DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 08/21/24 via a preliminary amendment, which is considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-9, 11-20 & 23 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13 & 16-17 are amended.
Claims 10, 21-22 & 24-26 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 08/15/24 & 05/19/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
7. The drawings filed on 08/15/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
8. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “DETERMINE A FAILURE DETECTION RESOURCE ACCORDING TO PARAMETERS OF CONTROL RESOURCE SETS”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
9. Claims 1-9, 11-20 & 23 are objected to because of minor informalities:
10. Claim 1, in part, recites, “…terminal…in line 4. For consistency and clarification with “a terminal” recited in claim 1, line 1, it is suggested to change “terminal” in line 4, to “the terminal”.
11. Claim 13 is also objected to for the same reason as claim 1 above.
12. Claims 2-9, 11-12 & 14-20 are also objected to since they are dependent upon objected independent claims set forth above.
13. Claim 2, in part, recites, “…the control resource set…in line 3. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “the control resource set” to “a control resource set”.
14. Claim 14 is also objected to for the same reason as claim 2 above.
15. Claims 3-9, 11-12 & 15-20 are also objected since they are dependent upon objected dependent claims set forth above.
16. Claim 11, in part, recites, “…the period of the search space…in line 7. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “the period of the search space” to “a period of the search space”.
17. Claim 12 is also objected to since they are dependent upon objected dependent claim set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
18. Th examiner advises the applicants to go over the whole claims thoroughly to overcome antecedent basis issues and minor informalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
20. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (hereinafter referred as Lee) Chinese Patent Application No. CN 110945897 A.
Regarding claim 13: Yi discloses a method for resource determination, performed by a network device (See FIG. 1 & Page 3; a network device), comprising:
sending configuration information to a terminal, wherein the configuration information indicates at least two control resource sets of terminal and transmission configuration indication (TCI) states corresponding to the at least two control resource sets, and the at least two control resource sets have different parameters (See Page 3; In step S12, when the number of CORESETs is greater than the number of BFD RS resources supported by the terminal, a BFD RS resource quantity of target CORESETs is selected and an RS resource corresponding to a TCI state of a QCL of the selected target CORESET is used as the BFRDRS resource. a CORESET configured by the network device for the terminal).
Regarding claim 14: Lee discloses the method, wherein the parameter of the control resource set comprises at least one of: a type of the control resource set; a type of a search space set associated with the control resource set; a period of a search space set associated with the control resource set; an index identity document (ID) of the control resource set; or a control resource set pool ID corresponding to the control resource set (See Page 4; for example, may be one or more of the following priority orders: a priority order of a CORESET identifier (ID) sequence number from small to large; a cell common search space [Symbol font/0x62] (CORESET), a user group common search space (CORESET), and a priority order of a user specific search space (CORESET) with a priority from high to low; and the terminal monitors a priority order of the CORESET period duration from small to large).
Regarding claim 15: Lee discloses the method, wherein the type of the search space set comprises at least one of: a first type of search space set, wherein the first type of search space set comprises a user-specific search space set; a second type of search space set (See Page 4; a user specific search space (CORESET) with a priority from high to low).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22. Claims 1-3 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Yi et al. (hereinafter referred as Yi) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0050968 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 23: Lee discloses a terminal (See FIG. 1 & Page 3; a network device)/method, comprising:
receive configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the configuration information indicates at least two control resource sets of terminal and transmission configuration indication (TCI) states corresponding to the at least two control resource sets, and the at least two control resource sets have different parameters (See Page 3; In step S12, when the number of CORESETs is greater than the number of BFD RS resources supported by the terminal, a BFD RS resource quantity of target CORESETs is selected and an RS resource corresponding to a TCI state of a QCL of the selected target CORESET is used as the BFRDRS resource. a CORESET configured by the network device for the terminal);
determine a target control resource set based on the parameters of the at least two control resource sets (See Page 4; the target CORESET selection may also be performed in descending order of the CORESET ID sequence number, that is, the CORESET ID is selected to be large and the CORESET ID is discarded. When the target CORESET selection is made in the priority order from high to low of the priorities of the cell common search space CORESET, the group common search space CORESET, and the user specific search space CORESET, te priorities of the CORESETs for all terminals within the cell are highest); and
determine a reference signal corresponding to a TCI state of the target control resource set as a failure detection resource (See Page 4; the determination for the BFD RS resource is implemented by using the RS resource corresponding to the TCI status of QCL of the selected target CORESET as the BFD RS resource).
ITRI does not explicitly disclose a terminal comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected to the processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
However, Yi from the same field of endeavor discloses a terminal (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0212; a wireless device) comprising:
a processor (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0212; a wireless device includes processing system);
a transceiver (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0212; a wireless device) connected to the processor; and
a memory (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0212; a wireless device includes memory) for storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a reference signal corresponding to a TCI state of the target control resource set as a failure detection resource (See Para. 0260; a wireless device may determine one or more reference signals for the radio link monitoring of the cell based on TCI states of one or more configured coresets of a BWP of the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a terminal comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected to the processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: discloses determine a reference signal corresponding to a TCI state of the target control resource set as a failure detection resource as taught by Yi in the system of ITRI in order to monitor one or more reference signals based on one or more TCI states of one or more coresets of the coreset group (See abstract; lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Lee and Yi disclose the method.
Furthermore, Lee discloses the method, wherein the parameter of the control resource set comprises at least one of: a type of the control resource set; a type of a search space set associated with the control resource set; a period of a search space set associated with the control resource set; an index identity document (ID) of the control resource set; or a control resource set pool ID corresponding to the control resource set (See Page 4; for example, may be one or more of the following priority orders: a priority order of a CORESET identifier (ID) sequence number from small to large; a cell common search space [Symbol font/0x62] (CORESET), a user group common search space (CORESET), and a priority order of a user specific search space (CORESET) with a priority from high to low; and the terminal monitors a priority order of the CORESET period duration from small to large).
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Lee and Yi disclose the method.
Furthermore, Lee discloses the method, wherein the type of the search space set comprises at least one of: a first type of search space set, wherein the first type of search space set comprises a user-specific search space set (See Page 4; a user specific search space (CORESET) with a priority from high to low).
Allowable Subject Matter
23. Claims 4-9, 11-12 & 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
24. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Matsumura et al. 2024/0235783 A1 (Title: Terminal, radio communication method) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Jiang et al. 2023/0283433 A1 (Title: Sounding reference signal port enhancement for uplink transmission.) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Chen et al. 2022/0393827 A1 (Title: Uplink transmission control method and apparatus and device….) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469