DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #123, R2-2308901,Toulouse, France, 21 - 25 August, 2023 Agenda Item: 7.7.4.1 Source: Ericsson Title: Idle mode mobility enhancements, hereinafter, ‘3GPP’.
Consider Claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) in communication with a source satellite to switch to a target satellite comprising: receiving a signal from the source satellite (e.g., see at least section 2.3 proposal 8 ‘The network informs (either implicitly or explicitly) the UE whether the next NTN cell switch is a soft or a hard switch.); and determining whether to switch to the target satellite based upon a hard switch or a soft switch(e.g., see at least section 2.3 proposal 8 ‘The network informs (either implicitly or explicitly) the UE whether the next NTN cell switch is a soft or a hard switch.).
Consider Claims 2 and 8, 3GPP teaches wherein determining whether to switch to the target satellite based upon a hard switch or a soft switch is based upon a received network configuration message from a network comprising an explicit indication for hard or soft switching or an implicit indication including whether a measurement gap is configured (e.g., see at least section 2.3 proposal 8 ‘The network informs (either implicitly or explicitly) the UE whether the next NTN cell switch is a soft or a hard switch.) – section 2.3 - In hard switch unchanged PCI scenario (i.e. no handover), the UE needs to know the time the UE
attempts to re-synchronize. (FFS whether a new "t-Start" / a t-gap is needed or whether t-Service can be reused (i.e. no other IE) if the gap is very short/zero).).
Consider Claims 3 and 9, 3GPP teaches wherein the measurement gap is configured for soft switching or no measurement gap for hard switching– section 2.3 - In hard switch unchanged PCI scenario (i.e. no handover), the UE needs to know the time the UE attempts to re-synchronize. (FFS whether a new "t-Start" / a t-gap is needed or whether t-Service can be reused (i.e. no other IE) if the gap is very short/zero).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #123, R2-2308901,Toulouse, France, 21 - 25 August, 2023 Agenda Item: 7.7.4.1 Source: Ericsson Title: Idle mode mobility enhancements, hereinafter, ‘3GPP’ in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #123, R2-2307581,Toulouse, France, 21 - 25 August 2023 Agenda item: 7.7.4.2 Source: Nokia, Nokia Shanghai Bell Title: On Unchanged PCI and Satellite Switching without L3 Mobility WID/SID: NR_NTN_enh -Core., hereinafter, ‘3GPP2’.
Consider Claims 4 and 10, 3GPP teaches the claimed invention except wherein the received network configuration message from the network comprises a system information block (SIB) including information about a cell of the target satellite to perform the soft switch to.
In analogous art, 3GPP2 teaches in section 2.1 -A third option could be to introduce a new information element for Rel-18 UEs in an existing SIB or in a new SIB, which
contains the satellite information for a satellite(e.g,, a target) switch without change of PCI and is marked as such.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the received network configuration message from the network comprises a system information block (SIB) including information about a cell of the target satellite to perform the soft switch to this way only Rel- 18 and later releases UEs can read the information and confusion between source and target cell can be avoided.
Consider Claims 5 and 11, 3GPP teaches the claimed invention except wherein, during the soft switch, further comprising acquiring downlink (DL) synchronization with the target satellite.
In analogous art, 3GPP2 teaches in section 2.3 - While attempting to access the new cell, the UE would risk to re-synchronize to the outbound satellite in soft satellite switching scenario.
One way to avoid confusion and interference is to ensure from network side that the SSB are not aligned in time and frequency and secondly that the UE is informed with assistance information such it will detect the right SSB. This information can for instance be included in the assistance information of the target cell as an offset to the SSB from the source cell for the Rel-18 UE’s(i.e., ensuring the UE will acquire downlink synchronization with the target satellite).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein, during the soft switch, further comprising acquiring downlink (DL) synchronization with the target satellite for the purposing of facilitation satellite switching.
Consider Claims 6 and 12, 3GPP teaches the claimed invention except wherein, when the measurement gap comprises a stop time of the source satellite that exceeds the start time of the target satellite, further comprising commanding the performing of a soft switch to a cell of the target satellite.
In analogous art, 3GPP2 teaches in section 2.2 -In case of hard satellite switch, the UE should know the duration of the interruption gap, while for the soft satellite switch, the UE should know the duration of the coverage overlapping. Observation 6: For a successful re-synchronization, the UE should have knowledge on satellites' availability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein, when the measurement gap comprises a stop time of the source satellite that exceeds the start time of the target satellite, further comprising commanding the performing of a soft switch to a cell of the target satellite because a person of ordinary skill in the art would, based on the availability of the satellites, determine that the stop time of the source satellite exceeds the start time of the target satellite. Therefore, the overlap of a soft switch would be possible and one would inform the UE as noted in proposal 6.
