DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to preliminary amendments filed 04/01/2025. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-18, and 21-24 are pending.
Priority
The applicant’s claim for priority as a U.S. National Stage of International Application No. PCT/CN2022/077767, filed 24 February, 2022, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 22-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 22, it is interpreted as a separate independent claim which falls under the four statutory categories as a device claim and incorporates the steps of the method of independent claim 10. For clarity, the examiner requests that the steps that the device of claim 22 performs be written out as part of claim 22. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as such.
Regarding claim 23, it is interpreted as a separate independent claim which falls under the four statutory categories as an apparatus claim and incorporates the steps of the method of independent claim 1. For clarity, the examiner requests that the steps that the apparatus of claim 23 performs be written out as part of claim 23. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as such.
Regarding claim 24, it is interpreted as a separate independent claim which falls under the four statutory categories as an apparatus claim and incorporates the steps of the method of independent claim 10. For clarity, the examiner requests that the steps that the apparatus of claim 24 performs be written out as part of claim 24. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bala et al. (US 2023/0189147), hereinafter “Bala”.
Regarding claims 1, 21, 23, Bala teaches:
A method for receiving a wake up signal or a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), and
the processor, through executing the computer program, is configured (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores an instruction, and the instruction, when invoked and executed on a computer, enables the computer to perform the method (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), the wake up signal based on a subcarrier spacing of a synchronizing signal block (see Bala, par. [0131]: A WUS may be transmitted as a burst. A burst may include one or more WUS blocks (e.g., PIs). A WUS block (e.g., each WUS block) may include a signal component and/or a channel component. A WTRU may use a separate receive beam to receive each WUS block (e.g., a first receive beam for a first WUS block, a second receive beam for a second WUS block, etc.), and see par. [0120]: A paging signal/channel may (e.g., be used to) refer to a paging indication with a sequence and/or a channel component. A paging indication signal/channel may be referred to as a wake-up signal (WUS), for example, a WUS block or included in a WUS block (e.g., a WUS burst may include WUS block(s)), and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, a WUS is received using time/frequency information determined based on SCS used for the SSB, corresponding to receiving the wake up signal based on a SCS of a SSB).
Regarding claim 2, Bala teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
further comprising:
obtaining the subcarrier spacing based on an agreement of protocol (see Bala, Fig. 3A, par. [0110]: In FIG. 3A, the subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the SSB may be set to 120 kHz and the SCS of the CORESET0/PDSCH may be set to 60 kHz. Since the subcarrier spacings used for the SSBs and the CORESET0/PDSCH may be different, the CORESET0/PDSCH OFDM symbol may be two times as long as the SSB OFDM symbol, and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, the SCS being set to a value for communication corresponds to obtaining the SCS based on an agreement of protocol).
Regarding claims 10, 22, 24, Bala teaches:
A method for sending a wake up signal, or a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), and
the processor is configured to execute the computer program (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), thereby implementing the method, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores an instruction, and the instruction, when invoked and executed on a computer, enables the computer to perform the method (see Bala, par. [0241]: The processes described above may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor), comprising:
sending, by a network device and based on a subcarrier spacing of a synchronizing signal block, the wake up signal to a user equipment (UE) (see Bala, par. [0131]: A WUS may be transmitted as a burst. A burst may include one or more WUS blocks (e.g., PIs). A WUS block (e.g., each WUS block) may include a signal component and/or a channel component. A WTRU may use a separate receive beam to receive each WUS block (e.g., a first receive beam for a first WUS block, a second receive beam for a second WUS block, etc.), and see par. [0120]: A paging signal/channel may (e.g., be used to) refer to a paging indication with a sequence and/or a channel component. A paging indication signal/channel may be referred to as a wake-up signal (WUS), for example, a WUS block or included in a WUS block (e.g., a WUS burst may include WUS block(s)), and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, a WUS is transmitted using time/frequency information determined based on SCS used for the SSB, corresponding to sending the wake up signal based on a SCS of a SSB).
