DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6, 8, 10-11 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4-6, 8, 10-11 and 19-20 in line 1, replace” the CSI report”, by “the at least one CSI report”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al. (2025/0159518), Muruganathan hereinafter. Muruganathan teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 1, 14 and 16, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 12, UE 1200 / Fig. 14, 1400), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 14, 1410); and at least one processor (Fig. 14, 1402) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE , a method (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12, UE 1200) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 12, UE 1200 / Fig. 14, 1400), and a processor (Fig. 14, 1402) for wireless communication (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12), comprising: at least one controller (Fig. 14, 1402) coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 14, 1410) and configured to cause the processor to: receive a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0008 - The gNB configures the UE to provide feedback according to CSI-ReportConfig and may transmit Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) and configure the UE to use measurements of CSI-RS to feed back recommended precoding matrices that the UE selects from a codebook. Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0262 - UE can be RRC configured (e.g., with a flag in CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) as specified in TS 38.311) …. to use them as NZP-CSI-RS resource for interference measurements. See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced next); and receives at least one non-zero power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI- RS) resource for channel measurement (CMR) (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0306 - Step 1204: The UE 1200 receives, from the network node 1202, information that configures the UE 1200 with: (a) multiple NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement associated with a CSI reporting configuration. See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced next), wherein the at least one NZP CSI-RS resource is decomposed into a plurality of CSI-RS port groups (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0306:¶0309 Step 1204: The UE 1200 receives, from the network node 1202, information that configures the UE 1200 with: (a) multiple NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement associated with a CSI reporting configuration, where each of the multiple NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a different TCI state or unified TCI state; (b) a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting configuration, the single NZP CSI-RS resource comprising (e.g., consisting of) multiple sets of CSI-RS ports wherein each set of CSI-RS ports within the single NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a different TCI state or unified TCI state; or (c) both (a) and (b); See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced next); and transmit at least one CSI report based on the at least one received NZP CSI- RS resource, wherein the at least one CSI report comprises an indication of a selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0310:¶0312 - Step 1206: The UE 1200 performs channel measurement on: (i) at least a subset of the configured multiple NZP CSI-RS resources using the respective TCI states or unified TCI state; (ii) the configured single NZP CSI-RS resource wherein the multiple sets of CSI-RS ports in the single NZP CSI-RS resource are measured using the respective TCI states or unified TCI state; or [0313] (iii) both (i) and (ii); Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0322 - Step 1212: The UE 1200 computes CSI based on the channel measurements Fig. 12 & ¶0323 - Step 1214: The UE 1200 reports the computed CSI. See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced next).
Re. claim 15, Muruganathan teaches a base station (Fig. 12, 1202/Fig. 15, 1500), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 15, 1504); and at least one processor (Fig. 15, 1502) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmit a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0008 - The gNB configures the UE to provide feedback according to CSI-ReportConfig and may transmit Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) and configure the UE to use measurements of CSI-RS to feed back recommended precoding matrices that the UE selects from a codebook. Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0262 - UE can be RRC configured (e.g., with a flag in CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) as specified in TS 38.311) …. to use them as NZP-CSI-RS resource for interference measurements. See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced supra); and transmit at least one non-zero power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI- RS) resource for channel measurement (CMR) (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0306 - Step 1204: The UE 1200 receives, from the network node 1202, information that configures the UE 1200 with: (a) multiple NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement associated with a CSI reporting configuration. See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced supra), wherein the at least one NZP CSI-RS resource is decomposed into a plurality of CSI-RS port groups (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0306:¶0309 Step 1204: The UE 1200 receives, from the network node 1202, information that configures the UE 1200 with: (a) multiple NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement associated with a CSI reporting configuration, where each of the multiple NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a different TCI state or unified TCI state; (b) a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting configuration, the single NZP CSI-RS resource comprising (e.g., consisting of) multiple sets of CSI-RS ports wherein each set of CSI-RS ports within the single NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a different TCI state or unified TCI state; or (c) both (a) and (b); See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced supra); and receive at least one CSI report based on the received at least one NZP CSI- RS resource, wherein the at least one CSI report comprises an indication of a selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0310:¶0312 - Step 1206: The UE 1200 performs channel measurement on: (i) at least a subset of the configured multiple NZP CSI-RS resources using the respective TCI states or unified TCI state; (ii) the configured single NZP CSI-RS resource wherein the multiple sets of CSI-RS ports in the single NZP CSI-RS resource are measured using the respective TCI states or unified TCI state; or [0313] (iii) both (i) and (ii); Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0322 - Step 1212: The UE 1200 computes CSI based on the channel measurements Fig. 12 & ¶0323 - Step 1214: The UE 1200 reports the computed CSI. See snapshot of Fig. 12 as reproduced supra).
