DETAILED ACTION
Objection to drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the control details relating to the phrase (see claims 11 and 25 related to the applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of remarks dated 08/11/2026 ), “the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor
as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing (How the said average dc current I is formed by evaluation circuit 40, PWM control detail of inverter switches S1-S6 related to figs.3a, 3b-4). MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: As to claims 11 and 25, The phrase (see spec., pages 9-10, para. [0024]) “the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor” is not clear with respect to the first mode and second mode.
The control details relating to the phrase (see claims 11 and 25 related to the applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of remarks dated 08/11/2026), “the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor
as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing and referenced in specification (How the said average dc current I is formed by evaluation circuit 40, PWM control detail of inverter switches S1-S6 related to figs.3a, 3b-4). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 11, The phrase (see spec., pages 9-10, para. [0024]) “the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor” is not clear with respect to the first mode and second mode.
As to claim 25, the phrase, “to control the inverter such that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current which does not induce torque in the electric motor” is not clear with respect to the first mode and second mode.
As to claims 11 and 25, the phrase, “controlling the inverter in a first mode, in which a current provided by the battery flows through an electric motor of the vehicle electrically coupled with an AC terminal of the inverter” which is an alternating current (DC voltage of the battery 20 is converted in driving operation of the vehicle in to an AC voltage, see spec., page 10, para. [0025]).
Spec. (see para. [0026]) teaches “The control in the first mode, which takes place in accordance with an angular position of a three-phase electric motor 30 at a standstill of the electric motor 30” is missing limitations for claims 11 and 25 (see applicant’s method fig.1).
Therefore, as to claims 11 and 25, The phrase (see spec., pages 9-10, para. [0024]) “the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor” is not clear with respect to the first mode and second mode as the said angular position of the motor 30 and the standstill operation of the motor 30 limitations are missing in claim 11 and claim 25 and also not clear as how the average dc current is flowing to the motor?
No control details (of evaluation circuit 40) provided how this average dc current I (see applicant’s figs.3-4) is provided to the motor 30 andor the battery 20?.
How the said average dc current I is formed by evaluation circuit 40, PWM control details of inverter switches S1-S6 (related to figs.3a, 3b-4) are not shown.
Is there a FOC (field-oriented control detail) as how the torque is not induced in the motor 30?
Dc current I is flowing to the battery 20 (from motor 30) during the freewheel mode (Second mode when switches S1-S6 are switched off) for heating the battery 20 (see applicant’s fig.3b, para. [0027]).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over prior art of records (ZUO et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0207237 A1 and ZUO hereinafter) in view of BAKHACH EDUARD et al. (Patent. No.: DE 102014011828 A1 and EDUARD hereinafter).
As to claim 11, (New) A method for controlling an inverter of a vehicle, the method comprising:
ascertaining information about a heating requirement of a battery of the vehicle which is electrically and thermally coupled with the inverter;
controlling the inverter in a first mode, in which a current provided by the battery
flows through an electric motor of the vehicle electrically coupled with an AC terminal of the inverter; and
controlling the inverter in a second mode, which represents a freewheel of the
inverter, in which a freewheel current flowing through inverse diodes of semiconductor switches of the inverter results in the heating of the battery thermally coupled with the inverter;
wherein a change is made recurrently between the first mode and the second mode at least until the heating requirement of the battery is covered,
the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor, and
respective switching points in time for a recurring change between the first mode and the second mode are determined in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery.
(As to claim 11, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method for controlling (via [main controller P] an inverter switch circuit K3 (fig.2, para. [0055]) of a vehicle, the method (FIGS.1-5, para. [0005]) comprising:
ascertaining information about a heating requirement of a battery [battery pack E] (figs.1-3) of the vehicle which is electrically and thermally coupled with the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (see figs.1-4, method 400, S410, para’s [0018]-[0019], [0050], [0090] thru [0096]; “ZUO teaches transfer heat from motor [M] to battery [E], see para’s [0074]-[0075]); ZUO teaches “heat is generated during alternate charging and discharging of the battery pack E, see para. [0052]);
controlling (via [main controller P], see fig.2) the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] in a first mode, in which a current provided by the battery [E] flows through an electric motor [M] (see para. [0042]-[0043], [0060] thru [0065])) of the vehicle electrically coupled with an AC terminal [U, V, W] of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3]; and
controlling the inverter in a second mode (charging mode see para. [0061], [0066], [0067]-[0069]), which represents a current flow of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3], in which a current flowing through inverse diodes [Parasitic diodes VD1, VD4/VD6] of semiconductor switches S1, S4/S6 of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] results in the heating of the battery [E] thermally coupled with the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (battery pack [E] is heated using plurality of heating modes, see par. [0070]);
wherein a change is made such as repeated charging/discharging of battery pack [E] between the first mode and the second mode (see fig.2, para’s [0060] thru [0070]) at least until the heating requirement of the battery [E] is covered such as heated,
the control (via main controller P] of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (fig.2) is carried out in such a way that an average current [alternating current] (see para. [0042]) flowing through the electric motor [motor M] (fig.2) corresponds to a direct current (from batter pack E]), and
respective switching points [power switches S1-S6] (of inverter Switch circuit K3, see fig.2) by controlling the change of the controlling time among the power switches for charge and discharge control of the battery pack [E] (see para. [0070]) between the first mode and the second mode (see para’s [0060] thru [0073]) are determined in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery pack [E] (see fig.4, steps, S410-S420, para’s [0090]-[0099]).
