DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/EP2022/057711 filed on March 23, 2022.
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending.
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-21 are rejected.
Claim 6 is objected to.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 15, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takakura et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0340643, hereinafter Takakura.
Regarding Claim 1, Takakura discloses an apparatus for performing a network function of a first network entity, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus (Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 4, 19 and 11) to:
receive, at the first network entity, a non-access stratum (NAS) transport message from a user equipment (UE), wherein the NAS transport message comprises: a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0080] the UE 1 transmits to the AMF 2 a UL NAS TRANSPORT message with the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message set for a PDU session establishment request to the DN 7 providing the UAS service.);
and an indication indicating whether the PDU session establishment request message is for an uncrewed aerial system service supplier (USS) uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) authorization and authentication (UUAA) (Paragraph [0042 and 0080] The UL NAS TRANSPORT message may be set with at least one of S-NSSAI corresponding to the UAS service, the DNN corresponding to the UAS service, and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as a Service Level Device Identity. The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message may be set with at least one of the USS address corresponding to the UAS service and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as the Service Level Device Identity.);
determine, at the first network entity, whether the indication indicates that the PDU session establishment request message is for the UUAA (303 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0080-0093] the AMF 2 transmits to the SMF 3 an Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request set with the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message received in step 302. In step 304, the SMF 3 invokes the Nnef_Authentication_authenticate service operation of the UAS-NF 9. The service operation includes the USS address (e.g. FQDN). For example, the SMF 3 transmits to the UAS-NF 9 the Nnef_Authentication_authenticate request message including the USS address (e.g. FQDN) received from the UE 1. For example, if a successful response is received from the identified USS, the UAS-NF 9 may notify the SMF 3 of information indicating a success. In step 307, when the USS address is set in the Service-level-AA container IE included in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message from the UE 1 and the Nnef_Authentication_authenticate response including the failure cause is received, the SMF 3 transmits the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message including the failure cause to the AMF 2. In step 308, the AMF 2 sets the received PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message and transmits it to the UE);
and in response to determining that the indication indicates that the PDU session establishment request message is for the UUAA, transmit, from the first network entity, a request to a second network entity for an aerial subscription of the UE (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0024] PDU session accept message; Paragraph [0080-0093] the AMF 2 sets the received PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message and transmits it to the UE 1. If the UE 1 receives the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message including the failure cause and transmit a REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the USS address set in the Service-level-AA container IE, it may notify the upper layer of the failure cause.; The response may be the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message or a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message).
Regarding Claim 3, Takakura discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Takakura further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive, at the first network entity, the aerial subscription of the UE in a response message from the second network entity (Figure 4; Paragraph [0007-0009] Aerial Subscription; Paragraph [0024 and 0093-0096] PDU session establishment accept message).
Regarding Claim 13, Takakura discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 4, 19 and 11) to:
transmit, from the UE, a non-access stratum (NAS) transport message to a first network entity, wherein the NAS transport message comprises: a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0080] the UE 1 transmits to the AMF 2 a UL NAS TRANSPORT message with the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message set for a PDU session establishment request to the DN 7 providing the UAS service.);
and an indication indicating whether the PDU session establishment request message is for an uncrewed aerial system service supplier (USS) uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) authorization and authentication (UUAA) (Paragraph [0042 and 0080] The UL NAS TRANSPORT message may be set with at least one of S-NSSAI corresponding to the UAS service, the DNN corresponding to the UAS service, and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as a Service Level Device Identity. The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message may be set with at least one of the USS address corresponding to the UAS service and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as the Service Level Device Identity.);
and receive, at the UE, a response to the NAS transport message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0024] PDU session accept message; Paragraph [0080-0093] the AMF 2 sets the received PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message and transmits it to the UE 1. If the UE 1 receives the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message including the failure cause and transmit a REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the USS address set in the Service-level-AA container IE, it may notify the upper layer of the failure cause.; The response may be the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message or a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message).
