DETAILED ACTION
Claims 75, 77, 80, 81, 83, 84, 104-108, 117, 119, 123 and 134-139 are pending in the application. Claims 75, 77, 80, 81, 83, 104-108, 117, 119, 123, 134, 135 and 139 are rejected. Claims 80 and 83 are objected to. Claims 84 and 136-138 are withdrawn.
Restriction/Election of Species
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 75, 77, 80, 81, 83, 104-108, 117, 119, 123, 134, 135 and 139, in the reply filed on July 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 84 and 136-138 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 27, 2026.
Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage Filing of International Application No. PCT/US2023/013285, filed on February 17, 2023, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/438,166, filed on January 10, 2023, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/311,564, filed on February 18, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on November 13, 2024, May 11, 2026 and June 16, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS documents and signed copies of the 1449 forms are attached.
Claim Objections
Claims 80 and 83 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 80 should be amended to recite, “...the microscopic metastatic tumor is one or more single cells, or one or more...” for sake of clarity.
Claim 83 should be amended to replace “The methods” with “The method” for sake of clarity and consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 75, 77, 80, 81, 83, 104-108, 117 and 134 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 75 recites the expression “two or more active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) selected from: (a) a mTOR inhibitor; and (b) a histone deacetylase (HDAC) inhibitor” and is rejected as indefinite. Considering that claim 75 recites a closed Markush group of alternatives consisting of a mTOR inhibitor and a HDAC inhibitor, it is unclear whether Applicant intended “two” APIs- when selected from this group- to require a combination of a mTOR inhibitor and a HDAC inhibitor. For instance, it is unclear whether a prior art reference teaching two mTOR inhibitors or two HDAC inhibitors with respect to the instantly claimed method would be encompassed by the instant invention. It is, therefore, suggested Applicant amend claim 75 to clearly indicate the required combination, if any, of APIs. For the purpose examination, “two or more active pharmaceutical ingredients” is being interpreted as requiring at least one mTOR inhibitor and at least one HDAC inhibitor. Dependent claims 77, 80, 81, 83, 104-108, 117 and 134 do not correct this issue of indefiniteness and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 75, 77, 80, 105 and 134 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (Cancer Letters, 2019, 454:108-119).
Regarding instant claims 75, 77, 80 and 134, Liang et al. teach “that combined 4SC-202 (a novel selective class I HDAC inhibitor) and INK128 (a selective mTORC1/C2 inhibitor) treatment exhibited synergistic effects on inhibiting cell growth, sphere-forming ability, subcutaneous tumor formation and ALDH1+ cancer stem cells (CSCs) in OSCC [i.e., oral squamous cell carcinoma].” See e.g., page 108. Liang et al. further teach “that combined 4SC-202 and INK128 treatment synergistically suppresses tumor formation via inducing apoptotic cell death and inhibiting self-renewal of OSCC cells.” See e.g., page 110. Liang et al. further teach “that combined 4SC-202 and INK128 treatment effectively blocks growth of recurrent OSCC in vivo through inhibiting cell proliferation and CSCs.” See e.g., page 112. Liang et al. further teach “[m]ice with CAL33 subcutaneous xenogeneic tumor were treated with 4SC-202 (100 mg/kg), INK128(0.4 mg/kg) or combination daily by oral gavage for 17 days.” See e.g., page 112. Liang et al. also teach “that combined 4SC-202 and INK128 treatment reduced the [squamous cell carcinoma] lesion surface areas...and invasive tumor growth.” See e.g., page 111. Note “4SC-202” is also known as domatinostat. See paragraph [00146] of instant specification for definition of term “microscopic metastatic tumor” as recited, for instance, in instant claim 75. See paragraph [00172] of instant specification for definition of term “partial remission” as recited in instant claim 105.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(1 of 2) Claims 81, 104 and 106-108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Cancer Letters, 2019, 454:108-119) in view of Maurizi et al. (Oncogene, 2018, 37(33):4626–4632) and Odri et al. (Cancers, 2022, 4(2):360).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Liang et al. teach “that combined 4SC-202 (a novel selective class I HDAC inhibitor) and INK128 (a selective mTORC1/C2 inhibitor) treatment exhibited synergistic effects on inhibiting cell growth, sphere-forming ability, subcutaneous tumor formation and ALDH1+ cancer stem cells (CSCs) in OSCC [i.e., oral squamous cell carcinoma].” See e.g., page 108. Lian et al. further teach a “combination of 4SC-202 and INK128 treatment effectively inhibits cell growth and CSCs in OSCCs by repressing SOX2 translationally.” See e.g., page 114.
