DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “the first overmolding operation” in line 3 and lines 4-5 should read “the first overmolding ” as introduced in line 4 of claim 1 - one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably deduce “the first overmolding operation” was intended to reference “the first overmolding ” and therefore does not result in ambiguous claim language; however, the Examiner recommends using consistent language throughout. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 6 recite "media-tightly enclosed" in regards to the second overmolding of the second sheath enclosing the electromagnetic actuator and the electronics unit with the first sheath. For the purposes of art rejections below, this recitation will be interpreted consistent with page 2, lines 11-12 of the originally filed specification, which states "A media-tight sheath is understood to mean that no media surrounding the sheath, such as water or oils, can pass through the sheath at all".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayuki (JPH11254477A; citations taken from the translated version provided herewith) in view of Vollmer et al. (US 4,679,767).
As to claim 1: Takayuki discloses the claimed process for producing an electronic component, which has an electronics unit (Takayuki at [0001]), wherein the process comprises:
a first overmolding of the electronics unit with a first plastic to produce a first sheath of the electronics unit (Takayuki at [0009], [0010], [0012], FIG. 1, FIG. 4),
a second overmolding of the first sheath with a second plastic to produce a second sheath of the electronics unit (Takayuki at [0009], [0020], [0028], FIG. 3), wherein
the first plastic is injection molded with a lower temperature and/or lower pressure than the second plastic (Takayuki at [0027], [0028]);
the first overmolding is carried out such that the first sheath encloses the electronics unit such that, during the second overmolding, the second sheath does not make contact with electronics unit (Takayuki at [0009], [0020], FIG. 3, FIG. 4), and
the second overmolding is carried out such that the electronics unit with the first sheath is media tightly enclosed by the second sheath (Takayuki at [0009], [0020], FIG. 3, FIG. 4).
Takayuki fails to disclose the claimed electronic component having at least one electromagnetic actuator; and therefore also fails to explicitly disclose the claimed second overmolding of the first sheath together with the electromagnetic actuator with a second plastic to produce a second sheath of the electronics unit and of the electromagnetic actuator; and the second overmolding is carried out such that the electromagnetic actuator and the electronics unit with the first sheath are media tightly enclosed by the second sheath.
However, Vollmer teaches a solenoid arrangement, including a double encapsulation, which are used to operate a wide variety of devices in response to electrical signals (i.e., electronic component having at least one electromagnetic actuator) (Vollmer at column 1, lines 6-8). Vollmer further teaches the double encapsulation of the solenoid arrangement including an inner encapsulation formed of a thermosetting resin and an outer encapsulation of a thermoplastic resin, where the outer encapsulation provides an exterior encapsulation of the solenoid arrangement and the inner encapsulation (i.e., the second overmolding of the first sheath together with the electromagnetic actuator with a second plastic to produce a second sheath of the electronics unit and of the electromagnetic actuator; and the second overmolding is carried out such that the electromagnetic actuator and the first sheath are media tightly enclosed by the second sheath) (Vollmer at column 1, lines 32-36 and lines 41-45; FIG. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the fully encapsulated solenoid arrangement as such is known in the art of producing electronic components given the discussion of Vollmer above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so resulting in the electronic component having an exterior encapsulation which more resistant to cracking (as recognized by Vollmer at column 1, lines 32-36).
As to claim 2: Takayuki and Vollmer disclose the process of claim 1. Takayuki further discloses the claimed wherein at least two electrically conductive pin elements are connected to the electronics unit by a plate-through connection, before the first overmolding operation and the electronics unit is completely enclosed by the first sheath in the first overmolding operation, wherein the electrically conductive pin elements protrude from the first sheath (Takayuki at FIG. 1, FIG. 4), or the electrically conductive pin elements are connected to the electronics unit by a plate through connection, after the first overmolding operation by pressing the pin elements through the first sheath.
As to claim 6: Takayuki discloses the claimed electronic component (Takayuki at [0001]) comprising:
an electronics unit, which is surrounded by a first sheath made of a first injection-molded plastic (Takayuki at [0009], [0010], [0012], FIG. 1, FIG. 4); and
a second sheath which is made of a second injection molded plastic and surrounds the first sheath (Takayuki at [0009], [0020], [0028], FIG. 3), wherein
the first plastic can be injection molded at a lower temperature and/or a lower pressure than the second plastic (Takayuki at [0027], [0028]);
the first sheath encloses the electronics unit such that the second sheath does not make direct contact with the electronics unit (Takayuki at [0009], [0020], FIG. 3, FIG. 4), and
the second sheath media-tightly encloses the electronics unit with the first sheath (Takayuki at [0009], [0011], [0020], FIG. 3, FIG. 4).
Takayuki fails to disclose the claimed electronic component comprising an electromagnetic actuator; and therefore also fails to explicitly disclose the claimed second sheath which is made of a second injection molded plastic and surrounds the first sheath and the actuator; the second sheath media-tightly encloses the electromagnetic actuator and the electronics unit with the first sheath.
However, Vollmer teaches a solenoid arrangement, including a double encapsulation, which are used to operate a wide variety of devices in response to electrical signals (i.e., electronic component comprising an electromagnetic actuator) (Vollmer at column 1, lines 6-8). Vollmer further teaches the double encapsulation of the solenoid arrangement including an inner encapsulation formed of a thermosetting resin and an outer encapsulation of a thermoplastic resin, where the outer encapsulation provides an exterior encapsulation of the solenoid arrangement and the inner encapsulation (i.e., the second sheath which is made of a second injection molded plastic and surrounds the first sheath and the actuator; the second sheath media-tightly encloses the electromagnetic actuator and the electronics unit with the first sheath) (Vollmer at column 1, lines 32-36 and lines 41-45; FIG. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the fully encapsulated solenoid arrangement as such is known in the art of producing electronic components given the discussion of Vollmer above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so resulting in the electronic component having an exterior encapsulation which more resistant to cracking (as recognized by Vollmer at column 1, lines 32-36).
As to claim 7: Takayuki and Vollmer disclose the electronic component of claim 6. Takayuki further discloses the claimed wherein at least two electrically conductive pin elements are connected to the electronics unit, wherein the electrically conductive pin elements protrude from the first sheath (Takayuki at FIG. 1, FIG. 4).
As to claim 11: Takayuki and Vollmer disclose the electronic component of claim 6. Takayuki further discloses the claimed wherein the first plastic has a lower thermal conductivity than the second plastic, and/or wherein the first plastic is a thermoset and/or wherein the second plastic is a thermoplastic (Takayuki at [0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a primary reason for indicating claims 3-5 and 8-10 as allowable is that the closest prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest the claimed method/electrical component wherein: wherein the electromagnetic actuator has at least one first cutout and the first sheath in the first overmolding is injected into such a mold that the first sheath has at least one second protruding connecting element, which can be inserted into the at least one first cutout of the electromagnetic actuator, and/or the electromagnetic actuator has at least one first protruding connecting element and the first sheath has at least one second cutout, into which the first connecting element of the electromagnetic actuator can be inserted, with the result that a connection between the first connecting element and the second cutout and/or a connection between the first cutout and the second connecting element involves an at least partial form fit; wherein the first sheath in the first overmolding is injected into such a mold that the first sheath has at least one third cutout, into which a positioning aid can be inserted, and/or that the first sheath has a third protruding connecting element, which can be inserted into the positioning aid, with the result that a connection between the positioning aid and the third cutout and/or the third connecting element involves an at least partial form fit; and wherein the Hall sensor is arranged closer to a surface of the first sheath than the circuit board or another component on the circuit board is.
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743