DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-26, 28-41, and 44 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
All paragraph numbers (¶) throughout this office action, unless otherwise noted, are from the US PGPub of this application US20250152643A1, Published 05/15/2025.
Applicant is encouraged to utilize the new web-based Automated Interview Request (AIR) tool for submitting interview requests; more information can be found at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
Of note, there is not an attorney of record on file due to a lack of an official power of attorney of record. While a customer number has been provided on the ADS submitted 08/16/2024, this is not the equivalent of a power of attorney or an authorization to act in a representative capacity. In order to expedite prosecution in the instant application, it is suggested that a power of attorney be filed as per MPEP §402 or MPEP §1807, or an Authorization to Act in a Representative Capacity be filed as per MPEP §403 in order for the Office to freely and openly discuss the merits of the case with the applicant's representative(s). Please refer to https://www.uspto.gov/about-us/contact-us if you have questions regarding the proper filing of a power of attorney.
Optional Authorization to Initiate Electronic Communications
The Applicant’s representative may wish to consider supplying a written authorization in response to this Office action to correspond with the Examiner via electronic mail (e-mail). This authorization is optional on the part of the Applicant’s representative, but it should be noted that the Examiner may not initiate nor respond to communications via electronic mail unless and until Applicant’s representative authorizes such communications in writing within the official record of the patent application. A sample authorization is available at MPEP § 502.03, part II. If Applicant’s representative chooses to provide this authorization, please ensure to include a valid e-mail address along with said authorization.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2026 and 12/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of implied phraseology (e.g. “The present disclosure relates…”) and the use of legal phraseology (e.g. “e.g.” stands for “exempli gratia”, and it is suggested it be replaced with “for example”.) A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See “https://wiki.cancer.org.au/australia/uidelines:Colorectal_cancer/Biological_aents_first-line_treatment_of_metastatic_CRC”, “https://www.jakafi.com/pdf/prescribing-information.pdf “, and “https://packageinserts.bms.com/pi/pi_yervoy.pdf” at ¶[0264].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b); Second Paragraph
Claim 1 and dependent claims 2-26, 28-41, and 44 thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites an anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprising three heavy chain complementarity determining regions (CDRs; HCDR1, HCDR2, HCDR3) of a heavy chain variable region (HCVR) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 and three light chain complementarity determining regions (LCDR1, LCDR2, LCDR3) of a light chain variable region (LCVR) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. However, the claim fails to identify the numbering convention or method used to define the recited boundaries of the recited CDRs. Since the exact numbering system for the CDRs is not identified, so it is unclear as to the metes and bounds of the claimed antibody. Since only the sequences of the HCVR and LCVR are claimed and not the antibody numbering system utilized to identify said CDRs within each region, it would be unclear to a skilled artisan if they are infringing on the metes and bounds of the claim. The specification fails to provide further clarification as it states that numerous numbering systems, or a combination of numbering systems, may be used to identify the CDR regions of the larger antibody. The specification at ¶[0017] identifies certain SEQ ID NOs: claimed as being one embodiment of the specific CDRs; however, this is one embodiment and does not encompass all potential CDR embodiments that are encompassed by different CDR numbering systems. It is required that the numbering system used for the CDRs be identified within the claim to ensure the correct antibody with the correct function is being claimed and is clear to one of skill in the art.
For instance, Figure 6 of Dondelinger et. al. (Dondelinger M, et. al. Front Immunol. 2018 Oct 16;9:2278.) illustrates the issue. If a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 is provided for the VH chain, the CDRs would be different depending on what numbering system is used. Say the claims are drawn to an antibody that consists of a CDR1 of SEQ ID NO: 3(SGSAMH) (CDR identified with Martin numbering and Contact definition schema), wherein the longer antibody sequence is that of SEQ ID NO:1. Using a program or online tool such as AbRSA (http://cao.labshare.cn/AbRSA/abrsa.php) or NovoPro (https://www.novoprolabs.com/tools/cdr), a skilled artisan can identify the CDR regions in a longer antibody sequence that at least consists of a variable heavy (VH) or variable light (VL) chain complete sequence. Under Chothia numbering, an antibody with a VH of SEQ ID NO:1 would have its CDRs identified as the following:
EVQLVETGGGVVRPGRSLRLSCTTSGFSFSGSAMHWVRQAPGKGLEWVAVISHDGNIIQYHDSVKGRFTISRDNSKNVLLLQMNSLRVDDTAMYYCARDVWLLPATISYAFDFWGQGTMVTVSS
Under Kabat numbering, an antibody with a VH of SEQ ID NO:1 would have its CDRs identified as the following:
EVQLVETGGGVVRPGRSLRLSCTTSGFSFSGSAMHWVRQAPGKGLEWVAVISHDGNIIQYHDSVKGRFTISRDNSKNVLLLQMNSLRVDDTAMYYCARDVWLLPATISYAFDFWGQGTMVTVSS
As one can see, the antibody with a VH of SEQ ID NO:1 under Kabat numbering has a CDR1 which consists of GSAMH, while the CDR1 using Chothia numbering consists of GFSFSGS. Neither therefore would be infringing upon the antibody with a CDR1 that consists of SGSAMH, even though all three of these sequences were found within the same VH region of the same antibody. Therefore, providing the CDR sequences without providing the numbering system used to identify said sequences within the claim is insufficient, as one of skill in the art is not clear as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed antibody are unclear. One suggestion is to expressly identify the amino acids of the six required CDRs and identify the numbering system of said CDRs (e.g. wherein the CDRs are SEQ ID NOs: 3-8 using Kabat numbering).
Since a skilled artisan would not be reasonably apprised as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, instant claim 1 is rejected on the grounds of being indefinite. Claims 2-26, 28-41, and 44 are also rejected since they depend from claim 1, but do not remedy these deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "oncolytic vesiculovirus" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 provides a Markush group of potential cancers, and lists “fibroma” as a potential cancer at line 4 of the claim. However, “fibromas” are benign connective-tissue tumors and are not classified as “cancers”, whereas the corresponding malignant tumor is fibrosarcoma. “Li-Fraumeni tumors” is also unclear as Li-Fraumeni syndrome results from inherited pathogenic TP53 variants and predisposes affected individuals to several malignancies, but the term “Li-Fraumeni tumors” does not clearly establish whether the claim encompasses all cancers which arise in patients diagnosed with Li-Fraumeni syndrome or only tumor types characteristically associated with said syndrome, such as breast cancer, sarcoma, brain tumors, and adrenocortical carcinoma. Finally, “multiple neuroendocrine type I and type II tumors” is unclear as the established terminology is “multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 (MEN1)” and “multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2 (MEN2)”, which are hereditary syndromes associated with different endocrine and neuroendocrine tumors, which may be benign or malignant. It is therefore unclear what types of tumors are meant to be encompassed by this limitation.
