CTNF 18/838,760 CTNF 85890 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: a period “ . ” needs to be placed after the term “member” in line 5 . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “assembly gear,” in line 7 , needs to be changed to “assembly gear, and” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “assembly gear,” in line 7 , needs to be changed to “assembly gear, and” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 1 recites: “a rotary gear configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal and equipped with a gear along an outer circumference thereof”. However, it is unclear whether “a gear” is part of or in addition to the “rotary gear”. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, this limitation has been examined “as best understood”, whereby “a gear” is part of the rotary gear. Claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 1. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 2 recites: “wherein the rotary gear includes: a pulley member…and a rotatable body extending from the pulley member”, while claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends, recites: “a rotary gear configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal and equipped with a gear along an outer circumference thereof”. However it is unclear where the “gear” that is along an outer circumference of the rotary gear, is located relative to the pulley member and the rotatable body of the rotary gear. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, this limitation has been examined “as best understood”, whereby the “gear” is part of the pulley member. Claim 3 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 2. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 10 recites: “wherein the second moveable gear includes…a coupling groove…coupled to a protrusion protruding inwardly of the moveable gear assembly”, while claim 8, upon which claim 10 depends, recites: “wherein the moveable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear…and a second movable gear”. However, it is unclear how the coupling groove, which is part of the movable gear assembly (since it is part of the second moveable gear), is coupled to a protrusion protruding inwardly of such moveable gear assembly. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 11 recites: “a rotary gear configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal and equipped with a gear along an outer circumference thereof”. However, it is unclear whether “a gear” is part of or in addition to the “rotary gear”. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, this limitation has been examined “as best understood”, whereby “a gear” is part of the rotary gear. Claims 12-19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 11. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 12 recites: “wherein the rotary gear includes: a pulley member…and a rotatable body extending from the pulley member”, while claim 11, upon which claim 12 depends, recites: “a rotary gear configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal and equipped with a gear along an outer circumference thereof”. However it is unclear where the “gear” that is along an outer circumference of the rotary gear, is located relative to the pulley member and the rotatable body of the rotary gear. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, this limitation has been examined “as best understood”, whereby the “gear” is part of the pulley member. Claim 13 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 12. Claims 5-6, 8-10, 14-15 and 17-19 are each rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Each of claims 5, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15, 17 and 19, recites: “installed in an annular shape”. However, it is unclear what is meant by such phrase. In other words it is unclear how an installation is performed in an annular shape. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. For the purposes of examination, this phrase has been examined “as best understood”, whereby the corresponding component that is “installed in an annular shape”, is installed around the recited component in the claim. Claims 9 and 18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 8 and claim 17, respectively. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 20 recites: “a rotary gear configured to rotate by receiving power from the pedal and equipped with a gear along an outer circumference thereof”. However, it is unclear whether “a gear” is part of or in addition to the “rotary gear”. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, this limitation has been examined “as best understood”, whereby “a gear” is part of the rotary gear. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. (US 2022/0134179 A1) . Claims 1-2, 4, 8 and 20 have been rejected according to a First Interpretation of Taylor Regarding claim 1 , (claim 1 “as best understood”) Taylor discloses a freewheel adjustable wheel comprising: a rotary gear (94) configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal (19, Fig. 1A) and equipped with a gear (i.e., 117) along an outer circumference thereof (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [65]); a casing (basket 97 with flange 158 and plate 196b, define a casing) rotatably supporting the rotary gear (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [68], [70], p lease note that as much as applicant is showing a casing rotatably supporting the rotary gear, Taylor is also showing such ); a clutch bearing (120) installed between the rotary gear (94) and the casing (Figs. 11-14), wherein the clutch bearing is configured to transmit power to the casing when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (¶ [65], [69], [78]-[82] when the clutch mechanism is in the locked state, the bearing (120) transmits the power to the flange (158) and basket (97) when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (i.e., first direction, X1). The power is transmitted via the bearing (120) to basket (97) through engagement of (104) with (100) ); a clutch hub (156) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69]); a clutch gear (100) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [71], 100 is fixed directly on 158 (of the casing) and indirectly on 97 and 196b (of the casing) ); a driver (111/204) fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-12, the driver is indirectly fixed to the casing ) and configured to supply rotational power (¶ [78]-[82]); and a moveable gear assembly (104 with 102) configured to move by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82]), wherein the moveable gear assembly moves in a freewheel mode of being engaged with the clutch hub (156, Fig. 14, ¶ [79], [81]) and a non-freewheel mode (fixed wheel mode) of being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) at the same time (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]). Regarding