DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo et al (US 2022/0006575, hereinafter Cozzo), in view of Wong (US 2024/0291597, hereinafter Wong) and in view of Zhang et al (US 2024/0057083, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Cozzo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE, Fig. 3), comprising: memory and at least one processor (memory and processor, Fig. 3) coupled to the memory and configured to: receive an indication of resources for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition (UE is configured with PUCCH repetitions with one repetition per slot, Para [0216]); but does not explicitly PUCCH is associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Wong discloses PUCCH carries UCI such as HARQ-ACK feedback for PDSCH and CSI, Para [0049]; transmit hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a first subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH and transmit channel state information (CSI) in a second subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH. Cozzo discloses HARQ and CSI can be multiplexed in a PUCCH repetition in one slot and HARQ can be transmitted alone in another PUCCH repetition in other slots, Para [0271]. Wong discloses the UCI can be split such that HARQ-ACK bits are in one actual repetition and the CSI bits are in another repetition, Para [0137], therefore in combination the HARQ and CSI can be split so that they are in different PUCCH repetitions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wong in the system of Cozzo in order to efficiently handle communications with increasing use of different types of network infrastructure equipment; and does not disclose CSI is refinement information based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) measurement associated with the PDSCH. Zhang discloses CSI measurement based on the DMRS for the PDSCH, Para [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zhang in the system of Cozzo in view of Wong in order to make improvements thereby making CSI measurements less difficult.
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 21, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 1/11/20, wherein the first subset of the resources comprises a first set of one or more slots for the PUCCH repetition, and the second subset of the resources comprises a second set of one or more slots for the PUCCH repetition. Cozzo discloses UE is configured with PUCCH repetitions with one repetition per slot, Para [0216] and Wong discloses the UCI can be split such that HARQ-ACK bits are in one actual repetition and the CSI bits are in another repetition, Para [0137].
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 22, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 1/11/20, wherein the indication of the resources for the PUCCH repetition is comprised in downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PDSCH (DCI indicating PUCCH resources is known in the art).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 23, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 1/11/20, wherein the indication of the resources for the PUCCH repetition is indicated by a control transmission scheduling the PDSCH (Cozzo discloses number of symbols for PUCCH is indicated by DCI, Para [0217] and Wong discloses DL grant schedules the PDSCH, Para [0051]).
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 24, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 1/11/20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a configuration indicating at least one of the first subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition to be used for the HARQ feedback or the second subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition to be used for the CSI refinement information. Cozzo discloses UE is configured with PUCCH repetitions with one repetition per slot, Para [0216] and Wong discloses the UCI can be split such that HARQ-ACK bits are in one actual repetition and the CSI bits are in another repetition, Para [0137].
Regarding claims 6, 16 and 25, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 5/15/24, wherein the configuration is comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling (number of symbols for PUCCH repetitions can be indicated by higher layers, Para [0217], configuration via RRC signaling is known in the art).
Regarding claims 7, 17 and 26, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 5/15/24, wherein the configuration indicates at least one of the first subset of the resources or the second subset of the resources for each of multiple PUCCH resources, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive control information scheduling the PDSCH and indicating one of the multiple PUCCH resources for the PUCCH repetition (Cozzo discloses number of symbols for PUCCH is indicated by DCI, Para [0217] and Wong discloses DL grant schedules the PDSCH, Para [0051]).
Regarding claims 8, 18 and 27, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 5/15/24, wherein the configuration indicates at least one of the first subset of the resources or the second subset of the resources for each of one or more PUCCH formats (number of symbols for PUCCH repetitions can be indicated by higher layers, Para [0217], slots for PUCCH indicated by DCI format, Para [0218], configuration via RRC signaling is known in the art).
Regarding claims 9, 19 and 28, Cozzo discloses the apparatus/method of claim 1/11/20, wherein the indication of the resources for the PUCCH repetition indicates a number of slots for the PUCCH repetition, and the second subset of the resources for the CSI refinement information includes a subset of the number of slots based on a rule (PUCCH transmission can be repeated over a number of slots, the repetition can be per slot, Para [0213], obvious to one of ordinary skill the subset of resources can be based on some broad rule).
