DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/839,050 filed on 08/16/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 08/16/2024 (marked amendments to the claims), which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
- Claims 18, 19 are cancelled.
- Claims 6, 8, 10, 13, 17, 20 are amended.
- Claims 21, 22 are new.
-Claims 1-17, 20-22 are pending.
-Claims 1-9, 16-17, 20-22 are rejected.
-Claims 10-15 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2023/075999, filed 02/14/2023.
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/11/2025, 08/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Claim 5 recites terms “The method of claim 3, wherein the co-phasing coefficient”, where terms “the co-phasing coefficient” are recited for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the co-phasing coefficient ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “the co-phasing coefficient”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “co-phasing coefficient” introduced for provision of antecedent basis including in claim 3 from which claim 5 depends, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the co-phasing coefficient” in Claim 5 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
10. Claims 1, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO et. al (US 20240137089 A1) i.e. “YAO”, in view of CIRIK et al. (US 20230035143 A1), i.e. “CIRIK”
Regarding Claim 1. (Original) YAO teaches: A method for uplink precoding matrix determination (YAO – FIG. 7 & ¶0028 […] schemes for determining and/or using precoding matrix (codebook), rank and Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI) indication ; ¶0044 […] method 700 for determining a precoder for an uplink transmission of the UE […] ; ¶0047 […] The precoder can also be referred to as a precoding matrix, precoding, precoding information, codebook […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 7 & ¶0044 i.e. method 700 for determining a precoder reads on: A method for uplink precoding matrix determination ),
comprising: receiving first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first precoding matrix indicator, and the second indication information is used to determine a second TRI and a second precoding matrix indicator (YAO FIG. 7 & ¶0046 […] At 720, the UE determines at least one uplink codebook parameter. In some arrangements, the network sends the at least one uplink codebook parameter to the UE at 715, and determining the at least one uplink codebook parameter at 720 includes the UE receiving the at least one uplink codebook parameter from the network; ¶0054 […] at least one uplink codebook parameter at 720, in some examples, the at least one uplink codebook parameter includes either or both of at least one set of parameters for codebook selection or at least one set of parameters for codebook set generation […] ; ¶0056 […] With respect to the set of parameters for codebook selection, if two or more codebooks (e.g., a codebook set) are generated or predefined, the set of parameters for codebook selection may be needed to select one codebook from the two or more codebooks […] example in which the codebook set is predefined, the set of parameters for codebook selection includes TPMI; ¶0057 […] the network can configure (e.g., via a RRC signaling) or indicate (e.g., via DCI signaling or MAC CE signaling) for the UE parameters for codebook selection for an uplink transmission, including one or more of a rank value, a TPMI […]; ¶0068 […] at 730, the UE can combine two or more codebooks (indicated by corresponding TPMIs) by aligning the ranks. In that regard, FIG. 10 is a table 1000 illustrating a method for determining a precoder by combining two precoders with the same rank, in accordance with some arrangements. As shown, the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) to form an 8-port precoder. Each of the first 4-port precoder and the second 4-port precoder has a rank of 1 […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 7 & ¶0046 i.e. 720 includes the UE receiving the at least one uplink codebook parameter, and per ¶0057 i.e. indicate (e.g., via DCI signaling or MAC CE signaling) for the UE parameters for codebook selection reads on: comprising: receiving, furthermore where per ¶0056 i.e. the at least one uplink codebook parameter includes either or both of at least one set of parameters for codebook selection and the set of parameters for codebook selection includes TPMI, and per ¶0057 i.e. the network can configure (e.g., via a RRC signaling) or indicate (e.g., via DCI signaling or MAC CE signaling) for the UE parameters for codebook selection for an uplink transmission, including one or more of a rank value, a TPMI where per FIG. 7 & ¶0068 i.e. at 730, the UE can combine two or more codebooks (indicated by corresponding TPMIs) by aligning the ranks i.e. TPMIs and the ranks corresponding to 730 implies two TPMIs and two corresponding Ranks corresponding to two precoding matrixes received as part of receiving at 720 the set of parameters for codebook selection reads on: first indication information and second indication information , where i.e. furthermore i.e. the set of TPMIs and the ranks corresponding to 730 implies two TPMIs and two corresponding Ranks are determined by receiving the set of parameters for codebook selection reads on: wherein the first indication information is used to , and furthermore i.e. one of two TPMIs and one of two corresponding Ranks are determined reads on: used to determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first precoding matrix indicator , and furthermore i.e. the set of TPMIs and the ranks corresponding to 730 implies two TPMIs and two corresponding Ranks are determined by receiving the set of parameters for codebook selection reads on: wherein the second indication information is used to , and furthermore i.e. second one of two TPMIs and second one of two corresponding Ranks are determined reads on: used to determine a second transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a second precoding matrix indicator);