Claim 7 is rejected based the same rationale as Claim 1, A user equipment (UE) in communication with a source satellite to switch to a target satellite comprising: at least one antenna; at least one radio, wherein the at least one radio is configured to communicate with the source satellite and the target satellite using the at least one antenna; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one radio, wherein the at least one processor would be obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art for these are notoriously well known hardware components.
Claim(s) 24-29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leng et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 20240048227 A1, hereinafter, ‘Leng’.
Consider Claim 24, Leng teaches a user equipment (UE) in communication with a source satellite to switch to a target satellite (e.g., see at least receive, from a base station (BS), first information including satellite assistance information for a target satellite -see at least 0009-0011) comprising: at least one antenna; at least one radio, wherein the at least one radio is configured to communicate with the source satellite and the target satellite using the at least one antenna; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one radio (see UE architecture in figure 3), wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform operations comprising: switching communication from the source satellite to the target satellite; and determining whether to utilize a random access channel (RACH)-based communication or a RACH-less communication to access the target satellite (e.g., see at least the abstract and 0011- “ receiving, from a BS, first information including satellite assistance information for a target satellite; receiving, from the BS, second information including timing information, wherein the timing information includes at least one of a start time and a time duration for a synchronization operation; determining whether a RACH-less synchronization operation is configured; and initiating, based on the satellite assistance information and the timing information, the synchronization operation by performing a RA procedure upon a determination that the RACH-less synchronization operation is not configured”.).
Consider Claim 25, Leng teaches wherein, determining whether to utilize RACH-based communication or RACH-less communication is based upon a received network configuration message from a network satellite (e.g., see at least 0011- the configuration for the service link switch (e.g., parameters in SIB19, IE ntn-Config as illustrated in 3GPP standard specification) is pre-configured by system information (SI) and/or UE-dedicated RRC messages (e.g., RRCReconfiguration message). In one example, the NW can indicate the configuration (e.g., IE ntn-config) associated to a neighbor satellite/cell to be applied for the service link switch. A new field in the source cell's neighbor satellite/cell configuration in SIB19 can be added for this indication. In another example, the service link switch configuration can include one or multiple configuration IDs of the configuration (e.g., IE ntn-config) associated to a neighbor satellite/cell to be applied for the service link switch, and/or one or multiple PCIs to which the associated satellite assistance information provided in the neighbor cell configuration is to be applied for the service link switch)(see also 0012-0115 and 0118 - the service link switch configuration includes a switch time information. The switch time information can include a duration parameter for a switch timer which is to be started by the UE upon initiating a DL synchronization and/or RA for UL synchronization and/or RACH-less switch).
Consider Claim 26, Leng teaches wherein the received network configuration message from the network to utilize RACH-based communication or RACH-less communication is included in a system information block (SIB) or radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling(e.g., see at least 0011- the configuration for the service link switch (e.g., parameters in SIB19, IE ntn-Config as illustrated in 3GPP standard specification) is pre-configured by system information (SI) and/or UE-dedicated RRC messages (e.g., RRCReconfiguration message). In one example, the NW can indicate the configuration (e.g., IE ntn-config) associated to a neighbor satellite/cell to be applied for the service link switch. A new field in the source cell's neighbor satellite/cell configuration in SIB19 can be added for this indication. In another example, the service link switch configuration can include one or multiple configuration IDs of the configuration (e.g., IE ntn-config) associated to a neighbor satellite/cell to be applied for the service link switch, and/or one or multiple PCIs to which the associated satellite assistance information provided in the neighbor cell configuration is to be applied for the service link switch)(see also 0012-0115 and 0118 - the service link switch configuration includes a switch time information. The switch time information can include a duration parameter for a switch timer which is to be started by the UE upon initiating a DL synchronization and/or RA for UL synchronization and/or RACH-less switch).
Consider Claim 27, Leng teaches wherein the RACH-based or RACH-less configuration is cell specific or target satellite specific(e.g., see at least the abstract and 0011- “ receiving, from a BS, first information including satellite assistance information for a target satellite; receiving, from the BS, second information including timing information, wherein the timing information includes at least one of a start time and a time duration for a synchronization operation; determining whether a RACH-less synchronization operation is configured; and initiating, based on the satellite assistance information and the timing information, the synchronization operation by performing a RA procedure upon a determination that the RACH-less synchronization operation is not configured”.).
