Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 11 of claim 1, “at a different distance” should read ---at a different strand distance---.
In line 1 of claim 14, “having” should be removed.
In lines 3 and 12 of claim 14 and lines 3 and 5 of claim 18, “trolly” should read ---trolley---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“load-bearing means” in lines 9-10 of claim 1 and lines 8-9 of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the tackle support" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15-18 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casteran (FR2253699A1).
Regarding claim 1, Casteran discloses lifting gear (M; Figures 1-4) having comprising :a hoist cable (4, 4a); a tackle support (2); a bottom block (3); and a strand-distance guide (13, 14); wherein: the hoist cable (4, 4a) descends in at least two cable strands from the tackle support (2); the bottom block (3) is reeved on the hoist cable (4, 4a) and on which a load-bearing means (attachment of the container C to the bottom block 3) is fitted; the cable strands of the hoist cable (4, 4a) are at a different distance apart from one another at the bottom block (3) than at the tackle support (2); the strand-distance guide (13, 14) is between the bottom block (3) and the tackle support (2) and is configured for: compensating for the different strand distances at the bottom block (3) and at the tackle support (2); and guiding the cable strands: substantially parallel to one another on one side of the strand-distance guide (13, 14; cables are parallel below the guide 13,14) and splayed apart in a V shape in relation to one another on the opposite side of the strand-distance guide (13, 14; cables are formed in a V shape above the guide 13,14).
Regarding claim 2, Casteran discloses wherein the strand-distance guide (13, 14) is further configured to at least one of: be reeving-free (idler pulleys 13a, 13b); or transmit to the hoist cable (4, 4a) substantially only forces which are directed transversely to a virtual connecting line between the tackle support (2) and the bottom block (3).
Regarding claim 3, Casteran discloses wherein the strand-distance guide (13, 14) is suspended in an oscillating manner from the tackle support (2) by means of a pendulum suspension (18a, 18b).
Regarding claim 8, Casteran discloses wherein the strand-distance guide (13, 14) is further configured to maintain the cable strands at a strand distance from each other, from the strand-distance guide (13, 14) to the bottom block (3), which substantially corresponds to the strand distance at the bottom block (3).
Regarding claim 9, Casteran discloses wherein the strand-distance guide (13, 14) has two cable guide elements (13a; 13b) spaced apart from one another, which are or can be brought into contact with sides of the cable strands running between the cable guide elements (13a; 13b) that face away from one another.
Regarding claim 10, Casteran discloses wherein the cable guide elements (13a; 13b) define a clear width therebetween that substantially corresponds to at least one of: the strand distance at the bottom block (3).
Regarding claim 11, Casteran discloses wherein the cable guide elements (13a; 13b) are configured to be cable pulleys having mutually parallel pulley rotation axes (the rotation axes of both pulleys 13a are parallel, similar for pulleys 13b), which extend transversely to a virtual plane spanned by the cable strands.
Regarding claim 12, Casteran discloses wherein the strand-distance guide (13, 14) comprises a cable yoke (18a, 18b, 17) embracing the cable strands from opposite outer sides for limiting and/or reducing the strand distance of the cable strands passing through the cable yoke (18a, 18b, 17) to a strand distance that substantially corresponds to the strand distance at the bottom block (3).
Regarding claim 13, Casteran discloses wherein the tackle support (2) is configured as a trolley which is mounted so as to be movable along a jib (V; Figure 1) of the lifting gear (M).
Regarding claim 19, Casteran discloses wherein the lifting gear (M) is configured to be a crane selected from the group consisting of a port loading crane (Abstract).
Claim(s) 14-18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans (GB722703A).
Regarding claim 14, Evans discloses a lifting gear having comprising: a hoist cable (45; Figure 1); a trolly (35); and a bottom block (37); wherein: the hoist cable (45) descends in at least two cable strands from the trolley (35); the bottom block (37) is reeved on the hoist cable (45) and on which a load-bearing means (hook on block 37) is fitted; the cable strands of the hoist cable (45) are at a different strand distance apart from one another at the bottom block (37) than at the trolly (35) such that the cable strands of the hoist cable (45) between the bottom block (37) and the tackle support (trolley 35) run splayed apart in a V-shape.
Regarding claim 15, Evans discloses wherein a course of the V-shaped course widens upwards from the bottom block (37) to the tackle support (trolley 35).
Regarding claim 16, Evans discloses wherein the bottom block (37) is configured to be single-axis and/or single-roll and has at least one deflection pulley (single pulley on block 37) for reeving the hoist cable (45), which is looped around by the hoist cable (45) over a looping angle of approximately 180°.
Regarding claim 17, Evans discloses wherein the diameter of the deflection pulley defines the strand distance at the bottom block (37; the hoist cable 45 loops directly around the pulley, in which the strand distance is equal to the diameter of the pulley).
Regarding claim 18, Evans discloses wherein the trolley (35) is provided on a jib (28; Figure 1) which can be luffed up into different steep positions (pulley system 32,33 adjusts the operating position of the jib 28; Figures 1 and 5 show different steep positions); and the trolly (35) defines different strand distances for the hoist cable (45) descending in the cable strands, depending on the steep position of the jib (28; as shown in Figures 1 and 5, different steep angles change the horizontal distance between pulleys 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casteran.
Regarding claims 4 and 20-21, Casteran discloses wherein the tackle support (2) is a trolley; the strand-distance guide (13, 14) is arranged in at least an upper area of a maximum lowering depth of the load-bearing means (attachment of the container C), which is measured from the tackle support (2) to the load-bearing means; and the strand-distance guide is arranged below the tackle support (2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lifting gear of Casteran to include wherein the strand-distance guide is arranged in at least an upper quarter of a maximum lowering depth of the load-bearing means; wherein the strand-distance guide is arranged in an upper tenth of the maximum lowering depth of the load- bearing means; and wherein the strand-distance guide is arranged directly at or directly below the tackle support in order to provide ideal sway control for improved bottom block stabilization. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Casteran discloses wherein the strand-distance guide (13, 14) has a distance from the tackle support (2) that is less than the strand distance at the tackle support (2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lifting gear of Casteran to include wherein the strand-distance guide has a distance from the tackle support that is less than 200% of the strand distance at the tackle support in order to ensure proper engagement of the cables with the guide pulleys to provide ideal sway control of the bottom block while preventing damage to the cables and guide pulleys. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casteran in view of Tax (DE4416707A1).
Regarding claim 6, Casteran discloses the above lifting gear, but fails to teach wherein the strand-distance guide is rigidly fastened to the tackle support.
Tax teaches a similar lifting gear and further teaches wherein the strand-distance guide (164h, 150h; Figure 10) is rigidly fastened to the tackle support (22h). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lifting gear of Casteran to include the strand-distance guide as taught by Tax in order to provide a stiffer guide to further reduce swaying movement of the hoisting cable.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casteran in view of Springer (DD48010A1).
Regarding claim 7, Casteran discloses the above lifting gear, but fails to teach wherein the strand-distance guide is detachably mounted on the tackle support between and/or at the level of two deflection pulleys of the tackle support for deflecting the hoist cable.
Springer teaches a similar lifting gear and further teaches wherein the strand-distance guide (13; 14; Figure 1) is detachably mounted on the tackle support (1; page 3, lines 29-30) between two deflection pulleys (ends of 3 or 7) of the tackle support (1) for deflecting the hoist cable (4; 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lifting gear of Casteran to include the detachable strand-distance guide as taught by Springer in order to provide a stiffer guide to reduce swaying movement of the hoisting cable during tackle support transport and further allow for guide stowage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667