Re. claims 3 and 18, Muruganathan teach claims 1 and 16.
Muruganathan further teaches wherein each CSI-RS port group of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups corresponds to a distinct NZP CSI-RS resource of a same NZP CSI-RS resource set. (Fig. 1 - Fig. 12 &¶0222:¶0223 - for the case of configuration of multiple NZP CSI-RS resources (per Step 1(a) above), specific to NZP CSI-RS resource or common to all configured NZP CSI-RS resources; II. for the case of configuration of a single NZP CSI-RS resources (per Step 1(b) above), specific to a set of CSI-RS ports within the single configured NZP CSI-RS resource or common to all sets of CSI-RS ports within the single configured NZP CSI-RS resource; Fig. 1 - Fig. 12 &¶0319:¶0320 - specific to NZP CSI-RS resource or common to all configured NZP CSI-RS resources, in the case of configuration of multiple NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; II. specific to a set of CSI-RS ports within the single configured NZP CSI-RS resource or common to all sets of CSI-RS ports within the single configured NZP CSI-RS resource, in the case of configuration of a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement, the single NZP CSI-RS resource comprising the multiple sets of CSI-RS ports).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan, in view of Gao et al. (2025/0106865), Gao hereinafter.
Re. claims 2 and 17, Muruganathan teach claims 1 and 16.
Muruganathan further teaches receive downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) , wherein: the DCI comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0147 - When scheduling a PDSCH to a UE, the DCI contains a pointer to one active TCI); a TCI codepoint corresponding to the TCI field comprises a single TCI state (Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0146 - Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the quasi co-location associations between source reference signals (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH) and target reference signals (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information for the reception of CSI-RS. Fig. 8 - Fig. 12 & ¶0149 - When a TCI state is used for both DL and UL, this TCI state may be referred to as joint TCI state or unified TCI state.); and
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach the single TCI state indicates a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship between a reference signal (RS) of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) corresponding to PDSCH and a CSI-RS of at least the selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly discloses the single TCI state indicates a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship between a reference signal (RS) of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) corresponding to PDSCH and a CSI-RS of at least the selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0046 - a UE can be configured with a list of up to T TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE … Each TCI-State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DMRS ports of the PDSCH, the DMRS port of PDCCH or the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) port(s) of a CSI-RS resource.Fig. 1-3 & ¶0124 - there may be a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field in DCI. A value of the TCI field may be referred to as a “TCI codepoint”. A TCI codepoint may indicate one or more TCI states. Each TCI state contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship between one or two DL and/or UL reference signals and the DMRS ports of the PDSCH, ….. the CSI-RS ports of a CSI-RS resource. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0125 - there may be an application timing for beam indication or TCI state(s) indication. In some embodiments, the application timing may be the first slot or the first subslot that is at least Y symbols after the last symbol of acknowledge of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication or TCI state indication. … the acknowledge of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication may be the acknowledge of the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI, for example, when the DCI schedules the PDSCH. In some embodiments, the acknowledge of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication may be the acknowledge of the DCI, for example, when the DCI doesn't schedule a PDSCH. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0127 - the terminal device 130 may receive or detect a DCI (for example, represented as “DCI_t”) in a PDCCH, and the DCI indicates a joint DL/UL TCI state or a separate DL/UL TCI state or a DL TCI state or a UL TCI state or a pair of DL/UL TCI states. … when a joint DL/UL TCI state is indicated in the DCI, the joint DL/UL TCI state may be applied to PDSCH and/or CORESET and/or PUSCH and/or PUCCH and/or uplink RS and/or downlink RS after the application timing or the first time threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of a system and a method for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting with angle and delay reciprocity in a wireless communication system to include Gao’s invention of a system and a method for supporting a unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) framework for downlink and uplink beam indication in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in facilitating more efficient (lower latency and overhead) downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) beam management, in turns, supporting common beam(s) for data and control information transmission/reception for both DL and UL, especially for operations, such as, intra-band carrier aggregation (CA) between a plurality of Base stations and a terminal operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004/Abstract, Gao)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan, in view of Luo et al. (2025/0007667), Luo hereinafter.
