DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claim 23 is rejected since there is no antecedent basis for the language “the rear surface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0301608 A1, hereinafter “Shin”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 16, Shin discloses a laundry treating apparatus for performing a processing operation for laundry (e.g., FIGS. 1, 5, and 6), the laundry treating apparatus comprising a main body (1) configured to accommodate the laundry, a cover (138; FIG. 5) defining an exterior of the main body (1), the cover (138) including a first through hole (135) at a front upper end portion of the cover (138), and a control panel (P; ¶¶ [0070], [0071], FIG. 1) located at an inner surface of the cover (138; ¶ [0103]), the control panel (P) being partially exposed to an exterior of the cover (138) through the first through hole (135) to allow a user to input a control signal for the processing operation (¶ [0118]), the control panel (P) including a wireless communicator (97) configured to transmit and receive wireless signals to and from an outside of the laundry treating apparatus (¶ [0138]), the wireless communicator (97) being located at the inner surface of the cover (138), the wireless communicator (97) being coupled to a bottom of the control panel (P; as can be seen in FIG. 6 the receiver 97 is received on an end region of the bracket 94. Since no orientation is defined said end can be interpreted as the bottom of the control panel (P).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Koo et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,284,675 B2, hereinafter “Koo”).
Shin discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed speaker. However, Koo discloses a sound emitter located inside the cover (col 10, ll. 55-58; as the display unit is located within the cover, a speaker would be installed inside the cover and not located external to the washing machine), the sound emitter being configured to output a sound signal related to the processing operation (col 10, ll. 55-58).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koo with those of Shin and place the sound emitter on an inner surface of the cover and coupled to a side surface of the control panel to provide audible feedback from within the machine (e.g., for safety reasons) to a device user.
Claims 18-22 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shin and Koo in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 7,933,123 B2, hereinafter “Wang”).
The combination of Shin and Koo discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed panel. However, Wang discloses that the control panel (10; FIG. 10) further includes: a window (62; FIG. 10) having a front surface (FIG. 10), a portion of the front surface being bonded to the inner surface of the cover (14; FIG. 10) adjacent the first through hole (an area between adjacent portions of 14; FIG. 10), a touch screen (64, 66) located at a rear surface of the window (FIG. 3), and a coating guide (136; col. ll. 54-57, FIG. 10) configured to support a rear surface of the touch screen (via 168; FIG. 10), the coating guide (136) located at the inner surface of the cover (14), as recited in Claim 18, (ii) that the control panel (10) further includes a first sealing member (146; FIG. 10) interposed between the window (62) and the coating guide (136; FIG. 10), as recited in Claim 19, (iii) that the control panel (10) further includes a board cover (12; FIG. 6) located at a rear surface of the coating guide (36; FIG. 10), the board cover (12) including a printed circuit board (72; FIG. 6) connected to the touch screen (64, in an assembled state; FIG. 10), as recited in Claim 21, (iv) that the control panel (10) further includes a second sealing member (148; FIG. 10) interposed between the coating guide (136) and the board cover (12; e.g., FIG. 10 when rotated counterclockwise 90 degrees, as recited in Claim 22.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin and Koo with those of Wang to provide a secure window, touch panel, and housing connection and prevent unintentional disassembly.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Shin, Koo, and Wang, discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed locations. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the communicator and emitter at such locations to provide secure internal placement since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 U.S.P.Q. 70.
Regarding Claim 26, Shin discloses a controller configured to input/output signals related to controlling the processing operation (Abstract; ¶ [0117]).
Regarding Claim 27, Shin discloses that the controller is configured to receive signals for controlling the processing operation from the touch screen through the printed circuit board (Abstract; ¶ [0117]).
Regarding Claim 28, Shin discloses that the wireless communicator (97) is configured to transmit and receive the wireless signals for controlling the processing operation from/to the controller (¶ [0139]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831