Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 17-19, 22-23, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MAZLOUM et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0373359 A1), hereinafter, MAZLOUM.
Regarding Claim 1, MAZLOUM teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: -Fig. 1; Paragraph [0028] ( [0028] recites, “ FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example wireless communication system 1 comprising an example core network (CN) node 600, a radio network node 400 and an example wireless device (WD) 300 “)
transmitting an indication of an energy mode in which the UE is to operate, wherein the energy mode indicates a type of energy harvesting to be performed by the UE and a level of engagement of the UE in association with performing the type of energy harvesting, -Fig. 3 (1106); Paragraph [0050-0057, 0061, 0065] (Fig. 3 (1106) shows transmitting indication of energy mode (low) [0050-0057] recites, “The transmission of the indication of the communication condition and/or remaining stored energy can be done through one or more of the following. In one or more example methods the energy level status of the WD may be transmitted together with the aforementioned indication. The network may have better knowledge if the network knows both communication/traffic conditions and the energy level of the status of the WD. For example, the network may be informed on how long the wireless device can continue the communication before the WD needs to harvest the energy. The indication can be done via several different specified codes where each code can contain a certain information. The WD may in some conditions, such as when the energy level is below a certain level for powering the ordinary radio transmitter and receiver, not be able to start the ordinary radio receiver and transmitter. The WD may however want to indicate to the network that it will be available for communication once sufficient energy is available. In one or more example methods this may be indicated by transmitting predefined codes to the network or nearest WD, such as using back-scattering type transmission. Assume the indication can be done via code A, code B, or code C. Transmission of these codes may for example indicate: Code A: neither harvesting nor stored energy available, wait certain minutes/hours. Code B: no storage device is available and harvesting energy is possible with certain min/hours. Code C: harvesting and recharging storage device is on-going, pause the ongoing communication and continue after a certain time period “ [0065] recites, “The WD transmits a message 1106 to the network node indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for the upcoming message exchange. The indication may be transmitted according to a pre-configured and/or pre-specified code-word, indicative of the WDs insufficient energy level and a certain time period for which the energy level will be insufficient.” As explained above indication of energy mode is transmitted from the wireless device or UE to the network indicating energy status, time duration (engagement) for harvesting etc. through one of the pre-defined codes.)
and wherein the energy mode is one of a plurality of energy modes associated with a class of the UE; (It is well known that UEs are defined into different classes according to power requirements. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that whether the energy mode is low (requiring harvesting) or OK with sufficient energy depends on the UE class at any particular time and may be based on some pre-defined UE threshold.)
and operating according to a configuration associated with the energy mode based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the energy mode. -Fig. 3 (1108), 4(1208); Paragraph [0066, 0070-0071] ([0066] recites, “Upon receiving the message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level, the network, such as the network node, may update an energy status 1108 of the WD. The network node may keep the WD and its corresponding information, such as the UE context of the WD, for operation in IDLE mode. In other words, the network preserves the UE context of the WD in the core network until the WD has harvested a sufficient energy level for communicating with the network node, such as for the upcoming message exchange.” [0070-0071] recites, “The WD transmits an un-solicitated message 1206 to the network node indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for the upcoming message exchange. The indication may be transmitted according to a pre-configured and/or pre-specified code-word, e.g., Code A, Code B or Code C…. Upon receiving the message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level, the network, such as the network node, may update information of the energy status 1208 of the WD. The network node may keep the WD and its corresponding information, such as the UE context of the WD, for operation in IDLE mode. In other words, the network preserves the UE context of the WD in the core network until the WD has harvested a sufficient energy level for communicating with the network node, such as for the upcoming message exchange.”)