Re. claim 9, Muruganathan teach claim 1.
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to configure a number of tracking reference signals (TRSs) of a plurality of TRS to be equivalent to a number of CSI-RS port groups of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups, wherein each TRS of the plurality of TRSs is associated with each CSI-RS port group of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups.
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to configure a number of tracking reference signals (TRSs) of a plurality of TRS to be equivalent to a number of CSI-RS port groups of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups , wherein each TRS of the plurality of TRSs is associated with each CSI-RS port group of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups (Fig. 3-10 & ¶0180 - trs-Info: indicating that antenna ports of all NZP-CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS resource set are the same, and are used for TRS for UE specific configuration.Fig. 3-10 & ¶0182 - If the trs-Info parameter is configured in the NZP CSI-RS resource set of UE, UE assumes that the antenna ports with the same port index for NZP CSI-RS resources configured in the NZP CSI-RS resource set are the same. Fig. 3-10 & ¶0356 - For configuring each CSI-RS/TRS resource set group independently by the first parameter set exclusive to the TRS resources, as shown in FIG. 9. In this case, the specific resource configuration information for a TRS is as follows. Fig. 3-10 & ¶0359 - When the base station can configure up to 6 TRS-Resource set groups, that is, the base station needs L1 signaling to indicate a maximum of 6 TRS-Resource set groups, then the TRS-Resource set group IDs need to be indicated by 3 bits. One TRS-Resource set group supports up to 7 CSI-RS resources which are indicated by 3 bits. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of a system and a method for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting with angle and delay reciprocity in a wireless communication system to include Luo’s invention of a system and a method for resource configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in achieving energy saving and reducing system overhead when configuring parameter information of reference signals for a terminal in Idle/inactive mode operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Luo)
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan, in view of Hao et al. (2023/0061722), Hao hereinafter.
Re. claim 10, Muruganathan teach claim 1.
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach wherein the CSI report comprises a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), and a subset of CRI codepoints correspond to at least one combination of the CSI-RS port groups.
However, in the analogous art, Hao explicitly discloses wherein the CSI report comprises a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), and a subset of CRI codepoints correspond to at least one combination of the CSI-RS port groups. (Fig. 7-24 & ¶0100 - a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource for channel measurement (CMR) is associated with a CSI-RS resource for interference measurement (IMR). The CMR and IMR may be associated via a CSI resource indicator (CRI) or a rank indicator (RI)-pair. For example, the CMR and IMR may be associated by a one-to-one mapping between a codepoint (CRI or RI-pair), the codepoint corresponding to one or more CMRs. The IMR may include one or more CSI-RS resources for interference measurement (CSI-IMs) and/or one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources for interference measurement (NZP-IMRs). Fig. 7-24 & ¶0101 - resources from different TRPs may be emulated by CSI-RS resource, port-groups, an indication of the codepoint associated with multiple TRPs (e.g., CRI 2, {RI>0, RI>0}, same CRI for two CSI reports) may indicate that the UE prefers mTRP transmission and the resources indicates may indicate the preferred TRPs. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0104 - there may be a one-to-one mapping between a CRI codepoint (corresponding to a CMR or CMR-pair) and a CSI-IM resource, as shown in FIG. 9. Alternatively, there exists a mapping between one CSI-IM resource to a CMR pair. For example, the CRI may have codepoints corresponding to the single TRP selection case shown in the FIGS. 7, 8A, and 8B. … a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) may correspond to a first CMR (e.g., n1) and is mapped to a first CSI-IM (e.g., m1) as shown in FIG. 8A. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0105 - A second CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 1) may correspond to a second CMR (e.g., n2) and is mapped to a second CSI-IM (e.g., m2) as shown in FIG. 8B. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0112 - CRI for a first CSI report configuration (CSI report 0) may have a first codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) corresponding to a first CMR (e.g., n1) and mapped to a first CSI-IM (e.g., m1) for the TRP scenario shown in FIG. 8A. The CRI for a second CSI report configuration (CSI report 1) may have a first codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) corresponding to a second CMR (e.g., n2) and mapped to a second CSI-IM (e.g., m2) for the TRP scenario shown in FIG. 8B. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0113 - the first CSI report may have a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) that further maps to a first NZP-IMR set (e.g., s1) for the mTRP scenario shown in FIG. 12A. The second CSI report may have a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) that further maps to a second NZP-IMR set (e.g., s2) for the mTRP scenario shown in FIG. 12B. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0129 - the indicator is a CRI, the UE determines a first codepoint is associated to a first CMR and to a first CSI-IM resource based on an order of the first CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a first NZP-IMR set based on an order of the first NZP-IMR set in the configuration, and the UE determines a second codepoint is associated to a CMR pair and to a second CSI-IM resource based on an order of the second CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a second NZP-IMR set based on an order of the second NZP-IMR set in the configuration. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0130 - the indicator is a RI-pair, the UE determines a first RI pair with a zero-rank in the pair is associated to a first port group for a first CMR and to a first CSI-IM resource based on an order of the first CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a first NZP-IMR set based on an order of the first NZP-IMR set in the configuration, and the UE determines a second RI pair with a non-zero-rank in the pair is associated to two port groups of the first CMR and to a second CSI-IM resource based on an order of the second CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a second NZP-IMR set based on an order of the second NZP-IMR set in the configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of a system and a method for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting with angle and delay reciprocity in a wireless communication system to include Hao’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information (CSI) for multiple transmission reception points (mTRP) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamic interference measurement for multiple-transmission reception point (mTRP) channel state information (CSI) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0008, Hao)
Re. claim 13, Muruganathan teach claim 1.
