DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 10, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scapel et al. (US 2020/0358725 A1) in view of Thomson et al. (US 2008/0039713 A1).
8. With reference to claim 1, Scapel teaches A method of generating a sticker, (“FIG. 7 is a flow diagram illustrating a method for displaying avatars in a stickers application user interface using an electronic device in accordance with some embodiments.” 0263] “Device 600 displays selectively displays various sticker representations in sticker application affordance 614 based on a number of factors. For example, in some embodiments, when a type of avatar is not available at device 600, the device displays representations of stickers based on an example avatar of the type not available at device 600. For example, in FIG. 6B, avatars of a user-created or human-based type are not available at device 600, and device 600 displays representations 614-1 of stickers for different user-created and human-based avatars. In some embodiments, when a new avatar is created, device 600 updates sticker application affordance 614 to include a representation of a sticker based on the newly created avatar. In some embodiments, device 600 displays representations of stickers for avatars of different types. In some embodiments, device 600 selectively displays different sticker representations such that a variety of sticker poses are represented in sticker application affordance 614. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers are displayed in an animated sequence in which the different representations cycle individually across the sticker application affordance 614.” [0241]) Scapel also teaches obtaining a material image of a target component on an avatar, (“device 600 displays representations of stickers for avatars of different types. In some embodiments, device 600 selectively displays different sticker representations such that a variety of sticker poses are represented in sticker application affordance 614. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers are displayed in an animated sequence in which the different representations cycle individually across the sticker application affordance 614.” [0241] “When a different representation 622 is selected, device 600 updates region 618 to indicate the selected representation 622 and updates sticker region 620 to display stickers corresponding to the selected representation. In FIG. 6C, monkey representation 622-1 is selected in first region 618, and monkey stickers 624 are displayed in sticker region 620. In some embodiments, stickers 624 are shown having slight animations such as smiling, winking, waving, etc. Monkey stickers 624 include various poses such as a mind-blown pose shown in mind-blown monkey sticker 624-1.” [0243]) Scapel further teaches determining a position of the target component according to the material image; (“the software components stored in memory 102 include operating system 126, communication module (or set of instructions) 128, contact/motion module (or set of instructions) 130, graphics module (or set of instructions) 132, text input module (or set of instructions) 134, Global Positioning System (GPS) module (or set of instructions) 135, and applications (or sets of instructions) 136.” [0105] “When a different representation 622 is selected, device 600 updates region 618 to indicate the selected representation 622 and updates sticker region 620 to display stickers corresponding to the selected representation. In FIG. 6C, monkey representation 622-1 is selected in first region 618, and monkey stickers 624 are displayed in sticker region 620. In some embodiments, stickers 624 are shown having slight animations such as smiling, winking, waving, etc. Monkey stickers 624 include various poses such as a mind-blown pose shown in mind-blown monkey sticker 624-1.” [0243] “After capturing the avatar pose in FIG. 9I or 9J, device 600 displays scaling user interface 946 for changing a position and scale of selected avatar pose 948 as shown in FIG. 9K. In some embodiments, avatar pose 948 is moved (e.g., moved within the circular frame) in response to swipe gestures detected while displaying scaling interface 946. In some embodiments, avatar pose 948 is scaled (e.g., zoomed in or zoomed out) in response to pinch or de-pinch gestures detected while displaying scaling interface 946. After detecting input 950 to confirm the position and scale of selected avatar pose 948, device 600 displays background options 952-1 through 952-6 in FIG. 9L, detects selection of a background option for the avatar representation (e.g., via input 954 at background option 952-3), and returns to representation editing user interface 915 in FIG. 9M.” [0326]) Scapel teaches determining a motion of the target component in the sticker; (When a different representation 622 is selected, device 600 updates region 618 to indicate the selected representation 622 and updates sticker region 620 to display stickers corresponding to the selected representation. In FIG. 6C, monkey representation 622-1 is selected in first region 618, and monkey stickers 624 are displayed in sticker region 620. In some embodiments, stickers 624 are shown having slight animations such as smiling, winking, waving, etc. Monkey stickers 624 include various poses such as a mind-blown pose shown in mind-blown monkey sticker 624-1.” [0243] “displaying the sticker user interface object (e.g., 614) having the first appearance includes displaying an animated sequence of the representations of avatars of the first type and representations of avatars of the second type. In some embodiments, the animation includes showing a representation of a first sticker on the sticker user interface object having an animation (e.g., smiling, moving, etc.), then replacing the representation of the first sticker with a representation of a second sticker having an animation, and so on. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers in the animation include representations of stickers of the first type and representations of stickers of the second type.” [0300]) Scapel also teaches generating a sticker according to the material image, the position, and the motion, wherein the generated sticker, the target component is driven to move according to the position and the motion. (“the software components stored in memory 102 include operating system 126, communication module (or set of instructions) 128, contact/motion module (or set of instructions) 130, graphics module (or set of instructions) 132, text input module (or set of instructions) 134, Global Positioning System (GPS) module (or set of instructions) 135, and applications (or sets of instructions) 136.” [0105] “device 600 displays representations of stickers for avatars of different types. In some embodiments, device 600 selectively displays different sticker representations such that a variety of sticker poses are represented in sticker application affordance 614. