DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following Office Action is in response to the amendments filed 07/30/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-20 have been examined as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 8 recites: “The freewheel adjustable wheel of claim 1, wherein the movable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear installed outwardly of the clutch hub and configured to move in a straight direction by receiving power from the driver; and a second moveable gear located inwardly of the first moveable gear and including a gear being engaged with the clutch hub and the clutch gear”, while claim 1, upon which claim 8 depends, recites: “a moveable gear assembly configured to be movable by power of the driver and including an inner gear constantly engaged with the clutch hub, wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub while being disengaged from the clutch gear, and wherein, in a non-freewheel mode, the inner gear is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub and the clutch gear simultaneously”. However, it is unclear whether “a gear” of the second moveable gear recited in claim 8, is the same as or different from “an inner gear” recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the claim has been examined “as best understood”, whereby “a gear” of the second moveable gear recited in claim 8, is the same as “an inner gear” recited in claim 1. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. Claims 9-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 8.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 17 recites: “The freewheel adjustable wheel of claim 11, wherein the movable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear installed outwardly of the clutch hub and configured to move in a straight direction by receiving power from the driver; and a second moveable gear located inwardly of the first moveable gear and including a gear being engaged with the clutch hub and the clutch gear”, while claim 11, upon which claim 17 depends, recites: “a moveable gear assembly configured to be movable by power of the driver and including an inner gear constantly engaged with the clutch hub, wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub while being disengaged from the clutch gear, and wherein, in a non-freewheel mode, the inner gear is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub and the clutch gear simultaneously”. However, it is unclear whether “a gear” of the second moveable gear recited in claim 17, is the same as or different from “an inner gear” recited in claim 11. For the purposes of examination, the claim has been examined “as best understood”, whereby “a gear” of the second moveable gear recited in claim 17, is the same as “an inner gear” recited in claim 11. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. Claims 18-19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. (US 2022/0134179 A1).
Claims 1-2, 4, 8 and 20 have been rejected according to a First Interpretation of Taylor
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses a freewheel adjustable wheel comprising:
a rotary gear (shaft 94 having teeth 117 is considered a rotary gear) configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal (19, Fig. 1A);
a casing (basket 97 with flange 158 and plate 196b, define a casing) rotatably supporting the rotary gear (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [68], [70], please note that as much as applicant is showing a casing rotatably supporting the rotary gear, Taylor is also showing such);
a clutch bearing (120) installed between the rotary gear (94) and the casing (Figs. 11-14), wherein the clutch bearing is configured to transmit power to the casing when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (¶ [65], [69], [78]-[82] when the clutch mechanism is in the locked state, the bearing (120) transmits the power to the flange (158) and basket (97) when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (i.e., first direction, X1). The power is transmitted via the bearing (120) to basket (97) through engagement of (104) with (100));
a clutch hub (hub portion 156 is considered a clutch hub) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69], the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in the first direction X1, when in the freewheel mode, while the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in both the first direction X1 and the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. As such, the clutch hub/hub portion (156) is configured to rotate together with the rotary gear when the rotary gear rotates in the first direction X1 in both freewheel and non-freewheel mode and rotates with the rotary gear (94) when the rotary gear rotates in the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. Also see ¶ [79]-[82]);
a clutch gear (first locking plate 100 having teeth 172 is considered a clutch gear) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [71], 100 is fixed directly on 158 (of the casing) and indirectly on 97 and 196b (of the casing));
a driver (111/204) fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-12, the driver is indirectly fixed to the casing) and configured to supply rotational power (¶ [78]-[82]); and
a moveable gear assembly (second locking plate 104 (having teeth 186) along with clutch plate 102 is considered a moveable gear assembly ) configured to be movable by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82]) and including an inner gear (the second locking plate 104 having teeth 186 is considered an inner gear) constantly engaged with the clutch hub (Figs. 13-14),
wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear (104) is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub (156) while being disengaged from the clutch gear (100, Fig. 14, ¶ [79], [81]), and
wherein, in a non-freewheel mode (fixed wheel mode), the inner gear (104) is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) simultaneously (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]).
Regarding claim 2, Taylor discloses wherein the rotary gear includes: a pulley member (114) located outwardly of the casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to receive power from the pedal via a belt (119, ¶ [65]); and a rotatable body (116) extending from the pulley member (114) inwardly of the casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the pulley member (¶ [65]).
Regarding claim 4, Taylor discloses wherein the casing includes: a cover casing (97) configured to rotate together with the clutch gear (100) and receive rotational power via the clutch bearing (120, ¶ [68], i.e., when the clutch mechanism is in the locked state, the cover casing (97) rotates together with the clutch gear 100 and receives rotational power via bearing 120 through engagement of 104 with 110), wherein the cover casing is installed in a shape to surround the clutch bearing and the moveable gear assembly (Figs. 10 and 13-14); and a fixed casing (196b) supporting the driver and installed in an open portion of the cover casing (Figs. 10-14).