ZUO does not mention freewheel of the inverter, in which freewheel current flowing through above said inverse diodes. Zuo teaches current flow to the electric motor [M] (see fig.2, para. [0042]), but not mention does not induce torque in the electric motor.
EDUARD teaches a method of heating a battery 12 in a motor vehicle (see page 1, abstract), in which freewheel current flowing (energy stored from motor drive 16, fig.1) through the inverse diodes (of converter 14 to battery 12, see fig.1, page 2, para’s 8- 9, and page 3, 1st para.) and teaches average current flow to battery 12 (DC current IDC, see fig.1). EDUARD also teaches (see page 1, abstract, 1st para., page 3) no torque is built up in motor drive 16 result in increase in temperature of the battery 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have freewheel of the inverter, in which freewheel current flowing through inverse diodes and does not induce torque in the electric motor of EDUARD in the system of ZUO because an effective heating of the battery is possible (see page1, abstract, of EDUARD).
As to claim 12, (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein the semiconductor switches of the inverter are SiC-MOSFETs and/or GaN-MOSFETs and/or Si-MOSFETs, and/or the inverter and the electric motor are each designed as single-phase or multiphase, and/or the electric motor is an externally excited synchronous machine.
(As to claim 12, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein the power switches[S1-S6] of the [inverter switch circuit K3] (fig.2) are SiC (see para. [0027) and/or the [inverter switch circuit K3] and the electric motor [M] are each designed as three-phase [U, V, W]).
As to claim 13, (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein the battery is thermally coupled with the electric motor and heating of the electric motor caused by the current flow in the electric motor is additionally used for heating the battery.
(As to claim 13, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein the battery [E] is thermally coupled with the electric motor [M] (see para’s [0074]-[0075]) and heating of the electric motor [M] caused by the current flow in the electric motor [M] is additionally used for heating the battery [E] (see fig.2, para. [0042]).
As to claim 14, (New) The method according to claim 12, wherein the battery is thermally coupled with the electric motor and heating of the electric motor caused by the current flow in the electric motor is additionally used for heating the battery.
(As to claim 14, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein the battery [E] is thermally coupled with the electric motor [M] (see para’s [0074]-[0075]) and heating of the electric motor [M] caused by the current flow in the electric motor [M] is additionally used for heating the battery [E] (see fig.2, para. [0042]).
As to claim 15, (New) The method according to claim 13, wherein a first heating contribution provided by the inverter and/or a second heating contribution provided by the electric motor for heating the battery are achieved by determining:
switching frequencies of the recurring change between the first mode and the second mode, and/or
levels of respective gate voltages of the semiconductors of the inverter, and/or
durations of dead times which are to be observed during the complementary switching of corresponding high-side and low-side semiconductor switches of the inverter.
(As to claim 15, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein a first heating contribution provided by the inverter [K3] (fig.2) and/or a second heating contribution provided by the electric motor [M] for heating the battery [E] are achieved by determining:
switching frequencies (see para. [0062], [0071] thru [0073]) of the repeated change between the first mode and the second mode (charge/discharge control of battery [E] (via switching control of power switches [S1-S6] of inverter [K3], see fig.2) for first and second control modes, see para’s [0060] thru [0070]).
As to claim 16, (New) The method according to claim 14, wherein a first heating contribution provided by the inverter and/or a second heating contribution provided by the electric motor for heating the battery are achieved by determining:
switching frequencies of the recurring change between the first mode and the second mode, and/or
levels of respective gate voltages of the semiconductors of the inverter, and/or
durations of dead times which are to be observed during the complementary switching of corresponding high-side and low-side semiconductor switches of the inverter.