determining a first precoding matrix according to the first TRI and the first precoding matrix indicator, and determining a second precoding matrix according to the second TRI and the second precoding matrix indicator, wherein both the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix correspond to 4 antenna ports (YAO FIG. 7 & ¶0068 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0068 i.e. determining a precoder by combining two precoders with the same rank, in accordance with some arrangements. As shown, the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) i.e. with the same rank i.e. first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) reads on: reads on: determining a first precoding matrix according to i.e. the same rank reads on: the first TRI and i.e. first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) reads on: the first precoding matrix indicator , and i.e. and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) reads on: first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) i.e. the same rank reads on: according to the second TRI . Furthermore per ¶0068 i.e. the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) reads on: wherein both the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix correspond to 4 antenna ports );
determining an uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix (YAO FIG. 7 & ¶0068 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0068 i.e. i.e. the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) i.e. to form an 8-port precoder reads on: determining an uplink precoding matrix i.e. the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) reads on: according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix ),
wherein the uplink precoding matrix corresponds to 8 antenna ports (YAO FIG. 7 & ¶0068 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0068 i.e. the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) i.e. to form an 8-port precoder reads on: wherein the uplink precoding matrix corresponds to 8 antenna ports);
and transmitting uplink data according to the uplink precoding matrix (YAO FIG. 7 & ¶0047 […] At 740, the UE transmits the uplink transmission to the network based on the precoder. At 745, the network receives the uplink transmission from the UE […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 i.e. At 740, the UE transmits the uplink transmission to the network reads on: and transmitting uplink data . Per ¶0047 i.e. to the network based on the precoder i.e. determined at 730 i.e. an 8-port precoder reads on: according to the uplink precoding matrix ).
While YAO teaches “receiving first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first precoding matrix indicator, and the second indication information is used to determine a second TRI and a second precoding matrix indicator”, where YAO appears to imply first and second as referenced pertaining to this limitation, and therefore assuming arguendo that:
YAO does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: assuming arguendo YAO implies i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): receiving first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first precoding matrix indicator, and the second indication information is used to determine a second TRI and a second precoding matrix indicator;
CIRIK teaches: comprising: receiving first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first precoding matrix indicator, and the second indication information is used to determine a second TRI and a second precoding matrix indicator (CIRIK FIG. 20A & FIG. 20 B & ¶0277 A base station may send (e.g., transmit), for example, to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters. The wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set comprising one or more first SRS resources; ¶0296 […] The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the configured uplink grant, at least two precoding-and-number-of-layers fields (e.g., precodingAndNumberOfLayers fields). The at least two precoding-and-number-of-layers fields may comprise a first precoding-and-number-of-layers field and a second precoding-and-number-of-layers field.; ¶0298 […] A value of the first precoding-and-number-of-layers field may indicate a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) index. The value may indicate a first number of layers (or a first transmission rank) […]; ¶0304 […] A value of the second precoding-and-number-of-layers field may indicate a second TPMI index. The value may indicate a second number of layers (or a second transmission rank); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 20A & FIG. 20 B & ¶0277 A base station may send (e.g., transmit), i.e. to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters. The wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters reads on: comprising: receiving, where per ¶0296 i.e. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the configured uplink grant, at least two precoding-and-number-of-layers fields i.e. a first precoding-and-number-of-layers field and a second precoding-and-number-of-layers field reads on: first indication information and second indication information . Furthermore per ¶0298 […] A value of the first precoding-and-number-of-layers field may indicate reads on: wherein the first indication information is used to The value may indicate a first number of layers (or a first transmission rank) […] reads on: determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) index reads on: a first precoding matrix indicator ; ¶0304 […] A value of the second precoding-and-number-of-layers field may indicate reads on: and the second indication information is used. The value may indicate a second number of layers (or a second transmission rank) reads on: to determine a second TRI i.e. a second TPMI index reads on: reads on: and a second precoding matrix indicator );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO with teachings of CIRIK, since CIRIK enables that a wireless device and/or a base station may reduce a likelihood of unreliability by determining the size and/or length of the SRI field, based on a quantity/number of SRS resources in an SRS resource set, and these enhanced uplink transmission procedures may result in reduced retransmissions, reduced latency/delay, reduced power consumption, and/or increased performance of the whole communication system (CIRIK ¶0006).
