DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 8/16/2024 has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claim 9, “a plurality of flaps” and in claim 10, “first angular position”, “second angular position”, “third angular position” and “fourth angular position” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
A double inclusion limitation appears for the following terms that has been cited previously:
In claim 14, for "a spout"; “a lid assembly”.
In claim 15, for "a spout"; “a lid assembly”; “a pourable product”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martini (EP 3892561 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Martini discloses a lid assembly (fig.1-4) configured to be coupled to a spout of a package (via 10) being filled with a pourable product; the lid assembly comprises at least: a coupling ring (10) arrangeable around a portion of the spout (see fig.1); a lid (11) configured to selectively close and open a pouring outlet of the spout
(see fig.2-4); and a hinge element (15) hinging the lid to the coupling ring and being in
contact with a contact portion (CP, see annotated fig.2 below) of the lid; wherein the lid comprises a cover wall (13) configured to cover the pouring outlet and a side wall (14) protruding from the cover wall; wherein the side wall comprises an end portion connected to the cover wall (see fig.3) and a rim portion opposite to the end portion (see rim at the edge of 14 in fig.2); wherein the rim portion comprises a rim surface facing the coupling ring (see fig.2-4); wherein the rim surface comprises a first portion (FP, see annotated fig.2 below), a second portion (SP) connected to the first portion and a third portion (TP) connected to the second portion and being closer to the contact portion (CP) than the first portion; wherein the second portion is transversal to the first portion and the third portion (see annotated fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 3, Martini discloses the first portion lies within a first plane, the second portion lies within a second plane and the third portion lies within a third plane; wherein the second plane is transversal to the first plane and the third plane (see the planes of FP, SP, TP in fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 5, Martini discloses the first plane (H1) and the third plane (H3) are spaced apart from one another and parallel to one another (see fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 6, Martini discloses the rim surface comprises a fourth portion (Fourth P) connected to the third portion and extending to the contact portion; wherein the fourth portion is transversal to the third portion (see fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 7, Martini discloses the coupling ring comprises an end surface (25)
facing the rim surface (see fig.2); wherein the end surface comprises a first section (35), a second section connected to the first section and a third section connected to the second section and being closer to a contact section of the coupling ring at which the hinge element is connected to the coupling ring than the first section; wherein the second section is transversal to the first section and the third section (see associated contact surfaces of 10 with FP, SP and TP).
Regarding claim 8, Martini discloses the first section faces and is parallel to the first portion, the second section faces and is parallel to the second portion and the third section faces and is parallel to the third portion (see fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 10, Martini discloses the first portion extends between a first angular
position and a second angular position, the second portion extends between the
second angular position and a third angular position, and the third portion extends
between the third angular position and a fourth angular position (see angular positions of FP, SP, TP in fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, Martini discloses the second angular position is smaller or equal to 120° (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 12, Martini discloses a plurality of rupturable coupling bridges (16) protruding from the coupling ring and connected to the rim surface (see fig.1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Martini discloses the lid assembly is formed from a polymer (see attached translation, [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Martini discloses the lid-spout group comprising at least a spout and a lid assembly according to claim 1 and coupled to the spout ([0053] and [0101]).
Regarding claim 15, Martini discloses package filled with a pourable product
comprising a spout and a lid assembly according to claim 1 and being coupled to the spout ([0053] and [0101]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini (EP 3892561 A1).
Martini is silent in disclosing the second portion is perpendicular to the first portion and the third portion; and the second plane (H2) is perpendicular to the first plane (H1) and the third plane (H3). Instead Martini teaches the second portion is substantially perpendicular to the first portion and the third portion (see fig.2); and the second plane (H2) is substantially perpendicular to the first plane (H1) and the third plane (H3) (see fig.2). It appears that Applicant has neither placed criticality on use of such perpendicularity features nor has disclosed that such features provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem other than coupling the coupling ring to the lid, in which Martini provides such an end result. Therefore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lid assembly of Martini to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2 and 4, because such a modification would have been considered an obvious alteration to the lid assembly of Martini which fails to be patentably distinguished.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
State of the Prior Arts
Regarding claim 1, the prior arts to Gonnert (US 2023/0271755), Martini (EP 3892561 A1), Muhlemann (US 2016/0016703), Migas (US 2020/0017260) and Zanon (US 2023/0356888) as cited in PTO-892 are also citing significant pertinent structures or features to the applicant’s claimed invention with regard to a lid assembly coupled to a spout of a package being filled with a pourable product having a coupling ring arrangeable around a portion of the spout; a lid to close and open a pouring outlet of the spout; and a hinge element hinging the lid to the coupling ring and being in contact with a contact portion of the lid that includes a cover wall to cover the pouring outlet and a side wall protruding from the cover wall and an end portion connected to the cover wall and a rim portion opposite to the end portion facing the coupling ring; the rim surface having a first portion, a second portion connected to the first portion and a third portion connected to the second portion and being closer to the contact portion than the first portion; the second portion is transversal to the first portion and the third portion. It appears that claim 1does not provide any inventive concept over the cited prior arts.
Conclusion
/BOB ZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754