(As to claim 16, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein a first heating contribution provided by the inverter [K3] (fig.2) and/or a second heating contribution provided by the electric motor [M] for heating the battery [E] are achieved by determining:
switching frequencies (see para. [0062], [0071] thru [0073]) of the repeated change between the first mode and the second mode (charge/discharge control of battery [E] (via switching control of power switches [S1-S6] of inverter [K3], see fig.2) for first and second control modes, see para’s [0060] thru [0070]).
As to claim 17, (New) The method according to claim 15, wherein the first and second heating contributions are determined in dependence on a current capacity of the inverter and/or the electric motor.
(As to claim 17, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein a first heating contribution provided by the inverter [K3] (fig.2) and/or a second heating contribution provided by the electric motor [M] for heating the battery [E] are determined on a heating current data (measured via current sensor, see fig.2, para. [0097]) connecting the inverter [inverter circuit K3] and/or the electric motor [M]).
As to claim 18, (New) The method according to claim 16, wherein the first and second heating contributions are determined in dependence on a current capacity of the inverter and/or the electric motor.
(As to claim 18, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein a first heating contribution provided by the inverter [K3] (fig.2) and/or a second heating contribution provided by the electric motor [M] for heating the battery [E] are determined on a heating current data (measured via current sensor, see fig.2, para. [0097) connecting the inverter [inverter circuit K3] and/or the electric motor [M]).
As to claim 23, (New) The method according to claim 12, wherein the heating requirement of the battery is ascertained in dependence on a planned charging process of the battery, and/or heating of the battery corresponding to the heating requirement takes place on the basis of a control and/or a regulation.
(As to claim 23, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein the heating requirement of the battery [E] is ascertained (via main controller P, see fig.2) in dependence on a planned charging process of the battery [E] (based on acquiring SOC parameter from battery [E], see para’s [0046] thru [0050], [0097] thru [0100]).
As to claim 24, (New) The method according to claim 13, wherein the heating requirement of the battery is ascertained in dependence on a planned charging process of the battery, and/or heating of the battery corresponding to the heating requirement takes place on the basis of a control and/or a regulation.
(As to claim 24, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) A method (figs.1-5), wherein the heating requirement of the battery [E] is ascertained (via main controller P, see fig.2) in dependence on a planned charging process of the battery [E] (based on acquiring SOC parameter from battery [E], see para’s [0046] thru [0050], [0097] thru [0100]).
As to claim 25, (New) An apparatus for controlling an inverter of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
an evaluation unit having a data input and a data output,
wherein the evaluation unit is configured,
in conjunction with the data input, to ascertain information about a heating
requirement of a battery of the vehicle electrically and thermally coupled with the inverter,
in conjunction with the data output, to control the inverter in a first mode, in which a current provided by the battery flows through an electric motor of the vehicle electrically coupled with an AC terminal of the inverter,
to control the inverter in a second mode, which represents a freewheel of the
inverter, in which a freewheel current flowing through inverse diodes of semiconductor switches of the inverter results in heating of the battery thermally coupled with the inverter,
to change recurrently between the first mode and the second mode at least
until the heating requirement of the battery is covered, and
to control the inverter such that an average current flowing through the electric
motor corresponds to a direct current which does not induce torque in the electric motor, and
to determine respective switching points in time for a recurring change
between the first mode and the second mode in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery.
