DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 8-9, 15, 17, 19, 22, 26, 28, 29, 32, 34, and 38, canceled claims 4-6, 10-13, 16, 18, 20-21, 23, 27, 30-31, 33, 35-37, and 39, and added claim 40 in the preliminary amendment filed on 08/20/2024.
The claims 1-3, 7-9, 14-15, 17, 19, 22, 24-26, 28-29, 32, 34, 38, and 40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 24, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hou et al (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0034674 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hou teaches a cell access control method (random access method), performed by a terminal, comprising: determining cell access configuration information (paragraph 0238; step 403, Fig. 4 disclose sending signaling to terminal including configuration information listed in Table 1 as per paragraph 0177 and Table 2, paragraph 0180), wherein the cell access configuration information is used for configuring first cell access indication information corresponding to a first type of terminal, second cell access indication information corresponding to a second type of terminal, and third cell access indication information corresponding to a third type of terminal (see figure 4, "401", and see paragraph [0200], "The M RACH resource sets correspond to N terminal types, [...], one of the M RACH resource sets corresponds to one or more of the N terminal types.' and see paragraph [0203], M RACH resource sets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the N terminal types, and the network device may configure different RACH resource sets for at least different terminal types. In this case, terminals of different bandwidth types may initiate random access procedures using different RACH resource set; also see Table 1 (paragraph 0177) and Table 2 (paragraph 0180);
wherein a capability of the first type of terminal is greater than a capability of the second type of terminal, and the capability of the second type of terminal is greater than a capability of the third type of terminal (paragraph 0174; 0202 disclose network device may be connected to terminals of three bandwidth types: "NR_REDCAP type 1", "NR_REDCAP type2", and "NR_legacy"; a terminal with a bandwidth capability of 5 MHz or 10 MHz may be usually represented as "NR_REDCAP type1, [...], a terminal with a bandwidth capability of 20 MHz may be usually referred to as an NR_REDCAP type2 terminal, [...], a terminal with a bandwidth capability of 100 MHz may be usually referred to as an NR_legacy); obtaining the third cell access indication information (paragraph 00250 disclose a terminal determining, based on RACH configuration information included in signaling received by the terminal and a target terminal type of the terminal, a target RACH resource set used by the terminal to send a random access request to the network device; paragraph 0111 disclose target terminal type of the current terminal is determined based on a random access type supported by the current terminal and the bandwidth type of the current terminal; wherein a target terminal type is NR_REDCAP type2 terminal; and performing a cell access control based on the third cell access indication information (Figure 4, Step 407 disclose the terminal sending, based on the target RACH resource, the random access request to the network device in the target UL initial BWP corresponding to the target terminal type).
With respect to claim 24, Hou teaches a cell access control method, performed by a network device, comprising: sending cell access configuration information (paragraph 0238; step 403, Fig. 4 disclose sending signaling to terminal including configuration information listed in Table 1 as per paragraph 0177 and Table 2, paragraph 0180), wherein the cell access configuration information is used for configuring first cell access indication information corresponding to a first type of terminal, second cell access indication information corresponding to a second type of terminal, and third cell access indication information corresponding to a third type of termina l(see figure 4, "401", and see paragraph [0200], "The M RACH resource sets correspond to N terminal types, [...], one of the M RACH resource sets corresponds to one or more of the N terminal types.' and see paragraph [0203], M RACH resource sets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the N terminal types, and the network device may configure different RACH resource sets for at least different terminal types. In this case, terminals of different bandwidth types may initiate random access procedures using different RACH resource set; also see Table 1 (paragraph 0177) and Table 2 (paragraph 0180);
wherein a capability of the first type of terminal is greater than a capability of the second type of terminal, and the capability of the second type of terminal is greater than a capability of the third type of terminal (paragraph 0174; 0202 disclose network device may be connected to terminals of three bandwidth types: "NR_REDCAP type 1", "NR_REDCAP type2", and "NR_legacy"; a terminal with a bandwidth capability of 5 MHz or 10 MHz may be usually represented as "NR_REDCAP type1, [...], a terminal with a bandwidth capability of 20 MHz may be usually referred to as an NR_REDCAP type2 terminal, [...], a terminal with a bandwidth capability of 100 MHz may be usually referred to as an NR_legacy).
