CTNF 18/839,381 CTNF 86669 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 26 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112, as the claims attempt to claim both a machine and a process for use with the machine. Section 112 requires that the claims of a patent "particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention." 35 U.S.C. § 112 (2000). A claim is considered indefinite if it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of its scope. Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. In addition, “an independent claim is a standalone claim that contains all the limitations necessary to define an invention.” Hence, two statutory categories cannot be combined to form an independent claim. Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. Claim 27 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112, as the claims attempt to claim both a machine and a process for use with the machine. Section 112 requires that the claims of a patent "particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention." 35 U.S.C. § 112 (2000). A claim is considered indefinite if it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of its scope. Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. In addition, “an independent claim is a standalone claim that contains all the limitations necessary to define an invention.” Hence, two statutory categories cannot be combined to form an independent claim. Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. Claim 28 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112, as the claims attempt to claim both a machine and a process for use with the machine. Section 112 requires that the claims of a patent "particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention." 35 U.S.C. § 112 (2000). A claim is considered indefinite if it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of its scope. Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. In addition, “an independent claim is a standalone claim that contains all the limitations necessary to define an invention.” Hence, two statutory categories cannot be combined to form an independent claim. Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-8, 11-15, 17-19, 22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Cui (Pub. No.: 2020/0236677 A1) . 1) In regard to claim 1, Cui discloses the claimed method for configuring a bandwidth part, performed by a user equipment, the user equipment being configured with a plurality of initial downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs), comprising: determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as a default BWP (¶0106); wherein the default BWP is a target BWP to which the user equipment is to be switched in response to expiration of a first timer (¶0134). 2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP comprises: determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP according to configuration of an uplink BWP of the user equipment (¶0106). 3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP comprises: in response to the user equipment being configured with one initial uplink BWP, determining a first initial downlink BWP that has a correspondence with the initial uplink BWP as the default BWP, wherein the first initial downlink BWP is an initial downlink BWP in the plurality of initial downlink BWPs (¶0105-¶0107). 4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the correspondence is that the initial uplink BWP and the first initial downlink BWP have a same center frequency point, or the correspondence is that the initial uplink BWP comprises a random access channel configured for the user equipment for sending random access information, and the first initial downlink BWP comprises a physical layer channel and a random access search space configured for the user equipment; wherein the physical layer channel is used to carry a random access response corresponding to the random access information (¶0065 and ¶0126). 5) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of initial downlink BWPs comprises an initial downlink BWP configured by a network device via a master information block (MIB), and determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP comprises: determining the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB as the default BWP (¶0105-¶0107). 6) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 6), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein determining the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB as the default BWP comprises: in response to the user equipment being configured with an uplink BWP that has a correspondence with the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB, determining the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB as the default BWP (¶0105-¶0107). 7) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 7), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the correspondence is that the uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB have a same center frequency point, or the correspondence is that the uplink BWP comprises a random access channel configured for the user equipment for sending random access information, and the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB comprises a physical layer channel and a random access search space configured for the user equipment; wherein the physical layer channel is used to carry a random access response corresponding to the random access information (¶0065 and ¶0126). 8) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first timer is used to time a duration during which the user equipment does not receive downlink control information for scheduling on an active BWP (¶0134). 9) In regard to claim 12, Cui discloses the claimed method for configuring a bandwidth part, performed by a network device, comprising: determining one of a plurality of initial downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs) configured for a user equipment as a default BWP (¶0106); wherein the default BWP is a target BWP to which the user equipment is to be switched in response to expiration of a first timer (¶0134). 10) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 12), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP comprises: determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP according to configuration of an uplink BWP of the user equipment (¶0105-¶0107). 11) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 13), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP comprises: in response to the user equipment being configured with one initial uplink BWP, determining a first initial downlink BWP that has a correspondence with the initial uplink BWP as the default BWP, wherein the first initial downlink BWP is one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs (¶0105-¶0107). 12) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 14), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the correspondence is that the initial uplink BWP and the first initial downlink BWP have a same center frequency point; or the correspondence is that the initial uplink BWP comprises a random access channel configured for the user equipment for sending random access information, and the first initial downlink BWP comprises a physical layer channel and a random access search space configured for the user equipment; wherein the physical layer channel is used to carry a random access response corresponding to the random access information (¶0065 and ¶0126). 13) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 12), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of initial downlink BWPs comprises an initial downlink BWP configured by the network device via a master information block (MIB), and determining one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as the default BWP comprises: determining the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB as the default BWP (¶0065 and ¶0126). 14) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 17), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein determining the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB as the default BWP comprises: in response to the user equipment being configured with an uplink BWP that has a correspondence with the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB, determining the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB as the default BWP (¶0105-¶0107). 15) In regard to claim 19 (dependent on claim 18), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 18, wherein the correspondence is that the uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB have a same center frequency point, or the correspondence is that the uplink BWP comprises a random access channel configured for the user equipment for sending random access information, and the initial downlink BWP configured via the MIB comprises a physical layer channel and a random access search space configured for the user equipment; wherein the physical layer channel is used to carry a random access response corresponding to the random access information (¶0065 and ¶0126). 16) In regard to claim 22 (dependent on claim 12), Cui further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the first timer is used to time a duration during which the user equipment does not receive downlink control information for scheduling on an active BWP (¶0134). 17) In regard to claim 25, Cui discloses the claimed mobile terminal (fig. 22: 1600), comprising: a processor (fig. 22: 1601); and a memory, for storing an instruction executable by the processor (fig. 22: 1602), wherein the mobile terminal is configured with a plurality of initial downlink bandwidth parts (fig. 22: 1612), wherein the processor is configured to: determine one of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs as a default BWP (¶0106): wherein the default BWP is a target BWP to which the mobile terminal is to be switched in response to expiration of a first timer (¶0134). 18) In regard to claim 26, claim 26 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied. 19) In regard to claim 27, claim 27 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied. 20) In regard to claim 28, claim 28 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 12 and the references applied. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CURTIS J KING whose telephone number is (571)270-5160. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 6:00 - 2:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at 571-272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 2 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 3 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 4 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 5 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 6 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 7 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 8 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/839,381 Page 9 Art Unit: 2685