Detailed Action
This application is a national stage application of PCT/SG2023/050096, filed February 17, 2023, which claims benefit of foreign application SG10200001563, filed February 17, 2022. Claims 19-33 are pending in this application and examined on the merits herein. Applicant’s preliminary amendment submitted September 17, 2024, is acknowledged wherein claims 1-18 are canceled and new claims 19-33 are introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These claims are directed to methods of treating a cell with a compound. The claims further describe contacting the cell with the compound at “various concentrations” and “various duration.” These relative terms are not defined in the claims or the specification and have no clear meaning, rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 depends form claim 19, and includes as its sole additional limitation the exact same listing of compounds already present in claim 19. Therefore claim 20 fails to further limit the base claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-23 and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pitha et al. (US pre-grant publication 2006/0116330, cited in PTO-1449) as evidenced by Cohen et al. and Koubova et al. (both references included with PTO-892)
Independent claims 19 and 20 are directed to a method of extending the chronological lifespan of a cell comprising contacting the cell with a compound selected from a number of options including compounds having a formula (I):
. Dependent claims 21-23 and 26-28 further define the structure of the compound in a manner that encompasses the compounds 2,5-anhydro-D-glucitol and 2,5-anhydro-D-mannitol.
Pitha et al. discloses a method comprising administering a glucose antimetabolite to an animal to enhance longevity in the animal, to alter utilization of glucose and mimic calorie restriction. (p. 1 paragraph 8) Glucose antimetabolites include 2,5-anhydro-D-glucitol and 2,5-anhydro-D-mannitol, which interfere with glucose utilization in cells. (p. 2 paragraph 18, p. 3 paragraph 27) Therefore Pitha discloses a method comprising contacting a cell with a compound of formula (I) which mimics the effects of caloric restriction. While Pitha does not specifically disclose that this method extends the chronological lifespan of cells in the subject, Koubova et al. discloses that caloric restriction can down-regulate apoptosis in some cell types. (p. 317 left column second paragraph – right column second paragraph) Furthermore Cohen et al. also discloses that caloric restriction decreases apoptosis in mammalian cells. Therefore it is reasonably concluded that mimicking the caloric restriction response by the methods described by Pitha et al. inherently extends the chronological lifespan of cells in the subject being treated by mimicking calorie restriction and inhibiting apoptosis of said cells, thereby anticipating the present claims.
Regarding claim 31, the subject treated by the method of Pitha is an animal. Regarding claim 32, Pitha describes enhancing longevity, which is treatment of an aging associated condition.
Claims 19-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (US pre-grant publication 2018/0133192, cited in PTO-892) as evidenced by Piek et al. (References included with PTO-892)
Independent claims 19 and 20 are directed to a method of extending the chronological lifespan of a cell comprising contacting the cell with a compound selected from a number of options including compounds having a formula (I):
. Dependent claims 21-28 further define the structure of the compound in a manner that encompasses the compounds 2,5-anhydro-D-glucitol, 2,5-anhydro-D-mannitol, 2,5-anhydro-D-mannitol tetraacetate, and 1-amino-2,5-anhydro-D-glucitol.
Jia et al. discloses fructose analogs targeting glycolytic pathways that can target cancer cells while having minimal impact on normal cells. (pp. 1-3 paragraph 5) Compounds described as usable for this purpose include 2,5-D-anhydro-mannitol, 2,5-anhydroglucotol, 2,5-anhydro-D-mannitol tetraacetate, and 1-amino-2,5-anhydro-D-mannitol, which fall within the specific structures claimed in claims 19-30. In addition to cancer, Jia et al. further discloses administering these compounds to a subject to treat organ fibrosis such as liver fibrosis or myocardial fibrosis. (p. 3 paragraph 14)
While Jia does not specifically note that treating fibrosis as disclosed would involve extending the chronological lifespan of cells, Piek et al. discloses that fibrosis is a hallmark of pathological cardiac remodeling. (p. 200 left column second paragraph) Furthermore myocardial fibrosis leads to cell death and a vicious cycle of impaired function, fibrogenesis and further cell death. Therefore it is reasonably expected that administering the compounds described by Jia et al. to treat myocardial fibrosis would inherently prevent further cell death in the heart and extend the chronological lifespan of at least sone cells in the heart, thereby anticipating the present claims.
Regarding claim 31, the subject treated by the method of Jia is an animal. Regarding claim 32 Piek et al. discloses that hear failure and the resulting fibrosis are age-related conditions. (abstract)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitha et al. (US pre-grant publication 2006/0116330, cited in PTO-1449) The disclosure of Pitha et al. is discussed above. Pitha et al. does not specifically disclose a method of treating one of the particular conditions recited in claim 33, such as cancer. However, Pitha does disclose that compounds having this same function would also inhibit tumor growth. (p. 3 paragraph 33) It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to administer the same compounds for the purpose of inhibiting tumor growth, in view of the reasonable expectation that they would work for this purpose.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693 9/22/2026