Regarding Claim 2, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising selecting the energy mode of the UE based at least in part on at least one of the class of the UE, an energy state of the UE, or an energy harvesting charging rate of the UE. -Fig. 3; Paragraph [0047-0048, 0050-0057] ([0047-0048] recites, “The event related to the energy harvesting may be one or more of: The stored energy in WD's energy storage, such as in a capacitor or small battery of the WD, falling below a certain level and/or the instantaneous energy from harvesting resources is expected not enough to operate a communication circuitry of the WD. In one or more example methods, this may occur when the energy-harvesting WD has finished a communication and expects that there may not be enough energy to continue any potential communication, such as insufficient, energy remains. In one or more example methods, this may occur when an energy-harvesting WD is in the middle of communication and the energy goes below a certain level.” [0056] recites, “Code C: harvesting and recharging storage device is on-going, pause the ongoing communication and continue after a certain time period”)
Regarding Claim 3, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration without receiving an acknowledgment (ACK) of the indication of the energy mode. -Fig. 5, 6; Paragraph [0102-0103] (Fig.5, 6 show steps executed at the network and UE respectively with respect to receive/transmit energy level (mode, energy sufficient or not ). The figures do not show any ACK from the network side for the received indication of the energy mode. It is not required for network to send back ACK as the indication tells how long (time duration) the wireless device, i.e., UE will remain in low energy mode and can resume normal operation after the expiry. [0102-0103] recites, “In one or more example methods, transmitting S203 is performed upon triggering of an event. In one or more example methods, the event is the energy level of the WD being below an energy threshold. In one or more example methods, the event is the energy level of the WD being insufficient for a predicted energy level of the upcoming message exchange. In one or more example methods, the event is an instantaneous energy provided by energy harvesting is insufficient for operating a communication circuitry of the WD. In one or more example methods, the event is receiving a message initiating communication with the WD.
In one or more example methods, the method 200 comprises returning S205 to regular radio operation upon expiry of the time period or upon the energy level is sufficient for performing radio operation. “)
Regarding Claim 8, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a characteristic of wake-up signal operation is based at least in part on the energy mode. -Fig. 3, 5; Paragraph [0063] ([0063] recites, “The network node transmits a message 1102 indicative of expected properties, such as an expected traffic volume and/or expected energy level, of an upcoming message exchange to the WD. The message may be a paging message or a wake-up signal comprising the expected properties as additional information.” Usual operation follows like paging or wake-up signal transmission etc. [0124] recites, “receiving (S103), from the WD, a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange and indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient.” [136-138] recites, “The method according to any of the previous items, the method comprising returning (S107) to regular radio operation upon one or more of: expiry of the time period, and receiving a message from the WD indicating that the energy level is sufficient for performing radio operation.” On regular radio operation, the network node might send paging or wake-up signal to the UE in idle mode)
Regarding Claim 10, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a measurement periodicity for a reference signal is based at least in part on the energy mode. -Paragraph [0074] ([0074] recites, “The method 100 comprises receiving S103, from the WD, a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange and indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient. Regular radio operation herein means that the WD is camping on a cell, performing cell measurements, doing cell reselection if needed, and/or monitors a paging channel for paging messages, as defined in 3GPP TS 38.304 v. 16.5.0, for the case of Idle mode operation. Not performing regular operation may herein mean that the WD is unable to perform one or more of these operations due to insufficient energy level….” It is clear and easily understandable that during insufficient power (low energy mode) some of the normal operations like measurements can not be performed and hence the measurement periodicity will be affected based on the duration in the low energy mode of operation.)
Regarding Claim 17, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity of reporting for inter-UE coordination during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0037] ([0037] recites, “To resume communication the WD thus has to repeat all the registration signaling when the device has (harvested) sufficient energy for communication. When the WD is registered to the network it may also have to periodically update the registration, for example with a Periodic Registration Update to the Core Network, to notify the network that the WD is still reachable, such as by the network node.” It is easily understandable that the periodicity for update is indicated in the configuration message)
Regarding Claim 18, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting an indication of a periodicity of reporting for inter-UE coordination during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0050-0053] ([0050-0053] recites, “The transmission of the indication of the communication condition and/or remaining stored energy can be done through one or more of the following. In one or more example methods, the information related to the communication condition and/or traffic condition may be represented in bitmap format …. The indication can be done via several different specified codes where each code can contain a certain information. The WD may in some conditions, such as when the energy level is below a certain level for powering the ordinary radio transmitter and receiver, not be able to start the ordinary radio receiver and transmitter. The WD may however want to indicate to the network that it will be available for communication once sufficient energy is available. In one or more example methods this may be indicated by transmitting predefined codes to the network or nearest WD, such as using back-scattering type transmission. Assume the indication can be done via code A, code B, or code C.” As defined above predefined codes can transmit the periodicity of reporting for inter-UE coordination).