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) YAO teaches: A communication apparatus(YAO – FIG. 7 & ¶0028 […] schemes for determining and/or using precoding matrix (codebook), rank and Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI) indication ; ¶0044 […] method 700 for determining a precoder for an uplink transmission of the UE […] ; ¶0047 […] The precoder can also be referred to as a precoding matrix, precoding, precoding information, codebook […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 7 & ¶0044 i.e. the UE reads on: A communication apparatus), comprising: a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the communication apparatus (YAO FIG. 2 FIG. 7 & ¶0032 […] UE 204 includes a UE transceiver module 230, a UE antenna 232, a UE memory module 234, and a UE processor module 236, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another as necessary; ¶0037 [..] memory modules 216 and 234 may each include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor modules 210 and 230; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0032 i.e. UE 204 includes a UE transceiver module 230, a UE antenna 232, a UE memory module 234, and a UE processor module 236 reads on: comprising: a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory , and per ¶0037 i.e. memory modules 216 and 234 may each include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor modules 210 and 230 reads on: storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the communication apparatus )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: matrix corresponds to 8 antenna ports; and (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) YAO teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store computer programs which, when running on a communication apparatus, enable the communication apparatus (YAO FIG. 2 FIG. 7 & ¶0032 […] UE 204 includes a UE transceiver module 230, a UE antenna 232, a UE memory module 234, and a UE processor module 236, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another as necessary; ¶0037 [..] memory modules 216 and 234 may each include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor modules 210 and 230; Per FIG. 7 & ¶0044 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0032 i.e. UE 204 includes a UE transceiver module 230, a UE antenna 232, a UE memory module 234 reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and a UE processor module 236, and per ¶0037 i.e. memory modules 216 and 234 may each include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor modules 210 and 230 reads on: configured to store computer programs which, when running Per FIG. 7 & ¶0044 i.e. the UE and UE 204 of FIG. 2 reads on: on a communication apparatus, enable the communication apparatus)
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
to receive first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first precoding matrix indicator, and the second indication information is used to determine a second TRI and a second precoding matrix indicator; determine a first precoding matrix according to the first TRI and the first precoding matrix indicator, and determine a second precoding matrix according to the second TRI and the second precoding matrix indicator, wherein both the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix correspond to 4 antenna ports; and determine an uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix, wherein the uplink precoding matrix corresponds to 8 antenna ports; and transmit uplink data according to the uplink precoding matrix(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
11. Claims 2, 3, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO in view of CIRIK, further in view of Koorapaty et al. (US 20160249279 A1), i.e. “Koorapaty”
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YAO teaches: wherein the first TRI is the same as the second TRI, and the uplink precoding matrix is a block matrix formed according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix (YAO FIG. 7 & FIG. 10 & ¶0068 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0068 i.e. at 730, the UE can combine two or more codebooks (indicated by corresponding TPMIs) by aligning the ranks. In that regard, FIG. 10 is a table 1000 illustrating a method for determining a precoder by combining two precoders with the same rank, in accordance with some arrangements. i.e. Each of the first 4-port precoder and the second 4-port precoder has a rank of 1 reads on: wherein the first TRI is the same as the second TRI. furthermore i.e. As shown, the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) to form an 8-port precoder reads on: and the uplink precoding matrix is a block matrix formed according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix .).
