DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 16-32) in the reply filed on 9/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden on the Examiner to search and consider all claims. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not a criterion for consideration when making a restriction in a 371 application. The Examiner has demonstrated that the groups lack unity of invention, and as such, the restriction is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 33-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/22/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 24-25 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 24-25 recite “at least one of said peripheral inhibitors”. Examiner suggests amending to “at least one peripheral inhibitor” for clarity.
Claim 30 recites “said least one peripheral degradation inhibitor”. Examiner suggests amending to “at least one peripheral degradation inhibitor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “said peripheral degradation inhibitors”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “said peripheral degradation inhibitors” is referring to more than one peripheral degradation inhibitor (but not all), or all peripheral degradation inhibitors present in the composition/medicament. For purposes of prosecution, this limitation is being interpreted to read “all peripheral degradation inhibitors”.
Claim 21 recites “said peripheral degradation inhibitor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “said peripheral degradation inhibitor” is referring to one peripheral degradation inhibitor, more than one peripheral degradation inhibitor, or all peripheral degradation inhibitors present in the composition/medicament. For purposes of prosecution, this limitation is being interpreted to read “said at least one peripheral degradation inhibitor”.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “comprises one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, binders, disintegrants, solvents, flavors, masking agents, and/or coloring agents.” This renders the scope of the claim indefinite. "Comprising" is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential, but other elements may be added and still form a construct within the scope of the claim. MPEP 2111.03. In contrast, the use of “one or more” seems to imply that only one of the names elements must be present. Thus, the use of this contradicting language renders the scope of the claim indefinite. For purposes of compact prosecution, the instant limitation is being interpreted to read “comprises one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, binders, disintegrants, solvents, flavors, masking agents, or coloring agents”.
Examiner Comments
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The Examiner would like to note that the references cited herein may not explicitly designate “tryptophan” and “5-hydroxytryptophan” as “L-tryptophan” and “L-5-hydroxytryptophan”. However, it is implicit that these terms are interchangeable in the context of treating serotonin-related disorders, as the L-isomer is the form that is used in protein synthesis and can cross the blood brain barrier, whereas the D-isomer is not metabolized by humans. See Holecek (2026) and Richard et al. (2009)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 20-24, 28-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al. (US 7,517,908 B2, patented 4/14/2009, cited on the 8/16/2024 IDS) in view of Kamprad (US 8,642,639 B2, patented 2/4/2014, cited on the 8/16/2024 IDS).
Regarding claims 16, 21, 23 and 28, Krishnan teaches the treatment of serotonergic neurotransmission dysregulation disorder through the administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a serotonin enhancer, a serotonin precursor such as 5-hydroxytryptophan (5-HTP), a peripheral decarboxylase inhibitor such as carbidopa, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [col. 2 lines 50-64]. The serotonin enhancer may be tryptophan [col. 11 lines 59-62]. Krishnan does not explicitly disclose that the tryptophan is present in a sustained-release dosage form.
Kamprad teaches the administration of a combination of L-tryptophan and benserazide (peripheral degradation inhibitor) wherein the L-tryptophan is present in a retarded formulation (reads on sustained-release) [claim 1]. Kamprad teaches that L-tryptophan, which acts to increase serotonin levels, is advantageous when administered in sustained-release form for the treatment of central nervous system conditions due to the uptake mechanism of the blood brain barrier [col. 3 lines 33-47]. An increased serotonin level can be used therapeutically or preventively for pain, depression, sleeping disorders and other serotonin dependent disorders of the CNS [col. 3 lines 36-38]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Krishnan with that of Kamprad, and include L-tryptophan in a sustained-release form, in order to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Krishnan teaches that the pharmaceutical composition may comprise of 0.001% to 40% serotonin enhancer; 0.1% to 60% of 5-HTP; and 0.0001 to 40% of carbidopa, all amounts by weight of the composition [col. 14 lines 48-63]. It would be obvious to include tryptophan, a serotonin enhancer, in the amount that is taught to be suitable for serotonin enhancers. These amount overlap with and make obvious the instantly claimed range of weight ratios. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 22, Krishnan teaches that the composition may comprise of carbidopa and benserazide [col. 12 lines 1-2].