(As to claim 25, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0007]) An apparatus [battery heating system] (see figs.1, 2, 3, 4, 5, para’s [0009]-[0010]-[0011]) for controlling an inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (fig.2) of a vehicle, the apparatus [battery heating system] comprising:
an evaluation unit [battery management unit P10] (figs.2, 4-5) having a data input (battery parameter such as temperature, current, SOC (from battery pack [E], see para’s [0097], [0107], [0108]), and a data output (send to motor controller P20], see fig.2, para. [0110], [0111]),
wherein the evaluation unit [battery management unit P10] (see figs.2, 4-5) is configured,
in conjunction with the data input (battery parameter such as temperature, current, SOC (from battery pack [E], see para’s [0097], [0107], [0108]), to ascertain information about a heating requirement of a battery [E] (see steps S410, S420, figs.4-5) of the vehicle electrically and thermally coupled with the inverter [inverter Switch circuit K3] (ZUO teaches “transfer heat from motor [M] to battery [E], see para’s [0074]-[0075]); ZUO teaches “heat is generated during alternate charging and discharging of the battery pack E, see para. [0052]),
in conjunction with the data output [in response to heating instruction to motor controller P20] (from Battery management unit P10, see fig.2),
to control (via [main controller P], see fig.2) the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] in a first mode, in which a current provided by the battery [E] flows through an electric motor [M] (see para. [0042]-[0043], [0060] thru [0065])) of the vehicle electrically coupled with an AC terminal [U, V, W] of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3]; and
to control the inverter in a second mode (charging mode see para. [0061], [0066], [0067]-[0069]), which represents a current flow of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3], in which a current flowing through inverse diodes [Parasitic diodes VD1, VD4/VD6] of semiconductor switches S1, S4/S6 of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] results in the heating of the battery [E] thermally coupled with the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (battery pack [E] is heated using plurality of heating modes, see para. [0070], [0074]-[0075]),
wherein a change is made such as repeated charging/discharging of battery pack [E] between the first mode and the second mode (see fig.2, para’s [0060] thru [0070]) at least until the heating requirement of the battery [E] is covered such as heated, and
to control (via [main controller P] the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (fig.2) is carried out in such a way that an average current [alternating/three-phase current] (see fig.2, para. [0042]) flowing through the electric motor [motor M] (fig.2) corresponds to a direct current (via batter pack E]), and
to determine (via controller P, fig.2) respective switching points [power switches S1-S6] (of inverter Switch circuit K3, see fig.2) by controlling the change of the controlling time among the power switches for charge and discharge control of the battery pack [E] (see para. [0070]) between the first mode and the second mode (see para’s [0060] thru [0073]) are determined in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery pack [E] (see fig.4, steps, S410-S420, para’s [0090]-[0099]).
ZUO does not mention freewheel of the inverter, in which freewheel current flowing through above said inverse diodes. Zuo teaches current flow to the electric motor [M] (see fig.2, para. [0042]), but not mention does not induce torque in the electric motor.
EDUARD teaches a drive device 10 of heating a battery 12 in a motor vehicle (see page 1, abstract), in which freewheel current flowing (energy stored from motor drive 16, fig.1) through the inverse diodes (of converter 14 to battery 12, see fig.1, page 2, para’s 8- 9, and page 3, 1st para.) and teaches average current flow to battery 12 (DC current IDC, see fig.1). EDUARD also teaches (see page 1, abstract, 1st par., page 3) no torque is built up in motor drive 16 result in increase in temperature of the battery 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have freewheel of the inverter, in which freewheel current flowing through inverse diodes and does not induce torque in the electric motor of EDUARD in the system of ZUO because an effective heating of the battery is possible (see page1, abstract, of EDUARD).
As to claim 26, (New) A vehicle comprising a device according to claim 25.
(As to claim 26, ZUO teaches (figs. 1-5, para’s [0002]-[0003], [0005]-[0007]) A vehicle comprising a device [battery heating system] (see figs.1, 2, 3, 4, 5, para’s [0009]-[0010]-[0011]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 19-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-22 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claims 19-20, the prior art of records (closest prior arts, ZUO et al. and BAKHACH EDUARD et al.) fails to teach the semiconductor switches, the inverse diodes of which conduct the freewheel current in the second mode of the inverter, are permanently switched off during the entire heating phase or during a part of the heating phase of the battery, and/or are switched, in consideration of required dead times, in a complementary manner to their respective corresponding high-side or low-side semiconductor switches.
As to claims 21-22, the prior art of records (closest prior arts, ZUO et al. and BAKHACH EDUARD et al.) fails to teach required dead times during the complementary switching of corresponding low-side and high-side semiconductor switches are initially determined and/or are adapted over time in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery.
However, formal requirements are outstanding (See 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 11-26) needs to be corrected and clarified.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see Remarks filed 08/11/2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In (page 6, last para., page 8, second para., page 9, fourth para. and page 11, 3rd par. of said remarks), applicant’s argue for claims 11 and 25 that:
Specifically, Zuo and Eduard do not teach or suggest the following limitations of the claim: controlling the inverter in a second mode, which represents a freewheel of the inverter, in which a freewheel current flowing through inverse diodes of semiconductor switches of the inverter results in the heating of the battery thermally coupled with the inverter;
the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor, and
respective switching points in time for a recurring change between the first mode and the second mode are determined in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery.
