DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a FINAL office action on the merits. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14, 16-19 and 26-29, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 4 and 6, line 2, the phrase “a belt” should be replaced by --the belt-- or --said belt--.
In claim 26, line 10 the phrase “and; and” should be replaced by --and;--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paik (US 9,936,772).
Regarding claim 1, Paik discloses an apparatus comprising a sliding element (100/200) and a guiding element (310),
the sliding element comprises a first fitting part (200) and the guiding element comprises a second fitting part (311),
wherein one of the first fitting part and the second fitting part receives the other (Figs. 2 and 12 as shown), so that the sliding element is connected to the guiding element and the sliding element is slidable linearly on the guiding element (Paragraph 5, lines 1-4); and
wherein the sliding element and the guiding element are connected to each other between a backrest of a baby carrier and a back cushion provided on a side of the backrest (the elements can be located relative to a carrier and cushion in the claimed manner), a belt (322) is slidably connected to the sliding element on the side of the cushion.
Regarding claim 2, Paik further discloses wherein the sliding element further comprises a connecting buckle (200) and a neck (204), the neck connects the connecting buckle to the first fitting part, and a width of the neck is less than a width of either of the connecting buckle and the first fitting part (Figs. 3-11 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Paik further discloses wherein the connecting buckle comprises a through hole (between 101 and 102) through which a belt (322) passes, and the connecting buckle further comprises a locking part which is a rod (103) arranged in the through hole for restricting movement of the belt.
Regarding claim 6, Paik further discloses, wherein the connecting buckle comprises a through hole (between 101 and 102) through which a belt (322) passes, and the buckle assembly further comprises an adjusting buckle (321), and the adjusting buckle is used to adjust a position where a belt passes through the through hole.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold et al. (US 2005/0206215).
Regarding claim 1, Arnold et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a sliding element (26/22) and a guiding element (14),
the sliding element comprises a first fitting part (26), and the guiding element comprises a second fitting part (14),
wherein one of the first fitting part and the second fitting part receives the other (Figs. 1-3 as shown), so that the sliding element is connected to the guiding element and the sliding element is slidable linearly on the guiding element (The device as shown in Figs. 1-3 operates in the claimed manner); and
wherein the sliding element and the guiding element are connected to each other between a backrest of a baby carrier and a back cushion provided on a side of the backrest (the elements can be located relative to a carrier and cushion in the claimed manner), a belt (20) is slidably connected to the sliding element on the side of the cushion.
Regarding claim 2, Arnold et al. further discloses wherein the sliding element further comprises a connecting buckle (22) and a neck (49), the neck connects the connecting buckle to the first fitting part, and a width of the neck is less than a width of either of the connecting buckle and the first fitting part (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Arnold et al. further discloses wherein the first fitting part is pivotally connected to the connecting buckle (via 66), and/or wherein the neck is formed with a pivot shaft and the connecting buckle is formed with a pivot hole, and the pivot shaft is positioned in the pivot hole so that the connecting buckle is capable of pivoting with respect to the neck.
Regarding claim 16, Arnold et al. further discloses wherein the second fitting part is received in the first fitting part, so that the sliding element is connected to the guiding element and is slidable on the guiding element (Fig. 1 as shown), and the second fitting part is formed with a plurality of recesses (formed by teeth 50) along its length direction, and the first fitting part is formed with a finger part (54), and each of the recesses is capable of being engaged with the finger part to provide resistance to sliding of the sliding element on the guiding element (Figs. 2-3 as shown).
Regarding claim 18, Arnold et al. further discloses wherein the first fitting part is formed as a C-shaped clip (Fig. 1 as shown), the second fitting part is formed as a sliding rail (Fig. 1 as shown), and the plurality of recesses are arranged on the second fitting part at the same intervals, or wherein the finger part is pivotable, and the first fitting part further comprises an actuating part which is operated to pivot the finger part in a direction away from the second fitting part (Figs. 1-3 as shown).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gower et al. (US 2008/0258527).
Regarding claim 1, Gower et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a sliding element (41) and a guiding element (25),
the sliding element comprises a first fitting part (47) and the guiding element comprises a second fitting part (27),
wherein one of the first fitting part and the second fitting part receives the other (Figs. 2a-2d as shown), so that the sliding element is connected to the guiding element and the sliding element is slidable linearly on the guiding element (Figs. 2a-2d as shown); and
wherein the sliding element and the guiding element are connected to each other between a backrest of a baby carrier and a back cushion (9 serves as the backrest and cushion) provided on a side of the backrest, a belt (15a, 15b) is slidably connected to the sliding element on the side of the cushion.