Regarding Claim 16, Takakura discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor(Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 4, 19 and 11) to:
transmit, from a user equipment (UE), a non-access stratum (NAS) transport message to a first network entity, wherein the NAS transport message comprises: a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0080] the UE 1 transmits to the AMF 2 a UL NAS TRANSPORT message with the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message set for a PDU session establishment request to the DN 7 providing the UAS service.);
and an indication indicating whether the PDU session establishment request message is for an uncrewed aerial system service supplier (USS) uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) authorization and authentication (UUAA) (Paragraph [0042 and 0080] The UL NAS TRANSPORT message may be set with at least one of S-NSSAI corresponding to the UAS service, the DNN corresponding to the UAS service, and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as a Service Level Device Identity. The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message may be set with at least one of the USS address corresponding to the UAS service and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as the Service Level Device Identity.);
and receive, at the UE, a response to the NAS transport message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0024] PDU session accept message; Paragraph [0080-0093] the AMF 2 sets the received PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message and transmits it to the UE 1. If the UE 1 receives the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message including the failure cause and transmit a REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the USS address set in the Service-level-AA container IE, it may notify the upper layer of the failure cause.; The response may be the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message or a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message).
Regarding Claim 19, Takakura discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method (Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 4, 19 and 11) comprising:
transmitting, from the UE, a non-access stratum (NAS) transport message to a first network entity, wherein the NAS transport message comprises: a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0080] the UE 1 transmits to the AMF 2 a UL NAS TRANSPORT message with the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message set for a PDU session establishment request to the DN 7 providing the UAS service.);
and an indication indicating whether the PDU session establishment request message is for an uncrewed aerial system service supplier (USS) uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) authorization and authentication (UUAA) (Paragraph [0042 and 0080] The UL NAS TRANSPORT message may be set with at least one of S-NSSAI corresponding to the UAS service, the DNN corresponding to the UAS service, and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as a Service Level Device Identity. The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message may be set with at least one of the USS address corresponding to the UAS service and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as the Service Level Device Identity.);
and receiving, at the UE, a response to the NAS transport message (Figure 3 and 4; Paragraph [0024] PDU session accept message; Paragraph [0080-0093] the AMF 2 sets the received PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message and transmits it to the UE 1. If the UE 1 receives the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message including the failure cause and transmit a REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the USS address set in the Service-level-AA container IE, it may notify the upper layer of the failure cause.; The response may be the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message or a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura in view of Faccin et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0156464, hereinafter Faccin.
Regarding Claim 2, Takakura discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Takakura fails to explicitly discloses wherein the first network entity comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) and the second network entity comprises a unified data management (UDM).
However, Faccin more specifically teaches wherein the first network entity comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) and the second network entity comprises a unified data management (UDM) (Figure 5; AMF and UDM entity; Paragraph [0005-0006, 0052 and 0098-0108] , the one or more network functions including an AMF, receiving, from a UDM entity via the AMF, an indication of a security configuration in a non-access stratum (NAS) transport message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura with the teachings of Faccin. The method enables secure communications for UAVs through signaling provided by a terrestrial cellular network. The method provides security credentials to UE associated with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) in a UAS (Faccin Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0008 and 0149]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0397058, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 4, Takakura discloses the apparatus of Claim 3. Takakura fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, from the first network entity, the aerial subscription of the UE to a third network entity.
However, Kim more specifically teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, from the first network entity, the aerial subscription of the UE to a third network entity (NG-RAN of Figure 8; Paragraph [0213-0268] AMF communicates with SMF and further provides PDU session; transmitting, to the SMF, the remapped S-NSSAI via a base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura with the teachings of Kim. The communication efficiency is improved by continuously using the PDU session previously used by the terminal due to network remapping (Kim Abstract; Paragraph [0003-0010]).
Regarding Claim 5, Takakura in view of Kim discloses the apparatus of Claim 4. Takakura in view of Kim further disclose wherein the third network entity comprises a base station (Kim NG-RAN of Figure 8; Paragraph [0213-0268] AMF communicates with SMF and further provides PDU session; transmitting, to the SMF, the remapped S-NSSAI via a base station).
