DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Status of Claims
The amendment filed 06/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claims 1 and 5 are now pending.
National Stage
Examiner acknowledges that the instant application is a 371 national stage entry to PCT/JP2022/007880 filed 02/25/2022. As such, the effective filing date of the instant claims is the filing date of that PCT application, 02/25/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the previously mailed office action have been considered but are moot because amendments to the claim language have necessitated new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 20180029230 A1), hereinafter Takahashi in view of Motomura (US 20170296935 A1), hereinafter Motomura and Mabuchi (US 20160170356 A1), hereinafter Mabuchi.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses:
A robot control device comprising:
a processor configured to:
obtain, from an enable apparatus, an operation state including a first operation state indicating that operation of a robot is not permitted and a second operation state indicating that operation of the robot is permitted (see at least [0075-0076]: “As a result of the monitoring processing, the control portion 8 judges whether the monitoring results indicate the alert-cancelled state, the alert state, or the operation-restricted state (steps S5, S6, S7, and S8). In the case in which it is judged that the monitoring results indicate the alert-cancelled state, the worker 2 can freely enter the third space R3, and the alert state is established at the moment the worker 2 enters the third space R3. Even after the alert state is established, the robot 3 can be operated without restriction so long as the robot 3 does not enter the third space R3. When the robot 3 enters the third space R3 in the state in which the worker 2 is in the third space R3, the operation-restricted state is established, and thus, the operation of the robot 3 is restricted.”)
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose, but Motomura, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches:
stop an action of the robot and set a first alarm in a case where the first operation state has been obtained, and stop an action of the robot and set a second alarm in a case where an abnormality that is not based on the first operation state has been detected (see at least [0057]: “ notification control device 2 of Embodiment 2 differs from the notification control device 1 of Embodiment 1 in that in a case where (i) a second notification event has occurred after a first notification event occurred (note that to each notification event a corresponding priority is set in accordance with a degree that a user necessitates to address) and (ii) the second notification event has a priority higher than that of the first notification event, the notification posture transition determining section 14 of Embodiment 2 determines whether a robot 200 will be able to undergo a transition to a second notification posture associated with the second notification event. The first notification event is a notification event that occurred first, and the second notification event is a notification event that has occurred after the first notification event occurred. A first notification posture is a notification posture associated with the first notification event, and the second notification posture is a notification posture associated with the second notification event.”)
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose, but Mabuchi, in the analogous field of endeavor of setting system flags and alarms teaches:
perform cancellation processing to cancel the first alarm in a case where it is determined that the enable apparatus is in the second operation state and that the second alarm has not been set, the cancellation processing being performed based on the operation state and a setting state of the second alarm (see at least Fig. 7, items S214-S218)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Takahashi with the method of handling multiple alarms because the invention of Takahashi is directed to ensuring that a user is made aware of the event for which the alarm occurs. As stated in Takahashi [0006], Advantageous Effects of Invention: “An aspect of the present invention allows the user to certainly recognize occurrence of a notification event.” It would have further been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Takahashi with the error processing logic as taught by Mabuchi. This is because such a modification would provide the benefit of improved error handling and safety features.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takahashi, Motomura and Mabuchi teaches:
The robot control device according to claim 1.
The robot control device according to claim 1, wherein the enable apparatus includes a plurality of enable apparatuses, and the processor obtains the operation states from the plurality of enable apparatuses, and performs the cancellation processing when the operation state of at least one of the plurality of enable apparatuses has become the second operation state. (see at least Fig. 6.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Takahashi, Motomura and Mabuchi teaches:
The robot control device according to claim 1.
Takahashi further discloses wherein the enable apparatus includes a plurality of enable apparatuses, and the processor obtains the operation state of the enable apparatus selected from the plurality of enable apparatuses, and performs the cancellation processing when the operation state of the enable apparatus selected from the plurality of enable apparatuses has become the second operation state (see at least Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Takahashi, Motomura and Mabuchi teaches:
The robot control device according to claim 1.
Takahashi further discloses wherein the enable apparatus includes a plurality of enable apparatuses, and the processor obtains the operation states from the plurality of enable apparatuses, and performs the cancellation processing when the operation states of all of the plurality of enable apparatuses have become the second operation state (see at least Fig. 6.)
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi discloses:
A robot system comprising:
an enable apparatus that transmits an operation state including a first operation state indicating that operation of a robot is not permitted and a second operation state indicating that operation of the robot is permitted and a robot control device to which the robot and the enable apparatus are connected, wherein the robot control device includes a processor configured to obtain the operation state from the enable apparatus, stop an action of the robot and set a first alarm in a case where the first operation state has been obtained (see at least [0075-0076]: “As a result of the monitoring processing, the control portion 8 judges whether the monitoring results indicate the alert-cancelled state, the alert state, or the operation-restricted state (steps S5, S6, S7, and S8). In the case in which it is judged that the monitoring results indicate the alert-cancelled state, the worker 2 can freely enter the third space R3, and the alert state is established at the moment the worker 2 enters the third space R3. Even after the alert state is established, the robot 3 can be operated without restriction so long as the robot 3 does not enter the third space R3. When the robot 3 enters the third space R3 in the state in which the worker 2 is in the third space R3, the operation-restricted state is established, and thus, the operation of the robot 3 is restricted.”)
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose, but Motomura, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: stop an action of the robot and set a second alarm in a case where an abnormality that is not based on the first operation state has been detected (see at least [0057]: “ notification control device 2 of Embodiment 2 differs from the notification control device 1 of Embodiment 1 in that in a case where (i) a second notification event has occurred after a first notification event occurred (note that to each notification event a corresponding priority is set in accordance with a degree that a user necessitates to address) and (ii) the second notification event has a priority higher than that of the first notification event, the notification posture transition determining section 14 of Embodiment 2 determines whether a robot 200 will be able to undergo a transition to a second notification posture associated with the second notification event. The first notification event is a notification event that occurred first, and the second notification event is a notification event that has occurred after the first notification event occurred. A first notification posture is a notification posture associated with the first notification event, and the second notification posture is a notification posture associated with the second notification event.”)
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose, but Mabuchi, in the analogous field of endeavor of setting system flags and alarms teaches:
perform cancellation processing to cancel the first alarm in a case where it is determined that the enable apparatus is in the second operation state and that the second alarm has not been set, the cancellation processing being performed based on the operation state and a setting state of the second alarm (see at least Fig. 7, items S214-S218)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Takahashi with the method of handling multiple alarms because the invention of Takahashi is directed to ensuring that a user is made aware of the event for which the alarm occurs. As stated in Takahashi [0006], Advantageous Effects of Invention: “An aspect of the present invention allows the user to certainly recognize occurrence of a notification event.” It would have further been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Takahashi with the error processing logic as taught by Mabuchi. This is because such a modification would provide the benefit of improved error handling and safety features.
Conclusion
/E.R.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658