For at least these reasons, claim 32 is rejected for being indefinite.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 44 provides for “an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to programmed death 1 (PD-1)”. However, the metes and bounds of the recited binding limitation are unclear. The specification defines “specifically binds” as the formation of an antibody-antigen complex that is “relatively stable” under physiological conditions and provides exemplary binding affinities ranging from a dissociation constant (Kd) of less than about 500 nM to less than about 0.5 nM, as measured by surface plasmon resonance. However, the specification characterizes these affinities as examples of specific binding and does not clearly establish an exclusive threshold for determining whether an antibody or antigen-binding fragment satisfies the claimed limitation. Further, the specification does not define the degree of stability required for an antibody-antigen complex to be considered “relatively stable”.
Additionally, claim 44 does not identify the species from which the PD-1 antigen is derived. While the specification describes antibodies that specifically bind human PD-1, it also recognizes cross-reactivity with PD-1 molecules from non-human it is therefore unclear whether the claim requires specific binding to human PD-1 or also encompasses antibodies that specifically bind non-human PD-1 without appreciable binding to human PD-1.
Accordingly the claim, when read in light of the specification, does not clearly establish the binding characteristics necessary for an antibody or antigen-binding fragment to fall within its scope. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine with reasonable certainty the boundaries of the claimed anti-PD-1 antibody genus. See MPEP §2173.02 and 2173.05(b). One suggestion is to clarify the limitation by specifying the relevant PD-1 antigen and providing an objective binding criterion, such as a defined affinity threshold measured under appropriate assay conditions, or by restricting the antibody to structurally characterized embodiments supported by the original disclosure.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating or inhibiting the growth of a tumor, comprising:
(a) selecting a patient with a cancer; and
(b) administering to the patient in need thereof a combination therapy comprising:
(i) a therapeutically effective amount of an oncolytic virus; and
(ii) a therapeutically effective amount of an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to programmed death 1 (PD-1), wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises three heavy chain complementarity determining regions (HCDR1, HCDR2 and HCDR3) of a heavy chain variable region (HCVR) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 and three light chain complementarity determining regions (LCDR1, LCDR2 and LCDR3) of a light chain variable region (LCVR) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Further limitations on the method of claim 1 are wherein the oncolytic virus comprises an oncolytic vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV)(claim 2), wherein the VSV comprises a recombinant VSV (claim 3), wherein the recombinant VSV expresses a cytokine (claim 4), wherein the cytokine comprises an interferon-beta (IFNb)(claim 5), wherein a nucleic acid sequence encoding the IFNb is positioned between M and G viral genes (claim 6), wherein the recombinant VSV further expresses a sodium/iodide symporter (NIS)(claim 7), wherein a nucleic acid sequence encoding the NIS is positioned between G and L viral genes (claim 8); wherein the oncolytic virus is Voyager V1 (claim 9); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises HCDR1, HCDR2, HCDR3, LCDR1, LCDR2, and LCDR3 comprising the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8, respectively (claim 10); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises a HCVR comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1; and a LCVR comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 (claim 11); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises a heavy chain comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9 and a light chain comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10 (claim 12); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises cemiplimab or a bioequivalent thereof (claim 13); wherein the oncolytic virus is administered to the patient in one or more doses of 10 to 10^14 TCID50 (claim 14), wherein the oncolytic virus is administered to the patient in one or more doses of 109 TCID50 or 10^11 TCID50 (claim 15), wherein one dose of 109 TCID50 oncolytic virus is administered to the patient, and another dose of 10^11 TCID50 oncolytic virus is administered to the patient (claim 16); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 0.1 mg/kg to about 20 mg/kg of body weight of the patient (claim 17); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 1 mg to about 1000 mg (claim 18), wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is administered to the patient in one or more doses of 350 mg (claim 19); wherein the oncolytic virus is administered to the patient intratumorally or intravenously (claim 20); wherein the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof administered to the patient intravenously, subcutaneously or intraperitoneally (claim 21); wherein the method further comprises administering a therapeutically effective amount of a CTLA-4 inhibitor comprising ipilimumab or a bioequivalent thereof (claim 22), wherein the CTLA-4 inhibitor is ipilimumab (claim 23), comprising concurrently administering one or more doses of the oncolytic virus and one or more doses of the CTLA-4 inhibitor (claim 24), comprising administering one or more doses of the oncolytic virus and one or more doses of the CTLA-4 inhibitor before administering one or more doses of the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof (claim 25), comprising administering one or more doses of the oncolytic virus and one or more doses of the CTLA-4 inhibitor 7 days before administering one or more doses of the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen- binding fragment thereof (claim 26), wherein the CTLA-4 inhibitor is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 0.1 mg/kg to about 15 mg/kg of body weight of the patient (claim 28), wherein the CTLA-4 inhibitor is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 1 mg to about 600 mg (claim 29), wherein the CTLA-4 inhibitor is administered to the patient in one or more doses of 50 mg (claim 30), wherein the CTLA-4 inhibitor is administered to the patient intravenously, subcutaneously or intraperitoneally (claim 31); wherein the cancer is selected from adrenal gland tumors, biliary cancer, bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer, carcinoma, central or peripheral nervous system tissue cancer, cervical cancer, colon cancer, endocrine or neuroendocrine cancer or hematopoietic cancer, esophageal cancer, fibroma, gastrointestinal cancer, glioma, head and neck cancer, Li-Fraumeni tumors, liver cancer, lung cancer, lymphoma, melanoma, meningioma, multiple neuroendocrine type I and type II tumors, nasopharyngeal cancer, oral cancer, oropharyngeal cancer, osteogenic sarcoma tumors, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, pancreatic islet cell cancer, parathyroid cancer, pheochromocytoma, pituitary tumors, prostate cancer, rectal cancer, renal cancer, respiratory cancer, sarcoma, skin cancer, stomach cancer, testicular cancer, thyroid cancer, tracheal cancer, urogenital cancer, and uterine cancer (claim 32); wherein administration of the combination therapy leads to at least one therapeutic effect selected from: reduction in tumor cell number, tumor regression, partial response, and complete response (claim 33), wherein administration of the combination therapy leads to at least one improvement selected from: abscopal effect, delay in tumor growth, increase in overall survival, increase in progression free survival, increase in overall response rate, increase in complete response, increase in partial response, and increase in stable disease, as compared to patients treated with a monotherapy selected from: the oncolytic virus and the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof (claim 34), wherein administration of the combination therapy leads to at least one improvement selected from: abscopal effect, delay in tumor growth, increase in overall survival, increase in progression free survival, increase in overall response rate, increase in complete response, increase in partial response, and increase in stable disease, as compared to patients treated with oncolytic virus monotherapy (claim 35); wherein the tumor growth is inhibited by at least 50% as compared to an untreated patient (claim 36), wherein