DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 12/03/2025.
The previous specification objections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejections of claims 1 and 3-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO 2022087931 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022087931 A1 to HU et al. (“Hu”) [Examiner cites to attached English translation for purposes of examination].
As to claim 1, Hu discloses a user equipment (UE) device (page 10, terminal device) comprising: a memory storing computer readable instructions (page 10, memory…codes); and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to (page 10, processor configured to execute the computer program codes stored in the memory), determine simultaneous uplink (UL) transmission configuration information (page 3, the terminal equipment can obtain precoding information on at least two uplink carriers by receiving a single indication information (i.e. configuration information), thereby enabling simultaneous uplink transmission on the at least two uplink carriers), the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information including at least a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (page 2,the first indication information
is further used to indicate M first resources or N first resource sets on at least two uplink carriers; page 16, The M first resources may be M SRS resources, and the N first resource sets may be a set of any combination of SRS resources on at least two uplink carriers), the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set each including at least one single-UL resource and at least one multi-UL resource (page 16, the N first resource sets may include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q
first resources on the second uplink carrier; page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier, where P and Q are positive integers greater than or equal to 1, i.e. may be single or multi), the at least one multi-UL resource indicating at least two different UL transmission blocks for performing simultaneous UL transmissions to at least two different RAN nodes (page 22, The terminal device maps the first uplink transmission (the first TB) on the first uplink carrier, and maps the second uplink transmission (the second TB) on the second uplink carrier; page 3, simultaneous uplink transmission on the at least two uplink carriers; page 14, a SUL carrier and a non-SUL carrier correspond to two different network devices; page 9, RAN), transmit SRS according to the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information to at least a serving RAN node (page 12, The SRI in the downlink control information DCI is used to indicate to the UE the SRS resources used for PUSCH transmission on the uplink carrier, page 14, a SUL carrier and a non-SUL carrier correspond to two different network devices; page 9, RAN…base station (i.e. either being serving RAN node)), receive a joint SRS resource indicator (SRI) from the serving RAN node (page 12, the base station sends a sounding reference signal to the UE to indicate the SRI; page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1.), and perform a plurality of UL transmissions to at least the serving RAN node and a second RAN node based on the joint SRI and the at least one multi-UL resource included in the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information (page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1., page 14, a SUL carrier and a non-SUL carrier correspond to two different network devices; page 9, RAN…base station (i.e. either being serving RAN node, both being RAN nodes)).
As to claim 2, Hu further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the joint SRI corresponds to an entry in the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier; page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index (i.e. entry) combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1.); and the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to, determine UL resources in each of the first and second SRS resource sets corresponding to the joint SRI, and perform the plurality of UL transmissions to the serving RAN node and the second RAN node based on the determined UL resources (page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier; page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index (i.e. entry) combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1.).
As to claim 3, Hu further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set have a same number of UL resources (page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier, where P and Q are positive integers greater than or equal to 1, i.e. they may be the same).
As to claim 9, Hu further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to determine the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information based on simultaneous DL transmission configuration information (page 15, The network device configures the terminal device with the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier for concurrent uplink transmission. Among them, Simultaneous transmission, also known as Concurrent Transmission, means that the terminal device simultaneously sends uplink transmissions on the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier. Optionally, the time domain resources occupied by the uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier at least partially overlap, or completely overlap. Optionally, the terminal device receives a single downlink control information DCI, i.e. this would be considered simultaneous DL transmission configuration information as it is configuration for an [UL] simultaneous transmission which is received on the downlink, and sends uplink transmission on at least two uplink carriers.).
As to claim 10, Hu further discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to determine the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information by receiving the simultaneous DL transmission configuration information from the serving RAN node (page 15, The network device configures the terminal device with the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier for concurrent uplink transmission. Among them, Simultaneous transmission, also known as Concurrent Transmission, means that the terminal device simultaneously sends uplink transmissions on the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier. Optionally, the time domain resources occupied by the uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier at least partially overlap, or completely overlap. Optionally, the terminal device receives a single downlink control information DCI, i.e. this would be considered simultaneous DL transmission configuration information as it is configuration for an [UL] simultaneous transmission which is received on the downlink, and sends uplink transmission on at least two uplink carriers; page 9, RAN…base station (i.e. either being serving RAN node)).
