DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onkyo (JPS56-130392, Publication: 10/03/1981).
Regarding claim 1, Onkyo teaches a speaker device (figure 1) comprising a frame (4), a magnetic circuit (10, 11, 12) having a magnetic gap (figures 1, 2), a voice coil (13) disposed in the magnetic gap (figure 1), a voice coil bobbin with the voice coil (13) wound therearound (figure 1), a drive diaphragm (2) with the voice coil bobbin attached to an inner peripheral side of the drive diaphragm (figure 1), a first edge (3) coupling an outer peripheral side of the drive diaphragm (2) to the frame (4, figure 1), a coupler diaphragm (5) on a side of the drive diaphragm opposite to the magnetic circuit (10, 11, 12, figure 1), the coupler diaphragm (5) being positioned coaxially with the drive diaphragm (2, figure 1), and a second edge (6) coupling an outer peripheral side of the coupler diaphragm (5) to the frame (figure 1), wherein in a view in a direction of a central axis of the drive diaphragm (2), an outer periphery (9) of the second edge (figure 1) is positioned in a position which is same as or more outward than a position of an outer periphery (8) of the first edge (figure 1), and wherein in a view in a direction of the central axis of the drive diaphragm (2), an outer periphery of the coupler diaphragm (5) is positioned in a position which is more inward than a position of an outer periphery of the drive diaphragm (2, figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Onkyo teaches the drive diaphragm (2) that is cone-shaped (figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Onkyo teaches the coupler diaphragm (5) that has a flat plate shape (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onkyo (JPS56-130392, Publication: 10/03/1981) in view of Clark (US 20170245049).
Regarding claim 2, Onkyo shows the speaker device (figure 1), wherein the second edge (6) includes an inner peripheral application surface overlapped with an outer peripheral section of the coupler diaphragm (5), and an outer peripheral application surface overlapped with the frame (4, figure 1). Onkyo does not specifically teach the second edge that includes a corrugated section having one or more crests as specifically claimed in claim 2. However, providing an edge including a corrugated section having one or more crests bent convexly away from the first edge and one or more crests bent convexly toward the first edge which are arranged alternately and continuous with each other for the edges in a loudspeaker is known in the art.
Clark teach a coupler diaphragm or a passive diaphragm (50) having an edge or a second edge that includes an inner peripheral application surface overlapped with an outer peripheral section of the coupler diaphragm, an outer peripheral application and a corrugated section (figures 3, 4), wherein the corrugated section has one or more crests being arranged alternately and continuous with each other (figure 4), and wherein the inner peripheral application surface, the outer peripheral application surface, and a boundary between adjacent crests are positioned on a same plane (figures 3, 4, paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), and wherein the inner peripheral application surface, the outer peripheral application surface, and a boundary between adjacent crests are positioned on a same plane (figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the second edge of the coupler diaphragm in the system of Onkyo including an inner peripheral application surface overlapped with an outer peripheral section of the coupler diaphragm, an outer peripheral application and a corrugated section having the crests, as taught by Clark, wherein the corrugated section has one or more crests bent convexly away from the first edge, and one or more crests bent convexly toward the first edge which are arranged alternately and continuous with each other, and wherein the one or more crests bent convexly away from the first edge have an inverted shape of the one or more crests bent convexly toward the first edge, and wherein the inner peripheral application surface, the outer peripheral application surface, and a boundary between adjacent crests are positioned on a same plane for providing a better suspension, better supporting edge to the coupler diaphragm depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the speaker system.
Regarding claim 3, Clark teaches a passive radiator (50), wherein the second edge (46) has a larger projected area than the diaphragm (paragraphs [0023], figure 3).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onkyo (JPS56-130392, Publication: 10/03/1981) in view of Horigome et al. (US 8,045,745).
Onkyo shows the speaker device (figure 1), wherein the second edge (6) includes an inner peripheral application surface overlapped with an outer peripheral section of the coupler diaphragm (5), and an outer peripheral application surface overlapped with the frame (4, figure 1). Onkyo does not specifically teach the second edge that includes a corrugated section having one or more crests as specifically claimed in claim 2. However, providing an edge including a corrugated section having one or more crests bent convexly away from the first edge and one or more crests bent convexly toward the first edge which are arranged alternately and continuous with each other for the edges in a loudspeaker is known in the art.