Regarding claim 24, Krishnan does not explicitly teach a composition wherein the peripheral degradation inhibitor is in a non-sustained release dosage form. Kamprad teaches that the combination of sustained-release tryptophan with a non-sustained release peripheral degradation inhibitor allows for simpler, cost-effective pharmaceutical development and results in fewer side effects [col. 4 lines 5-22]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Krishnan with that of Kamprad and formulate a composition comprising a peripheral degradation inhibitor in a non-sustained release dosage form to achieve the aforementioned advantages.
Regarding claim 29, Krishnan teaches that the composition may be in the form of a tablet, capsule, solution [col. 12 lines 35-48], or inhalant [col. 13 line 45-48].
Regarding claim 30, Krishnan teaches concurrent administration of serotonin enhancer and peripheral decarboxylase inhibitor such as carbidopa [col. 2 line 14-20]. Krishnan teaches that tryptophan and 5-HTP are serotonin enhancers. [col. 11 lines 59-63]. Krishnan further teaches that the active compounds described may be formulated in combination with each other for administration [col 12 line 14-16]. Thus, the composition taught by Krishnan is suitable for simultaneous intake of tryptophan, 5-HTP, and carbidopa. Examiner would also like to note that the instant claim language is a recitation of intended use and does not constitute a functional limitation. If claim language merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the recitation is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP 2111.02. In the instant case, the recitation of “suitable for the simultaneous intake …” does not add a structural distinction to the claim. A prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited reads on the claim. Since Krishnan teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising all of the claimed ingredients, which may be formulated as a single dosage form, the composition is capable of performing the intended use as recited, and thus meets the instant claim.
Regarding claim 32, Krishnan teaches that the composition is for treating a serotonergic neurotransmission dysregulation disorder such as depression [col. 2 lines 50-53]. Examiner would also like to note that the instant claim language is a recitation of intended use and does not constitute a functional limitation. If claim language merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the recitation is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP 2111.02. In the instant case, the recitation of “suitable for the simultaneous intake …” does not add a structural distinction to the claim. A prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited reads on the claim. Since Krishnan teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising ingredients that are known in the art to treat serotonin-related disorders of the CNS, the composition is capable of performing the intended use as recited, and thus meets the instant claim.
Claims 18, 25, 27, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al. (US 7,517,908 B2, patented 4/14/2009, cited on the 8/16/2024 IDS) in view of Kamprad (US 8,642,639 B2, patented 2/4/2014, cited on the 8/16/2024 IDS), as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Jacobsen (US 2023/0047338 A1, effectively filed 7/30/2021).
Regarding claim 18, Krishnan and Kamprad do not explicitly disclose a composition wherein 5-HTP is present in a sustained-release dosage form. Jacobsen teaches pharmaceutical formulations comprising 5-HTP and carbidopa in a slow-release form [Abstract]. Jacobsen teaches that 5-HTP has a short half-life which necessitates frequent dosing to provide reasonably stable exposure, and is therefore impractical for therapeutic use [0006]. A sustained-release formulation of 5-HTP can allow for more convenient dosing [0008] and reduction of side effects associated with rapidly increasing plasma levels of 5-HTP [0007]. It would be obvious to one or ordinary skill, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Krishnan and Kamprad with that of Jacobsen, and include 5-HTP in the composition in a sustained-release dosage form to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Regarding claims 25 and 27, Krishnan and Kamprad do not explicitly disclose a composition wherein the peripheral degradation inhibitor is present in a sustained-release dosage form. Jacobsen teaches a sustained-release dosage form comprising 5-HTP and carbidopa [Abstract]. Jacobsen further teaches that carbidopa enhances the bioavailability of 5-HTP when administered in a sustained-release mode in spatial and temporal juxtaposition with 5-HTP [0059]. It would be obvious to one or ordinary skill, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Krishnan and Kamprad with that of Jacobsen, and include carbidopa in a sustained-release dosage form to increase the bioavailability of 5-HTP in the composition.