Regarding claim 2, Gower et al. further discloses wherein the sliding element further comprises a connecting buckle (43) and a neck (45), the neck connects the connecting buckle to the first fitting part, and a width of the neck is less than a width of either of the connecting buckle and the first fitting part (Figs. 2a and 3a as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Gower et al. further discloses wherein the first fitting part is pivotally connected to the connecting buckle (the first fitting part and connecting buckle pivot together via connection 45), and/or wherein the neck is formed with a pivot shaft and the connecting buckle is formed with a pivot hole, and the pivot shaft is positioned in the pivot hole so that the connecting buckle is capable of pivoting with respect to the neck.
Regarding claim 16, Gower et al. further discloses wherein the second fitting part is received in the first fitting part, so that the sliding element is connected to the guiding element and is slidable on the guiding element (Fig. 5 as shown), and the second fitting part is formed with a plurality of recesses (35) along its length direction, and the first fitting part is formed with a finger part (lateral projections of 47 shown in Fig. 3a), and each of the recesses is capable of being engaged with the finger part to provide resistance to sliding of the sliding element on the guiding element (Figs. 3B as shown).
Regarding claim 18, Gower et al. further discloses wherein the first fitting part is formed as a C-shaped clip (Fig. 3a shows wherein end portions of 47 have a C-shape), the second fitting part is formed as a sliding rail (Fig. 3B as shown), and the plurality of recesses are arranged on the second fitting part at the same intervals (Fig. 3B as shown), or wherein the finger part is pivotable, and the first fitting part further comprises an actuating part which is operated to pivot the finger part in a direction away from the second fitting part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gower as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0118888).
Regarding claim 4, Gower further discloses wherein the connecting buckle comprises a through hole (Fig. 1 as shown) through which a belt (15a/15b) passes, but fails to disclose the connecting buckle further comprises a locking part which is a rod arranged in the through hole for restricting movement of the belt.
Wu et al. teaches a connecting buckle (203) with a locking mechanism (Paragraph 3, line 9 describes wherein the buckle is a 3 bar buckle wherein the central bar reads on the locking mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the 3-bar structure of Wu in place of open aperture structure of Gower. Having the strap fixed could prevent excessive adjustment of the strap each time the harness is attached to a user.
Regarding claim 6, Gower et al. further discloses, wherein the connecting buckle comprises a through hole (Fig. 1 as shown) through which a belt (15a/15b) passes, but fails to disclose the buckle assembly further comprises an adjusting buckle, and the adjusting buckle is used to adjust a position where a belt passes through the through hole.
Wu et al. teach an adjusting buckle (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an adjusting buckle as demonstrated by Gower et al. to the strap to adjust a position of the belt as it passes through the connecting buckle to reduce the length of loose ends of the strap.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tuch (US 470,625).
Regarding claim 5, Paik discloses the invention except for wherein a plurality of protrusions and a plurality of depressions are alternately formed on the locking part.
Tuch teaches a buckle with protrusions and depressions formed on a locking part (d, Fig. 1 as shown).
From this teaching of Tuch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to provide protrusions and depressions on the surface of the locking part of Paik. The added texture would provide enhanced friction and prevent lateral sliding of the strap.
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Paik (KR 102005003932; admitted prior art of Paik is hereafter referenced to as Paik2).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Paik further discloses the second fitting part is formed as a tubular element (311), the first fitting part is formed as an annular element (202), a side of the annular element away from the neck is formed with an opening (203) and an inner space of the annular element is formed in a cylindrical shape, and the inner space matches with the tubular element (Figs. 3-11 as shown).
Paik fails to provide the structural details of the rail and its attachment. Paik2 teaches wherein a guiding element (20) further comprises a connecting part (19), and a width of the connecting part is less than a width of the second fitting part, and, a size of the opening corresponds to a size of the connecting part (Fig. 4 as shown).
From this teaching of Paik2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to attach the rail of Paik in the same manner as Paik2 in order to allow the sliding element to attach to the strap in a flattened manner and allow the chest/sternum strap to sit against the chest.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-29 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Gower and the prior art of record fails to disclose or make obvious a baby carrier wherein a first fitting part is pivotally connected to a connecting buckle, a neck is formed with a pivot shaft and the connecting buckle is formed with a pivot hole, and the pivot is shaft is positioned in the pivot hole so that the connecting buckle is pivotable with respect to the neck in combination with all the limitations in independent claim 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejections under Paik and Arnold, the backrest and cushion read as intended uses for the buckle assembly wherein the Paik and Arnold references are considered still capable of meeting this limitation. The Gower arguments have been addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677