DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 5/4/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-6, 11, 14, and 17 are amended,
Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0258063, previously cited) in view of Boll et al. (German Patent Publication DE4408960C1, “Boll”, previously cited) and in further view of Jiang (Chinese Patent Publication CN110459818A, previously cited) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0194491, “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a temperature control system (fig 1) for controlling a temperature of a traction battery of a motor vehicle using a heat transfer medium in a temperature control circuit, the temperature control system comprising:
a battery housing (of 20) including an evaporation device (50) for evaporating the heat transfer medium;
a collecting container (46) for receiving the heat transfer medium, the collecting container operatively connected to a heating device (“resistance heater”, ¶0007) for heating the heat transfer medium;
a heat transfer device (50) which has a condenser (50) for cooling the heat transfer medium;
a pump (90) for conveying the heat transfer medium; and
an electronic control unit (40), wherein the electronic control unit is designed to receive a temperature of the at least one designated battery cell, in accordance with at least one specific manipulated variable of the temperature control system, to control the temperature of the at least one designated battery cell (¶0008).
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the evaporation device forms a closed interior with at least one receiving position for at least one battery cell; a lower region of the battery housing being designed to receive the heat transfer medium. Boll, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein an evaporation device (21) forms a closed interior (of chamber 20) with at least one receiving position for at least one battery cell (in 20); a lower region of the battery housing being designed to receive a heat transfer medium (in 21). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the evaporation device configuration of Boll in order to provide optimal cooling of the battery.
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating device is designed to be able to vary a first temperature of the heat transfer medium in the collecting container as function of a heating device manipulated variable; wherein the heat transfer device is designed to vary a second temperature of the heat transfer medium at a fluid drain of the condenser as a function of a heat transfer device manipulated variable; the pump being designed to vary a heat transfer medium volume flow as a function of a pump manipulated variable. Jiang, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein a heating device is designed to be able to vary a first temperature of the heat transfer medium in the collecting container as a function of a heating device specific manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41); wherein a heat transfer device is designed to vary a second temperature of the heat transfer medium at a fluid drain of the condenser depending on a heat transfer device specific manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41); a pump being designed to vary a heat transfer medium volume flow as a function of a pump manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the manipulated variables of Jiang in order to optimize the temperature control of the battery.
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating device is disposed within the collecting container for heating the heat transfer medium via direct contact with the heating device. Park, however, discloses wherein a heating device (40, fig 1) is disposed in a collecting container (10) for heating the heat transfer medium via direct contact with the heating device. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the heating device in the collecting container as taught by Park in order to reduce the need for separate components and thus reduce the size of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one specific manipulated variable comprises the heating device manipulated variable (such as taught by Boll, see page 6, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one specific manipulated variable comprises the pump manipulated variable (such as taught by Boll, see page 6, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one specific manipulated variable comprises the heat transfer device manipulated variable (such as taught by Boll, see page 6, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein: the heat transfer device has a secondary fluid circuit, the heat transfer device is designed to vary the second temperature of the heat transfer medium at the fluid drain of the condenser depending on a secondary fluid circuit manipulated variable; and the at least one specific manipulated variable comprises the secondary fluid circuit manipulated variable. Boll, however, discloses wherein: a heat transfer device (9) has a secondary fluid circuit (5), the heat transfer device is designed to vary the second temperature of the heat transfer medium at the fluid drain of the condenser depending on a secondary fluid circuit manipulated variable (8, page 3, lines 8-27); and the manipulated variable comprises the secondary fluid circuit manipulated variable (8, page 3, lines 8-27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to enhance the cooling of the working fluid.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, further discloses wherein: the heat transfer device has a fan for conveying an air flow (such as taught by Jiang, see page 6, lines 38-41), wherein the heat transfer device is designed to vary the second temperature of the heat transfer medium at the fluid drain of the condenser depending on a fan manipulated variable (such as taught by Jiang, see page 6, lines 38-41); and the manipulated variable comprises the fan manipulated variable (such as taught by Jiang, see page 6, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson further discloses wherein: a three-way valve (40) is arranged between the condenser (50) of the heat transfer device and the battery housing (20); the three-way valve is at least indirectly fluidically connected to the collecting container (46); the three-way valve is designed to provide a fluidic connection between the battery housing and the condenser depending on a three-way valve manipulated variable (via 22); and the at least one specific manipulated variable comprises the three-way valve manipulated variable (¶0008-0010).