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers are displayed in an animated sequence in which the different representations cycle individually across the sticker application affordance 614.” [0241] “When a different representation 622 is selected, device 600 updates region 618 to indicate the selected representation 622 and updates sticker region 620 to display stickers corresponding to the selected representation. In FIG. 6C, monkey representation 622-1 is selected in first region 618, and monkey stickers 624 are displayed in sticker region 620. In some embodiments, stickers 624 are shown having slight animations such as smiling, winking, waving, etc. Monkey stickers 624 include various poses such as a mind-blown pose shown in mind-blown monkey sticker 624-1.” [0243] “displaying the sticker user interface object (e.g., 614) having the first appearance includes displaying an animated sequence of the representations of avatars of the first type and representations of avatars of the second type. In some embodiments, the animation includes showing a representation of a first sticker on the sticker user interface object having an animation (e.g., smiling, moving, etc.), then replacing the representation of the first sticker with a representation of a second sticker having an animation, and so on. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers in the animation include representations of stickers of the first type and representations of stickers of the second type.” [0300] “After capturing the avatar pose in FIG. 9I or 9J, device 600 displays scaling user interface 946 for changing a position and scale of selected avatar pose 948 as shown in FIG. 9K. In some embodiments, avatar pose 948 is moved (e.g., moved within the circular frame) in response to swipe gestures detected while displaying scaling interface 946. In some embodiments, avatar pose 948 is scaled (e.g., zoomed in or zoomed out) in response to pinch or de-pinch gestures detected while displaying scaling interface 946. After detecting input 950 to confirm the position and scale of selected avatar pose 948, device 600 displays background options 952-1 through 952-6 in FIG. 9L, detects selection of a background option for the avatar representation (e.g., via input 954 at background option 952-3), and returns to representation editing user interface 915 in FIG. 9M. As shown in FIG. 9M, representation editing user interface 915 is updated based on the selection and customization of woman avatar option 921-2. For example, the appearance of current representation 916 is updated based on the various selections and/or inputs made in FIGS. 9G-9L. Specifically, current representation 916 is changed from the monogram appearance shown in FIG. 9G to the appearance in FIG. 9M showing the woman avatar option with the smile and head tilt pose, positioned and scaled and having selected background option 952-3.” [0326-0327])
Scapel does not explicitly teach a global position and a periodic motion amplitude. This is what Thomson teaches (“The global rigid rotations (r, p, w) can be calculated from the motion fields (dx.sub.A, dy.sub.A) in projection A and (dx.sub.B, dy.sub.B) in projection B. Using the target as the rotation center, global rigid rotations are useful for position and rotation correction and compensation during initial patient alignment and treatment.” [0124] “FIG. 17 provides a schematic block diagram of an apparatus 500 for dynamically tracking targets 210 within an anatomical region that is undergoing periodic motion having a cycle P, and for delivering therapeutic radiation to the moving targets.” [0135]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thomson into Scapel, in order to provide a reliable and efficient method and system for dynamically tracking moving targets.
9. With reference to claim 10, Scapel teaches generating the sticker according to the material image, the position, and a motion comprises: determining a position and a shape of the material image on each frame of image in the sticker, to obtain the sticker. (“the software components stored in memory 102 include operating system 126, communication module (or set of instructions) 128, contact/motion module (or set of instructions) 130, graphics module (or set of instructions) 132, text input module (or set of instructions) 134, Global Positioning System (GPS) module (or set of instructions) 135, and applications (or sets of instructions) 136.” [0105] “device 600 displays representations of stickers for avatars of different types. In some embodiments, device 600 selectively displays different sticker representations such that a variety of sticker poses are represented in sticker application affordance 614. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers are displayed in an animated sequence in which the different representations cycle individually across the sticker application affordance 614.” [0241] “When a different representation 622 is selected, device 600 updates region 618 to indicate the selected representation 622 and updates sticker region 620 to display stickers corresponding to the selected representation. In FIG. 6C, monkey representation 622-1 is selected in first region 618, and monkey stickers 624 are displayed in sticker region 620. In some embodiments, stickers 624 are shown having slight animations such as smiling, winking, waving, etc. Monkey stickers 624 include various poses such as a mind-blown pose shown in mind-blown monkey sticker 624-1.” [0243] “displaying the sticker user interface object (e.g., 614) having the first appearance includes displaying an animated sequence of the representations of avatars of the first type and representations of avatars of the second type. In some embodiments, the animation includes showing a representation of a first sticker on the sticker user interface object having an animation (e.g., smiling, moving, etc.), then replacing the representation of the first sticker with a representation of a second sticker having an animation, and so on. In some embodiments, the representations of stickers in the animation include representations of stickers of the first type and representations of stickers of the second type.” [0300] “After capturing the avatar pose in FIG. 9I or 9J, device 600 displays scaling user