DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 06/26/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 16-35 are currently pending. Claims 1-15 are cancelled.
Claim 16 is amended.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendments, filed 06/26/2026, the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 16 (with regards to the Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 and Jeon KR20060117425 references) has been withdrawn. While the Jeon reference is not used in view of the amendments, it is noted that applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope of the claims. It is not required that the fixed UI section and the variable UI section are integrated as part of same LCD panel. In fact, a configuration in which the fixed and variable sections are separately presented still satisfies the limitations as the fixed and variable section can still be part of the same control panel.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the Jun reference, it is known for control panels to have an input section such as buttons in order to control the laundry treating apparatus.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (The entirety of the circled section reads on the control panel and has different regions such as a display, a dial, and buttons, that would read on the fixed and variable UI sections.)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20, 32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837) in view of Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun).
As to claim 16, (Currently Amended) Kim-837 teaches a laundry treating apparatus for performing a processing operation for laundry, the laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a main body configured to accommodate the laundry (FIG. 1 paragraph [0130] washing machine);
a cover defining an exterior of the main body (FIG. 4 paragraph [0137] front cover 120), the cover including a first through hole located at a front upper end portion of the cover (FIG. 4 paragraph [0147] display panel installation port); and
a control panel located at an inner surface of the cover, the control panel being partially exposed to an exterior of the cover through the first through hole (FIGS. 1 and 3 paragraph [0147] display panel 411 is installed in the display panel support frame 410. Display panel support frame 410 is inserted on the inner surface of the cover 120) to allow a user to input a control signal for the processing operation.
Kim-837 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the control panel is including a fixed UI section including a first control UI having a fixed display that is not changed; and a variable UI section including a second control UI having a variable display that is used while varying to various types.
Jun teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0037] washing machine 1). Jun teaches the control panel is including a fixed UI section including a first control UI having a fixed display (FIGS. 2-6 FIG. 1 paragraph [0040] input unit 110b reads on the fixed UI section) that is not changed; and a variable UI section including a second control UI having a variable display while varying to various types (FIG. 1 paragraph [0040] input unit 110a, which may be in form of a jog shuttle or a dial, reads on the variable UI section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837 with a fixed display and a variable display as taught by Jun. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to install both a dial (a variable display) and buttons (a fixed display) as it is a well-known configuration in which settings can be input onto a control panel.
As to claim 17, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 and Jun further teach the fixed UI section includes a button rod contact (Kim-837 FIG. 47 paragraph [0374] pressing protrusion 3130 reads on the claimed button rod contact) configured to allow a user to input an operation signal for the first control UI (Jun FIG. 1 paragraph [0040] a user can input control commands by touching or pressing the input unit 110b, which is a button).
As to claim 18, (Previously Presented) Jun further teaches the variable UI section includes a touch control configured to allow a user to input an operation signal for the second control UI (FIG. 1 paragraph [0040] a user can input control commands by holding and rotating or pressing the input unit 110a. Pressing the input unit would read on the touch control).
As to claim 20, (Previously Presented) Jun further teaches the variable display is configured to display a variable laundry setting input (paragraph [0039] display 115 can receive user control commands, display various information regarding the operation of the washing machine, or guide the user input. By displaying various information regarding the operation, it would display a variable laundry setting input).
As to claim 32, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 further teaches the cover further includes: a second through hole (FIG. 13 or 44 paragraph [0147] manipulation panel installation port 127 or paragraph [0370] button hole 3011), and a hook protrusion protruding rearward from a circumferential edge of the second through hole (FIG. 46 paragraph [0379] exterior panel body 3112 has several portions that protrude rearward from a circumferential edge of the panel hole 3114. The protrusion reads on the claimed hook protrusion), and wherein the control panel is coupled to the hook protrusion (paragraph [0380] exterior panel body 3112 is coupled to the front side of the control panel 3120).
Kim-837 does not teach that the second through hole is located lower than a center of the first through hole in the front upper end portion of the cover. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
Kim-837 teaches both the second through-hole and the hook protrusion. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to place the hook protrusions on the circumferential edge of the through-hole.
As to claim 33, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 further teaches the hook protrusion includes a hook hole extending through the hook protrusion (FIGS. 46-47 paragraph [0380] coupling groove 3112a), and wherein the control panel further includes a hook provided at a lower end portion of the control panel, the hook being inserted into the hook hole (paragraph [0380] a coupling protrusion 3121a is formed in the control panel 3120 so as to correspond to the coupling groove 3112a. Figure 47 shows a coupling groove 3112a at the lower end portion and Figure 52 shows a protrusion at a lower end portion that is in coupling groove 3112a).