Regarding claim 17, Thompson discloses a motor vehicle comprising a temperature control system (fig 1) comprising:
a battery housing (of 20) including an evaporation device (50) for evaporating the heat transfer medium;
a collecting container (46) for receiving the heat transfer medium, in particular a collecting container operatively connected to a heating device (“resistance heater”, ¶0007) for heating the heat transfer medium;
a heat transfer device (50) which has a condenser for cooling the heat transfer medium;
a pump (90) for conveying the heat transfer medium; and
an electronic control unit (40), wherein the electronic control unit is designed to receive a temperature of the at least one designated battery cell, in accordance with at least one manipulated variable of the temperature control system, to control the temperature of the at least one designated battery cell (¶0008).
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the evaporation device forms a closed interior with at least one receiving position for at least one battery cell; a lower region of the battery housing being designed to receive the heat transfer medium. Boll, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein an evaporation device (21) forms a closed interior (of chamber 20) with at least one receiving position for at least one battery cell (in 20); a lower region of the battery housing being designed to receive a heat transfer medium (in 21). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the evaporation device configuration of Boll in order to provide efficient cooling of the battery.
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating device is designed to be able to vary a first temperature of the heat transfer medium in the collecting container as a function of a heating device manipulated variable; wherein the heat transfer device is designed to vary a second temperature of the heat transfer medium at a fluid drain of the condenser as a function of a heat transfer device manipulated variable; the pump being designed to vary a heat transfer medium volume flow as a function of a pump manipulated variable. Jiang, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein a heating device is designed to be able to vary a first temperature of the heat transfer medium in the collecting container as a function of a heating device manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41); wherein a heat transfer device is designed to vary a second temperature of the heat transfer medium at a fluid drain of the condenser depending on a heat transfer device manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41); a pump being designed to vary a heat transfer medium volume flow as a function of a pump manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the manipulated variables of Jiang in order to optimize the temperature control of the battery.
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating device is disposed within the collecting container for heating the heat transfer medium via direct contact with the heating device. Park, however, discloses wherein a heating device (40, fig 1) is disposed in a collecting container (10) for heating the heat transfer medium via direct contact with the heating device. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the heating device in the collecting container as taught by Park in order to reduce the need for separate components and thus reduce the size of the apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rheaume et al U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/030792, “Rheaume”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the pump is a diaphragm pump designed to a change a conveying direction of the heat transfer medium. Rheaume, however, discloses a temperature control system (fig 1) wherein a pump (109) is a diaphragm pump (¶0019) designed to a change a conveying direction of the heat transfer medium (as this is inherent to a diaphragm pump). Rheaume teaches that the pump can be any kind of pump suitable for moving a working fluid (¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide a diaphragm pump in order to efficiently circulate the working fluid.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bolton et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,294,916, “Bolton”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose a sensor for determining the conductivity of the heat transfer medium. Bolton, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein a sensor is used for determining the conductivity of the heat transfer medium (col 1, lines 29-47). Bolton teaches that this allows for the heat transfer medium to maintain a minimum conductivity (col 1, lines 29-47). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the sensor of Bolton in order to ensure the heat transfer medium maintains a minimum conductivity.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Porras et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/015231, “Porras”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Thompson, Boll, Jiang, and Park discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the temperature control system is designed to limit an electrical power of the at least one battery cell. Porras, however, discloses a temperature control system which is designed to limit an electrical power of the at least one battery cell (¶0032). Porras teaches that this prevents overheating (¶0032). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to limit an electrical power to the battery in order to prevent overheating.