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Regarding instant claim 81, Liang et al. does not teach the instantly claimed cancer cells (e.g., osteosarcoma). Liang et al., however, does teach that “upregulated SOX2 was associated with advanced and metastatic tumors in OSCC patients and was responsible for the drug-resistance property of OSCC cells.” See e.g., the abstract. Liang et al. also teach that a “combination of 4SC-202 and INK128 treatment effectively inhibits cell growth and CSCs in OSCCs by repressing SOX2 translationally.” See e.g., page 114. With respect to the SOX2 stem cell transcription factor, Maurizi et al. teach that “Sox2 is required for osteosarcoma initiation or development in a mouse tumor model and Sox2... [is] essential for the survival and proliferation of osteosarcoma cells.” See e.g., page 4627. Maurizi et al. further teach that the “disruption of Sox2-initiated pathways could be an effective strategy for the treatment of osteosarcoma.” See e.g., page 4626.
Regarding instant claims 104 and 106-108, Liang et al. does not teach the instantly recited limitations with respect to the instantly claimed subjects. Unlike the instant claims that are drawn towards subjects having, for instance, osteosarcoma metastases, the teachings of Liang et al. are primarily drawn towards treatment of oral squamous cell carcinoma with a combination of a HDAC inhibitor and a mTOR inhibitor. See e.g., page 108. However, as discussed above, Liang et al. teach that a “combination of 4SC-202 and INK128 treatment effectively inhibits cell growth and CSCs in OSCCs by repressing SOX2 translationally.” See e.g., page 114. With respect to the SOX2 stem cell transcription factor, Maurizi et al. teach that “Sox2 is required for osteosarcoma initiation or development in a mouse tumor model and Sox2... [is] essential for the survival and proliferation of osteosarcoma cells.” See e.g., page 4627. Maurizi et al. further teach that the “disruption of Sox2-initiated pathways could be an effective strategy for the treatment of osteosarcoma.” See e.g., page 4626.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claim 81, considering that (1) Liang et al. teach upregulated SOX2 expression in human tissue samples of OSCC (see e.g., page 112) and (2) Maurizi et al. provide a nexus between SOX2 expression and osteosarcoma cell initiation, survival and proliferation (see e.g., page 4627), it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the mTOR inhibitor/HDAC inhibitor combination taught by Liang et al. with respect to osteosarcoma cells. Considering that Maurizi et al. teach “that drugs that interfere with the activity of ... [SOX2] would be very effective in targeting and killing the entire tumor cell population in osteosarcomas and perhaps other cancers” (see e.g., page 4631), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the instantly claimed method.
Regarding instant claims 104 and 106-108, it would, therefore, have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the HDAC inhibitor/mTOR inhibitor taught by Liang et al. with respect to other cancers besides OSCC( e.g., osteosarcomas) that are associated with SOX2 expression. For instance, Mauirizi et al. teach the effect of SOX2 expression in a mouse osteoblast lineage with “a very high incidence of osteosarcomas, which occur early and frequently metastasize to other tissues and organs.” See e.g., page 4627. Furthermore, with respect to the various subject diagnosis requirements recited in instant claims 104 and 106-108, it would be within the ability of a skilled artisan to treat a subject at different stages of metastases- with or without implementing surgical resection- upon considering various factors. For instance, Odri et al. state the following on page 5:
In conclusion, the presence of metastasis during osteosarcoma development is a predictor of poor prognosis. Metastatic diseases are heterogeneous, and the timing, the number, the size, and, probably, other factors also affect patients’ outcomes. Only patients with full surgical resection of all macro metastasis can survive. However, the presence of micro metastatic foci may be frequent and very early events in osteosarcoma progression. Such cases cannot be treated by surgery and may persist after treatment because they contain refractory tumor cells that are resistant to chemotherapy.
