Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 6, “the shape of the inlet connector” lacks antecedent basis.
Line 2, the claim is directed to a medical apparatus “for an inlet connector” , however it is unclear if the claims intend to positively claim the inlet connector.
Regarding claim 2, Line 2, “a gasket first sealing portion that tightly engages with an end surface of an outer circumferential portion of the inlet connector” appears to be positively engaging the inlet connector however it is not clear if it is intended to include the inlet connector as part of the medical device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by English et al.( US 20220008734) hereinafter English et al.
English et al. teaches systems, and methods that include a connector port subassembly for a medical device. The connector port subassembly may include a connector bore arranged within the core subassembly including a proximal end and a distal end; one or more connector blocks arranged within the connector bore; and one or more seal rings molded to an interior surface of the connector bore and arranged adjacent to the one or more connector blocks.
Regarding claim 1, English et al. teaches a medical apparatus equipped with an apparatus main body having an inlet for an inlet connector to be connected thereto and including a gasket that is interposed between an inlet opening section provided at the inlet and a casing opening section for inlet connector connection provided at the apparatus main body, and is configured to allow the inlet to conform with the shape of the inlet connector. Note Figures 1,3,4,and 5 show a main body(104, 108) with an interface port 112, gaskets (406, 410) or seal rings, and paragraphs [0067] – [0069].
Regarding claim 2, English et al. teaches a gasket first sealing portion that tightly engages with an end surface of an outer circumferential portion of the inlet connector by pressure-contacting the inlet connector with the inlet; and a gasket second sealing portion that is provided on an inner wall of an opening section of the gasket and tightly engages with an inner circumferential portion side surface of the inlet connector by pressure-contacting the inlet connector with the inlet. Note Figures 1,3,4,and 5 show a main body(104, 108) with an interface port 112, gaskets (406, 410) or seal rings, and paragraphs [0067] – [0069].
Regarding claim 3, English et al. teaches wherein there are provided multiple said gasket second sealing portions facing against the inner wall of the opening section of the gasket. Note Figures 1,3,4,and 5 show a main body(104, 108) with an interface port 112, gaskets (406, 410) or seal rings, and paragraphs [0067] – [0069].
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasamura et al.( US 20180235445) hereinafter Sasamura et al.
Sasamura et al. teaches an endoscope processor and an endoscope connection system capable of preventing the electrostatic breakdown of the connection part and the electronic component (IC) of the endoscope processor even when an endoscope is not connected to the endoscope processor.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 6, Sasamura et al. teaches in paragraphs [0041] – [0047, a connector (25), gasket (36) , a discharge resistance (39) paragraph [0052], as part of a medical device or endoscope connector [0006]. [0052] FIG. 8 shows a third embodiment of the endoscope system (endoscope connection system) 10. In the third embodiment, in addition to the configuration of FIG. 7, the endoscope processor 30 is provided with a discharge resistor 39 arranged in parallel with the impedance component (capacitor) 38 and connecting between the patient circuit 32 and the body (protective ground-contact) 34. According to this configuration, it is possible for electrostatic charge to escape to the body (protective ground-contact) 34 via the discharge resistor 39 without accumulating at the impedance component 38. The resistance value of the discharge resistor 39 is set to a constant that is determined in accordance with electrical safety. Also note paragraph [0053] FIG. 9 shows a fourth embodiment of the endoscope system (endoscope connection system) 10. In the fourth embodiment, a conductive elastic gasket 36A is provided as (instead of) the conductive elastic member 36 of the arrangements shown in FIGS. 1 through 8 (first through third embodiments). The conductive elastic gasket 36A can elastically deform in both a connecting direction between the connector 25 (connector terminals 25A) of the endoscope 20 and the connector 31 (connector terminals 31A) of the endoscope processor 30, and in a direction orthogonal to the connecting direction.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Black( US 20150209575) hereinafter Black.
Black teaches lead extension for an electrical stimulation system includes a lead-extension body, terminals, and a connector. The connector includes a contact housing and a gasket housing. Multiple connector contacts are disposed in the contact housing and are coupled to the terminals. A retention member is disposed along one end of the contact housing and is receivable by a retention socket defined in the gasket housing. A deformable gasket is disposed in the retention socket. A lumen extends through the connector and is suitable for receiving an electrical stimulation lead. The received lead is retained in the lumen by using the retention member to compress the gasket along a longitudinal length of the connector. The longitudinal compression of the gasket causes a corresponding radial expansion of the gasket, which retains the electrical stimulation lead within the lumen.