As to claim 11, Hu discloses radio access network (RAN) node (page 9, RAN; page 10, network device 120) comprising :a memory storing computer readable instructions (pages 10-11, memory…codes); and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the node to (pages 10-11, processor configured to execute the computer program codes stored in the memory), provide simultaneous uplink (UL) transmission configuration information to a user equipment (UE) device (page 3, the terminal equipment (i.e. UE) can obtain precoding information on at least two uplink carriers by receiving a single indication information (i.e. configuration information), thereby enabling simultaneous uplink transmission on the at least two uplink carriers), the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information including at least a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (page 2,the first indication information
is further used to indicate M first resources or N first resource sets on at least two uplink carriers; page 16, The M first resources may be M SRS resources, and the N first resource sets may be a set of any combination of SRS resources on at least two uplink carriers), the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set each including at least one single-UL resource and at least one multi-UL resource (page 16, the N first resource sets may include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q
first resources on the second uplink carrier; page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier, where P and Q are positive integers greater than or equal to 1, i.e. may be single or multi), the at least one multi-UL resource indicating at least two different UL transmission blocks for performing simultaneous UL transmissions to at least two different RAN nodes (page 22, The terminal device maps the first uplink transmission (the first TB) on the first uplink carrier, and maps the second uplink transmission (the second TB) on the second uplink carrier; page 3, simultaneous uplink transmission on the at least two uplink carriers; page 14, a SUL carrier and a non-SUL carrier correspond to two different network devices; page 9, RAN), receive SRS from the UE according to the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information (page 12, (page 12, UE sends the sounding reference signal SRS to the base station…the base station sends a sounding reference signal to the UE to indicate the SRS; The SRI in the downlink control information DCI is used to indicate to the UE the SRS resources used for PUSCH transmission on the uplink carrier, page 14, a SUL carrier and a non-SUL carrier correspond to two different network devices; page 9, RAN…base station (i.e. either being serving RAN node)), select a joint SRS indicator (SRI) from the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information based on the received SRS (page 12, UE sends the sounding reference signal SRS to the base station…the base station sends a sounding reference signal to the UE to indicate the SRI; page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1.), and transmit the selected joint SRI to the UE device, wherein the transmission of the selected joint SRI to the UE device enables the UE device to perform a plurality of UL transmissions to at least the RAN node and a second RAN node based on the joint SRI and the at least one multi-UL resource included in the simultaneous UL transmission configuration information (page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1., page 14, a SUL carrier and a non-SUL carrier correspond to two different network devices; page 9, RAN…base station (i.e. either being serving RAN node, both being RAN nodes)).
As to claim 12, Hu further discloses the RAN node of claim 11, wherein the joint SRI corresponds to an entry in the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier; page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index (i.e. entry) combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1.); and the transmitted joint SRI causes the UE device to determine UL resources in each of the first and second SRS resource sets corresponding to the joint SRI (page 2, The M first resources or the N first resource sets include: P first resources on the first uplink carrier and Q first resources on the second uplink carrier; page 20, When the SRI indicates that the SRS resource index (i.e. entry) combination is 0/4/5, 1/4/5, 2/4/5, 3/4/5, one antenna port on the first uplink carrier and two on the second uplink carrier are used. The antenna port concurrently PUSCH. The network device instructs the UE to use two carriers concurrently (i.e. hence SRI is joint), the maximum number of layers is 3, and the non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission SRI indication table is a subset of Table 12.1.).
As to claims 17-18, see similar rejection to claims 1-2, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022087931 A1 to HU et al. (“Hu”) [Examiner cites to attached English translation for purposes of examination] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0049236 A1 to QUALCOMM and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0174466 A1 to INTEL.
As to claim 4, Hu does not expressly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the first SRS resource set includes at least one first single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one first UL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, at least one first NULL resource, and at least one first multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first UL TCI state; and the second SRS resource set includes at least one second NULL resource corresponding to the at least one first single-UL transmission resource, at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first NULL resource, and at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first multi-UL transmission resource.