administration of the combination therapy leads to at least one improvement selected from: abscopal effect, delay in tumor growth, increase in overall survival, increase in progression free survival, increase in overall response rate, increase in complete response, increase in partial response, and increase in stable disease, as compared to patients treated with a monotherapy selected from: the oncolytic virus, the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and the CTLA-4 inhibitor (claim 37), wherein the tumor growth is inhibited by at least 50% as compared to a patient administered the oncolytic virus, the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen- binding fragment thereof, or the CTLA-4 inhibitor as monotherapy (claim 38), wherein the tumor growth is inhibited by at least 50% as compared to a patient administered any two of the oncolytic virus, the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and the CTLA-4 inhibitor (claim 39); further comprising administering an additional therapeutic agent or therapy to the patient (claim 40), and wherein the additional therapeutic agent or therapy is selected from: radiation, surgery, a chemotherapeutic agent, a cancer vaccine, a B7-H3 inhibitor, a B7-H4 inhibitor, a lymphocyte activation gene 3 (LAG3) inhibitor, a T cell immunoglobulin and mucin-domain containing-3 (TIM3) inhibitor, a galectin 9 (GAL9) inhibitor, a V-domain immunoglobulin (Ig)-containing suppressor of T-cell activation (VISTA) inhibitor, a Killer-Cell Immunoglobulin-Like Receptor (KIR) inhibitor, a B and T lymphocyte attenuator (BTLA) inhibitor, a T cell immunoreceptor with Ig and ITIM domains (TIGIT) inhibitor, a CD47 inhibitor, an indoleamine-2,3-dioxygenase (IDO) inhibitor, a vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) antagonist, an angiopoietin-2 (Ang2) inhibitor, a transforming growth factor beta (TGF3) inhibitor, an epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) inhibitor, an antibody to a tumor- specific antigen, Bacillus Calmette-Guerin vaccine, granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF), a cytotoxin, an interleukin 6 receptor (IL-6R) inhibitor, an interleukin 4 receptor (IL-4R) inhibitor, an IL-10 inhibitor, IL-2, IL-7, IL-12, IL-21, IL-15, an antibody-drug conjugate, an anti-inflammatory drug, and combinations thereof (claim 41).
Claim 44 is drawn to a kit comprising an oncolytic virus and an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to programmed death 1 (PD-1), in combination with written instructions for use of a therapeutically effective amount of a combination of the oncolytic virus and the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof for treating or inhibiting the growth of a tumor of a patient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature (anti-PD-1 antibodies and oncolytic viruses) without significantly more.
The claim recite(s) a kit comprising an oncolytic virus and an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to programmed death 1 (PD-1), in combination with written instructions for use of a therapeutically effective amount of a combination of the oncolytic virus and the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof for treating or inhibiting the growth of a tumor of a patient. The claimed kit therefore falls within the statutory category of a composition of matter.
Step 2A, Prong One. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claim 44 recites nature-based products, including an oncolytic virus and an anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof. The claim does not require either component to be genetically engineered, structurally modified, or otherwise distinguishable from its naturally occurring counterpart. The specification expressly encompasses wild-type oncolytic viruses, including wild-type VSV (see “Oncolytic Viruses” at ¶[0049]). Naturally occurring antibodies reactive with PD-1 were also known in the art, as evidenced by Tan et. al. (Tan Q, et. al. Theranostics. 2020 May 16;10(14):6399-6410.) and Li et. al. (Li J, et. al. J Cancer Res Clin Oncol. 2023 Jul;149(8):4465-4475. Epub 2022 Sep 20.) Tan, for instance, notes endogenous anti-PD-1 autoantibodies in cancer patients. The claimed antibody in instant claim 44 is defined solely by its ability to bind specifically to PD-1 and is not restricted to an engineered antibody or a particular amino acid sequence.
The claim encompasses additional embodiments in which naturally occurring biological components are supplied together without any requirement that their structural or functional characteristics be altered. Merely including the components in a kit does not impart markedly different characteristics to the naturally occurring products. See MPEP§2106.04(c) and Subject Matter Eligibility Example 18, which addresses naturally occurring biological components supplied together in a kit. Accordingly, claim 44 recites a product-of-nature judicial exception.
Step 2A, Prong Two. Claim 44 further recites written instructions for administering therapeutically effective amounts of the oncolytic virus and anti-PD-1 antibody for treating or inhibiting tumor growth. However, the claim is directed to a kit, and does not require that the biological components actually be administered to a patient. The written instructions merely describe an intended therapeutic use of the components and do not require a structural modification, physical interaction, or functional alteration of either biological product. Although administration of the components may produce a therapeutic effect, such administration is not a required step of the claimed kit. Therefore, the additional limitations do not integrate the recited products of nature into a practical application.
Step 2B. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim 44 does not require any particular container configuration, unconventional physical arrangement, or modification of the biological components. Rather, the kit broadly encompasses the provision of the biological products with written instructions describing their intended therapeutic use. The written instructions themselves do not confer markedly different characteristics upon the biological components, and the claimed arrangement does not require any additional interaction that changes their properties. Accordingly, the additional limitations do not provide an inventive concept sufficient to transform the judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter.
For at least these reasons, claim 44 is not directed to patent-eligible subject matter. One suggestion is to direct the antibody of the kit to those of instant claim 1, which are not derived from naturally-occurring anti-PD-1 antibodies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a); First Paragraph
Claims 32-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for methods of administering the Voyager V1 (VV1) VSV oncolytic virus in combination with cemiplimab, and optionally ipilimumab, according to the described clinical treatment protocols, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating the broader range of claimed cancers using the full scope of oncolytic viruses and antibody-containing combinations while achieving the recited therapeutic effects and comparative improvements. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The legal considerations that govern enablement determinations pertaining to undue experimentation have been set forth in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). The factors to be considered include: (1) the breadth of the claims; (2) the nature of the invention; (3) the state of the prior art; (4) the level of one of ordinary skill; (5) the level of predictability in the art; (6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (7) the existence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. The factors are considered as a whole in determining whether any necessary experimentation would have been undue.
Nature of the invention and breadth of the claims. The claimed invention is directed to methods of treating cancer by administering a combination therapy comprising an oncolytic virus and a CDR-defined anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, optionally with a CTLA-4 inhibitor, wherein the methods encompass numerous cancers and specified therapeutic outcomes. The specification describes treatment protocols involving the recombinant VSV designated VV1 (Voyager V1), which expresses interferon-beta (IFNB) and sodium/iodide symporter (NIS), administered in combination with cemiplimab, and optionally ipilimumab. The disclosed clinical studies principally concern melanoma, non-small cell lung cancer, hepatocellular carcinoma, and endometrial carcinoma, with additional protocols directed to head and neck squamous cell carcinoma and colorectal cancer (¶[0159-0170][0209-0216]).