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach wherein each CSI-RS port group of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups is associated with a network device of a plurality of network devices.
However, in the analogous art, Hao explicitly discloses wherein each CSI-RS port group of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups is associated with a network device of a plurality of network devices. (Fig. 7-24 & ¶0100 - a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource for channel measurement (CMR) is associated with a CSI-RS resource for interference measurement (IMR). The CMR and IMR may be associated via a CSI resource indicator (CRI) or a rank indicator (RI)-pair. For example, the CMR and IMR may be associated by a one-to-one mapping between a codepoint (CRI or RI-pair), the codepoint corresponding to one or more CMRs. The IMR may include one or more CSI-RS resources for interference measurement (CSI-IMs) and/or one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources for interference measurement (NZP-IMRs). Fig. 7-24 & ¶0101 - resources from different TRPs may be emulated by CSI-RS resource, port-groups, an indication of the codepoint associated with multiple TRPs (e.g., CRI 2, {RI>0, RI>0}, same CRI for two CSI reports) may indicate that the UE prefers mTRP transmission and the resources indicates may indicate the preferred TRPs. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0104 - there may be a one-to-one mapping between a CRI codepoint (corresponding to a CMR or CMR-pair) and a CSI-IM resource, as shown in FIG. 9. Alternatively, there exists a mapping between one CSI-IM resource to a CMR pair. For example, the CRI may have codepoints corresponding to the single TRP selection case shown in the FIGS. 7, 8A, and 8B. … a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) may correspond to a first CMR (e.g., n1) and is mapped to a first CSI-IM (e.g., m1) as shown in FIG. 8A. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0105 - A second CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 1) may correspond to a second CMR (e.g., n2) and is mapped to a second CSI-IM (e.g., m2) as shown in FIG. 8B. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0112 - CRI for a first CSI report configuration (CSI report 0) may have a first codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) corresponding to a first CMR (e.g., n1) and mapped to a first CSI-IM (e.g., m1) for the TRP scenario shown in FIG. 8A. The CRI for a second CSI report configuration (CSI report 1) may have a first codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) corresponding to a second CMR (e.g., n2) and mapped to a second CSI-IM (e.g., m2) for the TRP scenario shown in FIG. 8B. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0113 - the first CSI report may have a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) that further maps to a first NZP-IMR set (e.g., s1) for the mTRP scenario shown in FIG. 12A. The second CSI report may have a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) that further maps to a second NZP-IMR set (e.g., s2) for the mTRP scenario shown in FIG. 12B. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0129 - the indicator is a CRI, the UE determines a first codepoint is associated to a first CMR and to a first CSI-IM resource based on an order of the first CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a first NZP-IMR set based on an order of the first NZP-IMR set in the configuration, and the UE determines a second codepoint is associated to a CMR pair and to a second CSI-IM resource based on an order of the second CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a second NZP-IMR set based on an order of the second NZP-IMR set in the configuration. Fig. 7-24 & ¶0130 - the indicator is a RI-pair, the UE determines a first RI pair with a zero-rank in the pair is associated to a first port group for a first CMR and to a first CSI-IM resource based on an order of the first CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a first NZP-IMR set based on an order of the first NZP-IMR set in the configuration, and the UE determines a second RI pair with a non-zero-rank in the pair is associated to two port groups of the first CMR and to a second CSI-IM resource based on an order of the second CSI-IM resource in the configuration and/or to a second NZP-IMR set based on an order of the second NZP-IMR set in the configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of a system and a method for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting with angle and delay reciprocity in a wireless communication system to include Hao’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information (CSI) for multiple transmission reception points (mTRP) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamic interference measurement for multiple-transmission reception point (mTRP) channel state information (CSI) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0008, Hao)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan, in view of Xi et al. (2025/0007586), Xi hereinafter.