Regarding claim 1, Black teaches a medical apparatus equipped with an apparatus main body having an inlet for an inlet connector to be connected thereto and including a gasket that is interposed between an inlet opening section provided at the inlet and a casing opening section for inlet connector connection provided at the apparatus main body, and is configured to allow the inlet to conform with the shape of the inlet connector. Note figures 1-2, 8A-8D, also note the main body(440), inlet (792) for an inlet connector (806) to be connected to the main body, a gasket (760) that is interposed between an inlet opening section (710) provided at the inlet and a casing opening section (right) for inlet connector connection provided at the apparatus main body, and is configured to allow the inlet to conform with the shape of the inlet connector (arrows on figures 8B-8C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English et al.( US 20220008734) hereinafter English et al. in view of Kim et al.( WO 2022030870) hereinafter Kim et al.
English et al. teaches the claimed invention as set forth above including a medical device that may comply with one or more of industry standards (e.g., IS-1, IS4, DF4) (which require specific sealing integrity from fluids). A proper connection between the implantable leads and the corresponding connector ports is required to allow proper functioning of the implantable system.
English et al. does not specifically teach wherein the medical apparatus has a waterproof rating (IPX) of 1 or higher.
Kim et al. teaches an electronic device including a sensor module, and more particularly, to a wearable electronic device including a sensor module and a hole for operating the sensor module. The electronic device according to various embodiments disclosed in this document may be a device of various types. The electronic device may include, for example, a portable communication device (eg, a smart phone), a computer device, a portable multimedia device, a portable medical device. Figures 5 and 7 show an inlet 114 and sealing members 184 and 186 and further teaches according to various embodiments, the waterproof member 187 may be implemented using a material having an IPX waterproof rating of a specified level. For example, the waterproof member 187 may be formed of a material satisfying the waterproof performance of IPX 4 to IPX 8 .
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of English et al. a waterproof rating (IPX) of 1 or higher as taught by Kim et al. to ensure industry standards for sealing against liquid and ensure proper electrical operation is maintained without short circuits.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasamura et al.( US 20180235445) hereinafter Sasamura et al.
Sasamura et al. teaches the claimed invention as set forth above including [0052] the endoscope processor 30 is provided with a discharge resistor 39 arranged in parallel with the impedance component (capacitor) 38 and connecting between the patient circuit 32 and the body (protective ground-contact) 34. According to this configuration, it is possible for electrostatic charge to escape to the body (protective ground-contact) 34 via the discharge resistor 39 without accumulating at the impedance component 38. The resistance value of the discharge resistor 39 is set to a constant that is determined in accordance with electrical safety.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of Sasamura et al. wherein the electrostatic discharge resistance is an air electrostatic discharge resistance of ±15 kV or higher as a matter of design choice and according to electrical safety levels as recognized by Sasamura et al. Furthermore, It is noted that there are a limited number of choices available to a person of ordinary skill in the art for setting the resistance values of a discharge resistor in a medical device in accordance with safety measures for medical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try using the electrostatic discharge resistance with an air electrostatic discharge resistance of ±15 kV or higher in Sasamura et al. for electrostatic charge to escape to the body (protective ground-contact) via the discharge resistor 39 with a reasonable expectation of successfully operating the endoscope device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black( US 20150209575) hereinafter Black in view of Maschino et al.( US 20070179557) hereinafter Maschino et al.
Black teaches the claimed invention as set forth above including probe(104,134) and [0003] Implantable medical device systems, such as electrical stimulation systems, have proven therapeutic in a variety of diseases and disorders. For example, spinal cord stimulation systems have been used as a therapeutic modality for the treatment of chronic pain syndromes. Peripheral nerve stimulation has been used to treat chronic pain syndrome and incontinence, with a number of other applications under investigation. Functional electrical stimulation systems have been applied to restore some functionality to paralyzed extremities in spinal cord injury patients. Note also paragraphs [048] – [0054] , [0049] The electrodes 134 can be formed using any conductive, biocompatible material. Examples of suitable materials include metals, alloys, conductive polymers, conductive carbon, and the like, as well as combinations thereof. In at least some embodiments, one or more of the electrodes 134 are formed from one or more of: platinum, platinum iridium, palladium, palladium rhodium, or titanium. [0050] Any suitable number of electrodes 134 can be disposed on the lead including, for example, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, fourteen, sixteen, twenty-four, thirty-two, or more electrodes 134. In the case of paddle leads, the electrodes 134 can be disposed on the paddle body 104 in any suitable arrangement. In FIG. 1, the electrodes 134 are arranged into two columns, where each column has eight electrodes 134.
Black teaches variations on the type and material for the probe electrode does not specifically teach the probe having a coil type electrode.
