CTNF 18/838,831 CTNF 88479 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the application filed on 8/15/2024. The IDS filed on 11/8/2024 and 1/23/2026 have been considered. Claims 1-2, 4, 9 and 11 are amended. Claims 10, 12-13 are cancelled. Claims 1-9 and 11 are examined and rejected. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: this claim recites in part: … method of claim 2 …”. This should be changed to “… method of claim 5 … ” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (EP 4221319 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches a method performed by a first station (STA) in a wireless LAN system, the method comprising: receiving, from a second STA , a trigger frame including a trigger type subfield with value set to 8 and a trigger dependent common info subfield (see para 44-45, in FIG. 2, At block 202, the sensing trigger frame comprising one or more fields… include a sensing trigger subtype subfield in the trigger frame, and in Table 4, trigger type subfield value is set to 8 ; see para 33, the T rigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant); and performing triggered-based (TB) sensing measurement based on the trigger frame (see para 11, Trigger based sensing measurement; also see para 37, The Initiator is typically a non-AP STA and the AP is the responder, so Initiator-to-Responder Null Data Packet (I2R NDP) is sent from the STA to the AP, which is indicated in the Trigger frame. However, in a TB sensing measurement instance in 11 bf, the initiator is typically an AP and the responder is non-AP STA, so the Sensing Trigger frame shall indicate information for the solicited Responder-to-Initiator Null Data Packet (R2I NDP)), wherein, the trigger dependent common info subfield includes a sensing subfield indicating whether a type of the trigger frame is a sensing trigger variant (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, the above limitation has been interpreted as: a subtype field which is 1 bit used to indicate either “sensing subfield” or “ranging subfield”. Based on this interpretation see Table 4. para 33, see para 33, In order to differentiate whether the Trigger variant is for Ranging or Sensing, it is proposed to use the reserved bit (B4) in the T rigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant as a flag signaling between Ranging Trigger variant and Sensing Trigger variant ). Regarding Claim 2, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the trigger dependent common info subfield includes a sensing trigger subtype, and the sensing trigger subtype indicates one of a sensing polling variant, a sounding variant or a sensing reporting variant (see Table 3. Sensing trigger subtype field with the subvariant as Poll, Sounding and Report). Regarding Claim 3, Chen teaches the method of claim 1,wherein: the sensing subfield is set to a fifth bit (B4) of the trigger dependent common info subfield. Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, the above limitation has been interpreted as: a subtype field which is 1 bit used to indicate either “sensing subfield” or “ranging subfield”. Based on this interpretation, Chen teaches this limitation: see Table 5. Trigger dependent common info subfield format or ranging or sensing trigger variant, depicted in Table 5 as B4, fifth bit; para 33, In order to differentiate whether the Trigger variant is for Ranging or Sensing, it is proposed to use the reserved bit (B4) in the Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant as a flag signaling between Ranging Trigger variant and Sensing Trigger variant... Regarding Claim 4, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the sensing subfield is composed of 1 bit, and based on the sensing subfield value being set to 1, the type of the trigger frame is the sensing trigger variant (see Table 5. Table 5: Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield format for the Ranging Trigger variant, where “bits” used is 1 to indicate either ranging or sensing). Regarding Claim 5, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the trigger dependent common info subfield includes at least one of a measurement setup ID subfield or a sounding dialog token subfield (see Table 5. Trigger dependent common info subfield format or ranging or sensing trigger variant, last column bits B5-B7, indicates “Token”; also see para 39). Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: the measurement setup ID subfield indicates a measurement setup ID, and the sounding dialog token subfield indicates a sensing measurement instance ID ( see para 39, the Sensing Measurement Setup ID may be signaled in the Sensing/Ranging TF Sounding using either the 3 bit "Token" field in Common Info or N Reserved bits in User Info. In the latter case, the Sensing Measurement Setup ID may be different for different users) . Regarding Claim 7, Chen teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: based on a variant of the trigger frame indicated by the sensing trigger subtype subfield, a user info field of the trigger frame is set (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification (FIG. 21 of the instant specification), this limitation has been interpreted to mean: “a format of a user information subfield of a sensing trigger frame”. Based on this interpretation, see Table 7. User Info field format for Sounding subvariant of the trigger frame). Regarding Claim 8, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the first STA is a sensing responder, and the second STA is a sensing initiator (see para 37, The Initiator is typically a non-AP STA and the AP is the responder, so Initiator-to-Responder Null Data Packet (I2R NDP) is sent from the STA to the AP, which is indicated in the Trigger frame. However, in a TB sensing measurement instance in 11 bf, the initiator is typically an AP and the responder is non-AP STA, so the Sensing Trigger frame shall indicate information for the solicited Responder-to-Initiator Null Data Packet (R2I NDP)). Regarding Claim 9, Chen teaches a first station (STA) in a wireless LAN system (see FIG. 1. Depicting multiple sending and receiving stations) , the first STA comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a second STA through the at least one transceiver, a trigger frame including a trigger type subfield with value set to 8 and a trigger dependent common info subfield (see para 44-45, in FIG. 2, At block 202, the sensing trigger frame comprising one or more fields… include a sensing trigger subtype subfield in the trigger frame, and in Table 4, trigger type subfield value is set to 8 ; see para 33, the T rigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant); and perform triggered-based (TB) sensing measurement based on the trigger frame (see para 11, Trigger