Regarding claim 31, Krishnan teaches concurrent administration of serotonin enhancer and peripheral decarboxylase inhibitor such as carbidopa [col. 2 lines 14-20]. Krishnan teaches that tryptophan and 5-HTP are serotonin enhancers. [col. 11 lines 59-63]. Krishnan further teaches that the active compounds described may be formulated in combination with each other for administration [col. 12 lines 14-16]. Thus, the composition taught by Krishnan is suitable for simultaneous intake of tryptophan, 5-HTP, and carbidopa. Examiner would also like to note that the instant claim language is a recitation of intended use and does not constitute a functional limitation. If claim language merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the recitation is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP 2111.02. In the instant case, the recitation of “suitable for the simultaneous intake …” does not add a structural distinction to the claim. A prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited reads on the claim. Since Krishnan teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising all of the claimed ingredients, which may be formulated as a single dosage form, the composition is capable of performing the intended use as recited, and thus meets the instant claim.
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al. (US 7,517,908 B2, patented 4/14/2009, cited on the 8/16/2024 IDS) in view of Mihaylov (US 2006/0045913 A1, published 3/2/2006).
Regarding claim 16, Krishnan teaches the treatment of serotonergic neurotransmission dysregulation disorder through the administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a serotonin enhancer, a serotonin precursor such as 5-hydroxytryptophan, a peripheral decarboxylase inhibitor such as carbidopa, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [col. 2 lines 50-61]. The serotonin enhancer may be tryptophan [col. 11 lines 59-62]. Krishnan does not explicitly disclose that the tryptophan is present in a sustained-release dosage dorm.
Mihaylov teaches the administration of tryptophan and 5-HTP for the treatment of serotonin deficiency disorder in the central nervous system [0001]. Mihaylov teaches a bilayer tablet comprising one layer containing rapid-release 5-HTP and another layer containing sustained-release tryptophan and/or 5-HTP [claims 1-3, 6-8]. Mihaylov further teaches that maintaining bioavailable tryptophan levels for longer periods of time allows for better therapeutic efficiency with lower dosages, which may overcome potential side effects caused by acute administration of elevated quantities of tryptophan or 5-HTP [0004]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Krishnan with that of Mihaylov, and formulate the pharmaceutical composition of Krishnan to comprise tryptophan in a sustained-release form to ameliorate potential side effects.
Regarding claim 19, Krishnan does not explicitly disclose a composition wherein 5-HTP is present in a non-sustained release dosage from. Mihaylov teaches that the administration of treatment comprising slow-release tryptophan and fast-release 5-HTP demonstrated unexpected synergic activity and significant clinical response in the reduction of depressive symptoms [0054]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the teachings of Krishnan with that of Mihaylov, and formulate the pharmaceutical composition to include the tryptophan in a slow-release dosage form and 5-HTP in a fast-release dosage form for improved therapeutic outcomes.
Claims 16, 18, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamprad (US 8,642,639 B2, patented 2/4/2014, cited on the 8/16/2024 IDS) in view of Mihaylov (US 2006/0045913 A1, published 3/2/2006).
Regarding claims 16, 18 and 26, Kamprad teaches the administration of a combination of L-tryptophan and benserazide (peripheral degradation inhibitor) wherein the L-tryptophan is present in a retarded formulation (reads on sustained-release) and the benserazide is present in a non-retarded from (reads on non-sustained release) [claim 1]. Kamprad does not explicitly disclose 5-HTP in a sustained release dosage form.
Mihaylov teaches the administration of tryptophan and 5-HTP for the treatment of serotonin deficiency disorder in the central nervous system [0001]. Mihaylov teaches a tablet comprising a rapid-release component of 5-HTP and a slow-release component containing tryptophan and/or 5-HTP [claims 1-3, 6-8]. Mihaylov further teaches that an exemplary table comprising fast-release 5-HTP and slow-release 5-HTP showed similar reduction of depressive symptoms as a tablet comprising fast-release 5-HTP and slow-release tryptophan [Table]. Both Kamprad and Mihaylov teach compositions comprising tryptophan and 5-HTP for the treatment of serotonin-related disorders such as depression. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2166.06. Thus, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill to modify the teachings of Kamprad with that of Mihaylov and formulate a composition comprising tryptophan in a sustained-release dosage form, 5-HTP in a sustained-release dosage form, and a peripheral degradation inhibitor in a non-sustained release dosage form.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AMANDA LYNN CHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613