interface 946 for changing a position and scale of selected avatar pose 948 as shown in FIG. 9K. In some embodiments, avatar pose 948 is moved (e.g., moved within the circular frame) in response to swipe gestures detected while displaying scaling interface 946. In some embodiments, avatar pose 948 is scaled (e.g., zoomed in or zoomed out) in response to pinch or de-pinch gestures detected while displaying scaling interface 946. After detecting input 950 to confirm the position and scale of selected avatar pose 948, device 600 displays background options 952-1 through 952-6 in FIG. 9L, detects selection of a background option for the avatar representation (e.g., via input 954 at background option 952-3), and returns to representation editing user interface 915 in FIG. 9M. As shown in FIG. 9M, representation editing user interface 915 is updated based on the selection and customization of woman avatar option 921-2. For example, the appearance of current representation 916 is updated based on the various selections and/or inputs made in FIGS. 9G-9L. Specifically, current representation 916 is changed from the monogram appearance shown in FIG. 9G to the appearance in FIG. 9M showing the woman avatar option with the smile and head tilt pose, positioned and scaled and having selected background option 952-3.” [0326-0327] “When a feature option is selected (e.g., thick lips option 11010-1), the characteristic (e.g., lip shape/size) is assigned the corresponding value (e.g., thick), and the changed characteristic is then reflected in displayed changes to avatar 11005 and other feature options (e.g., in avatar option region 11008) that include a displayed representation of the characteristic.” [0373])
Scapel does not explicitly teach the global position and a periodic motion amplitude, determining a position through a driving algorithm according to the global position and the periodic motion amplitude. This is what Thomson teaches (“The acquired images are registered with the DRRs using a feature recognition algorithm that tracks the reference structures. The image registration algorithm (described in detail below) may be repeated for multiple reference structures, to give the position and orientation of each structure with respect to the corresponding structures in the CT study (from which DRRs are made) … The location and orientation of multiple reference structures tracked using the fiducial-less algorithm are used to interpolate the location of the tumor/lesion, using their corresponding geometric relationships, as learned from the CT studies and the 4D model.” [0062-0063] “The global rigid rotations (r, p, w) can be calculated from the motion fields (dx.sub.A, dy.sub.A) in projection A and (dx.sub.B, dy.sub.B) in projection B. Using the target as the rotation center, global rigid rotations are useful for position and rotation correction and compensation during initial patient alignment and treatment.” [0124] “FIG. 17 provides a schematic block diagram of an apparatus 500 for dynamically tracking targets 210 within an anatomical region that is undergoing periodic motion having a cycle P, and for delivering therapeutic radiation to the moving targets.” [0135]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thomson into Scapel, in order to provide a reliable and efficient method and system for dynamically tracking moving targets.
10. Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. Scapel additionally teaches An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor and a memory; the memory storing a computer executive instruction; the at least one processor executing the computer executive instruction stored by the memory such that the at least one processor executes the method (“An example electronic device includes a display device; an input device; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions” [0009] “device 500 can include some or all of the components described with respect to FIGS. 1A, 1B, and 3. Device 500 has bus 512 that operatively couples I/O section 514 with one or more computer processors 516 and memory 518.” [0218] “Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques described below, including processes 700, 800, 1000, 1200, 1300, 1500, 1700, and 1800 (FIGS. 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, and 18). A computer-readable storage medium can be any medium that can tangibly contain or store computer-executable instructions for use by or in connection with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device. In some examples, the storage medium is a transitory computer-readable storage medium. In some examples, the storage medium is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.” [0220])
11. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. Scapel additionally teaches A computer readable storage medium, the computer readable storage medium storing a computer executive instruction therein, and implementing the method (“An example non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display device and an input device, the one or more programs including instructions” [0007] “Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques described below, including processes 700, 800, 1000, 1200, 1300, 1500, 1700, and 1800 (FIGS. 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, and 18). A computer-readable storage medium can be any medium that can tangibly contain or store computer-executable instructions for use by or in connection with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device. In some examples, the storage medium is a transitory computer-readable storage medium. In some examples, the storage medium is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.” [0220])
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 2-9, 11 and 17-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the prior art of record fails to either individually or in combination teach the claimed feature of “determining an upper limit of a motion amplitude of the target component; and determining the periodic motion amplitude according to a periodic function and the upper limit of the motion amplitude.”
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to either individually or in combination teach the claimed feature of “determining an external matrix of the target component in the material image; determining the global position according to the external matrix.”
Claims 3-9 are also objected to for depending from claim 2.
Claims 18-23 are also objected to for depending from claim 17.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE CHIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614