Maschino et al. teaches method, apparatus, and system for affecting neuromodulation based upon an evoking signal applied to a patient's body. An internal and/or external evoking and/or therapeutic signal is applied to a first target portion of a patient's body. Data relating to a physiological response resulting from the internal and/or external evoking and/or therapeutic signal is received. A neurotransmission characteristic of the patient's body is determined based upon the data relating to the physiological response. At least one parameter defining an electrical therapeutic signal provided by an implantable medical device is controlled based upon the determined neurotransmission characteristic to treat a disorder. Paragraph [0052] teaches the electrodes can take the form of a spiral or helical electrode which is a “coil” type electrode.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of Black a spiral or helical coiled electrode as taught by Maschino et al. for stimulation and as an obvious substitution of one known type of electrode for another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHANG et al.( TW 484217U) teaches Water-proof electronic receptacle connector e.g. Micro USB or Mini USB electronic connector, for mobile portable electronic apparatuses such as smart mobile communication device, notebooks and digital cameras.
CULJAT et al.( US 20130060144) teaches dental ultrasonography probe includes a probe tip having a scanning ultrasonography transducer that generates a narrow beam ultrasonic transmission signal over a sequence of beam angles, that receives an ultrasonic return signal, and that generates an ultrasonic receive signal in response to the ultrasonic return signal to identify and measure dental and craniofacial objects and features. A probe body has a longitudinal axis that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the probe tip. [0055] The probe tip 212 functions as probe tip 102 but has a fan shape with a convex surface 202. The probe end includes a connector, such as the min-USB connector shown for coupling the dental ultrasonography probe 200 to a processing display device, such as personal computer 20 or other device. In an embodiment of the present invention, a gasket is provided for water sealing the USB connection or otherwise providing additional water resistance due to the dental environment of the probe.
HAN et al.( CN 210809553) teaches intelligent monitoring bracelet, comprising one end of the bracelet housing, said bracelet shell is fixedly connected and installed with a watch band, and the other end of the bracelet housing fixedly connected and installed with a second watch band, the first watchband and the second table are fixedly embedded in the belt whose one end is provided with a fixing block, the surface of the fixed block is equipped with a fixed column, one end of the fixing block, a first watchband and the second watchband are fixedly mounted with a sealing gasket, the lower surface of the bracelet housing is provided with a detection port. surface of the second watch band close to the other end is fixed with a metal card. smart monitoring bracelet of the utility model can prevent moisture and sweat from the gap into the fixing slot, so the USB joint of the inside has good protection function to prevent short circuit and corrosion caused by contact failure, later and it is convenient to disassembly, maintenance and change to two parts, reduces the whole cost brought by replacement.
Hsu( US 10420236) teaches USB quick connector includes a housing, a rechargeable battery mounted in the housing, a circuit board mounted in the housing, and a plug connected with the housing. The circuit board is provided with two USB ports. Wherein the side plate is provided with a connecting portion which has a distal end provided with a locking protrusion locked onto the first projection of the first cover, when the side plate is mounted on and covers the first cover, a first waterproof gasket mounted on and surrounding the USB ports of the circuit board, and a second waterproof gasket located between and surrounding the first cover and the second cover; a receiving space is formed between the first cover and the second cover; and the circuit board are arranged in the receiving space.
DAI et al.( US 20180123279) teaches a connector (100) has a cover (10) that comprises a mounting hole. A waterproof connector component (20) is cooperated with cover through mounting hole. The waterproof connector component comprises a body, a gasket and a fastening element. An outer surface of body includes a first groove and a second groove. The gasket is positioned on first groove. The fastening element is positioned on second groove. The outer surface of body is protruded outwardly to form first ring, second ring and third ring spaced from second ring. The second ring locates between first ring and third ring.
LI(CN 105656153) teaches a power adapter relates to power device technology field. the power adapter comprises an adapter shell and set in the adapter shell is connected with the PCB assembly and a USB plug assembly, one end of the adapter housing is formed corresponding to the USB plug assembly of the USB interface, the USB plug assembly and the PCB assembly is provided with a water-proof device, said waterproof device are respectively connected with an adapter housing and a PCB assembly for preventing liquid from entering the adapter by USB interface. At the same time, it claims a power adapter and electronic device. The invention has strong waterproof function, there is no need to design a standard electronic element, simple manufacturing, low production cost, and it is safe and reliable to use.
LI et al.( CN 113559416) teaches a stimulation coil module and a transcranial stimulation magnetic therapy device; the stimulation coil module comprises a coil beat; a coil is wound; the coil is set in the shell; the shell comprises an upper shell and a lower shell buckled with each other; at least one of the upper shell and the lower shell is provided with a radiating passage; the radiating passage is sealed by a radiating sheet; and the radiating sheet is used for attaching with the coil; a liquid inlet pipe for injecting liquid cooling medium; a liquid outlet pipe, for discharging the liquid cooling medium flowing through the radiating passage; wherein the liquid inlet of the radiating channel is connected with the liquid inlet pipe; the liquid outlet of the radiating channel is connected with the liquid outlet pipe. The stimulation coil module in the invention solves the problem of low safety of the stimulation coil module in the prior art.
/BRIAN L CASLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791