Status of the Claims
Claims 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19, 21-22, 24-28, 30-34, 36-45, 46, 47, and 52 are cancelled. Claims 1-7, 11, 14, 18, 20, 23, 29, 35, and 48-51 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2023/013277 filed on 02/17/2023, which claims priority from 63/311,559 filed on 02/18/2022.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claim 6 for lack of antecedent basis is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and arguments.
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claim 7 is withdrawn and will be read as an additional component in the shell composition from claim 1.
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claim 46 is withdrawn per applicant’s cancellation of the claim.
The rejection under USC 102 over Fang is withdrawn per applicant’s amendment to include an antioxidant in the fill material, which was not anticipated by Fang.
The rejections under USC 103 over Fang and Chidambaram and over Fang and Cipriani are withdrawn per applicant’s amendments. However, note new rejections that also incorporate Yoon in response to incorporation of antioxidant into claim 1.
The rejections under double patenting over copending applications 17/596,059, 17/928,955, 18/031,669, 18/036,207 and 18/036,209 is withdrawn per applicant’s amendment and argument.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s toward these rejections are now moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Maintained Rejection – Modified As Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment
Claims 1-7, 11, 14, 18, 23, 29, 35, and 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang WO2020247352A1 and Yoon US6437006B1.
Claims 50-51 provide for methods of treating seizures or treating bipolar disorder, but does not administer the composition to a particular subject having the disorder (e.g. administering a soft gel capsule of claim 1 to a subjecting having seizures). Thus, if the prior art teaches administering then it will read on the claim regardless of the subject taught in the prior art.
Fang teaches valproic acid encapsulated in a pectin pH dependent shell composition with 6.5-8.0 wt% amidated pectin, 20-45 wt% glycerin and 42-56 wt% gelatin (example 8, tables 11A and 11B). Fang teaches an exemplary composition of pectin and gellan gum delayed release softgel capsule that has 7.0-10.5 wt% pectin, 0.02-0.5 wt% dextrose, glycerin and 35-50 wt% gelatin (table 13). Table 3 also provides for dry capsule shell with non-amidated pectin, dextrose, glycerin and gelatin (also see paragraphs 95-97). Example 8 provides that “after storage for 3 months (T=3 months) at 40 °C and 75% relative humidity (RH), and after storage for 6 months (T=6 months) and at 40 °C and 75% RH. As evidenced in Table 11 A, the dissolution profile of the pH dependent shell composition, after storage for 3 months at 40 °C and 75% RH and after storage for 6 months at 40 °C and 75% RH, remains substantially similar to the dissolution profile at T=0”. Fang teaches “the process for preparing a pH dependent softgel capsule comprises, consists essentially of, or consists of a) preparing any of the fill materials described herein; b) encapsulating the fill material from step a) in any of the pH dependent shell compositions described herein (e.g., via rotary die encapsulation); c) drying the encapsulated pH dependent softgel capsules (e.g., by tumble drying or regular drying in a basket without tumbling); and optionally d) curing the pH dependent softgel capsule in accordance with any of the curing conditions described herein” (paragraph 80, also paragraph 78). Fang teaches “The ribbon thickness of the pH dependent shell composition (as used for example during rotary die encapsulation) may also be tuned to control the pH dependent dissolution profile of the final pH dependent softgel capsule” (paragraph 77). The ribbon shell composition with thickness represents the gelled version of the material. Thus, a gel conversion occurred prior to the filling/encapsulating. In regard to claims 23, 29, and 35, Fang teaches softgel capsules of similar materials/concentrations to the composition noted in table 1 of applicant’s specification. Therefore, they will be expected to have the same stabilities. In regard to claim 46, valproic acid encapsulated in such similar softgel capsules taught in Fang will be expected to remain more stable and have such reduced impurity levels. Fang teaches treating a condition by administering to a subject the soft gel composition (paragraph 9 and claims 41-42 of Fang).