Consider Claim 28, Leng teaches wherein, determining whether to utilize RACH-based communication or RACH-less communication is based upon a status of a timing advance (TA) timer (e.g., see at least the abstract -Methods and apparatuses for a timing advance report an NTN is provided. 0147 - FIG. 15 illustrates a flowchart of UE method 1500 for a timing advance report in an NTN according to embodiments of the present disclosure.).
Consider Claim 29, Leng teaches, wherein,if-upon determining that the TA timer is running, RACH-less access to the target satellite is performed, and- wherein, upon determining that the TA timer is expired, RACH-based access to the target satellite is performed (e.g., see at least 0129 and figure 13 -At operation 1310, upon receiving the service link switch trigger signal as aforementioned (e.g., PDCCH order, RRC signaling, MAC CE), the UE initiates a DL synchronization and/or RA for UL synchronization and/or RACH-less switch by applying the pre-configured service link switch configuration based on indication in PDCCH order and/or MAC CE and/or RRC signaling (e.g., intra-cell HO command). The UE stops the validity timer (e.g., T430) for the serving cell if running, and/or (re)-starts the timer (e.g., T430) for the serving cell that controls the validity of the new satellite assistance information for UL synchronization (e.g., ephemeris, common TA parameters). If there is no dedicated RACH preamble the UE may trigger CBRA procedure and send C-RNTI MAC CE in msg3 for contention resolution. The UE can include TA report MAC CE in MsgA or Msg3 or Msg5.)
Consider Claim 31, Leng teaches wherein, determining whether to utilize RACH- based communication or RACH-less communication is based upon a difference of downlink propagation delay (PDD) of the target satellite and source satellite-, and wherein, if the difference of the PDD is less than a threshold, RACH-less access of the target satellite is performed, whereas, if the difference of the PDD is greater than or equal to the threshold, RACH-based access of the target satellite is performed (e.g., see at least 0125 - in one example, a time threshold and/or a duration can be configured in the intra-cell HO/switch command. The time threshold indicates the absolute time before which the UE may initiate a DL synchronization and/or a random access procedure for UL synchronization and/or RACH-less switch. Or the duration can indicate the time window during which the UE may initiate a DL synchronization and/or a random access procedure for UL synchronization and/or RACH-less switch. 0127 -In one example, a time threshold and/or a duration can be configured associated with the random access request indication. The time threshold indicates the absolute time before which the UE may initiate a random access procedure. Or the duration can indicate the time window during which the UE may initiate a random access procedure.).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leng et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 20240048227 A1, hereinafter, ‘Leng’ in view of LYU et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 202502803, hereinafter Lyu.
Consider Claim 33, Leng teaches the claimed invention except wherein, determining whether to utilize RACH- based communication or RACH-less communication is based upon radio qualityd- wherein, if the radio quality of the target SAT is greater than a threshold, RACH-less access of the target satellite is performed, otherwise, RACH-based access of the target satellite is performed.
In analogous art, Lyu teaches in paragraph 0200 the first satellite network may determine whether to transmit a RACH-less handover instruction to the terminal device based on actual conditions. For example, when the service network of the terminal device needs to be switched from the first satellite network to the second satellite network due to satellite movement or other reasons, RACH-less handover can be the first choice to reduce the switching delay. 0184 - the terminal device or the second satellite network may determine the first beam based on multiple first measurement results and/or a first threshold. The first threshold may be set by the terminal device or by the second satellite network. he first measurement result corresponding to the first beam may be multiple measurement results greater than the first threshold. That is to say; the signal quality corresponding to the first beam can be specified.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try wherein, determining whether to utilize RACH- based communication or RACH-less communication is based upon radio qualityd- wherein, if the radio quality of the target SAT is greater than a threshold, RACH-less access of the target satellite is performed, otherwise, RACH-based access of the target satellite is performed for the purpose of improving handover.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250280333 A1 teaches in paragraph 0200- In some embodiments, the first satellite network may determine whether to transmit a RACH-less handover instruction to the terminal device based on actual conditions. For example, when the service network of the terminal device needs to be switched from the first satellite network to the second satellite network due to satellite movement or other reasons, RACH-less handover can be the first choice to reduce the switching delay.
US 20250344115 A1 teaches in paragraph 0136 - In some embodiments, the first satellite network may determine whether to transmit a RACH-less handover instruction to the terminal device based on actual conditions. For example, when the service network of the terminal device needs to be switched from the first satellite network to the second satellite network due to satellite movement or other reasons, RACH-less handover can be the first choice to reduce the switching delay.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646