DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, claims 1-4, 7-8, 15, 17-18, 20, and 22 in the reply filed on 17 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 9-14, 16, 19, and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 August 2024 and 01 June 2026, have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received on 16 August 2024 are accepted.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 15, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP-11010908-A).
With respect to claim 1, Takada discloses a circulation device, comprising:
an ink circulation unit (Fig. 1, element 25) configured to circulate ink (Fig. 1, elements 23, 24; paragraphs 0029-0030) via an ink head (Fig. 1, element 20) for discharging the ink (paragraph 0028); and
a treatment liquid circulation unit (Fig. 1, element 25) configured to circulate non-color-developing treatment liquid (Fig. 1, elements 23, 24; paragraph 0062) via a treatment liquid head (Fig. 1, element 20) for discharging the treatment liquid, wherein
a circulation flow rate of the ink in the ink circulation unit is different (paragraph 0025, i.e. first circulation supply amount) from a circulation flow rate of the treatment liquid (paragraph 0025, i.e. second circulation supply amount) in the treatment liquid circulation unit (paragraphs 0019-0025).
The examiner notes to applicant that the limitations concerning the flow rates are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Takada as applied above.
With respect to claim 3, Takada discloses the circulation flow rate of the treatment liquid in the treatment liquid circulation unit is higher than the circulation flow rate of the ink in the ink circulation unit (paragraphs 0019-0025).
With respect to claim 4, Takada discloses a plurality of the ink circulation units (Fig. 2, i.e. C, M, Y, B, and the treatment liquid), wherein the circulation flow rate of the treatment liquid in the treatment liquid circulation unit is higher than an average value of the circulation flow rate of the ink in the plurality of ink circulation units (paragraphs 0019-0025).
With respect to claim 8, Takada discloses the treatment liquid comprises: a pre-treatment liquid (paragraph 0062) configured to be discharged (Fig. 3, element 27) before the ink (Fig. 2, i.e. C, M, Y, or K) is discharged; and a post-treatment liquid (paragraph 0062) configured to be discharged after the ink is discharged (Fig. 3, element 27).
With respect to claim 15, Takada discloses the ink comprises: a first ink (Fig. 2, element 21Y); and a second ink different from the first ink in color (Fig. 2, element 21C), the ink circulation unit comprises: a first ink circulation unit (Fig. 1, element 25, i.e. for Y) configured to circulate the first ink via a first ink head (Fig. 1, element 20, i.e. for Y) being the ink head for discharging the first ink; and a second ink circulation unit (Fig. 1, element 25, i.e. for C) configured to circulate the second ink via a second ink head (Fig. 1, element 20, i.e. for C) being the ink head for discharging the second ink, and a circulation flow rate of the first ink in the first ink circulation unit is different from a circulation flow rate of the second ink in the second ink circulation unit (paragraphs 0019-0025).
With respect to claim 17, Takada discloses a controller (Fig. 3, element 27) configured to control the circulation flow rate of the ink (Fig. 2, element 21Y) in the ink circulation unit (Fig. 1, element 25) and the circulation flow rate of the treatment liquid (paragraph 0062) in the treatment liquid circulation unit (paragraphs 0019-0025).
With respect to claim 22, Takada discloses a printing device (Fig. 2; paragraph 0079), comprising a transporter (Fig. 2, element 12) configured to transport a recording medium (paragraphs 0028-0029); and the circulation device (Fig. 1, element 25).
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The primary reasons for allowance for claim 2 is that applicant’s claimed invention includes a circulation device having an ink head, where a magnitude relationship between a heat generation amount of the ink head and a heat generation amount of the treatment liquid head matches a magnitude relationship between a sum of a discharge amount and a circulation flow rate of the ink and a sum of a discharge amount and a circulation flow rate of the treatment liquid. It is this limitation, expressed in the claimed combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
2. Claim 7 is objected to for being dependent upon claim 2.
3. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The primary reasons for allowance for claim 18 is that applicant’s claimed invention includes a circulation device having an ink circulation unit, an ink head, and a controller, where the controller calculates a heat generation amount of the ink head, a heat generation amount of the treatment liquid head, a discharge amount of the ink, a discharge amount of the treatment liquid, and a time required for drawing, and calculates, based on a result of the calculation, a circulation flow rate of the ink in the ink circulation unit and a circulation flow rate of the treatment liquid in the treatment liquid circulation unit. It is this limitation, expressed in the claimed combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
4. Claim 20 is objected to for being dependent upon claim 18.
Conclusion
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
/GEOFFREY S MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 08/18/2026