Fang teaches the claims as discussed above.
Fang does not teach antioxidants including BHT or BHA with the drug in the capsule.
Yoon teaches a pharmaceutical formulation with antioxidants such as BHA or BHT (abstract, also claims 6-9 of Yoon). Yoon teaches “In a preferred embodiment of this invention, the carrier system above is combined with a pharmacologically active agent and then encapsulated, such as with a hard or soft gelatin capsule” (column 5, lines 4-8). Yoon teaches excipient formulations of its invention can be used for many classes of compounds (column 5). Yoon teaches enhancing or protective antioxidants or preservatives (column 4, lines 34-47). Examples in columns 11 and 12 provide for capsules with BHT and BHA included inside as excipients.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included antioxidants as they are seen to have enhancing or protective effects on the encapsulated composition with pharmaceutical compound in teachings of Yoon. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in adding antioxidants such as BHT or BHA into pharmaceutical compositions with the expectation of enhancing and/or protective effects to the pharmaceutical composition.
New Rejections – As Necessitated by Applicant’s importing the limitation of claim 17 into claim 1 (Over originally cited references)
Claims 20 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang WO2020247352A1, Yoon US6437006B1 and Chidambaram US20070082046A1.
Fang and Yoon teaches the claims as discussed above.
Fang and Yoon do not teach the amount of valproic acid as in claim 20 or the administering to treat seizures in a subject that would have seizures.
Chidambaram teaches amounts of valproic acid of 125 mg, 250 mg and 500 mg (claim 4 of Chidambaram). Chidambaram teaches treating seizures with valproic acid (paragraph 17). Chidambaram teaches using the capsules can be used to administer valproic acid (paragraph 36).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included amounts of valproic acid based on teachings of Chidambaram into capsules of Fang and Yoon as Chidambaram recognizes the amounts as useful for treating conditions such as seizures. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in using such amounts of valproic acid in softgel capsules and being able to administer them to subjects to treat conditions like seizures.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang WO2020247352A1, Yoon US6437006B1 and Cipriani et al (Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2013, volume 2013, pages 1-53).
Fang and Yoon teach the claims as discussed above. Although claim 51 is covered under USC 102, for the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner provides this rejection if the applicant directs the administering step to administering to a subject with bipolar disorder.
Fang and Yoon do not teach treating bipolar disorder by its administration.
Cipriani teaches valproate is often used as a maintenance treatment for bipolar disorder (abstract). Cipriani teaches providing treatment to participants with bipolar disorder valproate (Selection criteria and Author’s conclusions).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have used a valproic acid/valproate formulation to treat bipolar disorder as the drug is recognized for this disorder in teachings of Cipriani. Thus, a formulation with valproic acid/valproate such as in Fang and Yoon would be reasonably expected to treat bipolar disorder when administered to those patients.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments over Fang and Yoon
Applicant argues that Yoon uses antioxidant in a different system from that in Fang. However, Yoon teaches “Yoon teaches excipient formulations of its invention can be used for many classes of compounds (column 5). Yoon teaches enhancing or protective antioxidants or preservatives (column 4, lines 34-47). Examples in columns 11 and 12 provide for capsules with BHT and BHA included inside as excipients.” Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand these excipients that include enhancing or protective antioxidants would be useful with different classes of compounds and the motivation would be to provide enhanced and/or protective effects by use of such antioxidants. Both Fang and Yoon are to pharmaceutical formulations and Yoon also provides for soft gelatin capsules, which allows the use of such ingredients in such types of administrable formulations.
Applicant also argues that Fang sees its shell as protecting the compound against oxidation, and thus, would not be motivated to add antioxidant. Yoon provides for excipients and allows for enhanced or protective antioxidants. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in additional antioxidant (enhancing or protective) activity with adding such ingredients for further protection from oxidation.
For these reasons, Fang and Yoon still provide for the claimed invention.
Conclusions
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613