Regarding Claim 19, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for inter-UE coordination during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0050-0053] ([0050-0053] recites, “The transmission of the indication of the communication condition and/or remaining stored energy can be done through one or more of the following. In one or more example methods, the information related to the communication condition and/or traffic condition may be represented in bitmap format …. The indication can be done via several different specified codes where each code can contain a certain information. The WD may in some conditions, such as when the energy level is below a certain level for powering the ordinary radio transmitter and receiver, not be able to start the ordinary radio receiver and transmitter. The WD may however want to indicate to the network that it will be available for communication once sufficient energy is available. In one or more example methods this may be indicated by transmitting predefined codes to the network or nearest WD, such as using back-scattering type transmission. Assume the indication can be done via code A, code B, or code C.” As part of indication communication condition as described above, As defined above predefined codes can transmit the periodicity of reporting for inter-UE coordination).
Claim 22 is essentially same as Claim 1 except viewed from network side (e.g., receiving indication) whereas Claim 1 is viewed from UE side (e.g., transmitting indication). The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Claim 23 is essentially same as Claim 3 except Claim 23 is a dependent claim of independent claim 22, whereas Claim 3 is a dependent claim of the independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 3 above which is rejected. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 3.
Claim 28 is essentially same as Claim 8, except Claim 26 is a dependent claim of independent claim 22, whereas Claim 8 is a dependent claim of the independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 8 above which is rejected. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 8.
Claim 29 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. Applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory -Paragraph [0013] ([0013] recites, “a wireless device is provided, the device comprising memory circuitry, processor circuitry, and a wireless interface, wherein the wireless device is configured to perform any of the methods disclosed herein for the wireless device.”)
Claim 30 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 22. Applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 22 above which is rejected. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 22.
MAZLOUM further teaches,
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured -Paragraph [0010] ([0010] recites, “a network node is provided, the device comprising memory circuitry, processor circuitry, and a wireless interface, wherein the network node is configured to perform any of the methods disclosed herein for the network node.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9, 11, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM in view of XU et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0078779 A1), hereinafter, XU.
Regarding Claim 4, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an acknowledgment (ACK) of the indication after transmitting the indication, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration based at least in part on receiving the ACK.
However, in an analogous invention XU teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an acknowledgment (ACK) of the indication after transmitting the indication, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration based at least in part on receiving the ACK. -Fig. 11; Paragraph [0063] (Fig. 11 shows, in response to request (indication) from EH user, receives confirmation (ACK) in response. [0063] recites, “the EH user may transmit an access request to the EH primary serving gNB, and access the EH primary serving gNB after confirmation” i.e., ACK. Claim 4 is essentially same as Claim 3 and only additional step is the receiving ACK corresponding to the transmitted indication. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that network can send back ACK in the request response type protocol. This is not an inventive step.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “receiving an acknowledgment (ACK) of the indication after transmitting the indication, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration based at least in part on receiving the ACK” of XU . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of energy transmission. [0057]
Regarding Claim 5, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, after transmitting the indication of the energy mode, control information indicating the configuration, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration.
However, in an analogous invention XU teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, after transmitting the indication of the energy mode, control information indicating the configuration, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration. -Fig. 11; Paragraph [0126-0127] (Fig. 11 shows the flowchart and shows base station transmitting configuration information to EH user. [0126-0127] recites, “The first control unit 411 is configured to perform control to transmit, by a first base station, information on a resource for user equipment to perform energy harvesting to the user equipment or a second base station.
The second control unit 413 is configured to perform control to transmit a wireless signal for energy harvesting to the user equipment.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “control information indicating the configuration, wherein operating according to the configuration comprises operating according to the configuration.” of XU . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of energy transmission [0057].
Regarding Claim 6, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the configuration associated with the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention XU teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the configuration associated with the energy mode. -Paragraph [0127] ([0127] recites, ”The second control unit 413 is configured to perform control to transmit a wireless signal for energy harvesting to the user equipment.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “receiving the configuration associated with the energy mode.” of XU . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of energy transmission [0057].