claim 2 , (claim 2 “as best understood”) Taylor discloses wherein the rotary gear includes: a pulley member (114) located outwardly of the casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to receive power from the pedal via a belt (119, ¶ [65]); and a rotatable body (116) extending from the pulley member (114) inwardly of the casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the pulley member (¶ [65]). Regarding claim 4 , Taylor discloses wherein the casing includes: a cover casing (97) configured to rotate together with the clutch gear (100) and receive rotational power via the clutch bearing (120, ¶ [68], i.e., when the clutch mechanism is in the locked state, the cover casing (97) rotates together with the clutch gear 100 and receives rotational power via bearing 120 through engagement of 104 with 110 ), wherein the cover casing is installed in a shape to surround the clutch bearing and the moveable gear assembly (Figs. 10 and 13-14); and a fixed casing (196b) supporting the driver and installed in an open portion of the cover casing (Figs. 10-14). Regarding claim 8 , (claim 8 “as best understood”) Taylor discloses wherein the moveable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear (102) installed in an annular shape outwardly of the clutch hub (around the clutch hub 156, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [72]) and configured to move in a straight direction by receiving power from the driver (¶ [79]-[82]); and a second moveable gear (at 104) located inwardly of the first moveable gear and including a gear (104, Fig. 11) being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [73], [79]-[82]). Regarding claim 20 , Taylor discloses an exercise bike (10) comprising: a frame (16) supporting a saddle (30) and a handle (17, Fig. 1A); a pedal (19) installed on a rotatable disk ( i.e., ratchet plate ) installed on a side surface of the frame (Fig. 1A, ¶ [81]); a rotary gear (94) configured to rotate by receiving power from the pedal and equipped with a gear (i.e., 117) along an outer circumference thereof (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [65]); a casing (basket 97 with flange 158 and plate 196b, define a casing) rotatably supporting the rotary gear (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [68], [70], p lease note that as much as applicant is showing a casing rotatably supporting the rotary gear, Taylor is also showing such ); a clutch bearing (120) installed between the rotary gear (94) and the casing (Figs. 11-14), wherein the clutch bearing is configured to transmit power to the casing when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (¶ [65], [69], [78]-[82] when the clutch mechanism is in the locked state, the bearing (120) transmits the power to the flange (158) and basket (97) when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (i.e., first direction, X1). The power is transmitted via the bearing (120) to basket (97) through engagement of (104) with (100) ); a clutch hub (156) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69]); a clutch gear (100) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [71], 100 is fixed directly on 158 (of the casing) and indirectly on 97 and 196b (of the casing) ); a driver (111/204) fixed to the casing (Figs. 10-12, the driver is indirectly fixed to the casing ) and configured to supply rotational power (¶ [78]-[82]); and a moveable gear assembly (104 with 102) configured to move by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82]), wherein the moveable gear assembly moves in a freewheel mode of being engaged with the clutch hub (156, Fig. 14, ¶ [79], [81]) and a non-freewheel mode (fixed wheel mode) of being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) at the same time (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]) . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. (US 2022/0134179 A1) . Claims 11-12 and 17 have been rejected according to a Second Interpretation of Taylor Regarding claim 11 , (claim 11 “as best understood”) Taylor teaches a freewheel adjustable wheel comprising: a rotary gear (94) configured to rotate by receiving power from a pedal (19, Fig. 1A) and equipped with a gear (i.e., 117) along an outer circumference thereof (Figs. 10-14, ¶ [65]); a shaft (96) installed horizontally through the rotary gear and fixed to a frame (i.e., bicycle frame 16, Figs. 1A and 11-14, ¶ [66]); a cover casing (flange 158) having the rotary gear (94) and the shaft (96) installed through a center thereof (Figs. 10-14), wherein the cover casing is rotatably installed (¶ [70]); a fixed casing (196b of assembly 122) installed in a shape to shield an open portion of the cover casing (portion away from the wheel 20, Figs. 10-14), wherein rotation of the fixed casing is restricted (Figs. 13-14, ¶ [78]-[82]); a clutch bearing (122) installed between the rotary gear and the cover casing (Figs. 11-14), wherein the clutch bearing is configured to transmit power to the cover casing when the rotary gear rotates in a forward direction (¶ [71]); a clutch hub (156) fixed outwardly of the rotary gear (94, Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the rotary gear (¶ [69]); a clutch gear (100) installed in series with the clutch hub (156) and fixed to the cover casing (158, Figs. 13-14, ¶ [71]); a driver (111/204) fixed to the fixed casing (Figs. 10-14) and configured to supply rotational power (¶ [78]-[82]); and a moveable gear assembly (104 with 102) configured to move by power of the driver (Figs. 11-14, ¶ [78]-[82]), wherein the moveable gear assembly moves in a freewheel mode of being engaged with the clutch hub (156, Fig. 14, ¶ [79], [81]) and a non-freewheel mode of being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100) at the same time (Fig. 13, ¶ [80], [82]). Regarding claim 12 , (claim 12 “as best understood”) Taylor discloses wherein the rotary gear includes: a pulley member (114) located outwardly of the cover casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to receive power from the pedal via a belt (119, ¶ [65]); and a rotatable body (116) extending from the pulley member (114) inwardly of the cover casing (Figs. 11-14) and configured to rotate together with the pulley member (¶ [65]). Regarding claim 17 , (claim 17 “as best understood”), wherein the moveable gear assembly includes: a first moveable gear (102) installed in an annular shape outwardly of the clutch hub (around the clutch hub 156, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [72]) and configured to move in a straight direction by receiving power from the driver (¶ [79]-[82]); and a second moveable gear (at 104) located inwardly of the first moveable gear and including a gear (104, Fig. 11) being engaged with the clutch hub (156) and the clutch gear (100, Figs. 11-14, ¶ [73], [79]-[82]) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 3, 5-7, 9-10, 13-16 and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims . 