DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 5/27/2026 are as follows:
Claim 1 is amended,
Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishkinis (European Patent Publication EP3376148A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Mishkinis discloses an evaporator assembly (fig 3b) comprising: at least one compensation chamber (9a, 9b) and at least one capillary pump (see annotated fig 3b below) comprising a primary wick (4), the evaporator assembly including a secondary wick (5) extending through the at least one compensation chamber and the at least one capillary pump and directly contacting the primary wick thereof, the primary wick surrounding the secondary wick,
Wherein the at least one compensation chamber and the at least one capillary pump are arranged parallel to one another along respective distinct axes (see annotated fig 3b below),
Wherein the compensation chamber and the capillary pump are hydraulically connected in parallel (via pipe 12, see annotated fig 3b below) at both their axial ends through respective manifolds (see annotated fig 3b below), the secondary wick (5) extending through said manifolds.
Regarding claim 2, Mishkinis further discloses a plurality of compensation chambers (9a, 9b) and a plurality of capillary pumps (see annotated fig 3b above) arranged parallel to one another.
Regarding claim 3, Mishkinis further discloses a plurality of parallel branches (see annotated fig 5a below), each branch including two capillary pumps (see annotated fig 5a below).
Regarding claim 4, Mishkinis further discloses a first manifold (see annotated fig 3b below) connected to a liquid inlet port (see annotated fig 3b below) and to first ends of the compensation chambers (9a, 9b) and a second manifold (see annotated fig 3b below) connecting respective second ends of the compensation chambers (9a, 9b) and first ends of the capillary pumps (see annotated fig 3b below).
Regarding claim 5, Mishkinis further discloses wherein the compensation chambers (9a, 9b) are disposed at opposite sides of the evaporator assembly, the capillary pumps (see annotated fig 3b below) being arranged between the compensation chambers.
Regarding claim 7, Mishkinis further discloses further discloses the capillary pumps (see annotated fig 3b below) form a tube bundle connected by common thermally conductive plates (3, connected via 12, 14) configured to extract heat from an extended surface area.
Regarding claim 8, Mishkinis further discloses further discloses wherein vapor outlet ports (12) of the capillary pumps (see annotated fig 3b above) are connected to a common vapor outlet manifold (14).
Regarding claim 9, Mishkinis further discloses a loop heat pipe (LHP) system including at least one evaporator assembly as claimed in claim 1 and at least one condenser (see fig 3b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishkinis as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of An (Korean Patent Publication KR20170026205A).
Regarding claim 6, Mishkinis discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Mishkinis does not explicitly disclose wherein the capillary pumps form a tube bundle of a finned heat exchanger configured to extract heat from a gas flow. An, however, discloses an evaporator assembly wherein a capillary pump (17) is a finned heat exchanger configured to extract heat from a gas flow. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention for Mishkinis to provide the fins of An in order to allow for heat exchange with a gas flow. This would result in the capillary pumps forming a tube bundle of a finned heat exchanger.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 5-9) that Mishkinis does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1. However, outlined above in the rejection of claim 1, Mishkinis does teach these limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763