Regarding Claim 9, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein dormancy of a secondary cell associated with the UE is based at least in part on the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention XU teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein dormancy of a secondary cell associated with the UE is based at least in part on the energy mode. -Fig. 11; Paragraph [0113-0114] ([0114] recites, “If the DT primary serving gNB is the base station closest to the EH user, there is no need to switch the primary serving base station; otherwise, the primary serving base station switching process is performed. The DT primary serving gNB can help the user identify the EH primary serving gNB. The EH primary serving gNB can identify the secondary gNB according to the neighbor cell ID reported by the user. The secondary gNB can form a cooperative set with the primary serving gNB.” )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “wherein dormancy of a secondary cell associated with the UE is based at least in part on the energy mode.” of XU . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of energy transmission [0057].
Regarding Claim 11, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting access link operation information associated with the energy mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the access link operation information.
However, in an analogous invention XU teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting access link operation information associated with the energy mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the access link operation information. -Paragraph [0041-0050] ([0049] recites, “FIG. 13 shows time slot format 50, time slot format 46, time slot format 28, and time slot format 0 (indicated by “data” in the figure) and the corresponding frame structures defined for energy harvesting (indicated by “EH” in the figure). In the frame structure used for data transmission, the variable symbol indicated by “X” can be used as both an uplink transmission symbol and a downlink transmission symbol. In the EH frame structure, the variable symbol can be used to transmit energy.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “transmitting access link operation information associated with the energy mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the access link operation information.” of XU . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of energy transmission [0057].
Claim 24 is essentially same as Claim 4, except Claim 24 is a dependent claim of independent claim 22, whereas Claim 4 is a dependent claim of the independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 4 above which is rejected. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 4.
Claim 25 is essentially same as Claim 5, except Claim 25 is a dependent claim of independent claim 22, whereas Claim 5 is a dependent claim of the independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 5 above which is rejected. Claim 25 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 5.
Claim 26 is essentially same as Claim 6, except Claim 26 is a dependent claim of independent claim 22, whereas Claim 6 is a dependent claim of the independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 6 above which is rejected. Claim 26 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Claims 7, 13-14, 20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM
in view of Dees et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0267113 A1), hereinafter, Dees.
Regarding Claim 7, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting an indication of whether concurrent sidelink and access link operation is supported during operation in the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention Dees teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting an indication of whether concurrent sidelink and access link operation is supported during operation in the energy mode. -Fig. 1A, 1B; Paragraph [0117] (Fig. 1A/1B shows concurrent sidelink between wireless devices and access link between wireless device and network node. [0117] recites, “This relay function for example helps to extend the coverage of a cell 10 to an out-of-coverage (OoC) secondary station 110. The relay station 120 may be a mobile station (e.g. a UE) or could be a different type of device. This cellular network may for example be a 4G or a 5G network or some other type of cellular networks. As 4G and 5G networks include the possibility of relaying by UEs including the Sidelink functionalities, the relay station 120 and the secondary station 110 of FIG. 1A may be in this example UEs that include Sidelink functionalities.” It is easily understandable by an ordinary person with the skill in the art that UE capability including whether sidelink is supported may be communicated over the indication message in UL)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “comprising transmitting an indication of whether concurrent sidelink and access link operation is supported during operation in the energy mode” of Dees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery life [0297].
Regarding Claim 13, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting sidelink operation information associated with the energy mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the sidelink operation information.
However, in an analogous invention Dees teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting sidelink operation information associated with the energy mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the sidelink operation information. -Paragraph [0005, 0315] ([0005] recites, “The Relay UE 120 relays application and network traffic in two directions between the OoC UE 110 and the eNB 100. The local communication between the Relay UE 120 and the OoC UE 110 is called device-to-device (D2D) communication or Sidelink (also known as PC5) communication…” [0315] recites, “Device has an internal energy source that it can use for regular 3GPP communications, but is able to switch to backscatter communication when desired for a period of time in order to limit the energy consumption from its internal energy source to a very low level, or not use any energy from its internal source at all by using some form of energy harvesting, e.g. RF energy harvesting or vibration energy harvesting.” It is easily understandable that if the Relay UE or the OoC UE is in low power mode (energy harvesting) transmission of sidelink configuration information between Relay UE and OoC UE happens based on the energy mode (sufficient power or low power (energy harvesting) mode)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “transmitting sidelink operation information associated with the energy mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the sidelink operation information.” of Dees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery life [0297].