Claims 7, 9, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura in view of Liu U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0177333, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 7, 14, 17 and 20, Takakura discloses the apparatus, UE, processor and method of Claim 1, 13, 16 and 19. Takakura discloses various information elements and container information in message and the PDU session establishment request message comprising a service-level AA container IE comprising a civil aviation administration level (CAA-level) UAV identifier (ID) and: a USS address; a UUAA aviation payload; or a combination thereof; and an optional IE set to a value of service-level-AA container information, wherein the value of the service-level-AA container information comprises a UUAA request (Paragraph [0080-0087] a UL NAS TRANSPORT message with the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message set for a PDU session establishment request to the DN 7 providing the UAS service. The UL NAS TRANSPORT message may be set with at least one of S-NSSAI corresponding to the UAS service, the DNN corresponding to the UAS service, and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as a Service Level Device Identity. The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message may be set with at least one of the USS address corresponding to the UAS service and the CAA-Level UAV ID of the UE 1 as the Service Level Device Identity).
Takakura may not explicitly disclose wherein the NAS transport message comprises: a payload container type set to a value indicating N1 session management (SM) information; and a payload container information element (IE).
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein the NAS transport message comprises: a payload container type set to a value indicating N1 session management (SM) information; and a payload container information element (IE) (Paragraph [0110-0115 and 0241-0251] Payload container IE in Downlink NAS transport message used for PDU session establishment; the UE: shall include PDU session ID IE when the Payload container type field of the payload container entry is set to “N1 SM information”;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides solutions for improved techniques for data transport in communication systems particularly with respect to enabling concurrent transport via the control plane (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Regarding Claim 9, Takakura discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Takakura discloses various information elements and container information in message but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication comprises an optional IE of a payload container entry within a payload container IE.
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein the indication comprises an optional IE of a payload container entry within a payload container IE (Paragraph [0110-0115 and 0241-0251] Payload container IE in Downlink NAS transport message used for PDU session establishment; the UE: shall include PDU session ID IE when the Payload container type field of the payload container entry is set to “N1 SM information”;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides solutions for improved techniques for data transport in communication systems particularly with respect to enabling concurrent transport via the control plane (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura in view of Ryu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20232/0232204, hereinafter Ryu.
Regarding Claim 8, Takakura discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Takakura fails to disclose wherein the aerial subscription comprises: an allowed value; or a not allowed value, wherein the allowed value indicates a permission to use an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service and the not allowed value comprises a lack of permission to use the UAS service.
However, Ryu more specifically teaches wherein the aerial subscription comprises: an allowed value; or a not allowed value, wherein the allowed value indicates a permission to use an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service and the not allowed value comprises a lack of permission to use the UAS service (Paragraph [0181-0182 and 0255] PDU session establishment including allowed NSSAI subscription indication indicating permission to use the service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura with the teachings of Ryu. The method enables utilizing the 4G/5G systems to enable implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in the 4G/5G systems. The method allows a user equipment (UE) to provide a service specific authentication and authorization procedure for a service based on associated UAV controller status result in accordance with radio access network (RAN) functions activation procedure for the service in an efficient manner (Ryu Abstract; Paragraph [0310-0316]).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura in view of Liu as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Takakura et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0132807, hereinafter Takakura’807.
Regarding Claim 10, Takakura in view of Liu disclose the apparatus of Claim 9. Takakura in view of Liu fail to explicitly disclose wherein the optional IE comprises service-level-AA container information.
However. Talakura’807 more specifically teaches wherein the optional IE comprises service-level-AA container information (Paragraph [0102] REGISTRATION REQUEST message including a USS address (e.g. FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name)) from the UE 1. Note that the USS address is set in the service-level-AA container IE. The AMF 2 may determine whether UUAA-MM for the UAV is required. The determination may be based on the UE having valid Aerial UE subscription information, the requirement to perform UUAA during Registration in accordance with a local operator policy, the UUAA not succeeding in previous UUAA-MM procedures, the UE providing the CAA-Level UAV ID, and so on. If the AMF 2 determines that the UUAA-MM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura in view of Liu with the teachings of Takakura’807. Takakura’807 provides a solution in which the amount of information in the message can be reduced. The receiving unit is configured for receiving a first response message to first message from the second node, when the response to the call of the service operation is not received for a predetermined time from the third node, so as to ensure the contribution to the selection of an access and mobility management function (AMF) in which an access network (AN) supports the UAV Authentication and Authorization(UUAA)-mobility management (MM) function during a UUAA-MM procedure (Takakura’807 Abstract; Paragraph [0030-0046]).
