DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8, 10, 14 and 19 are objected to because:
Claim 4, line 2, “the side cover part” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8, line 2, “the arrangement direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 1, “the side cover part” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 2, “the curve” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 14, line 2, “the grid holes” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 16, line 3, “the central portion” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 19, line 3, “the central portion” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Afshari et al, US 9153399 [Afshari].
Regarding claim 1, Afshari discloses (figs.1-7) an arc chute (20), comprising:
an arc grid part (30);
two side cover parts (22, 24) spaced apart from each other and overlapping in one direction, and respectively coupled to both sides of the arc grid part (30); and
a top cover part (108) that is disposed between the two side cover parts (22, 24) and coupled to each of the two side cover parts (22, 24) and is formed in a plate shape extending across both ends of the two side cover parts (22, 24).
Regarding claim 2, Afshari further discloses where the top cover part (108) has a top cover hole (122) formed through a portion thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Afshari further discloses where the top cover part (108) comprises a plurality of top cover holes (122).
Regarding claim 4, Afshari further discloses where the top cover part (108) is formed to seal one side of the side cover part (22, 24).
Regarding claim 5, Afshari further discloses where the top cover part (108) comprises:
a first top cover (102) adjacent to the arc grid part (30); and
a second top cover (104) spaced apart from the first top cover (102) and placed with the arc grid part (30) and the first top cover (102) interposed therebetween.
Regarding claim 6, Afshari further discloses where the first top cover (102) has a first top cover hole (110) formed through a portion thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Afshari further discloses where the second top cover (104) has a second top cover hole (116) formed through a portion thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Afshari further discloses where the first top cover hole (110) and the second top cover hole (116) do not overlap each other in the arrangement direction of the first top cover (102) and the second top cover (104).
Regarding claim 9, Afshari further discloses where the top cover part (108) is formed of a flat plate extending in one direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afshari in view of Zaffrann et al, US 4395606 [Zaffrann].
Regarding claim 10, Afshari fails to disclose wherein at least one side of the side cover part is formed in a curved shape, and the top cover part is formed of a curved plate corresponding to the curve of the side cover part.
Zaffrann discloses (figs.1-8) a disconnect switch (10) comprising an arc chute (34) where at least one side of a side cover part (15a, 15b) is formed in a curved shape, and a top cover part (48) is formed of a curved plate corresponding to the curve of the side cover part (15a, 15b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the arc chute of Afshari with the teaching of the arc chute of Zaffrann, thereby providing an arc chute design to be adequately fitted into a circular or cylindrical shaped housing, casing or enclosure of the circuit breaker, without diminishing arc breaking performance.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afshari in view of Weston, US 2652469.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Afshari fails to disclose wherein the arc grid part has a grid hole formed through a portion thereof; and wherein the arc grid part is formed by alternately arranging two arc grids in which the grid holes are formed at different parts.
Weston discloses (figs.1-10) a circuit breaker comprising an arc chute (15) where an arc grid part (27, 28) has a grid hole (24, 25) formed through a portion thereof; and where the arc grid part (27, 28) is formed by alternately arranging two arc grids (27, 28) in which the grid holes (24, 25) are formed at different parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arc grids of Afshari with the teaching of the arc grids of Weston, thereby providing a number of arc plates provided with a plurality of spaced apertures arranged adjacent the closed end of the slots of each plate for providing, for example, a zig-zag or straight line of apertures extending from the slot of each plate toward the exhaust end of the arc chute so as to define auxiliary arc passages which rapidly cool and extinguish the arc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome claim objections, and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed arc chute, wherein at least a portion of the top cover part is formed of an N-9 (nylon-9) material.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed load break switch, comprising an arc chute comprises an arc grid part; two side cover parts spaced apart from each other, overlapping in one direction, respectively coupled to both sides of the arc grid part, and respectively coupled to an outer circumferential surface of the frame unit.
The prior art, either alone or in combination, cannot reasonably be construed as adequately teaching the above limitations in combination with the remaining claim elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kolmonen et al, Strand et al, Rival et al, Mattlar et al, Engewald, Holland et al and Eliezer are examples of load break switches comprising arc chutes configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831