The limitations of claim 38 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 40 are rejected in the analysis of claim 24 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 22, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0034674 A1) in view of Chen (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0330133 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Hou discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the first cell access indication information, the second cell access indication information and the third cell access indication information each comprises cell access barred indication information for indicating whether to allow the terminal to camp on a cell.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first cell access indication information, the second cell access indication information and the third cell access indication information each comprises cell access barred indication information for indicating whether to allow the terminal to camp on a cell (paragraph 0199-0210 disclose the third indication information includes a first barring parameter and a second barring parameter. The first barring parameter is used by a first-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell, and the second barring parameter is used by a second-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell. If the terminal device is the first-type terminal device, the terminal device uses the first barring parameter, to determine whether the terminal device can camp on the first cell or a cell that has a same frequency as the first cell. If the terminal device is the second-type terminal device, the terminal device uses the second barring parameter, to determine whether the terminal device can camp on the first cell or a cell that has a same frequency as the first cell) in order to efficiently select a cell to camp (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Chen to the system of Hou in order to efficiently select a cell to camp.
With respect to claim 3, Hou discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information is different from the cell access barred indication information indicated by the second cell access indication information and the first cell access indication information; wherein obtaining the third cell access indication information comprises one of: obtaining the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information, wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed and wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed; obtaining the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information, wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed; or obtaining the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information, wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed.
However, Chen teaches wherein the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information is different from the cell access barred indication information indicated by the second cell access indication information and the first cell access indication information; wherein obtaining the third cell access indication information comprises one of: obtaining the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information, wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed and wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed; obtaining the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information, wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed; or obtaining the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information, wherein the cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the cell is allowed (paragraph 0199 disclose the third indication information includes a first barring parameter and a second barring parameter. The first barring parameter is used by a first-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell, and the second barring parameter is used by a second-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell) in order to efficiently select a cell to camp (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Chen to the system of Hou in order to efficiently select a cell to camp.
With respect to claim 7, Hou discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information is the cell access barred indication information indicated by the second cell access indication information.
However, Chen teaches wherein the cell access barred indication information indicated by the third cell access indication information is the cell access barred indication information indicated by the second cell access indication information (paragraph 0199 disclose the third indication information includes a first barring parameter and a second barring parameter. The first barring parameter is used by a first-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell, and the second barring parameter is used by a second-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell) in order to efficiently select a cell to camp (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Chen to the system of Hou in order to efficiently select a cell to camp.
With respect to claim 8, Hou discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the first cell access indication information, the second cell access indication information and the third cell access indication information each further comprises an intra-frequency cell reselection identification for indicating whether to allow the terminal to perform an intra-frequency cell reselection.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first cell access indication information, the second cell access indication information and the third cell access indication information each further comprises an intra-frequency cell reselection identification for indicating whether to allow the terminal to perform an intra-frequency cell reselection (paragraph 0201 disclose (paragraph 0199 disclose the third indication information includes a first barring parameter and a second barring parameter. The first barring parameter is used by a first-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell, and the second barring parameter is used by a second-type terminal device to perform initial access to the first cell) in order to efficiently select a cell to camp (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Chen to the system of Hou in order to efficiently select a cell to camp.
With respect to claim 22, Hou discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein performing the cell access control based on the third cell access indication information comprises one of: camping on a current cell, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the current cell is allowed; or performing an intra-frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicating indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is allowed; withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed; withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed; or withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed; or withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information and the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein intra-frequency cell reselection identifications, indicated by the first cell access indication information and the second cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed.
However, Chen teaches wherein performing the cell access control based on the third cell access indication information comprises one of: camping on a current cell, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that camping on the current cell is allowed; or performing an intra-frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicating indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is allowed;
withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the third cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed;
withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the first cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed; or withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, indicated by the second cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed; or
withholding from camping on a current cell and withholding from performing an intra- frequency cell reselection, wherein cell access barred indication information, indicated by the first cell access indication information and the second cell access indication information, indicates that camping on a cell is not allowed and wherein intra-frequency cell reselection identifications, indicated by the first cell access indication information and the second cell access indication information, indicates that performing the intra-frequency cell reselection is not allowed (paragraph 0199-0202 disclose the first barring parameter and the second barring parameter each include a set of cell barring parameters. Cell barring is a manner of controlling lode by a network, and the network may control the terminal device not to camp on a cell in the case of heavy load. There are two cell barring parameters: cellBarred and intraFreqReselection. After reading a MIB of a cell, if the terminal device finds, based on cellBarred, that the cell is barred, the terminal device cannot camp on the current cell. If intraFreqReselection is set to NotAllowed (NotAllowed), it indicates that the terminal device cannot reselect to another cell on this frequency. If intraFreqReselection is set to Allowed (Allowed), it indicates that the terminal device can reselect to another cell on the frequency) in order to efficiently select a cell to camp (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Chen to the system of Hou in order to efficiently select a cell to camp.