Regarding claim 11, Bala teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
further comprising:
obtaining the subcarrier spacing based on an agreement of protocol (see Bala, Fig. 3A, par. [0110]: In FIG. 3A, the subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the SSB may be set to 120 kHz and the SCS of the CORESET0/PDSCH may be set to 60 kHz. Since the subcarrier spacings used for the SSBs and the CORESET0/PDSCH may be different, the CORESET0/PDSCH OFDM symbol may be two times as long as the SSB OFDM symbol, and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, the SCS being set to a value for communication corresponds to obtaining the SCS based on an agreement of protocol).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0200296), hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 3, Bala teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
further comprising:
configuration information, wherein the configuration information is used for configuring a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal (see Bala, par. [0225]: A specific SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern or the multiplexing of the resources of the WUS monitoring occasions may be configured (e.g., by an gNB); in this case, the SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern corresponds to a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal), and
wherein the receiving the wake up signal based on the subcarrier spacing comprises:
receiving, at the frequency-domain position, the wake up signal based on the subcarrier spacing (see Bala, par. [0131]: A WUS may be transmitted as a burst. A burst may include one or more WUS blocks (e.g., PIs). A WUS block (e.g., each WUS block) may include a signal component and/or a channel component. A WTRU may use a separate receive beam to receive each WUS block (e.g., a first receive beam for a first WUS block, a second receive beam for a second WUS block, etc.), and see par. [0120]: A paging signal/channel may (e.g., be used to) refer to a paging indication with a sequence and/or a channel component. A paging indication signal/channel may be referred to as a wake-up signal (WUS), for example, a WUS block or included in a WUS block (e.g., a WUS burst may include WUS block(s)), and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, the time/frequency location for the WUS being based on multiplexing pattern corresponds to receiving the wake up signal at the frequency-domain position).
However, Bala does not teach:
receiving configuration information sent by a network device,
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receiving configuration information sent by a network device (see Liu, par. [0106]: Base station 105-a may configure the maximum duration for WUS 215 and indicate the maximum duration to UE 115-a (e.g., via a SIB) on a carrier (e.g., an NB-IoT carrier) prior to transmitting WUS 215. The maximum duration may be indicated via a downlink message, such as a WUS configuration parameter 210. In some cases, base station 105-a may configure a maximum duration for WUS 215 specific to the carrier. Additionally, WUS configuration parameter 210 may include further information about WUS 215),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the configuration information of Bala with the configuration information being sent by a network device of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of extending battery life and reducing power consumption at wireless devices (see Liu, par. [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bala in view of Liu teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
wherein the frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal comprises one of:
a frequency-domain position corresponding to the synchronizing signal block (see Bala, par. [0225]: A specific SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern or the multiplexing of the resources of the WUS monitoring occasions may be configured (e.g., by an gNB); in this case, the SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern corresponds to a frequency-domain position corresponding to the SSB);
a frequency-domain position corresponding to CORESET#0 (optional limitation);
a frequency-domain position corresponding to an initial bandwidth part (optional limitation); or
all or part of frequency-domain positions corresponding to an active bandwidth part (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Bala teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
further comprising:
configuration information, wherein the configuration information is used for configuring a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal (see Bala, par. [0225]: A specific SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern or the multiplexing of the resources of the WUS monitoring occasions may be configured (e.g., by an gNB); in this case, the SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern corresponds to a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal);
wherein the sending the wake up signal to the UE comprises:
sending to the UE, at the frequency-domain position, the wake up signal based on the subcarrier spacing (see Bala, par. [0131]: A WUS may be transmitted as a burst. A burst may include one or more WUS blocks (e.g., PIs). A WUS block (e.g., each WUS block) may include a signal component and/or a channel component. A WTRU may use a separate receive beam to receive each WUS block (e.g., a first receive beam for a first WUS block, a second receive beam for a second WUS block, etc.), and see par. [0120]: A paging signal/channel may (e.g., be used to) refer to a paging indication with a sequence and/or a channel component. A paging indication signal/channel may be referred to as a wake-up signal (WUS), for example, a WUS block or included in a WUS block (e.g., a WUS burst may include WUS block(s)), and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, the time/frequency location for the WUS being based on multiplexing pattern corresponds to transmitting the wake up signal at the frequency-domain position).