YAO in view of CIRIK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of referenced claim limitations ): block diagonal matrix;
Koorapaty teaches: the precoding matrix is a block diagonal matrix formed (Koorapaty ¶0057 a set of CSI-RS configurations of N={2, 4 or 8} Antenna Ports, APs, are used as the discovery signal; ¶0058 […] he N number of APs in a CSI-RS configuration may be partitioned into G number of groups […] Discovery signal precoding matrices may be applied by the UE 121 on top of the N number of APs in a CSI-RS configuration. The discovery signal precoding matrices may be obtained or taken from a codebook of diagonal discovery signal precoding matrices of size N×N, i.e. non-zero elements on the diagonal, zeros elsewhere in the matrix. This codebook may be known to both the UE 121 and network node 110; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0058 i.e. The discovery signal precoding matrices may be obtained or taken from a codebook of diagonal discovery signal precoding matrices of size N×N, i.e. non-zero elements on the diagonal, zeros elsewhere in the matrix reads on: the precoding matrix is a block diagonal matrix formed , where furthermore formation of a block diagonal matrix A, from matrix A is the direct sum of A1, ..., An. It can also be indicated as A1 ⊕ A2 ⊕ ... ⊕ An or diag(A1, A2, ..., An). Furthermore block diagonal matrix form i.e. created by direct sum are well known in prior art see https://web.archive.org/web/20211216222859/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Block_matrix );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK with teachings of Koorapaty, since Koorapaty provides an advantage of maximizing, or increasing, robustness of any measurement performance by providing the largest possible number of REs within a PRB for a chosen configuration that may be coherently combined together for measurements (Koorapaty ¶0075).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK and Koorapaty teaches: The method of claim 2,
furthermore YAO teaches: wherein both the first TRI and the second TRI are 2 (YAO FIG. 7 & FIG. 10 & ¶0068 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0068 i.e. at 730, the UE can combine two or more codebooks (indicated by corresponding TPMIs) by aligning the ranks. In that regard, FIG. 10 is a table 1000 illustrating a method for determining a precoder by combining two precoders with the same rank where FIG. 17 & FIG. 11 depicts a rank of rank values used for combination including Rank 2 reads on: wherein both the first TRI and the second TRI are 2 where similar to FIG. 10 , the 0s in FIG. 11 8 port precoder would therefore be replaced by the second layer of rank 2 i.e. 1, j , -1, -j depicted in the lower part of FIG. 11 ).
Regarding Claim 21. (New) YAO in view of CIRIK teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 17,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first TRI is the same as the second TRI, and the uplink precoding matrix is a block diagonal matrix formed according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 22. (New) YAO in view of CIRIK and Koorapaty teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 21,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein both the first TRI and the second TRI are 2(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claims 4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over YAO in view of CIRIK, further in view of PARK et al. (US 20200083939 A1), i.e. “PARK”.
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YAO teaches: further comprising: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix (YAO FIG. 7 & ¶0068 see Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0068 i.e. i.e. the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) i.e. to form an 8-port precoder reads on: further comprising: determining the uplink precoding matrix i.e. the UE can combine a first 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=14) and a second 4-port precoder (indicated by TPMI=20) reads on: according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix )
YAO in view of CIRIK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of referenced claim limitations ): receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to determine a co-phasing coefficient between the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix; wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient;
PARK teaches: receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to determine a co-phasing coefficient between the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix; wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient (PARK ¶0274 […]the gNB indicates M (M>1) SRS resources to the UE is described. In this case, the gNB may indicate a plurality of SRIs explicitly to the UE with a scheme like a bitmap ; ¶0275 […] the case that the number of indicated SRS resources is 2 (M=2) is described; ¶0278 […] In the case that two SRS resources are configured/applied to the UE, the UE may identify that two panels are used, and calculate final PMI by configuring multiple panel codebook. In the case that the port numbers of X.sub.0 and X.sub.1 are the same, the final codebook [v0 v1] […] ; ¶0279 […] in order to transmit/receive a signal in all directions, the configuration (e.g., in the case that there are two UE antenna panels) oriented opposite directions may be considered. In this case, since a direction toward the gNB, angle of departure (AoD), Angle of Arrival (AoA), zenith of departure angle (ZoD) and/or latency may be changed, a panel correction becomes required additionally. Such a panel correction term may be represented as γ=αexp(jθ). Herein, α (e.g., α∈{1, √{square root over (0.5)}, √{square root over (0.25)},0}) may represent an amplitude and θ (e.g., QPSK or 8PSK) may represent a phase, and the gNB may indicate the information to the UE additionally. At this time, for the convenience of signaling, for example, the gNB may indicate the SRS resource configured 0.sup.th order may be assumed to be a reference resource, and only the phase and/or the amplitude information γ=αexp(jθ) for the SRS resource configured first order to the UE. In this case, the final codebook may be configured in the form of [v0 γ.v1];
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0274 i.e. the gNB may indicate a plurality of SRIs explicitly to the UE and per ¶0275 SRS M=2 reads on: comprising: receiving first indication information and second indication information, where furthermore i.e. per ¶0279 i.e. since a direction toward the gNB, angle of departure (AoD), Angle of Arrival (AoA), zenith of departure angle (ZoD) and/or latency may be changed, a panel correction becomes required additionally. Such a panel correction term may be represented as γ=αexp(jθ). Herein, α (e.g., α∈{1, √{square root over (0.5)}, √{square root over (0.25)},0}) may represent an amplitude and θ (e.g., QPSK or 8PSK) may represent a phase, and the gNB may indicate the information to the UE additionally reads on: receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to determine a co-phasing coefficient between per ¶0278 and ¶0279 i.e. Vo, V1 reads on: the first precoding matrix and the second precoding matrix. Furthermore per ¶0279 i.e. the final codebook may be configured in the form of [v0 γ.v1] i.e. v0 reads on: wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix i.e. v1 reads on: and the second precoding matrix i.e. [v0 γ.v1] comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to i.e. v0 reads on: the first precoding matrix, i.e. v1 reads on: the second precoding matrix, i.e. phase γ reads on: and the co-phasing coefficient ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK with teachings of PARK, since PARK enables an effect that a codebook based UL data transmission operation may be efficiently supported in a new wireless communication system (PARK ¶0023 - ¶0024 ).