However, claims 32-39 are not limited to the disclosed embodiments. Claim 32 encompasses numerous additional malignancies, including hematopoietic cancers, pancreatic cancers, brain cancers, and endocrine or neuroendocrine cancers, among others. Claim 33 further requires at least one specified therapeutic effect, while claims 34-35 and 37 require improvements over the recited monotherapies. Claims 36, 38, and 39 additionally require at least 50% inhibition of tumor growth relative to the specified untreated or treated comparators. The claims are also not limited to VV1, but encompass other oncolytic viruses having different viral characteristics and mechanisms of antitumor activity. The specification identifies numerous oncolytic rhabdoviruses without providing corresponding therapeutic protocols or results establishing the claimed effects for these additional viruses in combination with the recited antibody (¶[0049-0055]). The claimed scope therefore extends beyond the embodiments described in the specification.
State of the prior art and predictability of the art. At the time the application was filed, it was known that oncolytic viruses could induce tumor cell death and promote antitumor immune responses. However, the effectiveness of oncolytic virotherapy and its combination with immune checkpoint inhibitors was dependent upon the particular virus, tumor microenvironment, and host immune response.
Mealiea et. al. (Mealiea D, et. al. Cancer Gene Ther. 2022 Jun;29(6):629-646. Epub 2021 Aug 27.) explains that innate immune responses to oncolytic viruses can promote antitumor immunity while also restricting viral replication and spread. The authors describe the competing antiviral and antitumor effects of innate immunity and explain that these interactions vary depending on the tumor and oncolytic virus under investigation. Accordingly, the reference demonstrates that the antitumor effects observed with one oncolytic virus in a particular tumor setting could not necessarily be extrapolated to other viral agents and malignancies.
Nguyen et. al. (Nguyen HM, et. al. Semin Cancer Biol. 2022 Nov;86(Pt 3):971-980. Epub 2021 May 24.) discusses the influence of treatment sequencing on the efficacy of oncolytic virus and anti-PD-1 combination therapy. The authors identify tumor type, oncolytic virus type, viral cytokine transgenes, treatment timing, dosage, and treatment frequency as factors that can affect therapeutic outcomes. The authors further recognize the need for additional comparative studies to determine optimal treatment schedules, thereby demonstrating that the efficacy of a particular combination regimen was not readily predictable across different treatment conditions.
Zamarin et. al. (Zamarin D, et. al. J Clin Invest. 2018 Apr 2;128(4):1413-1428. Epub 2018 Mar 5.) discloses that administration of oncolytic Newcastle disease virus induced immune cell infiltration but also increased PD-L1 expression associated with immune resistance. The authors report that oncolytic virus treatment alone delayed tumor growth but was insufficient to produce complete tumor rejection in the investigated models. Although combining the virus with PD-1 or PD-L1 blockade improved antitumor responses, the results demonstrate that treatment efficacy depended on interactions between viral infection, the tumor microenvironment, and immune checkpoint signaling.
The prior art therefore establishes that oncolytic virus and checkpoint inhibitor therapies were known, but their therapeutic effects were dependent upon biological and treatment specific variables. The art was not sufficiently predictable to support extrapolation from the disclosed VV1 containing treatment protocols to the full scope of the additional oncolytic viruses, cancers, and comparative therapeutic outcomes encompassed by claims 32-39. Accordingly, the results obtained using VV1 and cemiplimab, and optionally ipilimumab, would not have reasonably established that the broader claimed scope could be practiced without further experimentation.
Level of skill in the art. One skilled in the art would have been familiar with methods of preparing and administering oncolytic viruses, producing therapeutic antibodies, and evaluating antitumor activity using cell based assays, animal models, and established clinical response criteria. However, the existence of known methods for preparing and testing candidate embodiments does not establish that one skilled in the art would have known, without further experimentation, which additional virus-antibody combinations, cancer types, or treatment regimens would satisfy the claimed limitations, namely the claimed therapeutic effects and comparative improvements.
Working examples. The specification provides two clinical study working example(s) directed to VV1 in combination with cemiplimab, with optimal ipilimumab administration in certain treatment cohorts. Example 1 describes clinical protocols principally involving melanoma and non-small cell lung cancer, while Example 2 describes a modified protocol involving melanoma, head and neck squamous cell carcinoma, and colorectal cancer (¶[0159-0170][0209-0216]). The specification reports prior observations of VV1 antitumor activity and discusses prior clinical experience supporting selected doses. However, the examples primarily describe study designs, proposed treatments, anticipated responses, and methods for assessing therapeutic outcomes, rather than completed comparative efficacy studies establishing the results required by claims 34-39 (¶[0160-0165][0207-0215][0236-0239]).
The specification does not provide working efficacy examples demonstrating the recited therapeutic results across the additional malignancies encompassed by claim 32 or the full scope of oncolytic viruses encompassed by the claims, nor does it establish the claimed comparative improvements over monotherapy or two-agent treatment, including the quantitative tumor growth inhibition limitations of claims 36, 38, and 39 for the breadth of claimed combinations. The disclosed examples therefore do not establish enablement across the full scope of claims 32-39.
Guidance in the specification. The specification provides guidance regarding oncolytic virus selection, antibody administration, dosage ranges, treatment schedules, and methods for evaluating tumor responses. It specifically describes treatment protocols involving VV1, cemiplimab, and optionally ipilimumab, including selected routes of administration and methods of assessing response under RECIST criteria (¶[0164-0170][[0196-0207][0236-0239]). However, the specification does not provide sufficient guidance regarding how these protocols should be adapted to the materially different cancers and oncolytic viruses encompassed by the claims. In particular, the specification does not explain how to select an effective virus-antibody regimen for the additional claimed malignancies or identify treatment conditions reasonably expected to produce the specified therapeutic improvements over the recited comparators. Although the specification identifies possible therapeutic outcomes and provides methods for measuring them, identifying an outcome to be measured does not establish how to obtain that outcome through the claimed scope.