However, Bala does not teach:
sending configuration information to the UE,
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
sending configuration information to the UE (see Liu, par. [0106]: Base station 105-a may configure the maximum duration for WUS 215 and indicate the maximum duration to UE 115-a (e.g., via a SIB) on a carrier (e.g., an NB-IoT carrier) prior to transmitting WUS 215. The maximum duration may be indicated via a downlink message, such as a WUS configuration parameter 210. In some cases, base station 105-a may configure a maximum duration for WUS 215 specific to the carrier. Additionally, WUS configuration parameter 210 may include further information about WUS 215),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the configuration information of Bala with the configuration information being sent by a network device to a UE of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of extending battery life and reducing power consumption at wireless devices (see Liu, par. [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bala in view of Liu teaches the method.
wherein the frequency- domain position corresponding to the wake up signal comprises one of:
a frequency-domain position corresponding to the synchronizing signal block (see Bala, par. [0225]: A specific SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern or the multiplexing of the resources of the WUS monitoring occasions may be configured (e.g., by an gNB); in this case, the SSB/WUS multiplexing pattern corresponds to a frequency-domain position corresponding to the SSB);
a frequency-domain position corresponding to CORESET#0 (optional limitation);
a frequency-domain position corresponding to an initial bandwidth part (optional limitation); or
all or part of frequency-domain positions corresponding to an active bandwidth part (optional limitation).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Liu, as applied to claims 3, 4, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of Priyanto et al. (US 2023/0189139), hereinafter “Priyanto”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bala in view of Liu teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
wherein the receiving the wake up signal comprises:
receiving the wake up signal based on the subcarrier spacing (see Bala, par. [0131]: A WUS may be transmitted as a burst. A burst may include one or more WUS blocks (e.g., PIs). A WUS block (e.g., each WUS block) may include a signal component and/or a channel component. A WTRU may use a separate receive beam to receive each WUS block (e.g., a first receive beam for a first WUS block, a second receive beam for a second WUS block, etc.), and see par. [0120]: A paging signal/channel may (e.g., be used to) refer to a paging indication with a sequence and/or a channel component. A paging indication signal/channel may be referred to as a wake-up signal (WUS), for example, a WUS block or included in a WUS block (e.g., a WUS burst may include WUS block(s)), and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, a WUS is received using time/frequency information determined based on SCS used for the SSB, corresponding to receiving the wake up signal based on a SCS of a SSB),
Bala does not teach, but Liu teaches:
receiving, in a secondary cell, the wake up signal (see Liu, Fig. 1, par. [0093]: Wireless communications system 100 may support communication with a UE 115 on multiple cells or carriers, and see par. [0097]: a base station 105 may transmit a WUS to a UE 115 using certain time-frequency resources of a downlink channel (e.g., PDCCH or NPDCCH). If the UE 115 wakes up from a sleep state and detects the WUS, the UE 115 may remain in the wake up state in order to monitor the downlink channel for a paging message (e.g., transmitted by base station 105) during a paging occasion)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the receiving a wake up signal of Bala with the receiving the signal in a secondary cell of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of extending battery life and reducing power consumption at wireless devices (see Liu, par. [0004]).
However, the combination of Bala in view of Liu does not teach:
wherein the frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is a frequency-domain position corresponding to a first active bandwidth part.
Priyanto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is a frequency-domain position corresponding to a first active bandwidth part (see Priyanto, par. [0173]: concepts of BWP adaption can be combined with the concepts of wake-up signaling. For example, it would be possible that, in block 5002, the count of the one or more subcarriers is furthermore determined based on a BWP 371, 372 or a sub-BWP 373 of the carrier of the wireless link 114. To give an example, the BWP 371 (cf. FIG. 3) may be predefined for the OFDM numerology 801 having a unique setting. Then, it would be possible to determine the count of the one or more subcarriers such that the WUS 4003 has a WUS BW that fits within the bandwidth of the BWP 371, and see par. [0052]: up to 4 BWPs can be configured when the UE is in connected mode in which 1 is an active BWP and only one BWP, i.e., the default BWP is allowed when the UE is in idle mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the frequency-domain position of the combination of Bala in view of Liu with the frequency-domain position corresponding to a first active BWP of Priyanto with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing power consumption at the UE (see Priyanto, par. [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bala in view of Liu teaches the method. Bala further teaches:
wherein the sending the wake up signal comprises:
