DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
(a) Claims 1-8 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 10/05/2026 comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. §1.97 and §1.98. The Examiner has considered all references, except for any references lined through on the attached IDS form.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after a Final Rejection. Since this application is eligible for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office Action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. The Applicant's submission filed on 09/08/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/05/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that France and Kurokami fail to disclose the claimed non-display region, particularly a region including a portion in which the first figure is projected in a vertical downward direction, and a second figure highlighting an adjacent region while avoiding the non-display region.
The previous rejection relying on France and Kurokami has been withdrawn and replaced with a new rejection relying on Yoshinada, France, and Ohiwa. Accordingly, Applicant's arguments specifically directed to Kurokami are moot.
With respect to the newly presented rejection, Yoshinada describes determining vertically projected positions of the bucket teeth on the working terrain (Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0099–0102 and Figures 11–13). France describes highlighting the leading edge of the bucket using a virtual implement bar 144 (France, Paragraphs 0038–0039 and Figure 2A). Ohiwa describes establishing a non-display region based on the position of the bucket teeth and displaying work-assistance information in adjacent regions while avoiding the non-display region (Ohiwa, Paragraphs 0099–0109 and Figures 4A–4B).
As explained in the rejection below, the cited references are relied upon for their combined teachings under 35 U.S.C. §103, including the proposed modification of applying Ohiwa's display-exclusion technique to the vertically projected bucket positions determined by Yoshinada.
Applicant's arguments regarding the dependent claims have also been considered. The dependent claims are separately evaluated under the newly applied references as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yoshinada et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2018/0051446A1 (hereinafter, Yoshinada), in view of France et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2018/0251961 A1 (hereinafter, France), and further in view of Ohiwa et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2018/0355585 A1 (hereinafter, Ohiwa).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshinada describes a display control device for acquiring a video of an area for work of a work machine provided with a bucket and displaying the video on a display (image display system, excavator having bucket, imaging device, and display device, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0042-0045 and Figure 1), comprising:
-a terrain sensor that acquires terrain information indicating a three-dimensional shape of a terrain of the area for work (distance detection device acquiring three-dimensional terrain information, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0089-0093 and Figure 8);
-an attitude sensor that acquires attitude information regarding an attitude of the work machine (attitude detection device and IMU, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0089-0091 and Figure 3);
-a processor that calculates a position of the bucket in the area for work based on the attitude information (processing device calculating tooth point position P4 based on the attitude of working unit 2, Yoshinada, Paragraph 0091), and that generates an AR image to be overlaid over the video of the area for work and displayed on the display on the basis of the terrain information acquired from the terrain sensor and the calculated position of the bucket (processing device generating working implement guide image and superimposing the image over camera image, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0099-0109 and Figures 11-16),
-wherein the processor generates, as the AR image (working implement guide image generated based on the bucket position and terrain surface, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0099-0104 and Figures 11-13) ...:
Yoshinada does not specifically disclose the display control device to include a first figure highlighting a position of a claw tip of the bucket from a right end to a left end of the claw tip.
France discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation. France describes a virtual implement bar 144 superimposed over the leading implement edge 140 of the bucket (France, Paragraphs 0038-0039 and Figure 2A).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the display control device of Yoshinada to include a first figure highlighting a position of a claw tip of the bucket from a right end to a left end of the claw tip, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by France.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because highlighting the leading edge of the bucket allows the operator to more readily identify the bucket's position relative to the working terrain (France, Paragraphs 0038-0039).
Additionally, Yoshinada, as modified, does not specifically disclose the display control device to include a second figure highlighting a part of a region adjacent to a region set as a non-display region of the AR image, the non-display region being a region including a portion in which the first figure is projected in a vertical downward direction of the area for work, the second figure avoiding highlighting the non-display region.