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 3 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 1 and 2 and further wherein the clutch hub includes: a disk-shaped hub body having a center coincident with a center of the rotatable body and fixed outwardly of the rotatable body; and a first outer gear installed along an outer circumference of the hub body and formed in a shape of a protrusion extending in a vertical direction . With respect to claim 4 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 1 and 4 and further wherein the clutch gear includes: a gear body installed in an annular shape inwardly of the cover casing and fixed to the cover casing; and a second outer gear protruding outwardly of the gear body and being engaged with the moveable gear assembly to receive power. With respect to claim 6 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 1 and 4 and further comprising a stator fixed to the fixed casing and installed in an annular shape along an edge of the fixed casing, wherein the stator is configured to generate a magnetic force. With respect to claim 7 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 1 and 4 and further wherein the driver includes: a driving body fixed to the fixed casing and configured to supply rotational power; and an output shaft protruding outwardly of the driving body, wherein the output shaft is configured to rotate by an operation of the driving body, and is connected to the moveable gear assembly to move the moveable gear assembly. With respect to claim 9 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 1 and 8 and further wherein the first moveable gear includes: a first assembly gear installed on one side of the clutch hub and configured to move by an operation of the driver; and a second assembly gear installed on the other side of the clutch hub and connected to the first assembly gear, wherein a first coupling protrusion inserted into a coupling groove defined at an outer side of the second moveable gear is disposed at an inner side of the first assembly gear, wherein a second coupling protrusion inserted into the coupling groove is disposed at an inner side of the second assembly gear. With respect to claim 10 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 1 and 8 and further wherein the second moveable gear includes: a second moveable gear body installed in an annular shape; a coupling groove defining an annular groove along an outer circumference of the second moveable gear body and coupled to a protrusion protruding inwardly of the moveable gear assembly; and an inner gear protruding inwardly of the second moveable gear body and being engaged with a gear disposed in the clutch gear and a gear disposed in the clutch hub. With respect to claim 13 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 11 and 12 and further wherein the clutch hub includes: a disk-shaped hub body having a center coincident with a center of the rotatable body and fixed outwardly of the rotatable body; and a first outer gear installed along an outer circumference of the hub body and formed in a shape of a protrusion extending in a vertical direction. With respect to claim 14 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claim 11 and further wherein the clutch gear includes: a gear body installed in an annular shape inwardly of the cover casing and fixed to the cover casing; and a second outer gear protruding outwardly of the gear body and being engaged with the moveable gear assembly to receive power. With respect to claim 15 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claim 11 and further comprising a stator fixed to the fixed casing and installed in an annular shape along an edge of the fixed casing, wherein the stator is configured to generate a magnetic force to adjust a rotational load on the cover casing. With respect to claim 16 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claim 11 and further wherein the driver includes: a driving body fixed to the fixed casing and configured to supply rotational power; and an output shaft protruding outwardly of the driving body, wherein the output shaft is configured to rotate by an operation of the driving body, and is connected to the moveable gear assembly to move the moveable gear assembly. With respect to claim 18 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 11 and 17 and further wherein the first moveable gear includes: a first assembly gear installed on one side of the clutch hub and configured to move by an operation of the driver; and a second assembly gear installed on the other side of the clutch hub and connected to the first assembly gear, wherein a first coupling protrusion inserted into a coupling groove defined at an outer side of the second moveable gear is disposed at an inner side of the first assembly gear, wherein a second coupling protrusion inserted into the coupling groove is disposed at an inner side of the second assembly gear. [ With respect to claim 19 , the closest prior art of record, Taylor, fails to disclose, teach or render obvious a freewheel adjustable wheel with all of the structural components and functional limitations as detailed in claims 11 and 17 and further wherein the second moveable gear includes: a second moveable gear body installed in an annular shape; a coupling groove defining an annular groove along an outer circumference of the second moveable gear body and coupled to a protrusion protruding inwardly of the moveable gear assembly; and an inner gear protruding inwardly of the second moveable gear body and being engaged with a gear disposed in the clutch gear and a gear disposed in the clutch hub . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH whose telephone number is (571)270-7403. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 3:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, LoAn Jimenez can be reached at (571)272- 4966. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 2 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 3 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 4 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 5 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 6 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 7 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 8 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 9 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 10 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 11 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 12 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 13 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 14 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 15 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 16 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 17 Art Unit: 3784 Application/Control Number: 18/838,760 Page 18 Art Unit: 3784