based sensing measurement; also see para 37, The Initiator is typically a non-AP STA and the AP is the responder, so Initiator-to-Responder Null Data Packet (I2R NDP) is sent from the STA to the AP, which is indicated in the Trigger frame. However, in a TB sensing measurement instance in 11 bf, the initiator is typically an AP and the responder is non-AP STA, so the Sensing Trigger frame shall indicate information for the solicited Responder-to-Initiator Null Data Packet (R2I NDP)) , wherein the trigger dependent common info subfield includes a sensing subfield indicating whether a type of the trigger frame is a sensing trigger variant (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, the above limitation has been interpreted as: a subtype field which is 1 bit used to indicate either “sensing subfield” or “ranging subfield”. Based on this interpretation see Table 4. para 33, see para 33, In order to differentiate whether the Trigger variant is for Ranging or Sensing, it is proposed to use the reserved bit (B4) in the T rigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant as a flag signaling between Ranging Trigger variant and Sensing Trigger variant ). Regarding Claim 11, Chen teaches a second station (STA) i n a wireless LAN system (see FIG. 1. Depicting multiple sending and receiving stations) , the second STA comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to a first STA through the at least one transceiver, a trigger frame including a trigger sub type subfield with value set to 8 and a trigger dependent common info subfield (see para 44-45, in FIG. 2, At block 202, the sensing trigger frame comprising one or more fields… include a sensing trigger subtype subfield in the trigger frame, and in Table 4, trigger type subfield value is set to 8 ; see para 33, the T rigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant); and perform triggered-based (TB) sensing measurement based on the trigger frame (see para 11, Trigger based sensing measurement; also see para 37, The Initiator is typically a non-AP STA and the AP is the responder, so Initiator-to-Responder Null Data Packet (I2R NDP) is sent from the STA to the AP, which is indicated in the Trigger frame. However, in a TB sensing measurement instance in 11 bf, the initiator is typically an AP and the responder is non-AP STA, so the Sensing Trigger frame shall indicate information for the solicited Responder-to-Initiator Null Data Packet (R2I NDP)), wherein the trigger dependent common info subfield includes a sensing subfield indicating whether a type of the trigger frame is a sensing trigger variant (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, the above limitation has been interpreted as: a subtype field which is 1 bit used to indicate either “sensing subfield” or “ranging subfield”. Based on this interpretation see Table 4. para 33, see para 33, In order to differentiate whether the Trigger variant is for Ranging or Sensing, it is proposed to use the reserved bit (B4) in the T rigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant as a flag signaling between Ranging Trigger variant and Sensing Trigger variant ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen US20220150962 A1 mechanisms to enable peer-to-peer (P2P) sensing… para 24, a P2P sensing system may address P2P sensing to enable sensing physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU) transmission and reception between a non-AP STA and another non-AP STA within the same BSS and across different BSSs. During a negotiation phase, the AP may identify if there is going to be sensing transmission and reception between two non-AP STAs. If there will be such a P2P sensing exchange, the AP may determine which STA would be the transmitter, and which would be the receiver. For the sensing session, the AP may send a trigger frame to trigger the sensing transmitter STA to transmit broadcast null data packets (NDPs), while the sensing receiver STA may be listening for the NDP packets to perform sensing measurements. When there is a need for the sensing receiver STA to feed back the sensing measurement results to the sensing transmitter STA, there are multiple options: (1) The AP may transmit a trigger frame to solicit the feedback from the sensing receiver STA, and then the AP forwards the feedback to the sensing transmitter STA; (2) the AP may schedule a triggered P2P allocation for the sensing receiver STA to directly send the feedback to the sensing transmitter STA… para 27, The 802.11 standard (e.g., 802.11az) defines a way to differentiate between trigger frame subtypes by using signaling in a Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield of a trigger frame (e.g., found within the Common Information field of a trigger frame). The type of trigger frame sent by an AP may be indicated by the Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield. One trigger frame variant is a ranging trigger frame. Within a trigger frame variant, a subtype subfield may indicate how the trigger frame variant is used. For example, the trigger frames sent by the AP may use multiple options… a ranging trigger frame variant subfield may indicate whether the ranging trigger frame variant is a polling trigger frame, a sounding trigger frame, a secure sounding trigger frame, a reporting trigger frame, or a passive trigger-based sounding trigger frame. Using an available bit from the ranging trigger subtype subfield, a trigger frame may be indicated as a sensing trigger frame. Alternatively, the trigger frame may be a new variant (e.g., different than the ranging trigger frame variant), for example, a sensing trigger frame used to schedule the P2P Wi-Fi sensing operations between the two STAs. The Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield may indicate the subtype, sounding dialog token number, and the like for the new trigger frame variant . Luo (US 20240187905 A) teaches a second device sends a first trigger frame to at least one sensing and response device. The first trigger frame is used for triggering the at least one sensing and response device to measure a target type… para 348, at least one field in the ranging variant trigger frame may be used to indicate a sensing subtype of the sensing trigger frame. That is, value of at least one field in the ranging variant trigger frame indicates that whether the sensing trigger frame is a sensing polling trigger frame or a sensing measurement trigger frame. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DEEPA BELUR whose telephone number is (571)270-3722. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates can be reached at 571-272-3980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 10 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/838,831 Page 11 Art Unit: 2472