Therefore, at least in the interest of treating a larger subset of the SOX2 expression-linked cancer population, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to employ the instantly claimed methods.
(2 of 2) Claims 83, 117, 119, 123, 135 and 139 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Cancer Letters, 2019, 454:108-119) in view of Tang et al. (Cancer Treat Rev, 2017, 59:33-45) and Wan et al. (Oncologist, 2007, 12(8): 1007-1018).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Liang et al. teach “that combined 4SC-202 (a novel selective class I HDAC inhibitor) and INK128 (a selective mTORC1/C2 inhibitor) treatment exhibited synergistic effects on inhibiting cell growth, sphere-forming ability, subcutaneous tumor formation and ALDH1+ cancer stem cells (CSCs) in OSCC [i.e., oral squamous cell carcinoma].” See e.g., page 108.
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Regarding instant claims 83 and 135, Liang et al. does not teach the mTOR inhibitor rapamycin and, therefore, does not teach the instantly claimed rapamycin/domatinostat combination. However, Tang et al. teach histone deacetylase (HDAC) inhibitors as “a promising treatment agent for patients with sarcomas.” See e.g., page 42. In addition, Wan et al. teach “the antitumor activity of mTOR inhibitors in subsets of patients with sarcoma.” See e.g., page 1014. For example, Wan et al. disclose Figure 3 on page 1014 which “shows an example of an osteosarcoma patient with...tumor shrinkage” after five days of treatment with a mTOR inhibitor (i.e., AP23573, a rapamycin derivative). Wan et al. also teach that “rapamycin and its analogues inhibit cell growth in a wide variety of human cancer cell lines derived from... [inter alia] osteosarcoma. See e.g., page 1011.
Regarding instant claims 117, 119, 123 and 139, Liang et al. does not teach the instantly claimed dosages with respect to domatinostat and rapamycin. Liang et al. does, however, teach mice treated with 4SC-202 (i.e., domatinostat) by oral gavage daily at a dosage of 100 mg/kg. See e.g., page 112. In addition, Tang et al. teach a 1-5 mg daily dosage of sirolimus (i.e., rapamycin). See e.g., page 41.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claims 83 and 135, it would, therefore, have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instantly claimed domatinostat/rapamycin combination based on the combined teachings of the prior art. Considering that Liang et al. teach domatinostat and also “the concomitant inhibition of class I HDAC and mTORC1/C2 [which] synergistically blocks the initiation of OSCC and overcomes chemoresistance by downregulating SOX2 expression” (see e.g., page 117), it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the mTOR inhibitor (i.e., INK128) taught by Liang et al. with another mTOR inhibitor. In fact, with respect to sarcoma treatment, Tang et al. teach that “combination therapy with other therapeutics including chemotherapy drugs and small-molecular inhibitors such as... sirolimus [i.e., rapamycin] ... seem more promising than [HDAC inhibitors] as monotherapy.” See e.g., page 42. Wan et al. also teach “the effect of rapamycin and its analogues on antiangiogenesis is important for inhibition of both primary and metastatic tumor growth.” See e.g., page 1012. Therefore, with respect to the HDAC inhibitor/mTOR inhibitor combination taught by Liang et al., a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that substituting INK128 with another mTOR inhibitor, such as rapamycin, would yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I) states:
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, at least in the interest of “improv[ing] the efficacies of [HDAC inhibitors] in future human sarcoma trials to reverse drug resistance” (see e.g., page 42 of Tang et al.), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer a domatinostat/rapamycin combination to a subject in need either as an initial treatment or a post-treatment strategy (i.e., to “reverse drug resistance”).
Regarding instant claims 117, 119, 123 and 139, it would, therefore, have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instantly claimed dosages for each of domatinostat and rapamycin based on the combined teachings of the prior art. The optimization of result-effective variables, i.e., variables that achieve a recognized result, such as dosages, are considered to be within the ability of the skilled artisan. “It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.” In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to optimize the prior art dosages as part of a routine optimization process. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/D.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626