Regarding claim 8, (claim 8 “as best understood”) Taylor discloses wherein the moveable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear (102) installed outwardly of the clutch hub (156, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [72]) and configured to move in a straight direction by receiving power from the driver (¶ [79]-[82]); and a second moveable gear (at 104) located inwardly of the first moveable gear and including a gear (104, Fig. 11) being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [73], [79]-[82]).
Regarding claim 20, Taylor discloses an exercise bike (10) comprising:
a frame (16) supporting a saddle (30) and a handle (17, Fig. 1A);
a pedal (19) installed on a rotatable disk (i.e., ratchet plate) installed on a side surface of the frame (Fig. 1A, ¶ [81]);
a rotary gear (shaft 94 having teeth 117 is considered a rotary gear) configured to rotate by receiving power from the pedal (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [65]);
a casing (basket 97 with flange 158 and plate 196b, define a casing) rotatably supporting the rotary gear (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [68], [70], please note that as much as applicant is showing a casing rotatably supporting the rotary gear, Taylor is also showing such);
a clutch bearing (120) installed between the rotary gear (94) and the casing (Figs. 11-14), wherein the clutch bearing is configured to transmit power to the casing when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (¶ [65], [69], [78]-[82] when the clutch mechanism is in the locked state, the bearing (120) transmits the power to the flange (158) and basket (97) when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (i.e., first direction, X1). The power is transmitted via the bearing (120) to basket (97) through engagement of (104) with (100));
a clutch hub (hub portion 156 is considered a clutch hub) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69], the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in the first direction X1, when in the freewheel mode, while the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in both the first direction X1 and the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. As such, the clutch hub/hub portion (156) is configured to rotate together with the rotary gear when the rotary gear rotates in the first direction X1 in both freewheel and non-freewheel mode and rotates with the rotary gear (94) when the rotary gear rotates in the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. Also see ¶ [79]-[82]);
a clutch gear (first locking plate 100 having teeth 172 is considered a clutch gear) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [71], 100 is fixed directly on 158 (of the casing) and indirectly on 97 and 196b (of the casing));
a driver (111/204) fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-12, the driver is indirectly fixed to the casing) and configured to supply rotational power (¶ [78]-[82]); and
a moveable gear assembly (second locking plate 104 (having teeth 186) along with clutch plate 102 is considered a moveable gear assembly) configured to be movable by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82])and including an inner gear (the second locking plate 104 having teeth 186 is considered an inner gear) constantly engaged with the clutch hub (Figs. 13-14),
wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear (104) is disposed in a first location to engage
wherein, in a non-freewheel mode, the inner gear (104) is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) simultaneously (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]).
Claims 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. (US 2022/0134179 A1).
Claims 11-12 and 17 have been rejected according to a Second Interpretation of Taylor
Regarding claim 11, Taylor discloses a freewheel adjustable wheel comprising:
a rotary gear (shaft 94 having teeth 117) configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal (19, Fig. 1A);
a shaft (96) installed horizontally through the rotary gear and fixed to a frame (i.e., bicycle frame 16, Figs. 1A and 11-14, ¶ [66]);
a cover casing (flange 158) having the rotary gear (94) and the shaft (96) installed through a center thereof (Figs. 10-14), wherein the cover casing is rotatably installed (¶ [70]);
a fixed casing (196b of assembly 122 is considered a fixed casing) installed in a shape to shield an open portion of the cover casing (the portion away from the wheel 20, Figs. 10-14), wherein rotation of the fixed casing is restricted (Figs. 13-14, ¶ [78]-[82]);
a clutch bearing (122) installed between the rotary gear and the cover casing (Figs. 11-14), wherein the clutch bearing is configured to transmit power to the cover casing when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (¶ [71]);
a clutch hub (hub portion 156 is considered a clutch hub) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (94, Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69], the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in the first direction X1, when in the freewheel mode, while the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in both the first direction X1 and the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. As such, the clutch hub/hub portion (156) is configured to rotate together with the rotary gear when the rotary gear rotates in the first direction X1 in both freewheel and non-freewheel mode and rotates with the rotary gear (94) when the rotary gear rotates in the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. Also see ¶ [79]-[82]);
a clutch gear (first locking plate 100 having teeth 172) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the cover casing (158, Figs. 13-14, ¶ [71]);
a driver (111/204) fixed to the fixed casing (Figs. 10-14) and configured to supply rotational power (¶ [78]-[82]); and
a moveable gear assembly (second locking plate 104 (having teeth 186) along with clutch plate 102 is considered a moveable gear assembly) configured to be movable by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82])and including an inner gear (the second locking plate 104 having teeth 186 is considered an inner gear) constantly engaged with the clutch hub (156, Figs. 13-14),
wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear (104) is disposed in a first location to engage
wherein, in a non-freewheel mode, the inner gear (104) is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) simultaneously (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]).