As to claim 35, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 further teaches a control button located inside the cover (FIG. 44 paragraph [0360] control button assembly 3100 is disposed at a rear side of a front frame 3010a of the cabinet), the control button being partially exposed to the exterior of the cover through the second through hole (paragraph [0370] the button body 3126 may be exposed to an outside of the cabinet), the control button being configured to be brought into contact with the control panel when pressed by a user (paragraph [0370] the user presses the button body 3126 so that the switch 3162 may be activated.).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837) and Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun) as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Ohta et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0116959 (henceforth referred to as Ohta).
As to claim 19, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 and Jun differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the variable display is configured to display an on/off input.
Ohta teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0052] washing machine). Ohta teaches the variable display is configured to display an on/off input (paragraph [0085] if button item is pressed, the corresponding image display changes from the ON face to the OFF face or from the OFF face to the ON face. Paragraph [0106] when the power switch 15 is turned on, the screen shown in FIG. 17A is displayed on the liquid crystal panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837 and Jun with a variable display as taught by Ohta. It is known in the art for display to show an on/off input in order to indicate whether an operation is selected/active or simply if power is supplied to the washing machine.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837) and Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun) as applied to claim 17 above, in further view of Hiroshi et al. EP2896735 (henceforth referred to as Hiroshi).
As to claim 21, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 and Jun differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the control panel further includes: a window having a front surface, a portion of the front surface being bonded to the inner surface of the cover adjacent the first through hole; a touch screen located at a rear surface of the window; and a coating guide configured to support a rear surface of the touch screen, the coating guide being located at the inner surface of the cover.
Hiroshi teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 3 paragraph [0022] front-loading-type washing machine 100). Hiroshi teaches the control panel includes:
a window having a front surface, a portion of the front surface being bonded to the inner surface of the cover adjacent the first through hole (FIG. 6 paragraph [0024] transparent glass plate 22 is attached via elastic body 23 to a rear surface side of opening window 21);
a touch screen located at a rear surface of the window (paragraphs [0024] and [0027] electrode 24 adheres to a rear surface of transparent glass plate 22 and detects a change in electrostatic capacitance when a finger touches transparent glass plate 22); and
a coating guide configured to support a rear surface of the touch screen, the coating guide being located at the inner surface of the cover (FIG. 6 paragraph [0024] liquid crystal panel 25 reads on the claimed coating guide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim- 837 and Jun with a touch screen control panel as taught by Hiroshi. It is known in the art to use a touch screen to control appliances, and it would have been obvious to replace the control dial of Jun with a touch screen of Hiroshi to provide ease of use.
As to claim 22, (Previously Presented) Hiroshi further teaches the control panel further includes a first sealing member interposed between the window and the coating guide (FIG. 6 paragraph [0037] elastic body 23 reads on the claimed sealing member and is between the window 21 and the liquid crystal panel 25).
As to claim 23, (Previously Presented) The combination of Jun and Hiroshi further teach the touch screen is located in the variable UI section (Hiroshi’s touch screen would be able to replace Jun’s variable UI section).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837), Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun), and Hiroshi et al. EP2896735 (henceforth referred to as Hiroshi) as applied to claim 23 above, in further view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0321367 (henceforth referred to as Kim-367).
As to claim 24, (Previously Presented) Kim-837, Jun and Hiroshi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the first through hole is a circular opening, and wherein the touch screen has a height smaller than a diameter of the first through hole.
Kim-837 does not teach that the first through hole is a circular opening. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
Kim-367 teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0066] washing apparatus). Kim-367 teaches the touch screen has a height smaller than the knob (FIGS. 2 and 6 show that display region 540 are within the rotary knob 510).
Since Kim-837’s first through hole can accommodate a knob/dial of Jun, and the touch screen of Kim-367 is within the knob/dial of Jun, then it would result in a touch screen that has a height smaller than a diameter of the first through hole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837, Jun, and Hiroshi with a touch screen as taught by Kim-367. Using a smaller touch screen would be more cost-effective than a large screen.
As to claim 25, (Previously Presented) Kim-367 further teaches the touch screen has a quadrilateral shape (FIG. 2 paragraph [0131] display 540 is rectangular).
As to claim 26, (Previously Presented) ) Kim-367 further teaches an area of the window corresponding to the first through hole has a first portion and a remaining portion, the first portion being a transmissive area (paragraph [0131] since the display 540 is rectangular, there is a dummy region which reads on the claimed non-transmissive area), and the remaining portion being a non-transmissive area, and wherein the touch screen is visible through the transmissive area (FIG. 2 display 540 is visible on display region 530).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837), Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun), Hiroshi et al. EP2896735 (henceforth referred to as Hiroshi), and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0321367 (henceforth referred to as Kim-367) as applied to claim 26 above, in further view of Hong et al. KR20170082060 (henceforth referred to as Hong).