Quantity of experimentation necessary. To practice the full scope of claims 32-39, one skilled in the art would need to select additional oncolytic viruses and evaluate their activity in the claimed malignancies in combination with the recited anti-PD-1 antibody. Treatment conditions would need to be investigated to determine whether the combination produces the therapeutic results required by claim 33. Further comparative testing would be necessary to identify regimens achieving the improvements and quantitative tumor-growth inhibition recited in claims 34-39. Such experimentation would not merely involve the routine application of known methods to embodiments reasonably expected to work. Instead, one skilled in the art would need to prepare and test additional embodiments to determine whether they satisfy the recited functional limitations. Although the individual methods used to prepare and test candidate embodiments may have been known in the art, the relevant inquiry is not whether one skilled in the art could perform the required assays. The relevant inquiry is whether the specification provides sufficient guidance to identify and practice the embodiments falling within the full scope of the claims without undue experimentation. Here, one skilled in the art would need to investigate additional virus-antibody combinations, cancer-specific treatment conditions, and comparative therapeutic outcomes to determine which embodiments satisfy the claimed limitations.
Amgen. The Supreme Court has explained that a specification need not describe with particularity how to make and use every embodiment within a claimed class. However, the disclosure must enable one skilled in the art to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention. A reasonable amount of experimentation may be permissible depending on the nature of the invention and the underlying art. Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 598 U.S. 594, 610-13 (2023).
In the instantly claimed invention, the specification describes treatment protocols involving VV1 and cemiplimab, optionally with ipilimumab, in selected cancers, but the claims also encompass materially broader virus-containing combinations and malignancies, together with specified therapeutic and comparative outcomes. The specification does not identify a general quality or provide sufficient guidance that would allow one skilled in the art to practice that broader scope without undue experimentation.
Conclusion. For the reasons discussed above, the specification does not enable one skilled in the art to make and use the full scope of the invention recited in claims 32-39 without undue experimentation.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 44 recites a kit comprising an oncolytic virus and an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to programmed death 1 (PD-1), in combination with written instructions for use of a therapeutically effective amount of a combination of the oncolytic virus and the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof for treating or inhibiting the growth of a tumor of a patient. However, the claimed anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is defined solely by its binding activity, without any limitation regarding its amino acid sequence, CDRs, variable-region structure, or other structural characteristics. The specification, in the section entitled “Anti-PD-1 Antibodies and Antigen-Binding Fragments Thereof” at ¶[0065] describes specific anti-PD-1 antibodies, including cemiplimab, having the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1-10, and identifies additional known anti-PD-1 antibodies and incorporated patient disclosures. The specification further describes specific binding in terms of the formation of a relatively stable antibody-antigen complex and exemplary binding affinities. However, these binding characteristics alone do not establish a common structural feature shared by the full scope of antibodies and antigen-binding fragments encompassed by claim 44.
The claimed genus encompasses structurally diverse antibodies and antigen-binding fragments having different amino acid sequences, CDRs, framework regions, and antigen-binding sites, provided only that they specifically bind PD-1. The specification has not been shown to provide a representative number of structurally diverse species sufficient to reflect the full scope of this genus, nor does it establish a correlation between the disclosed structural characteristics and PD-1 binding sufficient to identify the full genus. Accordingly, the disclosure does not reasonably convey possession of the full scope of anti-PD-1 antibodies and antigen-binding fragments encompassed by claim 44. One suggestion is to amend claim 44 to limit the anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof to structurally characterized embodiments supported by the original disclosure, such as the specifically disclosed CDR sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 3-8 or the HCVR and LCVR sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21, 32, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vyriad (Vyriad. Phase 2 Trial of Voyager V1 in Combination With Cemiplimab in Cancer Patients. ClinicalTrials.gov ID NCT04291105. Ver. 13, Pub. 01/05/2021; hereafter “Vyriad”) as evidenced by Lutzky et. al. (Lutzky J et. al. J Clin Oncol 40, TPS9595-TPS9595(2022).; hereafter “Lutzky”.)
The Prior Art
Vyriad teaches the dosing of the first patient in a Phase 2 clinical trial to evaluate its investigational oncolytic virus Voyager-V1 (VV1) in combination with the PD-1 inhibitor LIBTAYO® (cemiplimab) in four difficult-to-treat or refractory advanced stage cancers, wherein the four cancer types are NSCLC and melanoma that are progressing on CPI treatment, CPI-naïve HCC, and treatment-naïve Endometrial. (“Study Description: Brief Summary.”; instant claim 32). As noted by the instant specification, Voyager-V1 is an engineered vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) programmed to target, infect and kill cancer cells that inherently comprises and expresses the cytokine IFN-beta, wherein said cytokine is positioned between the M and G viral genes, and said VV1 comprises a nucleic acid encoding a sodium/iodide symporter (NIS) positioned between the G and L viral genes (¶[0002-0004][0055], see US9,428,736; instant claims 2-9) while cemiplimab inherently comprises the HCVR of SEQ ID NO: 1 and LCVR of SEQ ID NO: 2 (¶[0070]; instant claims 1, 10-13). Vyriad teaches patients with melanoma will be enrolled into two parallel cohorts; in one cohort (Intravenous melanoma cohort) patients will receive IV VV1 and patients in the other cohort (Intratumoral melanoma cohort) will receive both IV VV1 and Intratumoral VV1; both cohorts will receive IV cemiplimab in combination therapy with VV1 treatment; patients with NSCLC, HCC or endometrial cancer will receive IV VV1 and IV cemiplimab combination therapy (“Study Description: Detailed Description.”) Vyriad teaches the study design is an interventional treatment study (“Study Design”) and is to treat solid tumors (“Conditions: Keywords”) wherein the primary outcome measures are determining the objective response rate (ORR) per imaging assessment, wherein the percentage of participants with objective response is assessed every six weeks from Cycle 1, Day 1 through disease progression, by investigator review based on RECIST version 1.1 (overall Time Frame: within 24 months)j(“Outcome measures: Primary Outcome Measures.”)
The clinical study discloses administration of VV1 in combination with cemiplimab to patients having cancer for the purpose of achieving an antitumor therapeutic response. The study expressly identifies the combination treatment and evaluates its antitumor activity, thereby teaching administration of the agents for the same therapeutic purpose recited in instant claims 1 and 44. The absence of reported clinical efficacy results does not, by itself, distinguish the claimed method from the disclosed treatment protocol. See in re Montgomery, 677 F.3d 1375 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Vyriad expressly teaches other aspects of the instant claims. Vyriad teaches that the VV1 will be delivered either intravenously (IV) or intratumorally (IT), where the cemiplimab will be delivered IV (“Study Description: Detailed Description”; instant claims 20-21).
As evidenced by Lutzky, the dosages delivered during the Vyriad clinical trial NCT04291105 were intravenous (IV) VV1 at a dose of 1.0 x 10^11 TCID50 once on D1 followed by IV cemiplimab Q3W starting on D8, or the same regimen with an additional intratumoral injection of VV1 1.0 x 10^9 TCID 50 once on D1 for pts with accessible lesions (Lutzky abstract; instant claims 14-16). The cemiplimab was delivered at a dose of 350 mg (Fig. 7, Lutzky; instant claims 17-19).