Regarding Claim 14, MAZLOUM and Dees teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 13, wherein the sidelink operation information includes an indication of at least one of: a quantity of component carriers, bandwidth parts per component carrier, or resource pools supported during operation in the energy mode, a sidelink relaying capability during operation in the energy mode, a wireless charging capability during operation in the energy mode, a sensing capability during operation in the energy mode, or a status of a power amplifier (PA).
However, in an analogous invention Dees teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the sidelink operation information includes an indication of at least one of: a quantity of component carriers, bandwidth parts per component carrier, or resource pools supported during operation in the energy mode, a sidelink relaying capability during operation in the energy mode, a wireless charging capability during operation in the energy mode, a sensing capability during operation in the energy mode, or a status of a power amplifier (PA). -Paragraph [0121-0122] ([0121-0122] recites, “It constrains the Remote UE to use only preconfigured resources, a so-called Sidelink resource pool, for its Sidelink transmissions to the Relay UE while in fact there may be further, more optimal resources available but for which the Remote UE is currently not authorized for usage. Additionally, the Remote UE has to compete for (potentially scarce) Sidelink resources with other UEs that are out-of-coverage (for example, other OoC Remote UEs attached to the same Relay UE), or OoC UEs that depend on Sidelink communication for their applications e.g. ProSe D2D or V2X D2D applications….”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “sidelink operation information includes resource pools supported during operation in the energy mode.” of Dees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery life [0297].
Regarding Claim 20, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a set of resources of a resource pool assigned to the UE during operation in the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention Dees teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a set of resources of a resource pool assigned to the UE during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0161] ([0161] recites, “The uplink and upstream resources may be the same or based on the same resource pool, or may be based on separate resource pools…. the first cell station may schedule both direct uplink resources (e.g. for communication via Uu interface) as well as upstream resources (e.g. for communication to the relay station for example via sidelink) for the wireless terminal 410, and/or send information about both the uplink resources and the upstream resources to the wireless terminal in the first message and/or send configurations information about conditions or thresholds in which circumstances to use the uplink resources and in which to use the upstream resources. A wireless terminal that receives both sets of resources may send a copy of its messages/signals in both the uplink resources and the upstream resources, or may select which resources to use based on the configuration information received from the cell station about the conditions or thresholds to apply”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “the configuration indicates a set of resources of a resource pool assigned to the UE during operation in the energy mode.” of Dees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery life [0297].
Claim 27 is essentially same as Claim 7, except Claim 27 is a dependent claim of independent claim 22, whereas Claim 7 is a dependent claim of the independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 7 above which is rejected. Claim 27 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 7.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM, in view of XU and further in view of Elkotby et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0284456 A1), hereinafter, Elkotby.
Regarding Claim 12, MAZLOUM and XU teach the limitations of Claim 11.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 11, wherein the access link operation information includes an indication of at least one of: a quantity of active component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of inactive component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of dormant component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode, an amount of time needed to change a bandwidth part or modify a component carrier during operation in the energy mode, an amount of repetition of uplink resources supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of reporting configurations in a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of CSI-RS processes or CSI-RS resources per report supported during operation in the energy mode, a maximum transmit power during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of reference signal resources supported during operation in the energy mode, or a status of a power amplifier (PA).
However, in an analogous invention, Elkotby teaches,
The method of claim 11, wherein the access link operation information includes an indication of at least one of: a quantity of active component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of inactive component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of dormant component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode, an amount of time needed to change a bandwidth part or modify a component carrier during operation in the energy mode, an amount of repetition of uplink resources supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of reporting configurations in a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) supported during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of CSI-RS processes or CSI-RS resources per report supported during operation in the energy mode, a maximum transmit power during operation in the energy mode, a quantity of reference signal resources supported during operation in the energy mode, or a status of a power amplifier (PA). -Paragraph [0291] ( [0291] recites, “The configuration can include resource restriction for the on-demand paging, mainly in the frequency domain. This restriction allows a better focus of the ULP device and better processing efficiency. This frequency restriction can be a set of frequency resources, a bandwidth part, some subchannels, etc. When configured with frequency restrictions, the ULP device is not expected to receive paging indications outside of theses. The network can assign different frequencies to different ULP devices.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “a quantity of inactive component carriers or bandwidth parts per component carrier supported during operation in the energy mode” of Elkotby. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve call setup time [0244].
