Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference number 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: driving member in claim 3. Based on the specification, the driving member is a rod or bar (7) as shown in Fig. 1, 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the transmission is connected to one or more output shafts arranged in a balanced mode.” It is not clear what mode constitutes a balanced mode. In other words, it is not clear how to connect the transmission to the one or more output shafts so that it can be considered that they are arranged in a balanced mode.
Claim 2 recites “a horizontal generator and a vertical generator.” It is not clear what constitutes a horizontal generator or a vertical generator. In other words, it is not clear if horizontal and vertical are merely referred to the installation orientation of the generator on its installation surface or if they are referring to something else, such as the orientation of the inlet shaft with regard to the generator rotor/stator.
Claim 3 recites that “a load-bearing ball or a load-bearing roller configured to reduce frictional resistance of a driving member is installed on the annular load-bearing wall.” Hence, a load-bearing ball or a load-bearing roller, i.e., one load-bearing ball or load-bearing roller is installed on the annular load-bearing wall. Based on claim 3, this ball or roller is configured to reduce frictional resistance of the driving member. The driving member rotates a complete 360-degree round circle over the annular load-bearing wall. Hence, in order for the ball or roller to reduce frictional resistance of the driving member, the one ball or roller has to cover the entire 360-degree upper surface of the wall. However, Fig. 2 shows the ball or roller 8 only in two spots, the rest is free from any ball or roller. Hence, it is not clear how this one ball or roller installed only on a portion of the wall can reduce frictional resistance of the driving member.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the driving member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the water baffle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any and all claims rejected herein under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if rejected with art below under sections 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claim 6 is rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (CN 105804914), referred to hereafter as Song.
With regard to claim 1, Song discloses an efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set (Fig. 1, 2), comprising a buried load-bearing structure foundation (Fig. 1. Note that a buried load-bearing structure foundation is a very broad limitation as most things can be interpreted to be buried in something else, be load-bearing as it’s the case with most mechanical elements, and be a structure foundation, as most mechanical elements can be interpreted to be a structure foundation), wherein a transmission (4 and 5, individually or in combination) is installed in the load-bearing structure foundation (Fig. 1), an input shaft of the transmission is connected to a load-bearing column (1) driven by hydraulic power to rotate (Fig. 2. Also see abstract disclosing “the action of water flow in the trench or river (11)”), the transmission is connected to one or more output shafts arranged in a balanced mode (Fig. 1), and each output shaft is connected to a generator (6).
With regard to claim 4, Song further discloses that the driving member (8) is of a rod structure or a disc structure (Fig. 1, 2), and a load-bearing inhaul cable (2 or 3, individually or in combination) is added between the load-bearing column and the driving member (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, Song further discloses that the water baffle (7) is placed in an annular water channel (11) to rotate as push of water flow, and a separating apparatus is arranged between a water inlet and a water outlet of the annular water channel (In Fig. 2, see the separating apparatus between a water inlet and a water outlet which separates the water inlet and the water outlet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (CN 105804914), referred to hereafter as Song in view of Downing (US 2002/0141858).
With regard to claim 2:
Song discloses the efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set of claim 1, as set forth above, and further discloses that the generator comprises a horizontal generator.
Song does not appear to explicitly disclose that the generator comprises a vertical generator.
However, Downing teaches an efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set to rotate as push of water flow and further teaches an output shaft connected to a generator, the generator being a vertical generator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, and add a vertical generator to the Song, to yield predictable results of producing electrical energy. This addition furthermore would provide more electrical energy production and also provides redundancy in the system in case the horizontal generator fails or breaks.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prisbrey (US 1,480,299) in view of Song et al. (CN 105804914), referred to hereafter as Song.
With regard to claim 1:
Prisbrey discloses an efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set, comprising a buried load-bearing structure foundation (Fig. 1, “a buried load-bearing structure foundation” is the area where pump 9 is installed), wherein a pump (9) is installed in the load-bearing structure foundation (Fig. 1), an input shaft of the pump is connected to a load-bearing column (6) driven by hydraulic power (the water flow in trough 1) to rotate.
Prisbrey uses its efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set to generate energy to rotate a pump (9) instead of the recited generator, hence Prisbrey does not appear to explicitly disclose a generator. Also, Prisbrey does not appear to explicitly disclose a transmission between the load-bearing column and the generator.