sending the wake up signal based on the subcarrier spacing (see Bala, par. [0131]: A WUS may be transmitted as a burst. A burst may include one or more WUS blocks (e.g., PIs). A WUS block (e.g., each WUS block) may include a signal component and/or a channel component. A WTRU may use a separate receive beam to receive each WUS block (e.g., a first receive beam for a first WUS block, a second receive beam for a second WUS block, etc.), and see par. [0120]: A paging signal/channel may (e.g., be used to) refer to a paging indication with a sequence and/or a channel component. A paging indication signal/channel may be referred to as a wake-up signal (WUS), for example, a WUS block or included in a WUS block (e.g., a WUS burst may include WUS block(s)), and see par. [0216]: The WTRU may determine the time/frequency location of the paging indication channel/signal and the SCS of the paging indication channel/signal from at least one of the SSB/RMSI multiplexing pattern, the SCS used for the SSB, or the RMSI. The SCS of the paging indication may be selected as to reduce the interference between the paging indication and the SSB of the same and/or interfering cells; in this case, a WUS is transmitted using time/frequency information determined based on SCS used for the SSB, corresponding to sending the wake up signal based on a SCS of a SSB),
Bala does not teach, but Liu teaches:
sending, in a secondary cell, the wake up signal (see Liu, Fig. 1, par. [0093]: Wireless communications system 100 may support communication with a UE 115 on multiple cells or carriers, and see par. [0097]: a base station 105 may transmit a WUS to a UE 115 using certain time-frequency resources of a downlink channel (e.g., PDCCH or NPDCCH). If the UE 115 wakes up from a sleep state and detects the WUS, the UE 115 may remain in the wake up state in order to monitor the downlink channel for a paging message (e.g., transmitted by base station 105) during a paging occasion)
However, the combination of Bala in view of Liu does not teach:
wherein the frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is a frequency-domain position corresponding to a first active bandwidth part.
Priyanto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is a frequency-domain position corresponding to a first active bandwidth part (see Priyanto, par. [0173]: concepts of BWP adaption can be combined with the concepts of wake-up signaling. For example, it would be possible that, in block 5002, the count of the one or more subcarriers is furthermore determined based on a BWP 371, 372 or a sub-BWP 373 of the carrier of the wireless link 114. To give an example, the BWP 371 (cf. FIG. 3) may be predefined for the OFDM numerology 801 having a unique setting. Then, it would be possible to determine the count of the one or more subcarriers such that the WUS 4003 has a WUS BW that fits within the bandwidth of the BWP 371, and see par. [0052]: up to 4 BWPs can be configured when the UE is in connected mode in which 1 is an active BWP and only one BWP, i.e., the default BWP is allowed when the UE is in idle mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the frequency-domain position of the combination of Bala in view of Liu with the frequency-domain position corresponding to a first active BWP of Priyanto with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing power consumption at the UE (see Priyanto, par. [0044]).
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Oteri et al. (US 2024/0196469), hereinafter “Oteri”.
Regarding claim 7, Bala teaches the method.
However, Bala does not teach:
wherein an end location of a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is provided with a frequency-domain guard interval.
Oteri, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein an end location of a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is provided with a frequency-domain guard interval (see Oteri, Fig. 15A, par. [0153]: a guard band between each WUS “carrier” may be based on configuration in which a base station, such as base station 102, allocates a UE, such as UE 106, to a wakeup signal channel based on its capability, and see par. [0161]: the UE may receive, from a base station, such as base station 102, a configuration of one or more time and frequency resources for the wakeup radio to monitor; in this case, a guard band between WUS carriers corresponds to an end location of a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bala with the end location of a frequency-domain position of Oteri with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of conserving UE power (see Oteri, par. [0167]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bala in view of Oteri teaches the method.
Bala does not teach, but Oteri teaches:
further comprising:
obtaining the frequency-domain guard interval based on an agreement of protocol (see Oteri, Fig. 15A, par. [0153]: there may be a guard band between each group of time multiplexed group of UEs. Note that high capability UEs may be able to decode multiple multi-carrier OOK signals simultaneously and this may be used for increasing coverage (diversity) and/or data rate (capacity). Further, such a scheme may be useful if and/or when there is limited time resource to send an OOK signal. In some instances, a guard band between each WUS “carrier” may be based on configuration in which a base station, such as base station 102, allocates a UE, such as UE 106, to a wakeup signal channel based on its capability (e.g., whether the UE can decode multiple multi-carrier OOK signals simultaneously) and/or may be pre-configured/pre-specified; in this case, determining guard bands based on device capability corresponds to obtaining the frequency-domain guard interval based on an agreement of protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bala with the obtaining frequency-domain guard interval based on an agreement of protocol of Oteri with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of conserving UE power (see Oteri, par. [0167]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bala in view of Oteri teaches the method.
