DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant provides two main arguments: that Lee (US 10,581,274) does not disclose the aspect of a short-range transceiver module and that there is no motivation to combine Lee with Gilbert (US 2013/0336334).
Regarding the first argument with respect to Lee, Lee uses coils to transfer power and data between two devices similar to what is described in the Applicant’s specification [see Specification page 4, lines 11-25; devices using coils]. A transceiver is simply a device which can both transmit and receive. Lee uses a coil, a driver, a modulator/demodulator (modem) and a communication unit to transmit and receive signals from a first device to a second device having a similar arrangement of parts. This second device can also transmit and receive signals from the first device. As Lee uses coils, this would be a short-range connection. Therefore, Lee discloses a short-range transceiver module.
Regarding the second argument with respect to the combination of Lee and Gilbert, Lee in view of Hildner (US 2019/0277509) teaches the use of short-range power/data transfer with the addition of a USB interface. Both of these, Lee and Hildner, transfer data. With the addition of a USB interface, it is beneficial to transfer data at USB speeds. As described in Gilbert, USB 2.0 High Speed data transfer is 480 Mbps. This would also be why the Applicant chose to use 480 Mbps as the USB 2.0 protocol is discussed in the Specification on page 5. Therefore, Gilbert is merely used as a target for the amount of data to transfer as this is a common and standard amount that is used for many devices.
As the claims are not detailed enough to overcome the Prior Art, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10.581.274 by Lee et al. (Lee hereinafter) in view of US 2019/0277509 by Hildner et al. (Hildner hereinafter) in further view of US 2013/0336334 by Gilbert et al. (Gilbert hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a household appliance [see at least Figures 1-2 and 12] comprising: a casing [see at least Figure 2, (110)], comprising an interior cavity [see at least Figure 2, (122)] and a door [see at least Figure 1, (113)], an electrical device arranged in/on the door [see at least Figure 1, (118)], a control unit in/on the casing [see at least column 3, lines 1-9; Figure 6, (625) or Figure 3, (210)], wherein the control unit is configured to control the electrical device [see at least column 3, lines 1-9], a first wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement comprising a first short-range transceiver module to wireless receive and transmit data arranged in/on said casing and configured to be electrically connected to the control unit [see at least Figure 6, (610), (611) to (612) to (619); as coils are used, this would be short-range], and a second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement comprising a second short-range transceiver module to wireless receive and transmit data arranged in/on the door and configured to be electrically connected to the at least one electrical device [see at least Figure 6, (620), (621) to (622) to (629); as coils are used, this would be short-range], wherein the first wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement and the second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement are arranged to wirelessly exchange data and wirelessly transfer electric power for the electrical device [see at least column 8, lines 44-53].
Lee fails to disclose the circuits are connected via first USB electrical connection circuitry and via second USB electrical connection circuitry. However, Hildner discloses this limitation [see at least paragraphs 0004, 0024 and 0026].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a USB interface and connection for the device and control unit as this is a well-known connection standard which offers a wide variety of devices that can be attached. Thus, increasing the use and compatibility and utilizing common components.
Lee in view of Hildner fails to disclose wherein the first short-rang transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module are configured to wirelessly receive and transmit data using bit rates equal to or higher than about 480Mb/s. However, Gilbert discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0030].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to be able to transfer data at a high speed in order to allow larger amounts of data in communication. Thus, allowing for higher demand data like video and audio in order to monitor aspects of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Hildner teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee discloses further comprising: wherein: the first USB electrical connection circuitry is arranged in the casing and electrically connects the first wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement to said control unit; and the second USB electrical connection circuit, circuitry is arranged in said door and electrically connects the second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement to said electrical device [see at least column 2, line 58 to column 3, line 9].
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 2.
Lee discloses wherein the first short-range transceiver module electrically is connected to the control unit by electrical connection circuit in order circuitry to exchange data [see at least Figure 6, (611), (612), (621) and (622)] and wherein the first wireless power transfer and data transceiver and data transceiver arrangement comprises a first coil configured to wireless transfer electric power [see at least Figure 6, (619) and (629)].
Hildner discloses the use of a USB electrical connection circuit and protocol [see at least paragraphs 0004, 0024 and 0026].
Gilbert also discloses USB protocols [see at least paragraph 0030].
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 4.
Lee discloses wherein the second short-range transceiver module electrically connected to the electrical device by electrical connection circuitry to exchange data based on a [see at least Figure 6, (611), (612), (621) and (622)], and wherein the second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement comprises a second coil configured to wirelessly receive the electric power from the first coil and supply the received electric power to the second short-range transceiver module and to the electrical device by the second USB electrical connection circuitry [see at least Figure 6, (619) and (629)].