Ohiwa discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation. Ohiwa describes setting a non-display region based on the position of bucket teeth and displaying work-assistance information in adjacent display regions while avoiding the non-display region (Ohiwa, Paragraphs 0099-0109 and Figures 4A-4B).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the display control device of Yoshinada to include a second figure highlighting a part of a region adjacent to a region set as a non-display region of the AR image, the non-display region being a region including a portion in which the first figure is projected in a vertical downward direction of the area for work, the second figure avoiding highlighting the non-display region, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Ohiwa.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because applying the non-display region to the vertically projected bucket-tip position and retaining adjacent guidance information allows the operator to observe the excavation area without obstruction (Ohiwa, Paragraphs 0100-0109).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshinada, as modified, describes the display control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor generates (processing device determining vertically projected positions Pgt1 and Pgt2 corresponding to opposite ends of bucket teeth on the terrain surface, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0099-0102 and Figures 11-13) ...
Yoshinada does not specifically disclose the display control device to include as the second figure, two figures highlighting portions corresponding to both ends of the first figure on a surface of the area for work when the first figure is projected in the vertical downward direction of the area for work.
France discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation. France describes paired graphical sidewalls 152A and 152B defining opposite sides of a virtual trench extending from the bucket toward the working terrain (France, Paragraphs 0038-0041 and Figure 2A).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the display control device of Yoshinada to include as the second figure, two figures highlighting portions corresponding to both ends of the first figure on a surface of the area for work when the first figure is projected in the vertical downward direction of the area for work, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by France.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because providing separate guidance figures at the opposing projected bucket-edge positions allows the operator to identify the lateral boundaries of the working region (France, Paragraphs 0039-0041).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshinada, as modified, describes the display control device according to claim 2, wherein the processor generates, as the AR image, a line-like third figure connecting both ends of the first figure and the two figures of the second figure respectively, and extending in the vertical downward direction (first straight line image and second straight line image connecting respective bucket-tooth endpoints Pgb1 and Pgb2 to vertically projected terrain positions Pgt1 and Pgt2, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0100-0103 and Figures 12-13).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshinada, as modified, describes the display control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor further generates, as the first figure, a line-like figure indicating the position of a lower end of the bucket (virtual implement bar superimposed over the leading implement edge of the bucket, France, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 2A).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoshinada, as modified, describes the display control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor switches a display mode of the AR image in accordance with a work state of the work machine (display controller displaying work-assistance information during finishing excavation and work-assistance information during rough and finishing excavation, Ohiwa, Paragraphs 0093-0094 and Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshinada, as modified, describes a remote operation device for the work machine, comprising:
-the display control device according to claim 1 (image display system of remote operation system, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0042-0045 and Figure 1); and
-an operation device that includes the display and provided in a position spaced apart from the work machine to operate the work machine while performing communication with the work machine (remotely located facility having display device, operation device, processing device, and communication device for communicating with excavator 1, Yoshinada, Paragraphs 0042-0049 and Figure 1).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yoshinada et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2018/0051446A1 (hereinafter, Yoshinada), in view of France et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2018/0251961A1 (hereinafter, France), and further in view of Ohiwa et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2018/0355585A1 (hereinafter, Ohiwa), and Kennedy et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2020/0071912A1 (hereinafter, Kennedy).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshinada, as modified, describes the display control device according to claim 4.
Yoshinada does not specifically disclose the display control device to include further comprising an object position calculation section that acquires detected information about an object present around the work machine to calculate the position of the object on the basis of the detected information, wherein the processor, if the object is present in the area for work, generates a fourth figure highlighting the position of at least a part of the object as the AR image.
Kennedy discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitations. Kennedy describes acquiring object-position information from sensors, determining the positions of objects around a work machine, and generating AR indicators outlining or highlighting detected objects (Kennedy, Paragraphs 0063, 0091-0099, and 0114-0115 and Figures 4 and 6).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the display control device of Yoshinada to include further comprising an object position calculation section that acquires detected information about an object present around the work machine to calculate the position of the object on the basis of the detected information, wherein the processor, if the object is present in the area for work, generates a fourth figure highlighting the position of at least a part of the object as the AR image, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Kennedy.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because detecting and highlighting objects around the work machine allows the operator to identify nearby objects and reduce the risk of collisions (Kennedy, Paragraphs 0063 and 0095-0099).
Conclusion
/ANDREW J CROMER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667