Bala does not teach, but Oteri teaches:
further comprising:
receiving indication information sent by a network device, wherein the indication information is used for indicating the frequency-domain guard interval (see Oteri, Fig. 15A, par. [0153]: a guard band between each WUS “carrier” may be based on configuration in which a base station, such as base station 102, allocates a UE, such as UE 106, to a wakeup signal channel based on its capability, and see par. [0161]: the UE may receive, from a base station, such as base station 102, a configuration of one or more time and frequency resources for the wakeup radio to monitor; in this case, the configuration corresponds to indication information and includes guard bands, corresponding to the indication information indicating the frequency-domain guard interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bala with the receiving frequency-domain guard interval indication information of Oteri with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of conserving UE power (see Oteri, par. [0167]).
Regarding claim 16, Bala teaches the method.
However, Bala does not teach:
wherein an end location of a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is provided with a frequency-domain guard interval.
Oteri, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein an end location of a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal is provided with a frequency-domain guard interval (see Oteri, Fig. 15A, par. [0153]: a guard band between each WUS “carrier” may be based on configuration in which a base station, such as base station 102, allocates a UE, such as UE 106, to a wakeup signal channel based on its capability, and see par. [0161]: the UE may receive, from a base station, such as base station 102, a configuration of one or more time and frequency resources for the wakeup radio to monitor; in this case, a guard band between WUS carriers corresponds to an end location of a frequency-domain position corresponding to the wake up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bala with the end location of a frequency-domain position of Oteri with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of conserving UE power (see Oteri, par. [0167]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bala in view of Oteri teaches the method.
Bala does not teach, but Oteri teaches:
further comprising:
obtaining the frequency-domain guard interval based on an agreement of protocol (see Oteri, Fig. 15A, par. [0153]: there may be a guard band between each group of time multiplexed group of UEs. Note that high capability UEs may be able to decode multiple multi-carrier OOK signals simultaneously and this may be used for increasing coverage (diversity) and/or data rate (capacity). Further, such a scheme may be useful if and/or when there is limited time resource to send an OOK signal. In some instances, a guard band between each WUS “carrier” may be based on configuration in which a base station, such as base station 102, allocates a UE, such as UE 106, to a wakeup signal channel based on its capability (e.g., whether the UE can decode multiple multi-carrier OOK signals simultaneously) and/or may be pre-configured/pre-specified; in this case, determining guard bands based on device capability corresponds to obtaining the frequency-domain guard interval based on an agreement of protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bala with the obtaining frequency-domain guard interval based on an agreement of protocol of Oteri with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of conserving UE power (see Oteri, par. [0167]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bala in view of Oteri teaches the method.
Bala does not teach, but Oteri teaches:
further comprising:
sending indication information to the UE, wherein the indication information is used for indicating the frequency-domain guard interval (see Oteri, Fig. 15A, par. [0153]: a guard band between each WUS “carrier” may be based on configuration in which a base station, such as base station 102, allocates a UE, such as UE 106, to a wakeup signal channel based on its capability, and see par. [0161]: the UE may receive, from a base station, such as base station 102, a configuration of one or more time and frequency resources for the wakeup radio to monitor; in this case, the configuration corresponds to indication information and includes guard bands, corresponding to the indication information indicating the frequency-domain guard interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bala with the receiving frequency-domain guard interval indication information of Oteri with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of conserving UE power (see Oteri, par. [0167]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Peng et al. (US 2022/0286964) teaches power saving techniques are described for paging operation including using wake up signals.
Wilhelmsson et al. (US 2019/0387469) teaches a method of a network node adapted to transmit a wake-up signal for waking up one or more wireless communication receivers.
Xue et al. (US 2024/0244551) teaches a signal transmission method and an apparatus including transmitting a wake-up signal through a first frequency resource.
S. Rostami et al. ("Novel Wake-up Scheme for Energy-Efficient Low-Latency Mobile Devices in 5G Networks") teaches a novel wake-up scheme is described and studied, to tackle the trade-off between latency and battery lifetime in future 5G networks, seeking thus to facilitate an always-available experience, rather than always-on.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409