Regarding claims 10 and 29, Cozzo discloses the apparatus of claim 1/20, further comprising at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor and configured to receive the indication of the resources for the PUCCH repetition and to transmit the HARQ feedback and the CSI refinement information (RF transceiver coupled to processor, Fig. 2/3).
Regarding claim 11, Cozzo discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an indication of resources for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition (UE is configured with PUCCH repetitions with one repetition per slot, Para [0216]); but does not explicitly PUCCH is associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Wong discloses PUCCH carries UCI such as HARQ-ACK feedback for PDSCH and CSI, Para [0049]; transmit hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a first subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH and transmit channel state information (CSI) in a second subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH. Cozzo discloses HARQ and CSI can be multiplexed in a PUCCH repetition in one slot and HARQ can be transmitted alone in another PUCCH repetition in other slots, Para [0271]. Wong discloses the UCI can be split such that HARQ-ACK bits are in one actual repetition and the CSI bits are in another repetition, Para [0137], therefore in combination the HARQ and CSI can be split so that they are in different PUCCH repetitions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wong in the system of Cozzo in order to efficiently handle communications with increasing use of different types of network infrastructure equipment; and does not disclose CSI is refinement information based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) measurement associated with the PDSCH. Zhang discloses CSI measurement based on the DMRS for the PDSCH, Para [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zhang in the system of Cozzo in view of Wong in order to make improvements thereby making CSI measurements less difficult.
Regarding claim 20, Cozzo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (BS, Fig. 2), comprising: memory and at least one processor (memory and processor, Fig. 2) coupled to the memory and configured to: output an indication of resources for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition for a user equipment (UE) (UE is configured with PUCCH repetitions with one repetition per slot, Para [0216]); but does not explicitly PUCCH is associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Wong discloses PUCCH carries UCI such as HARQ-ACK feedback for PDSCH and CSI, Para [0049]; obtain hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a first subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH and obtain channel state information (CSI) in a second subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH. Cozzo discloses HARQ and CSI can be multiplexed in a PUCCH repetition in one slot and HARQ can be transmitted alone in another PUCCH repetition in other slots, Para [0271]. Wong discloses the UCI can be split such that HARQ-ACK bits are in one actual repetition and the CSI bits are in another repetition, Para [0137], therefore in combination the HARQ and CSI can be split so that they are in different PUCCH repetitions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wong in the system of Cozzo in order to efficiently handle communications with increasing use of different types of network infrastructure equipment; and does not disclose CSI is refinement information based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) measurement associated with the PDSCH. Zhang discloses CSI measurement based on the DMRS for the PDSCH, Para [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zhang in the system of Cozzo in view of Wong in order to make improvements thereby making CSI measurements less difficult.
Regarding claim 30, Cozzo discloses a method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: outputting an indication of resources for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition for a user equipment (UE); (UE is configured with PUCCH repetitions with one repetition per slot, Para [0216]); but does not explicitly PUCCH is associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Wong discloses PUCCH carries UCI such as HARQ-ACK feedback for PDSCH and CSI, Para [0049]; obtain hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a first subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH and obtain channel state information (CSI) in a second subset of the resources for the PUCCH repetition associated with the PDSCH. Cozzo discloses HARQ and CSI can be multiplexed in a PUCCH repetition in one slot and HARQ can be transmitted alone in another PUCCH repetition in other slots, Para [0271]. Wong discloses the UCI can be split such that HARQ-ACK bits are in one actual repetition and the CSI bits are in another repetition, Para [0137], therefore in combination the HARQ and CSI can be split so that they are in different PUCCH repetitions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wong in the system of Cozzo in order to efficiently handle communications with increasing use of different types of network infrastructure equipment; and does not disclose CSI is refinement information based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) measurement associated with the PDSCH. Zhang discloses CSI measurement based on the DMRS for the PDSCH, Para [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zhang in the system of Cozzo in view of Wong in order to make improvements thereby making CSI measurements less difficult.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461