For at least these reasons, Vyriad, either expressly or inherently (as evidenced by Lutzky) teaches the limitations of instant claims 1-21, 32, and 44, and anticipates the invention encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-26, 28-41, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohrs et. al. (US20230139492A1, Priority 07/19/2021; hereafter “Mohrs”.) NB: this is the PGPub for US17/813,100.
The applied reference has a common assignee (Regeneron) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The Prior Art
Mohrs teaches a method of treating or inhibiting the growth of a tumor, comprising:
(a) selecting a patient with a cancer; and
(b) administering to the patient in need thereof: (i) a therapeutically effective amount of an oncolytic virus in combination with (ii) a therapeutically effective amount of a programmed death 1 (PD-1) pathway inhibitor comprising an anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and (iii) a therapeutically effective amount of a cytotoxic T-lymphocyte antigen-4 (CTLA4) inhibitor comprising an anti-CTLA4 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof (entire document; see abstract; reference claim 1). Mohrs teaches the PD-1 inhibitor LIBTAYO® (cemiplimab; ¶[0016][0081-0085]) and teaches SEQ ID NOs: 1-10, which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-10 (see alignment below for SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and 9-10; “Qy” is Mohrs while “Db” is the instant application):
SEQ ID NO:1
Qy 1 EVQLLESGGVLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFSNFGMTWVRQAPGKGLEWVSGISGGGRDTYF 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 EVQLLESGGVLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFSNFGMTWVRQAPGKGLEWVSGISGGGRDTYF 60
Qy 61 ADSVKGRFTISRDNSKNTLYLQMNSLKGEDTAVYYCVKWGNIYFDYWGQGTLVTVSS 117
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ADSVKGRFTISRDNSKNTLYLQMNSLKGEDTAVYYCVKWGNIYFDYWGQGTLVTVSS 117
SEQ ID NO:2
Qy 1 DIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDSITITCRASLSINTFLNWYQQKPGKAPNLLIYAASSLHGGVPS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDSITITCRASLSINTFLNWYQQKPGKAPNLLIYAASSLHGGVPS 60
Qy 61 RFSGSGSGTDFTLTIRTLQPEDFATYYCQQSSNTPFTFGPGTVVDFR 107
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 RFSGSGSGTDFTLTIRTLQPEDFATYYCQQSSNTPFTFGPGTVVDFR 107
SEQ ID NO:9
Qy 1 EVQLLESGGVLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFSNFGMTWVRQAPGKGLEWVSGISGGGRDTYF 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 EVQLLESGGVLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFSNFGMTWVRQAPGKGLEWVSGISGGGRDTYF 60
Qy 61 ADSVKGRFTISRDNSKNTLYLQMNSLKGEDTAVYYCVKWGNIYFDYWGQGTLVTVSSAST 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ADSVKGRFTISRDNSKNTLYLQMNSLKGEDTAVYYCVKWGNIYFDYWGQGTLVTVSSAST 120
Qy 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
Qy 181 SLSSVVTVPSSSLGTKTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKRVESKYGPPCPPCPAPEFLGGPSVFLF 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SLSSVVTVPSSSLGTKTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKRVESKYGPPCPPCPAPEFLGGPSVFLF 240
Qy 241 PPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSQEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTYRVV 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSQEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTYRVV 300
Qy 301 SVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPSSIEKTISKAKGQPREPQVYTLPPSQEEMTKNQV 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 SVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPSSIEKTISKAKGQPREPQVYTLPPSQEEMTKNQV 360
Qy 361 SLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYSRLTVDKSRWQEGNVF 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 SLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYSRLTVDKSRWQEGNVF 420
Qy 421 SCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSLGK 444
||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 SCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSLGK 444
SEQ ID NO:10
Qy 1 DIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDSITITCRASLSINTFLNWYQQKPGKAPNLLIYAASSLHGGVPS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDSITITCRASLSINTFLNWYQQKPGKAPNLLIYAASSLHGGVPS 60
Qy 61 RFSGSGSGTDFTLTIRTLQPEDFATYYCQQSSNTPFTFGPGTVVDFRRTVAAPSVFIFPP 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 RFSGSGSGTDFTLTIRTLQPEDFATYYCQQSSNTPFTFGPGTVVDFRRTVAAPSVFIFPP 120
Qy 121 SDEQLKSGTASVVCLLNNFYPREAKVQWKVDNALQSGNSQESVTEQDSKDSTYSLSSTLT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 SDEQLKSGTASVVCLLNNFYPREAKVQWKVDNALQSGNSQESVTEQDSKDSTYSLSSTLT 180
Qy 181 LSKADYEKHKVYACEVTHQGLSSPVTKSFNRGEC 214
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LSKADYEKHKVYACEVTHQGLSSPVTKSFNRGEC 214
As SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and 9-10 comprise the CDRs of cemiplimab, Mohrs therefore teaches the limitations of instant claims 1 and 10-13.