Horigome et al. teach a coupler diaphragm having an edge or a second edge that includes an inner peripheral application surface overlapped with an outer peripheral section of the coupler diaphragm, an outer peripheral application and a corrugated section (figures 1, 2, 3, 4), wherein the corrugated section has one or more crests being arranged alternately and continuous with each other, and wherein the inner peripheral application surface, the outer peripheral application surface, and a boundary between adjacent crests are positioned on a same plane (61, 71, 81, figures 1, 2, 3, 4), and wherein the inner peripheral application surface, the outer peripheral application surface, and a boundary between adjacent crests are positioned on a same plane (61, 71, 81, figures 1, 2, 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the second edge of the coupler diaphragm in the system of Onkyo including an inner peripheral application surface overlapped with an outer peripheral section of the coupler diaphragm, an outer peripheral application and a corrugated section having the crests, as taught by Horigome et al., wherein the corrugated section has one or more crests bent convexly away from the first edge, and one or more crests bent convexly toward the first edge which are arranged alternately and continuous with each other, and wherein the one or more crests bent convexly away from the first edge have an inverted shape of the one or more crests bent convexly toward the first edge, and wherein the inner peripheral application surface, the outer peripheral application surface, and a boundary between adjacent crests are positioned on a same plane for providing a better suspension, better supporting edge to the coupler diaphragm depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the speaker system.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onkyo (JPS56-130392, Publication: 10/03/1981) in view of Tanabe (US 9,942,636).
Regarding claim 4, Onkyo does not specifically disclose that the speaker device is configured to be installed and used in a vehicle as claimed. However, providing a speaker device configured to be installed and used in a vehicle is known in the art.
Tanabe teaches a speaker attached to a supporting member (1) that separates an in-cabin space and an outside-cabin space of a vehicle from each other (figure 1), wherein the frame has an opening (1a) via which an exterior space (S2) outside a vehicle interior room of the vehicle is in communication with an interior space (S1) of the vehicle interior room, wherein the coupler diaphragm (3b) is positioned closer to the exterior space than the drive diaphragm (10), and wherein the opening is closed by the coupler diaphragm (3, 3b) and the second edge (3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the speaker device in the system of Onkyo being configured to be installed and used in a vehicle, wherein the frame has an opening via which an exterior space outside a vehicle interior room of the vehicle is in communication with an interior space of the vehicle interior room, wherein the coupler diaphragm is positioned closer to the exterior space than the drive diaphragm, and wherein the opening is closed by the coupler diaphragm and the second edge, as taught by Tanabe, for better installing and constructing the speaker device in a vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Onkyo does not specifically disclose the coupler diaphragm (3, 3b) that has a convex or concave portion. However, providing a speaker device comprising a coupler diaphragm having a convex or concave portion is known in the art.
Tanabe shows the coupler diaphragm (3, 3b) that has a convex or concave portion (figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any shape and/or configuration for the coupler diaphragm in the system of Onkyo such as providing the coupler diaphragm that has a convex or concave portion, as taught by Tanabe et al. depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onkyo (JPS56-130392, Publication: 10/03/1981).
Regarding claim 8, Onkyo does not specifically disclose that wherein in the view in the direction of the central axis of the drive diaphragm, the drive diaphragm (2) and the coupler diaphragm (5) have a rounded rectangular shape as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any shape and/or configuration for the drive diaphragm and the coupler diaphragm in the system of Onkyo such as providing the drive diaphragm and the coupler diaphragm having a rounded rectangular shape depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Funahashi et al. (US 2003/0185415) teaches a loudspeaker including a frame (19), a diaphragm (17) having a first edge (18), a suspension holder (20) that is linked with a frame via a second edge (21), wherein the first edge and the second edge are substantially symmetrical analog each other about a median of the first edge and the second edge.
Kobayashi et al. (US 2005/0141746) teaches a speaker apparatus including a first diaphragm (41), and a second diaphragm (42) arranged coaxial with the first diaphragm along a driving direction, wherein the first diaphragm (41) has a first edge (61) and the second diaphragm (42) has a second edge (62).
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
August 31, 2026