Claims 15-16, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM, in view of Elkotby.
Regarding Claim 15, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a set of parameters for a resource pool to be used during operation in the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention Elkotby teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a set of parameters for a resource pool to be used during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0084, 0136-0140] ([0084] recites, “ULP receivers can perform basic signal detection such as correlation for a known signature waveform and/or reception of low data rate signals. They may also be put into energy harvesting mode by accumulating energy from the RF waveform entering the receiver front-end through the Rx antenna.“ [0136-0140] recites, “According to a first embodiment, a WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS detection and the conventional receiver to determine if it is being paged. For example, the support of ULP paging by the network can be determined based on a ULP-specific information element(s) in a system information block, or it can be signaled in any of an RRC message, e.g., RRC Release or RRC Suspend messages, and NAS message, e.g., Registration Accept messages. Additionally, the WTRU may report its ULP receiver capability and receive paging monitoring configuration/parameters in any of system information, RRC, and NAS messages including any of the following: Support of LP-WUS transmissions targeting ULP capable WTRUs; LP-WUS configuration as any of sequence-based/DCI-based, group identifiers, and monitoring periodicity, e.g., duty-cycled or continuous; LP-SS configuration in case of duty-cycled monitoring operation, e.g., sequence structure, potential sequences, and periodicity; Legacy PO transmission configuration such as paging search space, periodicity, and/or relationship to LP-WUS (e.g., a time offset from a detected LP-WUS). The PO search space may constitute a set of frequency resources defined in terms of, e.g., control channel elements (CCE), resource element groups (REG), and/or aggregation level, and a set/duration of time resources defined in terms of OFDM symbols.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “configuration indicates a set of parameters for a resource pool to be used during operation in the energy mode” of Elkotby. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve call setup time [0244].
Regarding Claim 16, MAZLOUM and Elkotby teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 15, wherein the resource pool is a resource pool dedicated for use by energy harvesting devices.
However, in an analogous invention Elkotby teaches,
The method of claim 15, wherein the resource pool is a resource pool dedicated for use by energy harvesting devices. -Paragraph [0136, 0278] ([0136] recites, “For example, the support of ULP paging by the network can be determined based on a ULP-specific information element(s) in a system information block, or it can be signaled in any of an RRC message, e.g., RRC Release or RRC Suspend messages, and NAS message, e.g., Registration Accept messages. Additionally, the WTRU may report its ULP receiver capability and receive paging monitoring configuration/parameters in any of system information, RRC, and NAS messages” [0278] recites, “ULP specific paging and/or ULP specific search space configurations would be provided as part of ULP configuration from RAN and the solutions can be solely configured or both solutions can be configured simultaneously.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “the resource pool is a resource pool dedicated for use by energy harvesting devices.” of Elkotby. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve call setup time [0244].
Regarding Claim 19, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for inter-UE coordination during operation in the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention Elkotby teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for inter-UE coordination during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0177] ([0177] recites, “…the WTRU may determine inability to utilize and monitor ULP-specific physical signals and channels based on specific conditions and the supported configuration by the serving cell or set of cells identified by the network, e.g., the WTRU determining a received LP-SS signal strength below a specified/signaled threshold.” As explained above WTRU, i.e., UE may measure received signal strength (e.g., RSRP) and check with a threshold to determine need to energy harvesting. It is easily understandable that the threshold can be a configuration parameter)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “configuration indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for inter-UE coordination during operation in the energy mode.” of Elkotby. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve call setup time [0244].
Regarding Claim 21, MAZLOUM teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, MAZLOUM does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a synchronization signal transmission periodicity during operation in the energy mode.
However, in an analogous invention Elkotby teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a synchronization signal transmission periodicity during operation in the energy mode. -Paragraph [0139] ([0139] recites, “LP-SS configuration in case of duty-cycled monitoring operation, e.g., sequence structure, potential sequences, and periodicity;”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS FOR HANDLING LOW ENERGY CONDITIONS OF AN ENERGY HARVESTING WIRELESS DEVICE, A RELATED NETWORK NODE AND A RELATED WIRELESS DEVICE” proposed by MAZLOUM to include the concept of “the configuration indicates a synchronization signal transmission periodicity during operation in the energy mode.” of Elkotby. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve call setup time [0244].
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/ supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475