Examiner’s response:
As to claims 11 and 25, controlling the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3 in a second mode (charging mode see para. [0061], [0066], [0067]-[0069]), which represents a current flow of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3], in which a current flowing through inverse diodes [Parasitic diodes VD1, VD4/VD6] of semiconductor switches S1, S4/S6 of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] results in the heating of the battery [E] thermally coupled with the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (battery pack [E] is heated using plurality of heating modes, see par. [0070]; Zuo teaches thermally coupled such as motor M/inverter switching section K3 (figs.2-3) transfer the heat to the battery pack E through a cooling subsystem, see para’s [0074]-[0076]);
wherein a change is made such as repeated charging/discharging of battery pack [E] between the first mode and the second mode (see fig.2, para’s [0060] thru [0070]) at least until the heating requirement of the battery [E] is covered such as heated,
the control (via main controller P] of the inverter [inverter switch circuit K3] (fig.2) is carried out in such a way that an average current [alternating current] (see para. [0042]) flowing through the electric motor [motor M] (via motor phases U, V, W, & windings L1, l3, L5, see fig.2) corresponds to a direct current (i.e. from batter pack E], via V+, V-, which provide dc current to inverter switch section K3, see fig.2), and
respective switching points [power switches S1-S6] (of inverter Switch circuit K3, see fig.2) by controlling the change of the controlling time among the power switches for charge and discharge control of the battery pack [E] (see para. [0070]) between the first mode and the second mode (see para’s [0060] thru [0073]) are determined in dependence on the heating requirement of the battery pack [E] (see fig.4, steps, S410-S420, para’s [0090]-[0099]).
ZUO does not mention freewheel of the inverter, in which freewheel current flowing through above said inverse diodes. Zuo teaches current flow to the electric motor [M] (see fig.2, para. [0042]), but not mention does not induce torque in the electric motor.
EDUARD teaches a method of heating a battery 12 in a motor vehicle (see page 1, abstract), in which freewheel current flowing (energy stored from motor drive 16, fig.1) through the inverse diodes (of switches Q1-Q6 of converter 14 to battery 12, see fig.1, page 2, para’s 7- 10, and page 3, 1st para., page 4, 1st thru 3rd para’s) and teaches average current flow to battery 12 (DC current IDC, via Dc+,DC-, see fig.1). EDUARD also teaches (see page 1, abstract, 1st para., page 3) no torque is built up in motor drive 16 result in increase in temperature of the battery 12. Torque forming current Iq is regulated to zero (See fig.2), while dc current Idc (See fig.2) is provided to battery 12 via freewheeling diodes of switches Q1-Q6 of converter 14 (which are in the off state [six switch open 6SO], see figs.1-2, pages 2-4), which lead s to heating of the battery 12 (“stored magnetic energy from motor drive machine 16 fed back and is dissipated in battery 12, see EDUARD page 4, 1st thru 3rd para’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have freewheel of the inverter, in which freewheel current flowing through inverse diodes and does not induce torque in the electric motor of EDUARD in the system of ZUO because an effective heating of the battery is possible (see page1, abstract, of EDUARD).
Examiner’s comments related to applicant’s arguments for claims 11 and 25:
As to claim 11, The phrase (see spec., pages 9-10, para. [0024]) “the control of the inverter is carried out in such a way that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current, which does not induce torque in the electric motor” is not clear with respect to the first mode and second mode.
As to claim 25, the phrase, “to control the inverter such that an average current flowing through the electric motor corresponds to a direct current which does not induce torque in the electric motor” is not clear with respect to the first mode and second mode.
How the average current or dc current I (fig.4) is generated is not clear as there are no control details of evaluation circuit 40, PWM control details of inverter switches S1-S6 (related to figs.3a, 3b-4) are not shown.
Is there a FOC (field-oriented control detail) as how the torque is not induced in the motor 30?
Dc current I is flowing to the battery 20 (from motor 30) during the freewheel mode (Second mode when switches S1-S6 are switched off) for heating the battery 20 (see applicant’s fig.3b, para. [0027]) has a similar teaching with EDUARDO (figs.1, 2-3) as explained above in the rejection and also in the corresponding arguments.
As to claims 11 and 25, the phrase, “controlling the inverter in a first mode, in which a current provided by the battery flows through an electric motor of the vehicle electrically coupled with an AC terminal of the inverter” which can be alternating current (DC voltage of the battery 20 is converted in driving operation of the vehicle in to an AC voltage, see applicant’s spec., page 10, para. [0025]).
However, spec., (see para. [0026]) teaches “The control in the first mode, which takes place in accordance with an angular position of a three-phase electric motor 30 at a standstill of the electric motor 30”, which is missing in claims 11 and 25 for the said first mode and the second mode (see applicant’s method fig.1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837