However, Song teaches an efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set (Fig. 1, 2), comprising a buried load-bearing structure foundation (Fig. 1), wherein a transmission (4 and 5, individually or in combination) is installed in the load-bearing structure foundation (Fig. 1), an input shaft of the transmission is connected to a load-bearing column (1) driven by hydraulic power to rotate (Fig. 2), the transmission is connected to one or more output shafts arranged in a balanced mode (Fig. 1), and each output shaft is connected to a generator (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to do a simple substitution of one known element for another, and substitute the pump of Prisbrey with the generator and transmission of Song, to obtain predictable results of producing electrical energy.
The pump of Prisbrey is already in the load-bearing structure foundation (see Fig. 1 of Prisbrey), hence after the above modification and substituting the pump of Prisbrey with the generator and transmission of Song, the combination of Prisbrey and Song discloses a transmission that is installed in the load-bearing structure foundation, an input shaft of the transmission is connected to the load-bearing column (as taught by Song), the transmission is connected to one or more output shafts arranged in a balanced mode (as taught by Song), and each output shaft is connected to a generator (as taught by Song).
Although Prisbrey has a water connection from the trough (1) to the load-bearing structure foundation, the person of ordinary skill can close this line when they substitute the pump with the generator and transmission because it no longer be needed. Note that "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Hence, in the above combination, when the water line connection to the load-bearing structure foundation is not needed as a result of the modification, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to simply close that line or just remove it.
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Prisbrey and Song further discloses that the load-bearing structure foundation is formed by a foundation (Prisbrey, in Fig. 1, see the foundation under pump 9) and an annular load-bearing wall (see Fig. 1 of Prisbrey. In a first interpretation, “an annular load-bearing wall” is the wall immediately next to pump 9. In a second interpretation, “an annular load-bearing wall” is the inner wall of trough 1. In a third interpretation, “an annular load-bearing wall” is the outer wall of trough 1), a load-bearing ball or a load-bearing roller (Prisbrey, see load-bearing rollers 21 and 25 in Fig. 2, 3, 5, and 6. Also see page 2; line 94 specifically disclosing rollers 21) configured to reduce frictional resistance of a driving member (14 and 15) is installed on the annular load-bearing wall (Prisbrey, Fig. 2, 3, 5, and 6. The rollers are installed on the wall by virtue of being on the wall as depicted in Fig. 5 and 6), one end of the driving member is connected to the load-bearing column (Prisbrey, Fig. 2, 3, 5, and 6), and the other end of the driving member is connected to a reversible water baffle (Prisbrey, see “reversible water baffle” 34 in Fig. 2, 3, 5, and 6).
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Prisbrey and Song further discloses that the driving member is of a rod structure or a disc structure (Prisbrey, Fig. 2, 3, 5, and 6), and a load-bearing inhaul cable (Prisbrey, 8) is added between the load-bearing column and the driving member (Prisbrey, Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Prisbrey and Song further discloses that the water baffle is placed in an annular water channel (Prisbrey, 1, see Fig. 1, 2) to rotate as push of water flow, and a separating apparatus (Prisbrey, see the separating apparatus between inlet 2 and outlet 3 in Fig. 1 and 2) is arranged between a water inlet (Prisbrey, 2) and a water outlet (Prisbrey, 3) of the annular water channel.
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Prisbrey and Song further discloses that the separating apparatus is formed by a separating wall higher than a water surface or a plurality of separating plates higher than a water surface (Prisbrey, see Fig. 1, 2).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prisbrey (US 1,480,299) in view of Song et al. (CN 105804914), referred to hereafter as Song, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Downing (US 2002/0141858).
With regard to claim 2:
The combination of Prisbrey and Song discloses the efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set of claim 1, as set forth above, and further discloses that the generator comprises a horizontal generator.
The combination of Prisbrey and Song does not appear to explicitly disclose that the generator comprises a vertical generator.
However, Downing teaches an efficient hydrokinetic rotating disc generator set to rotate as push of water flow and further teaches an output shaft connected to a generator, the generator being a vertical generator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, and add a vertical generator to the combination of Prisbrey and Song, to yield predictable results of producing electrical energy. This addition furthermore would provide more electrical energy production and also provides redundancy in the system in case the horizontal generator fails or breaks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar generator sets such as US 5137423.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745