DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2026 June 01 is acknowledged.
Claims 55-60 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-50 and 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patent No.: US 2,708,832 A (herein “McGregor”).
Regarding independent claim 41.
McGregor discloses a vaporization device (Fig. 4), comprising:
a liquid input (at 26);
a gas output (at 29); and
one or more plates (20) arranged below the liquid input,
wherein the one or more plates are configured such that they are capable of receiving liquid from the liquid input and generating gas by vaporizing the liquid (col. 2, ln. 16-19), and
wherein the generated gas can exit the device via the gas output (col. 2, ln. 19-21).
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 42.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, wherein the liquid input is configured such that it is capable of generating droplets of liquid (Fig. 4; droplets can be provided through the input to the plates).
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 43.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, wherein the plates are configured such that they can receive the liquid in droplet form (Fig. 4; droplets can fall onto the plates from above).
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 44.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, further comprising:
a heat source (33), wherein the one or more plates are attached to the heat source (shown in Fig. 4; plates 20 are attached to tube 33).
Regarding claim 45.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 44, wherein the heat source is a fluid conduit (tube 33 is a fluid conduit).
Regarding claim 46.
McGregor discloses the device claim 45, wherein the fluid conduit is a pipe (Fig. 4; 33) capable of carrying fluid such as engine coolant.
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 47.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, wherein the one or more plates comprise a plurality of plates (Fig. 4; multiple plates 20).
Regarding claim 48.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 47, wherein each of the plurality of plates is a disc or fin mounted radially about a heat source (col. 2, ln. 50; shown in Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 49.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 44, wherein the heat source is arranged centrally in the device and runs lengthwise through the device (shown in Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 50.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, wherein at least one of the plates is an annular slotted or perforated disc (Fig. 4; slotted/perforated at 31).
Regarding claim 53.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, wherein the one or more plates are capable of being heated (by flowing heating fluid through 33).
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 54.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 44, wherein the device is configured such that liquid can enter the device at a first temperature (through 26) and gas can exit the device at a second temperature (through 29), wherein the second temperature can be greater than the first temperature,
wherein the heat source can have a third temperature, and
wherein the third temperature can be greater than both the first and second temperatures.
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claims 41 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patent No.: US 3,499,428 A (herein “Stirling”).
Regarding independent claim 41.
Stirling discloses a vaporization device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a liquid input (at 19);
a gas output (at 35); and
one or more plates (49) arranged below the liquid input,
wherein the one or more plates are configured such that they are capable of receiving liquid from the liquid input and generating gas by vaporizing the liquid (col. 4, ln. 6-20), and
wherein the generated gas can exit the device via the gas output (col. 4, ln. 18).
Note – Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does... a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 51.
Stirling discloses the device of claim 41, wherein the at least one plate comprises a single plate arranged about a central conduit in a corkscrew or elongated spiral arrangement (shown in Fig. 1; elongated spiral 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGregor in view of Patent No.: US 3,875,759 A (herein “Malcosky”).
Regarding claim 52.
McGregor discloses the device of claim 41, but does not explicitly disclose an insulating layer arranged on an exterior surface of the vaporization device.
Malcosky discloses a vaporization device (Fig. 1) similar to McGregor, comprising: an insulating layer (128) arranged on an exterior surface of the vaporization device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporization device of McGregor with the insulation teaching of Malcosky in order to prevent unwanted heat transfer to and from the vaporization device, which could result in a loss of efficiency in the vaporizer, and/or which could negatively impact components adjacent to the vaporizer.
Conclusion
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763