QUALCOMM further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein
the first SRS resource set includes at least one first single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one first UL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (managing a first channel state information (TCI) process for a first resource allocation, wherein the resources can be configured for a single uplink channel or multiple uplink channels; para [0021]-[0022] and [0114]), and at least one first multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first UL TCI state (a first and second channel state information is processed for a first and second resource, wherein the resources for uplink transmissions can be configured for a single UL or multiple UL resource; para [0021]-[0022] and [0114]); and
the second SRS resource set includes resource corresponding to the at least one first single-UL transmission resource (first and second sets of SRS resources for joint transmissions can be configured for a single uplink channel (single UL resource) or a plurality of uplink channels (multi-UL resource); para [0114]) at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first resource (a first and second channel state information is processed for a first and second resource, wherein the resources for uplink transmissions can be configured for a single UL or multiple UL resource; para. [0085], para [0102] and
[0113]-[0114]), and at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first multi-UL transmission resource (a first and second channel state information is processed for a first and second resource, wherein the resources for uplink transmissions can be configured for a single UL or multiple UL resource; para [0021]-[0022] and [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of invention to modify the network of Hu to include the uplink channels, as taught by QUALCOMM, in order to have non-coherent joint transmission (Para [0002], QUALCOMM).
QUALCOMM fails to disclose first and second NULL resources.
However, INTEL teaches first and second NULL resources (multiple SRS resources can be configured for the UE, wherein the resources can include zero-powered resources (NULL resources) used to indicate that no resources are not used for a transmission channel; para [0081], [0092] and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of invention to modify the resource configuration of Hu and QUALCOMM to include NULL resources, as taught by INTEL, in order to have SRS configurations for uplink MIMO (Para [0002], INTEL).
As to claim 5, Hu does not expressly disclose device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: determine a UL transmission mode based on the joint SRI, the first SRS resource set, and the second SRS resource set; and perform the plurality of UL transmissions based on the determined UL transmission mode.
QUALCOMM further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device is further caused to determine a UL transmission mode based on the first SRS resource set, and the second SRS resource set; and perform the at least one UL transmission based on the determined UL transmission mode (the UEs can be configured in different UL transmission modes including an aggregation mode or dual-connectivity mode, wherein the UE is configured for each mode using a first and second set of SRS resources; para [0059], [0085], [0102] and [0113]-[0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of invention to modify the network of Hu to include the uplink modes, as taught by QUALCOMM, in order to have non-coherent joint transmission (Para [0002], QUALCOMM).
QUALCOMM fails to disclose determine UL transmission based on joint SRI.
However, INTEL teaches determining UL transmission based on joint SRI (when multiple SRS are configured joint SRS), simultaneous uplink transmissions on PUSCH are configured using SRS resource indicators joint SRI); para [0052]-[0053] and [0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint uplink configuration procedure of Hu and QUALCOMM to include a joint SRI, as taught by INTEL in order to have SRS configurations for uplink MIMO (Para [0002], INTEL).
As to claim 13, Hu does not expressly disclose the RAN node of claim 11, wherein the first SRS resource set includes at least one first single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one first UL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, at least one first NULL resource, and at least one first multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first UL TCI state; and the second SRS resource set includes at least one second NULL resource corresponding to the at least one first single-UL transmission resource, at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first NULL resource, and at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first multi-UL transmission resource.
QUALCOMM further discloses the RAN node of claim 11, wherein
the first SRS resource set includes at least one first single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one first UL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (managing a first channel state information (TCI) process for a first resource allocation, wherein the resources can be configured for a single uplink channel or multiple uplink channels; para [0021]-[0022] and [0114]), and at least one first multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first UL TCI state (a first and second channel state information is processed for a first and second resource, wherein the resources for uplink transmissions can be configured for a single UL or multiple UL resource; para [0021]-[0022] and [0114]); and
the second SRS resource set includes resource corresponding to the at least one first single-UL transmission resource (first and second sets of SRS resources for joint transmissions can be configured for a single uplink channel (single UL resource) or a plurality of uplink channels (multi-UL resource); para [0114]) at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second single-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first resource (a first and second channel state information is processed for a first and second resource, wherein the resources for uplink transmissions can be configured for a single UL or multiple UL resource; para. [0085], para [0102] and
[0113]-[0114]), and at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one second UL TCI state, the at least one second multi-UL transmission resource corresponding to the at least one first multi-UL transmission resource (a first and second channel state information is processed for a first and second resource, wherein the resources for uplink transmissions can be configured for a single UL or multiple UL resource; para [0021]-[0022] and [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of invention to modify the network of Hu to include the uplink channels, as taught by QUALCOMM, in order to have non-coherent joint transmission (Para [0002], QUALCOMM).
QUALCOMM fails to disclose first and second NULL resources.
However, INTEL teaches first and second NULL resources (multiple SRS resources can be configured for the UE, wherein the resources can include zero-powered resources (NULL resources) used to indicate that no resources are not used for a transmission channel; para [0081], [0092] and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of invention to modify the resource configuration of Hu and QUALCOMM to include NULL resources, as taught by INTEL, in order to have SRS configurations for uplink MIMO (Para [0002], INTEL).