Hildner discloses the use of a USB electrical connection circuit and protocol [see at least paragraphs 0004, 0024 and 0026].
Gilbert also discloses USB protocols [see at least paragraph 0030].
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 5.
Gilbert discloses wherein the first short-range transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module are configured to perform a tunneling in a USB communication path between the control unit and the electrical device [see at least paragraph 0030].
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee in view of Hildner teaches wherein the first short-range transceiver module and the second short- range transceiver module are configured to perform a virtual USB communication channel to exchange data between the first USB electrical connection circuitry and the second USB electrical connection circuitry [as the outputs as combined from Claim 1 utilize a USB configuration, it would create a “virtual” USB communication channel].
Hildner discloses the USB electrical connection circuitry [see at least paragraphs 0004, 0024 and 0026].
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert fails to explicitly teach wherein the first short-range transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module are arranged in the casing and the door respectively, at a distance less than 3 cm from each other. However, as Lee utilizes coils, it is describing an inductive wireless power transmission system which is a short range system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a distance of less than 3 cm to optimize power and data transmission. Thus, creating a more reliable and efficient system and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 5.
Lee discloses wherein the first coil and the second coil are coaxial to each other [see at least Figure 6, (619) and (629)].
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Hildner discloses wherein the electrical device comprises a digital camera, a display lighting device, a sensor or a USB interface hub device [see at least Figure 1, (3.1)].
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Hildner discloses wherein the household appliance is a cooking oven [see at least Figure 1, (10)].
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein the household appliance is a refrigerator appliance [see at least Figure 12, (100c)].
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Hildner discloses wherein the first wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement is arranged in a vertical center plane of the casing and the second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement is arranged in a vertical center plane of the door [see at least Figure 1; it is believed that this satisfies the requirement. However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70].
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein the first wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement is arranged in a vertical wall of the casing and the second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement is arranged in an edge of the door adjacent to the vertical wall [see at least Figure 12; it is believed that this satisfies the requirement. However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70].
Claims 8-9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10.581.274 by Lee et al. (Lee hereinafter) in view of US 2019/0277509 by Hildner et al. (Hildner hereinafter) in further view of US 2013/0336334 by Gilbert et al. (Gilbert hereinafter) and US 2020/0382198 by Ashraft.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert fails to teach wherein each of the first short-range transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module comprises an RF millimeter-wave transceiver. However, Ashraft discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0165].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize millimeter-wave transmission to allow the system to better penetrate through objects and avoid traffic on commonly used wireless bands. Thus, reducing interference and creating a more reliable and stable system.
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert fails to teach wherein each of the first short-range transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module comprises a V-Band transceiver. However, Ashraft discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0165].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize V-band transmission to allow the system to better penetrate through objects and avoid traffic on commonly used wireless bands. Thus, reducing interference and creating a more reliable and stable system.
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses an appliance [see at least Figures 1-2 and 12], the appliance comprising: a casing [see at least Figure 2, (110)]; a door [see at least Figure 1, (113)]; a display arranged in/on the door [see at least Figure 1, (118)], a control unit arranged in/on the casing and configured to control the display [see at least column 3, lines 1-9; Figure 6, (625) or Figure 3, (210)], a first short-range wireless transceiver [see at least Figure 6, (611) to (612); as coils are used, this would be short-range] and a first coil [see at least Figure 6, (619)], the first short-range wireless transceiver comprising a first short-range transceiver module to wirelessly receive and transmit data [see at least Figure 6, (610), (611) to (612) to (619); as coils are used, this would be short-range] arranged in/on the casing and electrically connected to the control unit via a first connection circuit [see at least Figure 6, (610)], and a second short-range wireless RF transceiver [see at least Figure 6, (622) to (621)] and a second coil [see at least Figure 6, (629)], the second short-range wireless transceiver comprising a second short-range transceiver module to wirelessly receive and transmit data [see at least Figure 6, (620), (621) to (622) to (629); as coils are used, this would be short-range] and arranged in/on the door and electrically connected to the display via a second connection circuit [see at least Figure 6, (620)], wherein the first short- range wireless RF transceiver and the second short-range wireless RF transceiver are arranged to wirelessly exchange data between the control unit and the display [see at least Figure 6, “Signal”], and wherein the first and second coils are arranged to wirelessly transfer electric power for the camera [see at least Figure 6, “Power”; column 8, lines 44-53].
Lee fails to disclose a camera. However, Hildner discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 1, (3.1)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a camera as it is a known device that requires power and data information. Thus, allowing for the system to monitor various aspects to benefit a user.