Regarding claim 12, Taylor discloses wherein the rotary gear includes: a pulley member (114) located outwardly of the cover casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to receive power from the pedal via a belt (119, ¶ [65]); and a rotatable body (116) extending from the pulley member (114) inwardly of the cover casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the pulley member (¶ [65]).
Regarding claim 17, (claim 17 “as best understood”) Taylor discloses wherein the moveable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear (102) installed outwardly of the clutch hub (156, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [72]) and configured to move in a straight direction by receiving power from the driver (¶ [79]-[82]); and a second moveable gear (at 104) located inwardly of the first moveable gear and including a gear (104, Fig. 11) being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [73], [79]-[82]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding the statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for the above claims, please see Non-Final rejection dated 06/15/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1, stating:
“Taylor fails to teach "a clutch hub fixed outwardly of the rotary gear and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear; a clutch gear installed in series with the clutch hub and fixed to the casing," and "a moveable gear assembly configured to be movable by power of the driver and including an inner gear constantly engaged with the clutch hub, wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub while being disengaged from the clutch gear, and wherein, in a non-freewheel mode, the inner gear is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub and the clutch gear simultaneously" in combination with the other elements of claim 1…
Taylor teaches a different configuration than the claimed features with respect to the kinematic structure for the operations of the freewheel mode and the non-freewheel mode. Specifically, the clutch hub 98 of Taylor rotates together with the shaft 94 via the one-way bearing 120 only when the shaft 94 rotates in the forward direction, and does not rotate together with the shaft 94 when the shaft 94 rotates in the reverse direction (see also paragraph [0081] of Taylor above).
Additionally, the first locking plate 100 is fixedly coupled to the clutch hub 98, rather than being coupled to the clutch basket 97. Therefore, Taylor does not teach "a clutch gear ... fixed to the casing."
Furthermore, Taylor also teaches a first surface of the second locking plate 104 is fixedly coupled to the clutch plate 102, and a second surface of the second locking plate 104 selectively engages with the first locking plate 100. However, Taylor is silent regarding the second locking plate 104 engaging with any components other than the first locking plate 100. Therefore, Taylor does not teach that "the inner gear is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub and the clutch gear simultaneously."
Furthermore, Taylor is silent regarding switching between a freewheel mode in which the inner gear is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub while being disengaged from the clutch gear and a non-freewheel mode in which the inner gear is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub and the clutch gear simultaneously. Therefore, Taylor fails to teach the claimed features”,
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to mention the following.
As stated above, Taylor teaches a clutch hub (156) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (94 with 117, Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69]); a clutch gear (100) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [71], 100 is fixed directly on 158 (of the casing) and indirectly on 97 and 196b (of the casing)); and a moveable gear assembly (104 with 102) configured to be movable by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82]) and including an inner gear (104) constantly engaged with the clutch hub (156, Figs. 13-14), wherein, in a freewheel mode, the inner gear (104) is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub (156) while being disengaged from the clutch gear (100, Fig. 14, ¶ [79], [81]), and wherein, in a non-freewheel mode (fixed wheel mode), the inner gear (104) is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) simultaneously (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]).
Please note that in the Office Action, the hub portion (156) of Taylor has been considered as the clutch hub, which rotates together with the shaft (94 having teeth 117), which has been considered as the rotary gear, the first locking plate (100 which includes teeth 172) has been considered as the clutch gear, and the second locking plate (104) along with the clutch plate (102) have been considered to be the movable gear assembly, wherein the second locking plate (104 which includes teeth 186) has been considered as the inner gear of the moveable gear assembly. Figure 13 of Taylor shows the clutch mechanism in a locked state (non-freewheel mode) in which the actuator is in the second state (ON mode) and Figure 14 shows the clutch mechanism in an unlocked state (freewheel mode) in which the actuator is in the first state (OFF mode). Both of these figures are reproduced below along with paragraphs [79]-[82] of Taylor.
In Taylor:
[0079] The actuator 204 is coupled to the second member 202b and the second connecting plate 196b (via one or more pins extending through one of the openings 201 in the second connecting plate 196b). The actuator 204 may be operable between a first state (OFF mode) and a second state (ON mode). When the actuator 204 is in the first state, the first and second connecting plates 196a, 196b are parallel to each other and the springs 108 bias the spring plate 106 toward the first lateral direction Y1 which, in turn, causes the teeth 186 of the second locking plate 104 to be disengaged from the teeth 172 of the first locking plate 100 (the spring plate 106 moves the clutch plate 102 and the second locking plate 104 in the first lateral direction Y1 such that the teeth 186 of the second locking plate 104 are disengaged from the teeth 172 of the first locking plate 100).