As to claim 14, Hu does not expressly disclose the RAN node of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the node to: select a UL transmission mode for the UE device; transmit the joint SRI to the UE device, the joint SRI being a first joint SRI which corresponds to the selected UL transmission mode; and receive UL transmission from the UE device based on the selected UL transmission mode.
QUALCOMM further discloses the RAN node of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the node to: select a UL transmission mode for the UE device; transmit the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set to the UE device, the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set corresponding to the selected UL transmission mode; and receive UL transmission from the UE device based on the selected UL transmission mode (the UEs can be configured in different UL transmission modes including an aggregation mode or dual-connectivity mode, wherein the UE is configured for each mode using a first and second set of SRS resources; para [0059], [0085], [0102] and [0113]-[0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of invention to modify the network of Hu to include the uplink modes, as taught by QUALCOMM, in order to have non-coherent joint transmission (Para [0002], QUALCOMM).
QUALCOMM fails to disclose transmit the joint SRI, the joint SRI being a first joint SRI which corresponds to the selected UL transmission mode.
However, INTEL teaches when multiple SRS are configured joint SRS, simultaneous uplink transmissions on PUSCH are configured using SRS resource indicators joint SRI (i.e. transmitted on DL); para [0052]-[0053] and [0059]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint uplink configuration procedure of QUALCOMM to include a joint SRI, as taught by INTEL in order to have SRS configurations for uplink MIMO (Para [0002], INTEL).
As to claims 19-20, see similar rejection to claims 4-5, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Claim(s) 6-8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022087931 A1 to HU et al. (“Hu”) [Examiner cites to attached English translation for purposes of examination] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0049236 A1 to QUALCOMM and U.S. Publication No. 2019/0174466 A1 to INTEL and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0389096 A1 to CHEN.
As to claim 6, Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL do not expressly disclose the device of claim 5, wherein the UL transmission mode is one of a single-shot UL transmission mode, a time-domain multiplexed (TDM) UL repetition mode, a spatial- domain multiplexed (SDM) multi-UL transmission mode, and a frequency-domain multiplexed (FDM) multi-UL transmission mode.
CHEN discloses If the UE 115 receives an indication of the second uplink switching mode, the UE 115 may support switching between the TDM scheme, the FDM scheme (e.g., multi-TRP TDM and FDM schemes), and the sTRP scheme (para. 0128). Additionally, In some examples, the control signaling 235 may include an RRC message that configures two SRS resource sets and indicates a communications scheme for the UE 115-a to use for performing subsequent uplink transmissions. The communications scheme may be one of the FDM, TDM, or SDM schemes. The UE 115-a may transmit subsequent uplink data messages 230 in accordance with the indicated communications scheme (para. 0114). Furthermore, an enhanced DCI 240, or both that are capable of indicating a communications scheme and a switching arrangement for the UE 115-a to use for transmitting one or more uplink repetitions of an uplink data message 230 (para. 0113). Lastly, If the UE 115 does not support repetitions for SDM, FDM, or both, the UE 115 may ignore the TDRA field and transmit a single uplink data message (para. 0124), i.e. wherein the UL transmission mode is one of a single-shot UL transmission mode, a time-domain multiplexed (TDM) UL repetition mode, a spatial- domain multiplexed (SDM) multi-UL transmission mode, and a frequency-domain multiplexed (FDM) multi-UL transmission mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint uplink configuration procedure of Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL to include UL modes, as taught by CHEN in order to have dynamic switching between communications schemes for uplink communications. (Para [0002], CHEN).
As to claim 7, Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL do not further disclose the device of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: perform the plurality of UL transmissions to one of the serving RAN node or a second RAN node in response to the determined UL transmission mode being the single-shot UL transmission mode; perform the plurality of UL transmissions to the serving RAN node and the second RAN node in consecutive TDM slots or subslots in response to the determined UL transmission mode being the TDM UL repetition mode; and perform plurality of UL transmissions to the serving RAN node and the second RAN node simultaneously in response to the determined UL transmission mode being the SDM multi-UL transmission mode or the FDM multi-UL transmission mode.