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK teaches: The method of claim 4
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein the co-phasing coefficient is a first co-phasing coefficient (PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0279 i.e. since a direction toward the gNB, angle of departure (AoD), Angle of Arrival (AoA), zenith of departure angle (ZoD) and/or latency may be changed, a panel correction becomes required additionally. Such a panel correction term may be represented as γ=αexp(jθ). Herein, α (e.g., α∈{1, √{square root over (0.5)}, √{square root over (0.25)},0}) may represent an amplitude and θ (e.g., QPSK or 8PSK) may represent a phase, and the gNB may indicate the information to the UE additionally reads on: wherein the co-phasing coefficient is a first co-phasing coefficient),
and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient, comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the first co-phasing coefficient (PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 […] For rank 2, the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1];
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0279 i.e. the final codebook may be configured in the form of [v0 γ.v1] i.e. v0 reads on: and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix i.e. v1 reads on: the second precoding matrix, i.e. phase γ reads on: and the first co-phasing coefficient), in the case where the first TRI is less than (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
equal to 2 and the second TRI is less than (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
equal to 2 (PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 […] For rank 2, the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1];
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0278 i.e. In the case that the port numbers of X.sub.0 and X.sub.1 are the same, where per ¶0280 i.e. the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1] i.e. For rank 2 reads on: in the case where the first TRI is less than or equal to 2 and the second TRI is less than or equal to 2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK, further with teachings of PARK, since PARK enables an effect that a codebook based UL data transmission operation may be efficiently supported in a new wireless communication system (PARK ¶0023 - ¶0024 ).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK teaches: The method of claim 6,
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the first co-phasing coefficient, comprises: obtaining a multiplication matrix by multiplying the first co-phasing coefficient with the second precoding matrix; and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the multiplication matrix(PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 […] For rank 2, the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1];
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0279 i.e. the final codebook may be configured in the form of [v0 γ.v1] i.e. γ.v1 reads on: wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the first co-phasing coefficient, comprises: obtaining a multiplication matrix by multiplying the first co-phasing coefficient with the second precoding matrix; i.e. the final codebook may be configured reads on: and determining the uplink precoding matrix , i.e. [v0 γ.v1] reads on: according to the first precoding matrix and the multiplication matrix );
wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix, and
represents the first co-phasing coefficient (PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 […] For rank 2, the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1] i.e.
;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0279 i.e. the final codebook may be configured in the form of [v0 γ.v1] i.e.
i.e.
shows identical structure with claimed matrix with terms V0 associating with B1 , V1 associating with B2, and γ associating with
reads on: wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies: B, W = Z, wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix, and
represents the first co-phasing coefficient).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK, further with the teachings of PARK, since PARK enables an effect that a codebook based UL data transmission operation may be efficiently supported in a new wireless communication system (PARK ¶0023 - ¶0024 ).