The limitations of claim 25 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 26 are rejected in the analysis of claims 3 and 7 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 28 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
Claims 17, 19, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0034674 A1) in view of Liu et al (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0247526 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Hou teaches wherein the third cell access indication information is carried in at least one of: a master information block, a system information block 1, other system information, or downlink control information (paragraph 0022 disclose the signaling including the RACH configuration information includes at least one of the following types of signaling: media access control control element (media access control-control element, MACCE) signaling, downlink control information (DCI) signaling, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and system information block type1 (system information block-type1, SIB1) signaling);
Hou does not explicitly disclose wherein the system information block 1 comprises:
a first system information block 1, wherein the first system information block 1 is different from a second system information block 1, and the second system information block 1 is used for carrying cell access barred indication information indicated by the second cell access indication information; and the second system information block 1.
However, Liu teaches wherein the system information block 1 comprises:
a first system information block 1, wherein the first system information block 1 is different from a second system information block 1, and the second system information block 1 is used for carrying cell access barred indication information indicated by the second cell access indication information; and the second system information block 1 (paragraph 0030-0031; 0081-0082 disclose the neighbor cell list information includes the support capability information of each neighbor cell for the REDCAP terminal. Second network nodes (for example, base stations) exchange the support capability information of each cell for the REDCAP terminal and record the support capability information of each neighbor cell in the neighbor cell list for the REDCAP terminal. The second network node adds the configuration of the support capability information of each neighbor cell for the REDCAP terminal to the neighbor cell list information, that is, the second network node broadcasts the indication information indicating whether each neighbor cell supports the REDCAP terminal in the neighbor cell list information. For example, first indication information is added to the intra-frequency neighbor cell information (IntraFreqNeighCellInfo) in the SIB3, where the first indication information is SupportREDACAP ENUMERATED {true, false}; or the second indication information is added to the inter-frequency neighbor cell information (InterFreqNeighCellInfo) in the SIB4, where the second indication information is SupportREDACAP ENUMERATED {true, false}. [0083] In an embodiment, the indication information of the support capability information of each neighbor cell for the REDCAP terminal may be configured in the SIB1 by the second network node or may be configured in downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the SIB 1) in order to provide different access control indications (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Liu to the system of Hou in order to provide different access control indications.
With respect to claim 19, Hou discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein cell access barred indication information or an intra-frequency cell reselection identification indicated by the third cell access indication information corresponds to a same receiving antenna or different receiving antennas: or wherein the third cell access indication information comprises cell access barred indication information and an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, and the cell access barred indication information and the intra-frequency cell reselection identification are carried by different signaling.
However, Liu teaches wherein cell access barred indication information or an intra-frequency cell reselection identification indicated by the third cell access indication information corresponds to a same receiving antenna or different receiving antennas: or wherein the third cell access indication information comprises cell access barred indication information and an intra-frequency cell reselection identification, and the cell access barred indication information and the intra-frequency cell reselection identification are carried by different signaling (paragraph 0126; 0162 disclose the support capability information of each neighbor cell for the REDCAP terminal is configured through first indication information in intra-frequency neighbor cell information of a third system information block (SIB3) or through second indication information in inter-frequency neighbor cell information of a fourth system information block (S1134) or through indication information of intra-frequency neighbor cell information or inter-frequency neighbor cell information in a system information block (SIB) dedicated to the REDCAP terminal) in order to provide different access control indications (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hou in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Liu to the system of Hou in order to provide different access control indications.
The limitations of claim 32 are rejected in the analysis of claim 17 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 34 are rejected in the analysis of claim 19 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 14, 15, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
8/8/2026