Lee in view of Hildner fails to disclose wherein the first short-rang transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module are configured to wirelessly receive and transmit data using bit rates equal to or higher than about 480Mb/s. However, Gilbert discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0030].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to be able to transfer data at a high speed in order to allow larger amounts of data in communication. Thus, allowing for higher demand data like video and audio in order to monitor aspects of the system.
Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert fails to teach the use of radio frequency (RF) specifically. However, Ashraft discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0165].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize RF transmission as it is a commonly used wireless band. Thus, expanding the availability of components and devices that operate within this frequency band.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10.581.274 by Lee et al. (Lee hereinafter) in view of US 2019/0277509 by Hildner et al. (Hildner hereinafter) in further view of US 2013/0336334 by Gilbert et al. (Gilbert hereinafter) and US 2021/0057933 by Jang et al. (Jang hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert teaches the household appliance according to claim 1.
Lee in view of Hildner in further view of Gilbert fails to teach wherein said first wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement and said second wireless power transfer and data transceiver arrangement are arranged in a hinge connecting the door to the casing. However, Jang discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0010].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize the hinge for wireless power and data transmission as it is an always connected part. Thus, allowing for the power and data connection to remain uninterrupted and increasing the reliability of the system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10.581.274 by Lee et al. (Lee hereinafter) in view of US 2013/0336334 by Gilbert et al. (Gilbert hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a method of operating a household appliance [see at least Figures 1-2 and 12], wherein the household appliance comprises: a casing [see at least Figure 2, (110)], comprising an interior cavity [see at least Figure 2, (122)] and a door [see at least Figure 1, (113)], an electrical device arranged in/on the door [see at least Figure 1, (118)], a control unit arranged in/on the casing [see at least column 3, lines 1-9; Figure 6, (625) or Figure 3, (210)], wherein the control unit is configured to control the electrical device [see at least column 3, lines 1-9], a wireless power transmitter and data transceiver arrangement comprising a first short-range transceiver module to wirelessly receive and transmit data arranged in/on the casing and electrically connected to the control unit via first connection circuitry [see at least Figure 6, (610), (611) to (612) to (619); as coils are used, this would be short-range], and a wireless power receiver and data transceiver arrangement comprising a second short-range transceiver module to wirelessly receive and transmit data arranged in/on the door and electrically connected to the electrical device via second connection circuitry [see at least Figure 6, (620), (621) to (622) to (629); as coils are used, this would be short-range], and wherein the method comprises wirelessly exchanging data and wirelessly supplying electric power for the electrical device using the wireless power transmitter and data transceiver arrangement and the wireless power receiver and data transceiver arrangement [see at least column 8, lines 44-53].
Lee fails to disclose wherein the first short-rang transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module are configured to wirelessly receive and transmit data using bit rates equal to or higher than about 480Mb/s. However, Gilbert discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0030].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to be able to transfer data at a high speed in order to allow larger amounts of data in communication. Thus, allowing for higher demand data like video and audio in order to monitor aspects of the system.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10.581.274 by Lee et al. (Lee hereinafter) in view of US 2013/0336334 by Gilbert et al. (Gilbert hereinafter) in further view of US 2019/0277509 by Hildner et al. (Hildner hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Gilbert teaches the method according to claim 19.
Gilbert discloses performing a tunneling in a USB communication path
Lee in view of Gilbert fails to teach wherein each of the first connection circuitry and the second connection circuitry comprises USB connection circuitry and a connection between the control unit and the electrical device by using the first short-range transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module. However, Hildner discloses this limitation [see at least paragraphs 0004, 0024 and 0026].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a USB interface and connection for the device and control unit as this is a well-known connection standard which offers a wide variety of devices that can be attached. Thus, increasing the use and compatibility and utilizing common components.
Regarding claim 21, Lee in view of Gilbert teaches method according to claim 19.
Lee in view of Gilbert fails to teach wherein the appliance further comprises: a first USB electric connection circuit arranged in the casing and electrically connecting the wireless power transmitter and data transceiver arrangement to the control unit; and a second USB electric connection circuit arranged in the door and electrically connecting the wireless power receiver and data transceiver arrangement to the electrical device, and wherein the method comprises performing a virtual USB communication channel to exchange data between the first USB electric connection circuit and the second USB electric connection circuit using the first short-range transceiver module and the second short-range transceiver module. However, Hildner discloses this limitation [see at least paragraphs 0004, 0024 and 0026; as the outputs as combined with Hildner utilize a USB configuration, it would create a “virtual” USB communication channel].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a USB interface and connection for the device and control unit as this is a well-known connection standard which offers a wide variety of devices that can be attached. Thus, increasing the use and compatibility and utilizing common components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849