As to claim 27, (Currently Amended) Kim-837, Jun, Hiroshi, and Kim-367 differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the control panel further includes a shield layer located on the window, the shield area layer defining the non- transmissive area.
Hong teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1a paragraph [0047] garment treatment device 100). Hong teaches the control panel further includes a shield layer located on the window, the shield layer defining the non-transmissive area (FIG. 2 paragraph [0074] non-transparent area 193 reads on the shield layer as it defines the non-transmissive area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837, Jun, Hiroshi, and Kim-367 with a shield layer as taught by Hong. It would have been obvious to provide a shield layer on the window in order to manipulate the shape of the display screen.
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837), Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun), and Hiroshi et al. EP2896735 (henceforth referred to as Hiroshi) as applied to claim 21 above, in further view of Beckley et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0169781 (henceforth referred to as Beckley).
As to claim 28, (Previously Presented) Hiroshi further teaches the control panel further includes a board cover located at a rear surface of the coating guide (paragraph [0024] liquid crystal mounting base 26 reads on the claimed board cover), the board cover including a control board unit (paragraph [0024] a control board unit 27 is attached to the rear surface of liquid crystal mounting base).
Kim-837, Jun, and Hiroshi differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a printed circuit board (PCB) connected to the screen.
Beckley teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0021] washing machine appliance 100). Beckley teaches a printed circuit board connected to the touch screen (FIG. 3 paragraph [0038] printed circuit board 202 is positioned behind control panel 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837, Jun, and Hiroshi with a printed circuit board as taught by Beckley. It is known in the art to use a printed circuit board within a control panel in order to control an appliance (paragraph [0038]).
As to claim 29, (Previously Presented) Hiroshi does not teach the control panel further includes a second sealing member interposed between the coating guide and the board cover.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a duplication of parts. It is old and well known in the art to duplicate components to reduce time of a process or operation, for the process or operation to be at least twice as effective with respect to a single device component, due to size/ space design criteria, or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, B. Duplication of Parts.
As to claim 30, (Previously Presented) Hiroshi further teaches a panel frame configured to press a rear surface of the control panel, the panel frame being located at the inner surface of the cover (FIG. 6 paragraph [0039] rear surface cover 33 is located at an inner surface of the cover).
Claim 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837), Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun), Hiroshi et al. EP2896735 (henceforth referred to as Hiroshi), and Beckley et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0169781 (henceforth referred to as Beckley) as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Jang et al. U.S. Publication 2013/0058060 (henceforth referred to as Jang).
As to claim 31, (Previously Presented) Kim-837, Jun, Hiroshi, and Beckley differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the panel frame includes a frame protrusion protruding from a front surface of the panel frame, the frame protrusion having a bend configured to be elastically deformed.
Jang teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0057] laundry treating apparatus 100). Jang teaches a frame protrusion protruding from a front surface of the panel frame (FIG. 2 hooks 20a and 20b are protruding from PCB housing 14, which reads on the claimed panel frame), the frame protrusion having a bend configured to be elastically deformed (FIG. 5 hooks 20a and 20b can be elastically deformed in order to be inserted into accommodating holes 19a and 19b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837, Jun, Hiroshi, and Beckley with a frame protrusion as taught by Jang. It is known in the art to use protrusions to secure panels together.
Claims 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0044837 (henceforth referred to as Kim-837) and Jun et al. KR20220160203 (henceforth referred to as Jun) as applied to claim 33 above, in further view of Jin CN101446019 (henceforth referred to as Jin).
As to claim 34, (Previously Presented) Kim-837 and Jun differ from the instant claim in failing to teach fasteners fastening an upper portion of the control panel to the inner surface of the cover.
Jin teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0002] laundry treatment machine). Jin teaches fasteners fastening an upper portion of the control panel to the inner surface of the cover (FIG. 2 there are screws/fasteners that fasten an upper portion of the control board 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Kim-837 and Jun with fasteners as taught by Jin. It is known in the art to use screws/fasteners to ensure that the control panel is securely mounted to the cover.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kang et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0179689 teaches a control panel (50) which includes a fixed UI section (FIG. 4A paragraph [0081] power icon P in the center of the control panel 50) and a variable UI section (FIGS. 4A-4B paragraph [0084] target temperature setting environment entry icon I1, rotation speed icon I2, soil level icon I3. The icons I1-I3 (and other selectable objects) only appear when the power is turned on.).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711