Mohrs teaches the oncolytic virus would be an oncolytic vesiculovirus (reference claim 2), namely an oncolytic vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV)(reference claim 3) that is a recombinant VSV that comprises an M51R substitution and expresses IFN-beta from between the M and G viral VSV genes as well as a sodium/iodide symporter (NIS) positioned between the G and L viral genes, such as the Voyager V1 virus (reference claims 4-11, instant claims 2-9). Mohrs teaches wherein the oncolytic virus is administered to the patient in one or more doses of 10^4 to 10^14 TCID50, such as 108-1012 TCID50 (reference claim 16; ¶[0130-0131]; instant claims 14-16). Mohrs teaches the anti-PD1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 0.1 mg/kg to about 20 mg/kg of body weight of the patient (reference claim 17; instant claim 17) or is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 1 mg to about 1000 mg or from about 75 mg to about 350 mg (reference claim 18; ¶[0132][0134]; instant claims 18-19). Mohrs teaches wherein the oncolytic virus is administered intratumorally or intravenously to the patient (reference claim 22; instant claim 20), and teaches wherein the PD-1 pathway inhibitor and the CTLA4 inhibitor are administered intravenously, subcutaneously or intraperitoneally to the patient (reference claim 23; instant claim 21). Mohrs teaches the method comprises administering a therapeutically effective amount of a CTLA-4 inhibitor comprising ipilimumab or a bioequivalent thereof (reference claim 36; instant claims 22-23) and that one or more doses of the CTLA-4 inhibitor may be delivered along with the oncolytic VSV (reference claims 19-21; instant claim 24). Mohrs teaches different combinations of delivery of the three therapeutic agents, and teaches the anti-PD-1 antibody can be administered after the CTLA-4 inhibitor and/or VSV, such as delivering the anti-PD-1 antibody about 150 hours (or about one week) after the CTLA4 inhibitor (¶[0012][0054-0057][0120][0123][0128][0163][0168]; reference claims 12-13; instant claims 25-26). Mohrs teaches the CTLA4 inhibitor is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 0.1 mg/kg to about 15 mg/kg of body weight of the patient (reference claim 19; instant claim 28), it is administered to the patient in one or more doses of about 1 mg to about 600 mg (reference claim 21; instant claim 29), or it is administered to the patient in one or more doses of 50 mg (¶[0134-0135]; instant claim 30). The CTLA-4 inhibitor may be delivered intravenously, subcutaneously, or intraperitoneally (¶[0014][0113-0114][0116][0168]; instant claim 31). Mohrs teaches the cancers which may be treated include adrenal gland tumors, biliary cancer, bladder cancer, and brain cancer among others (reference claim 24; instant claim 32), and the treatment produces a therapeutic effect selected from one or more of: delay in tumor growth, reduction in tumor cell number, tumor regression, increase in survival, partial response, and complete response (reference claim 41; instant claim 33). These markers are compared to untreated patients or patients treated with a single therapeutic (monotherapy) or only two therapeutics as opposed to all three (¶[0022]; instant claims 34-35), such as wherein the tumor growth is inhibited by at least 50% as compared to an untreated patient (¶[0022]; instant claims 36-39). Mohrs teaches that the treatment may comprise an additional therapeutic, such as adiation, surgery, a chemotherapeutic agent, a cancer vaccine, a B7-H3 inhibitor, a B7-H4 inhibitor, or a lymphocyte activation gene 3 (LAG3) inhibitor (reference claims 45-46; instant claims 40-41). Finally, Mohrs teaches a kit comprising an oncolytic virus, a PD-1 pathway inhibitor comprising an anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and a CTLA4 inhibitor comprising an anti-CTLA4 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, in combination with written instructions for use of a therapeutically effective amount of a combination of the oncolytic virus, the PD-1 pathway inhibitor, and the CTLA4 inhibitor for treating or inhibiting the growth of a tumor of a patient (reference claim 48; instant claim 44.)
For at least these reasons, Mohrs teaches every limitation as set forth in instant claims 1-26, 28-41, and 44, and anticipates the invention encompassed by said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-26, 28-31, and 33-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyriad as evidenced by Lutzky as applied to claims 1-21, 32, and 44 above, and further in view of Papadopoulos et. al. (US20180185668A1, Pub. 07/05/2018 (NB: PGPub of 15/905,685); hereafter “Papadopoulos”) and Cockle et. al. (Cockle JV, Rajani K, Zaidi S, Kottke T, Thompson J, Diaz RM, Shim K, Peterson T, Parney IF, Short S, Selby P, Ilett E, Melcher A, Vile R. Combination viroimmunotherapy with checkpoint inhibition to treat glioma, based on location-specific tumor profiling. Neuro Oncol. 2016 Apr;18(4):518-27. Epub 2015 Sep 26.; hereafter “Cockle”.)
The Prior Art
The teachings of Vyriad have been set forth supra. While Vyriad teaches that prior regimens of treatment may be options (“Eligibility: Criteria”), Vyriad fails to teach additional therapeutic agents which are or can be delivered with the oncolytic VSV (oVSV) VV1 and cemiplimab. However, the inclusion of additional therapeutics, such as CTLA-4 inhibitors, would be obvious to a skilled artisan, given the teachings of Papadopoulos.
Papadopoulos teaches antibodies which bind to PD-1 and methods of use thereof (entire document; see abstract.) Papadopoulos teaches an anti-PD-1 antibody with a heavy chain and a light chain of SEQ ID NOs: 330-331, which align with 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NOs: 9-10 (¶[0022]; see ABSS sequence alignments for 15/905,685 in file wrapper.) Papadopoulos teaches that said antibody can be co-delivered with additional cancer therapeutics, such as a cytotoxic T-lymphocyte antigen 4 (CTLA-4) inhibitor (e.g., ipilimumab) (¶[0052][0151][0178][0180]; instant claims 22-23) and an oncolytic virus (¶[0178]). Papadopoulos teaches doses of the anti-PD-1 antibody and any of the additional therapeutically active agents mentioned herein can be administered in one or more doses (¶[0186-0187]; instant claim 24) and can be administered a week after the first dose (¶[0186-0191]). Papadopoulos teaches that the anti-PD-1 antibody can be administered prior to, concomitantly or after administering radiation therapy to a cancer patient (¶[0179]; instant claims 40-41) or prior to, concurrent with, or after administration of other therapeutically active agents (¶[0182-0183]; instant claims 25-26, 40.) Papadopoulos teaches when an antibody of the present invention is used for treating a disease or disorder in an adult patient, or for preventing such a disease, it is advantageous to administer the antibody of the present invention normally at a single dose of about 0.1 to about 60 mg/kg body weight, more preferably about 5 to about 60, about 10 to about 50, or about 20 to about 50 mg/kg body weight (¶[0159]; instant claim 28) or an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof can be administered as an initial dose of at least about 0.1 mg to about 800 mg, about 1 to about 500 mg, about 5 to about 300 mg, or about 10 to about 200 mg, to about 100 mg, or to about 50 mg (¶[0159]; instant claims 29-30). Papadopoulos teaches the compositions may be delivered through a variety of routes, including intradermal, transdermal, intramuscular, intraperitoneal, intravenous, subcutaneous, intranasal, epidural and oral routes (¶[0160]; instant claim 31).
Papadopoulos teaches determining the therapeutic effect of the antibody, such as in vivo tumor growth studies using appropriate controls (Example 9, starting at ¶[0234]), wherein average tumor volumes and percent survival was measured (¶[0236-0238]; instant claims 33-35). Papadopoulos teaches one measurable outcome is where an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof of the invention leads to more than 50% regression, more than 60% regression, more than 70% regression, more than 80% regression or more than 90% regression of a tumor in a subject, or extending overall survival in a subject with cancer (¶[0169]; instant claim 36-37).
Cockle teaches a combination viroimmunotherapy with checkpoint inhibition to treat glioma (entire document; see abstract.) Cockle teaches the delivery of an oncolytic VSV in combination with anti-PD1 antibody (p. 522; Figs. 4-5) and CTLA4 inhibition (p. 524; Fig. 6). Cockle teaches that the combination of anti-PD1 and anti-CTLA4 with VSV further improves the virotherapy (p. 524; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to administer the VV1 and cemiplimab combination therapy of Vyriad with the expectation of obtaining improved antitumor efficacy relative to either agent administered alone. Papadopoulos teaches combining anti-PD-1 antibodies with oncolytic viruses to augment antitumor responses and demonstrates that combination treatment can provide improved tumor growth inhibition and survival relative to monotherapy (See e.g. Example 10, Figs. 2-3, Table 29). Furthermore, Cockle demonstrates that combining oncolytic VSV therapy with anti-PD1 antibodies significantly enhances antitumor efficacy relative to VSV therapy alone (Fig. 6A). Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to employ the disclosed VV1/cemiplimab combination to improve tumor growth inhibition and survival relative to administration of either therapeutic alone, with a reasonable expectation of therapeutic benefit.
