DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 19, 21-27, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veasey et al (WO 2011/039217 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Veasey discloses a sub-assembly for a medicament delivery device, the sub-assembly extending along a longitudinal axis in a longitudinal direction from a proximal end to a distal end, the sub-assembly comprising: a housing 30; and a plunger rod 20 arranged at least partly inside the housing (page 48, 26-30; fig. 4A); wherein the plunger rod comprises a first surface 210 facing towards the proximal end and a component of the sub-assembly other than the plunger rod comprises a second surface 300 facing towards the distal end, with the first surface and the second surface being arranged so that, when the plunger rod moves towards the proximal end relative to the component during medicament delivery device use, the first surface and the second surface engage to rotate the plunger rod relative to the component (page 48, line 30 – page 49, line 3; page 49, lines 23-24) and then disengage so that the plunger rod rotates back relative to the component (page 49, lines 5-6; page 50, lines 15-54), and wherein the sub-assembly comprises a torsion spring 80 attached at one end to the plunger rod and at the other end to the component (page 50, lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 17, Veasey discloses that the component is the housing 30.
Regarding claim 19, Veasey that at least part of at least one of the first surface and the second surface is angled relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (fig. 4A: engaging surfaces have a perpendicular wall and a slanted wall).
Regarding claim 21, Veasey discloses that at least part of the first surface is angled relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (fig.4A).
Regarding claim 22, Veasey discloses that the sub-assembly comprises a feedback surface 300 angled relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein the feedback surface is spaced apart in a circumferential direction relative to the longitudinal axis from a distal end of the first surface (page 35, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 23, Veasey discloses that at least part of the second surface is angled relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 24, Veasey discloses that the sub-assembly comprises a feedback surface 300 angled relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein the feedback surface is spaced apart in a circumferential direction relative to the longitudinal axis from a distal end of the first surface (page 35, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 25, Veasey discloses that the plunger rod comprises the feedback surface (page 35, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 26, Veasey discloses that the component 30 is rotationally locked relative to the housing (page 42, line 10).
Regarding claim 27, Veasey discloses that a spring is arranged between the plunger rod and the housing, and the spring is configured to move the plunger rod towards the proximal end during medicament delivery (page 20, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 29, Veasey discloses that the torsion spring 80 is a first spring and the spring is a second spring (page 20, lines 17-19: second spring is a drive spring).
Regarding claim 30, Veasey discloses a medicament delivery device comprising the sub-assembly of claim 16 (page 1, lines 10-11; see claim 16 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veasey.
Claim 20 calls for the at least part of at least one of the first surface and the second surface is angled relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis at an angle of between 10 and 85 degrees. Veasey is silent as to the angle. However, Applicant has not provided criticality to the claimed angle by explaining the particular purpose it serves. The angle shown by Veasey is neither perpendicular nor parallel to a line perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and therefore it would have been obvious that the angle is within the claimed range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of the claims listed above could not be found and was not suggested by the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the housing comprising an outer housing and a rear cap, and the rear cap comprises the second surface, in combination with the features of the invention, substantially as claimed.
Regarding claim 28, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the spring and the torsion spring being the same component, in combination with the features of the invention, substantially as claimed.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783