CHEN discloses perform the at least one UL transmission to one of the serving RAN node or a second RAN node in response to the determined UL transmission mode being the single shot UL transmission mode [CHEN, If the UE 115 does not support repetitions for SDM, FDM, or both, the UE 115 may ignore the TDRA field and transmit a single uplink data message (para. 0124); base stations (para. 0218) (both may be servers or RAN nodes)]; perform the at least one UL transmission to the serving RAN node and the second RAN node in consecutive TDM slots or subslots in response to the determined UL transmission mode being the TDM UL repetition mode; and perform the at least one UL transmission to the serving RAN node and the second RAN node simultaneously in response to the determined UL transmission mode being the SDM multi-UL transmission mode or the FDM multi-UL transmission mode [CHEN, the wireless communications system 100 may include base stations 105 or UEs 115 that support simultaneous communications via carriers associated with multiple carrier bandwidths (para. 0069), The set of multiple communications schemes may include a TDM scheme, an FDM scheme, an SDM scheme, an sTRP transmission scheme, or any combination thereof (para. 0100)]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint uplink configuration procedure of Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL to include UL modes, as taught by CHEN in order to have dynamic switching between communications schemes for uplink communications. (Para [0002], CHEN).
As to claim 8, Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL do not expressly disclose the device of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: receive a second joint SRI from the serving RAN node; and determine the UL transmission mode based on the joint SRI, the second joint SRI, the first SRS resource set, and the second SRS resource set.
CHEN discloses the DCI that schedules one or more uplink messages may include a first SRI field 705-a and a second SRI field 705-b, i.e. receive at least two joint SRI from the serving RAN node. The first SRI field 705-a may indicate an SRS resource from the first SRS resource set 710 and the second SRI field 705-b may indicate an SRS resource from the second SRS resource set 710. The indicated SRS resources may be associated with one or more antenna ports, and the UE 115 may transmit an uplink message or a portion of an uplink message (e.g., one or more RBs or one or more spatial layers) using a same quantity of antenna ports (e.g., a same rank or same quantity of spatial layers) as the indicated SRS resource(s), i.e. and determine the UL transmission mode based on the at least two joint SRI, the first SRS resource set, and the second SRS resource set. Each SRS resource may be associated with a single antenna port or one or more antenna ports, for non-codebook-based PUSCH and codebook-based PUSCH, respectively, as described in further detail with reference to FIG. 2. In the example of FIG. 7, a maximum rank for TDM communications may be four, and a total maximum rank for SDM communications may be four. As such, a maximum rank for each SRS resource set 710 (e.g., and corresponding set of spatial layers) may be two for SDM communications (i.e. specific modes) (para. 0167). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint uplink configuration procedure of Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL to include UL modes, as taught by CHEN in order to have dynamic switching between communications schemes for uplink communications. (Para [0002], CHEN).
As to claim 15, Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL do not expressly disclose the RAN node of claim 14, wherein the UL transmission mode is one of a single-shot UL transmission mode, a time-domain multiplexed (TDM) UL repetition mode, a spatial- domain multiplexed (SDM) multi-UL transmission mode, and a frequency-domain multiplexed (FDM) multi-UL transmission mode.
CHEN discloses If the UE 115 receives an indication of the second uplink switching mode, the UE 115 may support switching between the TDM scheme, the FDM scheme (e.g., multi-TRP TDM and FDM schemes), and the sTRP scheme (para. 0128). Additionally, In some examples, the control signaling 235 may include an RRC message that configures two SRS resource sets and indicates a communications scheme for the UE 115-a to use for performing subsequent uplink transmissions. The communications scheme may be one of the FDM, TDM, or SDM schemes. The UE 115-a may transmit subsequent uplink data messages 230 in accordance with the indicated communications scheme (para. 0114). Furthermore, an enhanced DCI 240, or both that are capable of indicating a communications scheme and a switching arrangement for the UE 115-a to use for transmitting one or more uplink repetitions of an uplink data message 230 (para. 0113). Lastly, If the UE 115 does not support repetitions for SDM, FDM, or both, the UE 115 may ignore the TDRA field and transmit a single uplink data message (para. 0124), i.e. wherein the UL transmission mode is one of a single-shot UL transmission mode, a time-domain multiplexed (TDM) UL repetition mode, a spatial- domain multiplexed (SDM) multi-UL transmission mode, and a frequency-domain multiplexed (FDM) multi-UL transmission mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint uplink configuration procedure of Hu, QUALCOMM and INTEL to include UL modes, as taught by CHEN in order to have dynamic switching between communications schemes for uplink communications. (Para [0002], CHEN).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463