[0080] When the actuator 204 is in the second state, the magnetic field generated by the actuator 204 causes the second connecting plate 196b to pivot toward the actuator 204, which causes the connector 197 to push against the fork bushing 110. This, in turn, causes the bearing 198 to push against the spring plate 106 which moves the spring plate 106 in the second lateral direction Y2 (the spring plate 106 overcomes the biasing force of the springs 108). Moving the spring plate 106 in the second lateral direction Y2 also moves the clutch plate 102 and the second locking plate 104 in the second lateral direction Y2, thereby causing the teeth 186 of the second locking plate 104 to be engaged with the teeth 172 of the first locking plate 100. In this way, the pedal assembly 19 is rotationally fixed to the wheel 20 to drive the wheel 20 in the first rotational direction X1 and the second rotational direction X2.
[0081] The pedal assembly 19 may be disposed at least partially within the pedal housing 26 and may include the drive belt 119, a ratchet plate (not shown) and first and second pedals. The drive belt 119 may be drivingly engaged with the ratchet plate and the belt portion 114 of the shaft 94. The pedals may be fixed for rotation with the ratchet plate. When the clutch mechanism 18 is in the unlocked state, rotation of the pedals in the first rotational direction X1 rotates the belt 119, the clutch mechanism 18 and the wheel 20 in the first rotational direction X1, and rotation of the pedals in the second rotational direction X2 rotates the belt 119 and various components of the clutch mechanism 18 in the second rotational direction X2 (the wheel 20, the first locking plate 100, and the clutch hub 98 do not rotate in the second rotational direction X2 due to the one-way bearing 120). In this way, the exercise bike 10 is in a free wheel mode and the wheel 20 continues to rotate in the first rotational direction X1 when the user stops pedaling in the first rotational direction X1 or pedals in the second rotational direction X2.
[0082] When the clutch mechanism 18 is in the locked state, rotation of the pedals in the first rotational direction X1 rotates the belt 119, the clutch mechanism 18 and the wheel 20 in the first rotational direction X1, and rotation of the pedals in the second rotational direction X2 rotates the belt 119, the clutch mechanism 18, and the wheel 20 in the second rotational direction X2. In this way, the exercise bike 10 is in a fixed wheel mode and the pedals continue rotating along with the wheel 20 in the first rotational direction X1 when the user stops pedaling (the wheel 20 also rotates in the second rotational direction X2 when the user pedals in the second rotational direction X2).
As shown in Fig. 14 above, which is the freewheel mode in which the actuator is in the first state (OFF mode), the inner gear (104) is disposed in a first location to engage with the clutch hub (156) while being disengaged from the clutch gear (100), and as shown in Fig. 13, which is the non-freewheel mode in which the actuator is in the second state (ON mode), the inner gear (104) is disposed in a second location to engage with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100). As can be seen from Figs. 13-14 and the paragraphs above, the inner gear (104) remains engaged with the clutch hub (156) in both freewheel mode and the non-freewheel mode. As stated in the above paragraphs, in the first state (OFF mode) of the actuator, when the clutch mechanism is in a freewheel mode, the teeth (186) of the second locking plate/inner gear (104) disengages the teeth (172) of the first locking plate/clutch gear (100), while the inner gear (104) remains engaged with the hub portion/clutch hub (156) and in the second state (ON mode) of the actuator, when the clutch mechanism is in a non-freewheel mode, the teeth (186) of the second locking plate/inner gear (104) engages the teeth (172) of the first locking plate/clutch gear (100), while still engaged with the hub portion/clutch hub (156).
Furthermore, the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in the first direction X1, when in the freewheel mode, while the clutch hub/hub portion (156) rotates together with the rotary gear (94) as the rotary gear (94) rotates in both the first direction X1 and the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode. As such, the clutch hub/hub portion (156) is configured to rotate together with the rotary gear when the rotary gear rotates in the first direction X1 in both freewheel and non-freewheel mode and rotates with the rotary gear (94) when the rotary gear rotates in the second direction X2, when in the non-freewheel mode.
As shown above, Taylor teaches a casing (basket 97 with flange 158 and plate 196b, define a casing) rotatably supporting the rotary gear (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [68], [70], please note that as much as applicant is showing a casing rotatably supporting the rotary gear, Taylor is also showing such); and a clutch gear (100) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the casing (see Figs. 10-14, ¶ [71]). The clutch gear (100) is fixed directly on flange 158 (of the casing) and indirectly on the basket 97 and plate 196b (of the casing).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784