Re. claim 11, Muruganathan teach claim 1.
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach wherein the CSI report comprises an indicator of the selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups.
However, in the analogous art, Xi explicitly discloses wherein the CSI report comprises an indicator of the selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups. (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0128 - Based on the determined average Doppler shifts for each CSI-RS, UE 115-c may, for each signal path 405 (e.g., for each CSI-RS port group, CSI-RS resource, or CSI-RS resource set), select and report an index of a CSI-RS port or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) (e.g., associated with a CSI-RS resource) corresponding to a lowest average Doppler shift (e.g., a lowest absolute average Doppler shift, a shift closest to a center frequency). In other words, UE 115-c may select and report an index of a CSI-RS port or CRI corresponding to a lowest average Doppler shift (e.g., lowest absolute average Doppler shift) from among CSI-RS ports or resources sharing a same spatial precoding (e.g., w.sub.n). For example, for signal path 405-a, UE 115-c may select and report an index of a CSI-RS port or CRI corresponding to a lowest average Doppler shift. Additionally, for signal path 405-b, UE 115-c may select and report an index of a CSI-RS port or CRI corresponding to a lowest average Doppler shift. Reporting the respective lowest average Doppler shifts (e.g., lowest absolute average Doppler shifts) may support aligning the respective Doppler shifts to a center frequency and to each other (e.g., reducing a span or scope between the respective Doppler shifts and the center frequency, between the respective Doppler shifts). Fig. 2-7 & ¶0151 - At 730, UE 115-e may transmit, to base station 105-e, signaling indicative of (e.g., an indication of) a first Doppler frequency shift and a second Doppler frequency shift. The first Doppler frequency shift may be based on an average of a first set of multiple Doppler frequency shifts associated with the first CSI-RS, and the second Doppler frequency shift may be based on an average of a second set of multiple Doppler frequency shifts associated with the second CSI-RS. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0153 - as described with reference to FIGS. 3A-3B and 4A-4B, the respective temporal and spatial precodings may be based on respective CSI reported by UE 115-e to base station 105-e, where the CSI may be based on CSI-RSs that are temporally and spatially precoded by base station 105-e using the indication of the first Doppler frequency shift and the second Doppler frequency shift.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of a system and a method for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting with angle and delay reciprocity in a wireless communication system to include Xi’s invention of a system and a method for temporal and spatial precoding of downlink signals in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reducing a time domain selectivity of downlink transmissions communicated via one or more signal paths (e.g., multiple signal paths) between a base station and a UE (user equipment) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0004-¶0005, Xi)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 - wherein the CSI report comprises a plurality of precoder matrix indicators (PMIs) corresponding to the selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups, each PMI of the plurality of PMIs comprises a same number of layers, and the same number of layers is reported via one rank indicator (RI) value.
Claim 5- depends on claim 4.
Claim 6- depends on claim 4.
Claim 7- depends on claim 6.
Claim 8- depends on claim 4.
Claim 12- wherein the indicator comprises a bitmap having a length corresponding to a number of CSI-RS port groups of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups.
Claim 19 - wherein the CSI report comprises a plurality of precoder matrix indicators (PMIs) corresponding to the selected subset of the plurality of CSI-RS port groups, each PMI of the plurality of PMIs comprises a same number of layers, and the same number of layers is reported via one rank indicator (RI) value.
Claim 20 - depends on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e; R1-2100291; Source: ZTE; Title: CSI enhancements for Multi-TRP and FR1 FDD reciprocity; e-Meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021. See §1-§3
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #107-e; R1-2112581; Source: Moderator (Samsung); Title: Moderator summary#2 for multi-beam enhancement: ROUND 1; e-Meeting, November 11th – 19th, 2021. See §1-§2.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467