Further, Papadopoulos further teaches that anti-PD-1 antibody treatment can produce substantial tumor regression, including regression exceeding 50%, and demonstrates marked reductions in tumor volume relative to untreated controls (See e.g. Example 9, Tables 25-27). In view of these teachings, and the known antitumor effects of oVSV therapy, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the combination treatment to achieve substantial tumor-growth inhibition, including inhibition of at least 50% relative to untreated controls.
It would have been further obvious to administer a CTLA-4 inhibitor, such as ipilimumab, with the VV1 and cemiplimab combination therapy to enhance antitumor efficacy. Papadopoulos expressly identifies CTLA4 inhibitors, including ipilimumab, as suitable agents for combination with anti-PD-1 antibodies, and further teaches combining anti-PD-1 antibodies with oncolytic viruses to augment antitumor responses (See “Combination Therapies and Formulations”). Cockle demonstrates that combining oVSV therapy with both anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA4 antibodies significantly improves therapeutic efficacy relative to VSV therapy alone or VSV with either checkpoint inhibitor alone (Fig. 6A). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further administer ipilimumab with the VV1/cemiplimab regimen of Vyriad to improve antitumor efficacy relative to the individual therapeutic agents, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining improved therapeutic benefit. Papadopoulos teaches that anti-PD-1 antibody treatment can produce tumor regression exceeding 50% and demonstrates improved antitumor efficacy when PD-1 inhibition is combined with an additional anticancer therapeutic agent (See Examples 9-10). Cockle further demonstrates that adding both PD-1 and CTLA-4 blockade to oVSV therapy improves therapeutic efficacy relative to treatment with VSV alone or VSV in combination with either checkpoint inhibitor individually. Accordingly, taken as a whole, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to administer the three agent combination of VV1, cemiplimab, and ipilimumab to obtain greater antitumor activity than the corresponding mono- or dual-agent regimens, thus making the limitations and therapeutic outcomes of instant claims 34-39 obvious to a skilled artisan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the methods and compositions taught by Vyriad in order to combine oVSV with anti-PD1 and anti-CTLA4 therapeutics, thereby enhancing the therapeutic effect of these monotherapies or dual therapies. One would have been motivated to do so, given the suggestion by Papadopoulos that cemiplimab and ipilimumab could be delivered together to treat cancer, and could also be used in combination with other therapies, such as radiation or oncolytic viruses. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that Cockle teaches the combined use of oVSV with cemiplimab and ipilimumab provided superior therapeutic results in treating cancer. Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26, 28-41, and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 1424, 27-31, 36-46, and 48-52 of copending Application No. 17/813,100 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to methods of treating a patient with cancer through the delivery of VSV recombinant VV1, cemiplimab, and ipilimumab. Note that the ‘100 application is the US application from the Mohrs PGPub. Both sets of claims are drawn to the same antibodies with the same sequences, and the same oncolytic VSV with the same modifications, delivered at the same dosages over the same dosing regimens. Therefore, the ‘100 and instant claims are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-26, 28-41, and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-10, 13-23, and 26-31 of copending Application No. 18/042,441 (reference application) in view of Papadopoulos and Cockle (both supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 of the instant claims and SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 of the ‘441 claims, respectively, are 100% identical to each other. While the ‘441 claims are drawn to a method of treating a patient with basal cell carcinoma (BCC), the instant claims in instant claim 32 are also drawn to treatment of “skin cancer” and “carcinoma”, where BCC is a species of both of these genera, and would be obvious treatment methods. Both sets of claims provide that the antibody is used with further treatment modalities, such as radiation, CTLA-4 inhibitors, and oncolytic viruses. Both claim that the antibody may be delivered via intravenous, subcutaneous, or intraperitoneal methods, and delivered at the same doses. The addition of specific VV1 and ipilimumab as the modalities would be obvious, given the teachings of Papadopoulos and Cockle (detailed supra.) Therefore, the instant claims and the ‘441 claims are obvious variants of one another, especially given the teachings of Papadopoulos and Cockle, and are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-26, 28-41, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,987,500 in view of Russell et. al. (US20130251681A1, Pub. 09/26/2013; hereafter “Russell”), Papadopoulos (supra), and Cockle (supra). Both the instant claims and the ‘500 claims teach a monoclonal antibody that binds specifically to human programmed death-1 (PD-1) protein, wherein the sequences for the VH and VL, including CDRs, are identical between claims, namely in that the antibody claimed between both claim sets is cemiplimab. Both claim compositions of the antibody. The main difference is that the ‘500 claims are drawn to cemiplimab and compositions thereof, while the instant claims are drawn to methods of using cemiplimab along with an oncolytic virus to treat cancer. However, such a distinction is an obvious use of the antibody, given the teachings of Russell, Papadopoulos, and Cockle. Russell teaches oncolytic VSV which encode heterologous payloads, such as human IFN-beta and NIS polypeptides (entire document; see reference claims 1-3). The teachings of Russell provide the basis for the Voyager V1 (VV1) oncolytic VSV. The teachings of Papadopoulos and Cockle have been set forth supra, and provide the motivation to combine oVSV therapeutics with cemiplimab and other cancer therapeutics, such as radiation and ipilimumab (detailed supra). Therefore, the ‘500 antibody would be an obvious use in the method of the instant claims, given what was known in the prior art as taught by Russell, Papadopoulos, and Cockle, and the claims are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed below.
Vyriad (Vyriad. Vyriad Announces Initiation of Phase 2 Trial in Multiple Cancer Indications. 07/20/2020. https://vyriad.com/newsevents/vyriad-announces-initiation-of-phase-2-trial-in-multiple-cancer-indications/.) Teaches Voyager V1 oncolytic VSV in combination with the PD-1 inhibitor LIBTAYO® as treatment for multiple types of cancers. Not utilized as rejection would be redundant to those set forth supra.
No provisional rejection over Application No. 18/644,357 (reference application) was made as while SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and ‘357 SEQ ID NOs: 162 and 170 are 100% identical, respectively, the sequence pairs of SEQ ID NOs:162/170 are not presently claimed in the ‘357 claim set.
/RACHEL B GILL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671