Regarding Claim 11, Takakura in view of Liu disclose the apparatus of Claim 9. Takakura in view of Liu fail to explicitly disclose wherein the optional IE comprises a value that indicates the PDU session establishment request message is for UUAA.
However. Talakura’807 more specifically teaches wherein the optional IE comprises a value that indicates the PDU session establishment request message is for UUAA (Paragraph [0102] REGISTRATION REQUEST message including a USS address (e.g. FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name)) from the UE 1. Note that the USS address is set in the service-level-AA container IE. The AMF 2 may determine whether UUAA-MM for the UAV is required. The determination may be based on the UE having valid Aerial UE subscription information, the requirement to perform UUAA during Registration in accordance with a local operator policy, the UUAA not succeeding in previous UUAA-MM procedures, the UE providing the CAA-Level UAV ID, and so on. If the AMF 2 determines that the UUAA-MM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura in view of Liu with the teachings of Takakura’807. Takakura’807 provides a solution in which the amount of information in the message can be reduced. The receiving unit is configured for receiving a first response message to first message from the second node, when the response to the call of the service operation is not received for a predetermined time from the third node, so as to ensure the contribution to the selection of an access and mobility management function (AMF) in which an access network (AN) supports the UAV Authentication and Authorization(UUAA)-mobility management (MM) function during a UUAA-MM procedure (Takakura’807 Abstract; Paragraph [0030-0046]).
Claim 15, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura in view of Liu and Takakura’807.
Regarding Claim 15, 18 and 21, Takakura discloses the UE, processor and method of Claim 13, 16 and 19. Takakura discloses various information elements and container information in message but may not explicitly disclose wherein: the indication comprises an optional IE of a payload container entry within a payload container IE; the optional IE comprises service-level-AA container information; the optional IE comprises a value, and the value is for UUAA; or a combination thereof.
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein: the indication comprises an optional IE of a payload container entry within a payload container IE (Paragraph [0110-0115 and 0241-0251] Payload container IE in Downlink NAS transport message used for PDU session establishment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides solutions for improved techniques for data transport in communication systems particularly with respect to enabling concurrent transport via the control plane (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Takakura in view of Liu disclose the payload container IE including various information but may not explicitly disclose wherein the optional IE comprises service-level-AA container information; the optional IE comprises a value, and the value is for UUAA; or a combination thereof.
However, Takakura’807 more specifically teaches wherein the optional IE comprises service-level-AA container information; the optional IE comprises a value, and the value is for UUAA; or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0102] REGISTRATION REQUEST message including a USS address (e.g. FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name)) from the UE 1. Note that the USS address is set in the service-level-AA container IE. The AMF 2 may determine whether UUAA-MM for the UAV is required. The determination may be based on the UE having valid Aerial UE subscription information, the requirement to perform UUAA during Registration in accordance with a local operator policy, the UUAA not succeeding in previous UUAA-MM procedures, the UE providing the CAA-Level UAV ID, and so on. If the AMF 2 determines that the UUAA-MM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takakura in view of Liu with the teachings of Takakura’807. Takakura’807 provides a solution in which the amount of information in the message can be reduced. The receiving unit is configured for receiving a first response message to first message from the second node, when the response to the call of the service operation is not received for a predetermined time from the third node, so as to ensure the contribution to the selection of an access and mobility management function (AMF) in which an access network (AN) supports the UAV Authentication and Authorization(UUAA)-mobility management (MM) function during a UUAA-MM procedure (Takakura’807 Abstract; Paragraph [0030-0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein, in response to the aerial subscription comprising an allowed value, the response message triggers that the third network entity to provide the UE at least one feature, and the at least one feature comprises: an aerial height, wherein the aerial height comprising a lower threshold and an upper threshold; location information, wherein the location information comprises a horizontal velocity and a vertical velocity; flight path information, wherein the flight path information is signaled from a UAV; an open loop power control, wherein the open loop power control is used for calculating a pathloss compensation factor; an interference detection, wherein the interference detection is based on UAV reporting measurements, wherein the UAV reporting measurements are triggered by received signal strengths being above a configured threshold; or a combination thereof.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409