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK teaches: The method of claim 4
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein the co-phasing coefficient comprises a second co-phasing coefficient(PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 See Claim 7; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0280 i.e. […] For rank 2, the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1] where within i.e. γ and -γ i.e. -γ reads on: wherein the co-phasing coefficient comprises a second co-phasing coefficient )
and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient, comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the second co-phasing coefficient (PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 See Claim 7; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0280 i.e. […] For rank 2, the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1] where within i.e. the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1] and v0, v1 ,-γ reads on: and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient, comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the second co-phasing coefficient ),
in the case where the first TRI is less than or equal to 2 and the second TRI is less than or equal to 2(PARK ¶0274 See claim 4 ; ¶0275 See claim 4; ¶0278 See claim 4; ¶0279 See claim 4; ¶0280 See Claim 7; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0280 i.e. the final codebook may be configured as [v0 v0 γ.v1 -γ. v1] i.e. […] For rank 2 reads on: in the case where the first TRI is less than or equal to 2 and the second TRI is less than or equal to 2) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK, further with the teachings of PARK, since PARK enables an effect that a codebook based UL data transmission operation may be efficiently supported in a new wireless communication system (PARK ¶0023 - ¶0024 ).
13. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO in view of CIRIK and Koorapaty, further in view of PARK
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK and Koorapaty teaches: The method of claim 3,
YAO in view of CIRIK and Koorapaty does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of referenced claim limitations ): wherein the co-phasing coefficient is related to channel state information (CSI);
PARK teaches: wherein the co-phasing coefficient is related to channel state information (CSI) (Park – FIG. 15 ¶0266 […] The gNB may perform channel measurement and/or CSI computation (SRS Resource Indicator (SRS), CQI, RI, Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI), etc.) using the SRS transmitted from the UE, and inform the information, MCS and/or UL power information, and the like to the UE through UL grant ¶0279 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0279 i.e. since a direction toward the gNB, angle of departure (AoD), Angle of Arrival (AoA), zenith of departure angle (ZoD) and/or latency may be changed, a panel correction becomes required additionally. Such a panel correction term may be represented as γ=αexp(jθ). Herein, α (e.g., α∈{1, √{square root over (0.5)}, √{square root over (0.25)},0}) may represent an amplitude and θ (e.g., QPSK or 8PSK) may represent a phase, and the gNB may indicate the information to the UE additionally reads on: wherein the co-phasing coefficient, where per FIG. 15 & ¶0266 i.e. The gNB may perform channel measurement and/or CSI computation (SRS Resource Indicator (SRS), CQI, RI, Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI), etc.) using the SRS transmitted from the UE, and inform the information which includes per ¶0279 a panel correction term may be represented as γ reads on: is related to channel state information (CSI) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK with teachings of PARK, since PARK enables an effect that a codebook based UL data transmission operation may be efficiently supported in a new wireless communication system (PARK ¶0023 - ¶0024 ).
14. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK, further in view of LEE et al. (US 20240333350 A1), i.e. “LEE”
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK teaches: The method of claim 8,
YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of referenced claim limitations ): wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix, and
represents the second co-phasing coefficient.
LEE teaches: wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the second co-phasing coefficient, comprises: obtaining a multiplication matrix by multiplying the second co-phasing coefficient with the first precoding matrix; and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the second precoding matrix and the multiplication matrix; wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix, and
represents the second co-phasing coefficient (LEE - ¶0089 […] codebooks for 4 antennas and co-phasing may be associated with a codebook
, where co-phasing parameter φ∈{1,j,−1,−j} or {1, −1} […] W4 includes one or more code books from among […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0089
where W4 can be one or more separate code books listed and φ∈{1,j,−1,−j} or {1, −1} taking more than one value including a second co-phasing value showing multiplication of φ with W4 where W4 can be one or more of a range of separate code books listed reads on: wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the second co-phasing coefficient, comprises: obtaining a multiplication matrix by multiplying the second co-phasing coefficient with the first precoding matrix; and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the second precoding matrix and the multiplication matrix; wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix, and
represents the second co-phasing coefficient).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK and PARK, further with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables procedures where codebooks in a set of codebooks may be down-selected to a smaller set of codebooks to reduce processing complexity (LEE ¶0080 ).
15. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over YAO in view of CIRIK, further in view of Einhaus et al. (US 20170126298 A1), i.e. “Einhaus”
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) YAO in view of CIRIK teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore CIRIK teaches: wherein the first indication information is used to determine the first TRI and the first precoding matrix indicator, and determine the second TRI and the second precoding matrix indicator (CIRIK FIG. 20A & FIG. 20 B & ¶0277 See Claim 1; ¶0296 See Claim 1; ¶0298 See Claim 1; ¶0304 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0298 […] A value of the first precoding-and-number-of-layers field may indicate reads on: wherein the first indication information is used to The value may indicate a first number of layers (or a first transmission rank) […] reads on: determine a first transmission rank indicator (TRI) and a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) index reads on: a first precoding matrix indicator, ; ¶0304 […] A value of the second precoding-and-number-of-layers field may indicate reads on: and the second indication information is used. The value may indicate a second number of layers (or a second transmission rank) reads on: to determine a second TRI i.e. a second TPMI index reads on: reads on: and a second precoding matrix indicator );
YAO in view of CIRIK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of referenced claim limitations ): and the first indication information and the second indication information are used together to determine;
Einhaus teaches: wherein the first indication information is used to determine the first precoding matrix indicator, and the first indication information and the second indication information are used together to determine the second precoding matrix indicator (Einhaus - ¶0136 […] In order to indicate two single-layer pre-coders with the Rel-11 reporting format, it is assumed that the first pre-coder for the first interference hypothesis H1 is as in Rel-11 indicated by eight bits (four bits for each of the two pre-coder components H1-PMI1-i1 and H1-PMI1-i2 for the multiplication), while the second pre-coder for the second interference hypothesis is indicated by only four bits H2-PMI1-i2, as shown in FIG. 9A; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0136 i.e. indicate two single-layer pre-coders with the Rel-11 reporting format, it is assumed that the first pre-coder for the first interference hypothesis H1 is as in Rel-11 indicated by eight bits (four bits for each of the two pre-coder components H1-PMI1-i1 and H1-PMI1-i2 for the multiplication) reads on: wherein the first indication information is used to determine the first precoding matrix indicator where the first pre-coder requires all 8 bits. Furthermore i.e. the second pre-coder for the second interference hypothesis is indicated by only four bits H2-PMI1-i2 within the eight bits reads on: and the first indication information and the second indication information are used together to determine the second precoding matrix indicator );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YAO in view of CIRIK with teachings of Einhaus, since Einhaus provides an efficient signalling of feedback information which would be also suitable for network assisted interference cancellation or suppression (Einhaus ¶0070).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the co-phasing coefficient comprises a first co-phasing coefficient and a second co-phasing coefficient, and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient, comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, the first co-phasing coefficient, and the second co-phasing coefficient, in the case where the first TRI is greater than 2, the second TRI is greater than 2, the first TRI is the same as the second TRI, and a sum of the first TRI and the second TRI is total number of channel layers”.
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) The method of claim 10, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, the first co-phasing coefficient, and the second co-phasing coefficient, comprises: obtaining a first multiplication matrix according to the second precoding matrix and the first co-phasing coefficient; obtaining a second multiplication matrix according to the second precoding matrix and the second co-phasing coefficient; and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first multiplication matrix, the second multiplication matrix, and the first precoding matrix; wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix,
represents the first co-phasing coefficient, and
represents the second co-phasing coefficient”.
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) The method of claim 10, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, the first co-phasing coefficient, and the second co-phasing coefficient, comprises: obtaining a first multiplication matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the first co-phasing coefficient; obtaining a second multiplication matrix according to the first precoding matrix and the second co-phasing coefficient; and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first multiplication matrix, the second multiplication matrix, and the second precoding matrix; wherein the uplink precoding matrix is represented as W, and W satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding matrix, ep represents the first co-phasing coefficient, and <p, represents the second co-phasing coefficient”.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the co-phasing coefficient comprises a first co-phasing coefficient and a second co-phasing coefficient, and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, and the co-phasing coefficient, comprises: determining a reference precoding matrix according to the first precoding matrix, the second precoding matrix, the first co-phasing coefficient, and the second co-phasing coefficient, in the case where the first TRI is greater than 2 and the second TRI is greater than 2; and determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the reference precoding matrix”.
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) The method of claim 13, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the reference precoding matrix is represented as WREF, and WREF satisfies:
,
wherein B1 represents the first precoding matrix, B2 represents the second precoding
represents the first co-phasing coefficient, and
represents the second co-phasing coefficient”.
Regarding Claim 15. (Original) The method of claim 13, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: receiving fourth indication information, wherein the fourth indication information is used to determine a layer index; wherein determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the reference precoding matrix comprises: determining the uplink precoding matrix according to the reference precoding matrix and the layer index”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
08/05/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414