass having a first main surface and a second main surface with a through hole) that penetrates between the first main surface and the second main surface (Fig. 3-4), the method comprising: a modification step of modifying a preset formation part for the through hole by irradiation with laser light (Line 47, 100-102); and a through hole formation step of forming the through hole in the preset formation part after the modification step (Line 49-53), wherein the through hole formation step comprises: an etching step of etching the glass sheet with an etchant (Line 49).
Cui teaches of a removal step of removing residue and residual etchant from the etched glass (Line 52-53). Cui does not expressly teach the residue is a precipitate from etching process. In related etching of glass art, Upton teaches of etching the glass with an etchant (Col. 3 Line 5-10) in which a precipitate is formed when the glass is taken out of the etchant (Col. 3 Line 10-12 ) and the precipitates are removed (Col. 3 Line 12-13). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that etching glass forms a precipitate when taken out of the etchant in which the skilled artisan would require the removal of the precipitate as a known technique to physically strengthen glass and resist thermal shock (Col. 2 Line 65-69; Col. 3 Line 36-39).
Regarding claim 4/6, depending from claim 1, modified Cui incorporates the precipitate washing/removal taught by Upton wherein Upton performs the etching step and the precipitate removal step a plurality of times (Col. 3 Line 23-27), wherein Upton teaches of etching and precipitate removal between a first etching step and a second etching step (Upton Col. 3 Line 26-28).
Regarding claim 5, depending from claim 1, Cui teaches that the through hole formation step comprises preforming the precipitate removal step (Line 207-209; and optionally drying precipitate removed glass).
Claims 2-3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al (CN-113045209-A) and Upton (US-3982917-A) and further in view of Salzle (US-4332649-A).
Regarding claim 2, depending from claim 1, modified Cui relies on the etching and precipitate removal taught by Upton which teaches the precipitate is removed by rinsing with water (Col. 3 Line 24-28). Modified Cui does not expressly teach the precipitate removal step comprises removing the precipitate through use of an acid solution. In related etching of glass art, Salzle teaches of first etching glass and the precipitate reaction that adheres to the surface of the glass (Col. 2 Line 48-54) and removing the precipitate by using a sulfuric acid washing (Col. 5 Line 19-21; 50-53). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an acid solution to wash and remove the precipitate formed after etching the glass as a known technique in the art (Col. 2 Line 27-36).
Regarding claim 3, depending from claim 2, modified Cui relies on the sulfuric acid solution (Col. 5 Line 19-21; 50-53) taught by Salzle to remove the precipitate form on an etched glass (Col. 2 Line 27-36; 48-54).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO-2021092361-A1, US-202000354262-A1 teaches irradiating a damage track, HF etching forming a precipitate, combining HF with HCl/HNO3/H2SO4 to the HF etching solution to reduce the precipitate reaction
CN-110573470-A teaches using laser drilling and a HF/HNO3 etchant
CN-110156338-A teaches an acid etching solution comprising HF/HCl/HNO3/H2SO4
US-20190107751-A1 teaches of using HF with either HCl or H2SO4 for an etching solution and use a H2SO4 solution to remove precipitates from the etching solution
CN-105924016-A teaches adding HCl and/or H2SO4 to a HF etching solution so precipitate would not form on the glass
US-20110079931-A teaches of first pre-treating glass with HCl/HNO3/H2SO4 followed by a HF etch
CN-1891651-A teaches of a HF/HNO3 etching solution followed by an alkaline washing step
US-20020067459-A1 teaches adding sulfuric acid to a HF etching solution suppresses precipitation on the glass
JP-2000313629-A teaches laser irradiating a target area that precipitates after etching, the precipitated region is etched away
/STEVEN S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741