This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 18/838901.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, first arm portions extend in a tapering manner seen in the direction towards the spring leaf must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Rapid FR2534986A1.
Rapid discloses claims:
1. A spring clip (1- from figures 3 and 4 it is unambiguously derivable that the clip is made from a spring material) adapted to be arranged in an elongate through hole (by the shape of the clip) in a wall of a structural member, said spring clip (1) having an elongate spring leaf (2) , at each end of the spring leaf (2) a connection arm (3) that has a proximal end that is connected to the spring leaf (2) and a distal end, wherein at the distal end a support wing is connected to the connection arm (3), wherein the support wings (4) extend in a common plane remote from the spring leaf (2), and wherein the spring leaf is curved having a convex side facing towards the common plane of the support wings (4).
2. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the spring clip is made in one piece.
3. The spring clip according to claim 2, wherein the spring clip is made by bending an originally straight and flat strip of sheet metal.
4. The spring clip according to claim 2, wherein the spring clip is made of a metal strip having a constant width.
5. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the support wings (4) are aligned.
6. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the connection arms (3) extend substantially transversely to the support wings.
7. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the connection arms (3) comprise multiple arm portions, which extend under an angle relative to each other.
8. The spring clip according to claim 7, wherein the multiple arm portions (3) include a first arm portion (3) that extends perpendicularly from the end of the spring leaf (2), and a second arm portion that extends perpendicularly from the support wing.
17. A method for manufacturing a spring clip, wherein an originally straight and flat strip of sheet metal and having a constant width is bent to form: an elongate spring leaf (2) at each end of the spring leaf (2) a connection arm (3) that has a proximal end that is connected to the spring leaf (2) and a distal end a support wing (4) connected to the distal end of the connection arm (3) wherein the support wings (4) extend in a common plane remote from the spring leaf (2), and wherein the spring leaf (2) is curved having a convex side facing towards the common plane of the support wings (4).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second arm portion
First arm portion)][AltContent: textbox (Convex side)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Spring leaf 2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support wing 4
Connection arm 3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support wing 4
Connection arm 3)][AltContent: textbox (Spring clip 1
Elongate leaf 2)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Structural member 9
Elongate hole 8a)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Fang et al. (Fang) CN105201965.
Fang discloses claims:
1. A spring clip (3) adapted to be arranged in an elongate through hole (11) in a wall of a structural member (1), said spring clip (3/311) having an elongate spring leaf (31) , at each end of the spring leaf (31) a connection arm (32/33/321323) that has a proximal end (323) that is connected to the spring leaf (31/311) and a distal end (321), wherein at the distal end a support wing (321) is connected to the connection arm (322), wherein the support wings (321) extend in a common plane remote from the spring leaf (31/311), and wherein the spring leaf is curved (311) having a convex side (311) facing towards the common plane of the support wings (321).
2. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the spring clip is made in one piece.
5. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the support wings (321) are aligned.
6. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the connection arms (322) extend substantially transversely to the support wings (321).
7. The spring clip according to claim 1, wherein the connection arms (322) comprise multiple arm portions (323,322,321), which extend under an angle relative to each other.
8. The spring clip according to claim 7, wherein the multiple arm portions (323,322,321) include a first arm portion (322 or 323) that extends perpendicularly from the end of the spring leaf (31/311), and a second arm portion (322) that extends perpendicularly from the support wing (321).
10. The spring clip according to claim 8, wherein the first arm portion and second arm portion are connected by a substantially Z-shaped intermediate arm portion (322) .
13. A combination of a spring clip according to claim 1, and a thin walled constructional member (1) comprising a wall (12) having least one elongate through hole (11) in said wall, the through hole having a length L and a width W which is smaller than said length L, and wherein the spring clip has a width that is slightly smaller than the width of the through hole and wherein the distance between the support wings of the spring clip (3)
14. The combination according to claim 13, wherein the thin-walled constructional member is a hollow profile (1).
15. An assembly of a combination according to claim 13,and furthermore comprising a T-bolt (2).
16. A method for mounting a T-bolt to a thin-walled constructional member comprising a wall (12) having least one elongate through hole (11) in said wall, including the following method steps: arranging a spring clip (3) according to claim 1, in said through hole (11) n the wall of the constructional member (1) aligning a transverse head of the T-bolt (2) with the elongate hole (11) and inserting the head (21) through the hole (11) pushing the head (21) of the T-bolt ( 2) against the spring leaf (31, 311) such that the spring leaf (31/311) deforms and is tensioned, rotating the T-bolt (2) around its central axis, such that the head (21) of the T-bolt (2) is misaligned with the elongate hole (11) and engages beyond lateral edges of the elongate hole, releasing the T-bolt (2) , such that the spring clip (3) biases the head (21) of the T-bolt (2) against an inside surface of the wall lateral of the elongate hole (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapid FR2534986A1.
Rapid discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for (Claim 9) the first arm m portions extend in a tapering manner seen in the direction towards the spring leaf.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made to have the first arm m portions extend in a tapering manner seen in the direction towards the spring leaf, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art since the applicant has not shown how the chosen shape is critical.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapid FR2534986A1.
Rapid discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for (Claim 11) the spring clip is a bent part made of a strip of stainless steel or (Claim 12) wherein the spring clip is made of plastic or (claim 18) wherein the spring clip is a bent part made of a strip of stainless spring steel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein the spring clip is a bent part made of a strip of stainless steel or wherein the spring clip is made of plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional for spring clips.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631