Claim(s) 11, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0258063, previously cited) in view of Newman et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0304765, “Newman”, previously cited) and in further view of Mattmuller et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0344670, “Mattmuller”).
Regarding claim 11, Thompson discloses a method for controlling a temperature control behavior of a temperature control system determining (via 22) a temperature of at least one battery cell (20); and/or
determining a wet steam content at a fluid drain of a battery housing (via 44 and 46);
determining a state of the at least one battery cell, in particular determining whether there is as one of a heating requirement or a cooling requirement (¶0008-0010).
However, Thompson does teach determining whether there is a fault in the battery. Newman, however, discloses a temperature control system which determines whether there is a fault in the battery (¶0138). Newman teaches that this prevents overheating (¶0138). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to limit an electrical power to the battery in order to prevent overheating.
However, Thompson does not explicitly disclose determining a current strength of the at least one battery cell. Mattmuller, however, discloses a method for controlling the temperature of a battery cell which determines a current strength of the at least one battery cell (¶0019). Mattmuller teaches cooling the battery when the current strength increases (¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to determine a current strength of the at least one battery cell in order to more optimally maintain
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Thompson, Newman, and Mattmuller discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, further discloses wherein after determination of a fault, electrical power of the at least one battery cell is limited (¶0138, Newman).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Thompson, Newman, and Mattmuller discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson further discloses wherein after determination of a heating requirement (see ¶0008),
by specifying a corresponding three-way valve (40) manipulated variable (see ¶0008-0010), a fluidic connection is provided between the battery housing (20) and a collecting container (46), wherein the heat transfer medium is conducted past the condenser (50).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Thompson, Newman, and Mattmuller discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson further discloses a regulation for controlling the temperature control behavior of the temperature control system is model-based at least in some regions (as the model described in ¶0008-0010 would be applied in all regions).
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Newman, and Mattmuller as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jiang (Chinese Patent Publication CN110459818A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Thompson, Newman, and Mattmuller discloses all previous claim limitations. Thompson, as modified, further discloses wherein after determination of a fault, a second temperature of a heat transfer medium at the fluid drain of a condenser is controlled to be minimized (as the fault is due to overheating, see ¶0138 of Newman).
However, they do not explicitly disclose by specifying at least one of: a corresponding secondary fluid circuit manipulated variable, a corresponding fan manipulated variable, and/or a corresponding pump manipulated variable. Jiang, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein a heating device is designed to be able to vary a first temperature of the heat transfer medium in the collecting container depending on a heating device manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41); wherein a heat transfer device is designed to vary a second temperature of the heat transfer medium at a fluid drain of the condenser depending on a heat transfer device manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41); a pump being designed to vary a heat transfer medium volume flow depending on a pump manipulated variable (page 6, lines 38-41). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide the manipulated variables of Jiang in order to optimize the temperature control of the battery.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Thompson, Newman, and Mattmuller discloses all previous claim limitations. Thomson further discloses wherein after determination of a cooling requirement (see ¶0008), the wet steam content at the fluid drain of the battery housing (outlet of battery housing 20) is controlled to be optimized (¶0009-0010);
However, they do not explicitly disclose by specifying a corresponding pump manipulated variable. Jiang, however, discloses a temperature control system wherein a corresponding pump manipulated variable determines a temperature of a wet stream content at the fluid drain of the battery housing is controlled to be optimized (page 6, lines 38-41). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Thompson to provide pump manipulated variable to allow more precise cooling and heating of the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 9-11) that none of the cited references teaching the heating device being disposed in the collecting container as now required by claims 1 and 17. However, newly cited Park is now being relied upon to teach these limitations.
Applicant argues (pages 12-13) that none of the cited references teach determine a current strength of the at least one battery cell as now required by claim 11. However, newly cited Mattmuller is now relied upon to teach this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763